Diversification! Oil prices falling!

Re: oil prices falling

Postby nervewrecker » January 23rd, 2015, 7:16 pm

Anyone working PETROTRIN Santa flora, shoot me a pm plz.

I wanna find out something.

Thanks

Postby javishm » January 23rd, 2015, 7:28 pm

JUST IN: BPTT is offering a Voluntary Separation Program (VSEP) to a number of its employees. BP has over 1,000 permanent employees in T&T & says "it is too early to confirm exactly how many... will be affected."

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » January 23rd, 2015, 7:32 pm

Wonder which companies gonna follow suit

Casper23

Postby Casper23 » January 23rd, 2015, 7:35 pm

This is only the beginning

Postby toyolink » January 23rd, 2015, 8:23 pm

Standard Oil to Amoco to BP represents a simple history and more than likely we about to see a new incarnation in the near future.
Really this imperative may be unavoidable given a hugh outstanding debt from the Gulf oil spill and poor financial results over the last few years (International Ops.)
Many employed by BP locally have been waiting for the hammer to fall a while now.
What may speed things up would be the present depressed prices for Oil and Gas and issues in Russia where BP has operations or commercial interests.
BP local was never fully insulated from the pain BP suffers internationally.

Postby janfar » January 23rd, 2015, 11:35 pm

Baker Hughes announced that they are going to cut about 7000 jobs globally.

Real men done get the axe. Time to start planting cassava.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 24th, 2015, 12:02 am

we need a war mongering Republican back in power. Get rid of this useless liberal.

Soon as America invades Iran, we will have no worries about price of oil.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » January 24th, 2015, 12:15 am

^^ A Recession is looming and if War is the answer as you propose it might
be interesting for YOU to explain this plan Effectic.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 24th, 2015, 12:20 am

He can't. He just rambles. Republicans have zero reason to invade anyone with all the natural resources available in their own country.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 24th, 2015, 8:45 am

war is always the result in worldwide economic downturn and stalemate negotiations. however to suggest that the world goes to war with another country and kill many people just so u could keep your job and high wages in oil sector is rather callous.

besides.. you all think this one driving the oil price reduction and that one driving it while the media play you. investors know what they doing. oil is dead. the market reached it's peak investment and now technology is causing a decline in demand. local players already talking about making the arrangement where locals with solar panels can sell electricity to ttec and collect a cheque or discount on your bill every cycle. supply rate of oil has been falling yet price also falling. that is a market shrinking due to demand. investors are leaving the market but theyll be back if something creates a sudden need for oil or one of it's derivatives. a halt in trade routes to the west for example would cut out the whole eastern supply but most likely fuel a war because the arabs already said they want to maintain market share. so it wouldnt be them causing it.

america cant touch iran right now because they in strong syndication with russia and china. that is nothing less than world war. i think to have a war over oil at this stage in human development will only show man is still primitive. it's too easy to move away from it without ever having too little supply before you make a full transition.

think about the reasoning behind the iraq war and you will see something. you all say america want to increase the price of oil but the arabs want to decrease it. if america didnt take out saddam the price of oil wouldve been high because the west would have to pay in gold. they protected their status as a world reserve currency and got cheaper oil as a result of the war. theyve since lost iraq to isis but now want the price to go higher? i understand they could be holding 2 positions. but even if that were the case it further negates the need for war. usa could easily just buy all the cheap oil they need, replace their needs with technology and pull out of the oil market in a few years quite easily.

Postby Redman » January 24th, 2015, 10:38 am

8 months into a correction and oil is dead????? :roll:

War is a probability-oil prices might contribute but arent the cause.

What will continue to happen:
-NATO eastward expansion and Russias resistance is a flashpoint
-The alternative trading points for all major commodities being created with currency agreements that do not need the cross into USD.
-Repatriation of reserve gold will be another issue-whether its there or not is a question
-Regime change-natural or unnatural causes in the middle east is a factor
-Chinas numbers -GDP/debt/reserves,output. etc all of which they lie on will be a pull.

-Africa is the next frontier-commodity rich and open for business-proxy wars are probable.
Venezuela coup coming soon

To predict how the demand/supply relationship factors all the above in,and refines it to a price is folly.

