kaylex

Re: No Dr. Rowley

Postby kaylex » March 20th, 2015, 2:28 pm

By every other name

By kevin Baldeosingh

Story Created: Mar 19, 2015 at 7:36 PM ECT
(
Story Updated: Mar 19, 2015 at 7:36 PM ECT )

Unlike UNC activist Jaishima Leladharsingh, I have never used the word “fella” in a fit of rage. I admit, however, that I have used even worse epithets, such as “Sat Maharaj”.

In my defence, I can only say that the person I called this derogatory name was Maha Sabha leader Sat Maharaj and I was very, very outraged because, unlike Sat, I didn’t think big men should be allowed to have sex with 14-year-old girls if they married them. What is worse, I went even further and called some other people “Muslim leaders” by noting that not one imam or mullah or maulana – pardon my Arabic – has ever voiced support for changing the Muslim Marriage Act so 12-year-old girls cannot be married off.

I therefore want to apologise for using this derogatory language, and I realise that I should simply have used a more neutral term to describe adult men who want to have sex with small girls, such as “paedophiles”.

Equally bad, I have for years now been using the pejorative term “Pastor Cuffie”, just because I was vexed that a doctorate from an unaccredited university is not a real PhD. Sometimes, I have gone even further and used disparaging words like “Pastor Dottin”, just because I didn’t think homosexuals should be stoned to death. So I just want to apologise for accepting evolution, supporting human rights, and liking women.

In fact, reviewing my work over the past 25 years, I find that I have been an even bigger bigot than Leladharsingh. Not only have I used oxymorons like “religious scholar”, but I have also gone to the other extreme and employed expressions like “post-modernist intellectuals”. However, this was only because I was incensed that xenophobia is the real explanation for all Trinidad’s problems; but I admit that that is hardly an excuse for referring to someone as Raymond Ramcharitar. I therefore have to apologise for arguing with statistics instead of maintaining that everyone else’s facts are biased.

I have even gone so far as to use the term “UWI anthropologist” to describe certain academics. Ordinarily, I would not use such strong language, but I became quite livid when I found out that UWI students are being taught that every adult in Trinidad and Tobago should be given a free monthly allowance of $10,000 to solve all our social problems. I realise, however that I should not be infuriated by ignorance of economics, history and roast pork, and I can only apologise for going over the line and using words like Dylan Kerrigan.

Indeed, if racism is defined as intolerance of a particular group, then I must also confess to having called people “socialist”, “communist”, even “hunger striker”. So I have to apologise for no socialist or ‘socialist’ government ever creating economic prosperity for its citizens; for communist regimes killing more people than any other ideology, including KFC; and for social activists who still can’t admit that nobody can survive for 165 days without food and water. But at least I haven’t called anyone David Abdulah for a long while, although that’s only because any such individual could only get into power by a coup to suppress free speech, voting and toilet paper.

And now I am running out of space and I haven’t even dented the long list of epithets I have to apologise for.

So let me just say sorry to UNC fanatics for tiefing being wrong even though the PNM-till-ah-deads did it too; to Afrocentrists for Africans not coming before Columbus; to herbalists for evidence-based medicine; to feminists for facts; and to myself for naturally curly hair.

kevin.baldeosingh@zoho.com

Kevin Baldeosingh is a

professional writer, author of three novels, and co-author of a Caribbean history textbook

Sundar

Postby Sundar » March 20th, 2015, 2:52 pm

rfari wrote:So wham? I couldn't tax him a 10 dollars in peace? Why ollur so boy??
:roll: this is y d youth of today don't want to work for nothing. one time my neighbor ask my brother if he had a whole hundred to change him singles. :x i wonder how many did without jus so he cud "tax" collect.

Postby zoom rader » March 20th, 2015, 3:26 pm

Habit7 wrote:Dictionary of the English/Creole of Trinidad & Tobago: On Historical Principles

By Lise Winer

Spin Doctor

Postby desifemlove » March 20th, 2015, 3:38 pm

desifemlove wrote:evil Rowley...who have allegations of thiefing, never drunk outside Zen and give police chat, never said his race was ethnically cleansed from POS hospital, never cleverly said a credit union wasn't given no bailout cos it was Indo-Hindu, never said he ent want no CCJ cos it had no Indo judges, never smoke dope in hotel room, never grabbed breast on planes.

people will accuse me of being PNM, i not, i may even vote UNC for the hell of it. in my constituency, PNM sure to get back in, so one vote ent gonna do nutten.

but i does see Dr. KRowley won a role in de next Shrek film:

All those allegations cannot compare to Rowley speaking about a womans nipple and cyat on a public Forum.

Best u leave this here rather than do the PNM image more harm.

and grabbing breast and allegedly beating woman, and allegedly getting blow from a woman in exchange for house is respecting woman?

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » March 20th, 2015, 3:48 pm

Dr. Rowley's recent statements about Madam PM's cat/cyat.
Nothing new dey, that's Rowley normell wajang behaviour stepping in.
The PNM crowd like dat kinda thing.
true behavior starting to show AGAIN, imagine he actually wants a future position as a PM? Really?
I support NO political party, especially during the silly season... but maybe the playing field needs to be balanced here...

How come no UNC (or any other) Women's Group made any negative comments about our "female Prime Minister-to-be" when she spoke about PVC and her familiarity with the subject; trading banter with Ganga Sing on a political platform years ago?
Why was it okay then... but not now?
Or was it that... "The UNC crowd like dat kinda thing" too?
"Rules for Peter... different rules for Paul."

The "Anti-Rowley" TV Ad hit the air-waves in less than 36 hours...
This is just the latest "storm in a tea-cup" pandering to the hypocrite in so many of us in this country.

Just another deliberate distraction orchestrated by Rodney Charles, during the silly season IMHO.
It seems unlikely that the issues that really affect us will ever be debated.

My $0.02¢

Postby 16 cycles » March 20th, 2015, 4:35 pm

KR duck parliament today?

Postby De Dragon » March 20th, 2015, 5:28 pm

Rowley was disrespectful plain and simple. He knows what he said, and the context in which he said it. Remember, prior to the dog/cat comment, he was making comments like "she love me like she love no man" "she not my type" etc. He was leading up to that last disgusting statement. Only noob Stuart Young had the decency to realize that it was overboard and apologize from the PNM camp.

Postby zoom rader » March 20th, 2015, 5:47 pm

desifemlove wrote:
desifemlove wrote:evil Rowley...who have allegations of thiefing, never drunk outside Zen and give police chat, never said his race was ethnically cleansed from POS hospital, never cleverly said a credit union wasn't given no bailout cos it was Indo-Hindu, never said he ent want no CCJ cos it had no Indo judges, never smoke dope in hotel room, never grabbed breast on planes.

people will accuse me of being PNM, i not, i may even vote UNC for the hell of it. in my constituency, PNM sure to get back in, so one vote ent gonna do nutten.

but i does see Dr. KRowley won a role in de next Shrek film:

All those allegations cannot compare to Rowley speaking about a womans nipple and cyat on a public Forum.

Best u leave this here rather than do the PNM image more harm.

and grabbing breast and allegedly beating woman, and allegedly getting blow from a woman in exchange for house is respecting woman?

Yeah you right all alleged

Postby Habit7 » March 21st, 