Oil as a primary source of fuel is here to stay for another 50 years....The supply chain and the fact that life as a whole is adapted make the migration a hard slow one-single digit % per year.
Hydrocarbons ability to store energy in a use able form makes it almost intractable.
For example-I can double the range of my vehicle with 2 portable 5 gallon tanks easily -without much adaptation
or I can REFILL (read recharge)in 3 minutes-
Alternatives just havent reached there yet.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 24th, 2015, 10:58 am

Spot on Redman.

Only a handful of people are going electric cars and solar etc. With solar you need to take into account battery.

One of the things people don't realize about renewable energy, is the cost the store this energy. Going green does not in anyway mean you are saving money. The cost is the same as just using traditional energy.
The world is not interested in high priced alternatives to current standard. Also as fast as people might be converting to renewable energy, is as fast as the earth's population grows so more people using traditional vehicles etc as opposed to electric.

Besides who paying $50,000 TT to replace a battery in a electric car?

Also no electric B14 no care.

Postby sMASH » January 24th, 2015, 1:53 pm

Wars create an unnatural high demand for resources, think of it as forced economic stimulation.

In this country, as bp and oher people let go workers, will mortages default?

Hmmn. Will keep cash on hand

Postby nervewrecker » January 24th, 2015, 2:14 pm

I don't expect the price of much to drop given the fact that the drug trade is active.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 24th, 2015, 2:22 pm

not dead as in dead.. but the future outlook is that there is no reason for demand to grow. sure we have a long time of using oil for energy still but technology can change that. solar and other forms of energy may be expensive now, but in 10 yrs we may have 10x efficiency at 1/10th the price. and in that time oil could slide back to $10 a barrel. this country should have a plan to be sustainable in the event oil prices keep declining within that time. stop prolonging the inevitable. in other countries, government right now is providing incentives for ppl to install solar power by paying a significant percentage of the cost, providing tax breaks and then buying electricity from consumers to supply the power grid. for every kw a new user produces that is demand falling off the market. so naturally we can expect steady decline with small spikes and level trading in between. but overall.. decline unless something significant were to happen.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » January 24th, 2015, 5:17 pm

BP offering VSEP.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 24th, 2015, 5:18 pm

^ do you really think any of these old politicians could possibly have the vision to do something other than energy export in this country?

Think about it, kamla have no interest in technology neither does rowley. Yet every idiot thinks that voting Rowley going to suddenly make a difference. We need people who are passionate about technology, our so called scholars from UWI are usually more concerned about feteing for carnival than they are about anything that can really help this country and this world.

ZR said it right, trini problem is Carnival.
I personally won't be voting this election not because my vote obviously don't count since I live in a UNC stronghold but because none of our politicians are new people who has a passion for developing this country and moving away from energy based export.

I had a great idea about things like manufacturing cars and electronics in Trinidad. A B14 Raj Gramaxone limited edition.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 24th, 2015, 5:32 pm

orangefox wrote:^^ A Recession is looming and if War is the answer as you propose it might
be interesting for YOU to explain this plan Effectic.

History has shown that big wars increase the price of fuel. It happens each and everytime America invades a country.
I am expecting the invasion of Iran or North Korea next. Its the most logical step for America, they need to invade a country every decade or so to liberate the people. Putin would much prefer retire in Siberia with the $80 Billion US he stole from the Russian treasury than turn the world into a nuclear inferno where he would have to reside in a nuclear fallout vault.

So Putin will be barking a lot about how America better be afraid of attacking Iran but in reality if he knows whats good for him he would stay out
The money Obama has wasted for lazy bums to collect welfare could have funded 3 more wars. North Korea, Saudi Arabia and Iran, the 3 places that need invading the most

If you all actually bothered to listen to fox news regularly you would know these things.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on January 24th, 2015, 5:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

antlind

Postby antlind » January 24th, 2015, 5:43 pm

They should invade Trinidad and liberate us from the PPP and PNM.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 24th, 2015, 5:47 pm

antlind wrote:They should invade Trinidad and liberate us from the PPP and PNM.

I would be in full support of this.

We should be the next state in USA. Infact we should never have gotten independence, would make it a lot easier for people who study hard in school to get away with this carnival vagrancy and have their skills utilized properly somewhere in Europe.

The current problem in Trini will not be fixed by either Rowley or Kamla. The mentality of Trinis have to change, either that or we need people from a different country to rule us, just like in the old days.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 24th, 2015, 5:54 pm

antlind

Postby antlind » January 24th, 2015, 5:54 pm

It is a cultural issue. Change has to begin at home with parents instilling a strong set of values into their children. Teachers also have to ensure that discipline is brought back to the classroom. And employers/govt have to ensure that the workplace does not condone the type of slackness and corruption that is the current status quo.
Sadly this is easier said than done.

Advent

Postby Advent » January 25th, 2015, 8:34 am

Wait people think Obama is a liberal? Lol he isn't a Republican but he is quite conservative with his policies

Sent from my GT-I9190 using Tapatalk

Postby sMASH » January 25th, 2015, 8:37 am

I voting, but I defacing my ballot, so u can see that none worthy if it.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 25th, 2015, 9:01 am

sMASH wrote:I voting, but I defacing my ballot, so u can see that none worthy if it.

this is the setup with the new runoff election. if ppl dont vote.. ppg will win. you have to make sure and vote the same party for 1st, 2nd and 3rd choice. furthermore if you dont make your 2nd and 3rd choices.. it can be filled in for you by whoever counting the ballots.

Postby sMASH » January 25th, 2015, 9:12 am

We only have two parties that can actually get votes. If one doesn't win, the other one will get the office.

My point is to show that my vote is there, but u have to work for it.

If there are 15% of ballots cast that are defaced, that shows that there is a significant portion of potential votes that want something different

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 25th, 2015, 10:44 am

sMASH wrote:We only have two parties that can actually get votes. If one doesn't win, the other one will get the office.

My point is to show that my vote is there, but u have to work for it.

If there are 15% of ballots cast that are defaced, that shows that there is a significant portion of potential votes that want something different

?? i think theyll just invalidate your ballot and assign your vote however they feel like. this isnt the old election style. if you dont vote.. ppg stays in power. if u do anything other than vote distinctively for someone else ppg stays in power. the winner of next election will be the party whose voters vote for them fanatically in all 3 positions. if u vote for 1 position without filling in the others ur party will easily get knocked out. i believe this is what the ppg is counting on... the lack of voter turnout, coupled with ignorance of how the new system works. ppl will go and vote like they have for years.. leaving open voting space for those counting the ballot to fill in an 'x' for them.

there are more than 2 parties. in fact if we look at the 2 u are talking about only.. then there are no parties. both ppg and pnm need to be kicked out of government. but since we probably cant do that i would rather vote for ilp in all 3 slots and thoroughly show my dissatisfaction with both of them considering all the opportunity they had over the years and wasted it. pnm does good in opposition so they can stay there but the ppg must go. yes id vote for jack warner because i want to break the cycle of pnm or unc. because trinis always voting for who they say not corrupt and they does turn out corrupt. so then if trini say they corrupt.. then they probably arent.

end of the day jack is the only minister take a pay cut and work for $1. while these other ministers in government want a NEXT pay rise agaaaain. allyuh ent fedup of them? jack have enough money that he dont need to tief or even get paid by taxpayers for his work. and he obviously more in tune with the people than either of rowley or kamla and cabal. they must go. i will give jack a chance. because they had enough chances.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 25th, 2015, 11:21 am

Lol at justifying voting for jack because of dissatisfaction with pp and pnm. You do realize jack was part of the pp? You also do realize the reason why he could afford to take a salary of $1 supposedly right? Voting ILP thinking they will be different to PP is like voting PP thinking that they will be different to PNM.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 25th, 2015, 11:57 am

Exactly, Jack is one of the most corrupt men out there why would anyone vote ILP?

He is absolutely no different from PPG or PNM. There is absolutely nothing that makes him different except the chances of him stealing a lot more. Nobody in this country really trust this man.

I not wasting time voting in this election, I suggest all others who are tired to do the same. We have to show both PNM and PP that we are fedup of their dotishness. Maybe when they see everybody decide to give up, they might actually get it through their thick skull that the people fedup of their nonsense and whoever wins just MIGHT take it into consideration.

Won't hold my breath though. As Panday say it go take 200 years for this issue to solve in Trini. Entire generations have to die out first.

But at the end of the day if you must vote, the only logical choice comes down to PPG simply because they are the lesser of the 2 evils. Historically the PNM has shown to be more Evil than the UNC. Just look how Kamla helps all parts of this country as opposed to the PNM who thinks that Trinidad stops at Port of Spain.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 25th, 2015, 12:02 pm

Yeah cuz not voting really drives home a point. Steups. It does not. If I gain power and voter turn out was low I would still not give a fcuk what the people said. The only thing that would really intimidate a politician would be sustained protests at bad decisions and the possibility of losing an election and not voting does not mean automatic loss of election.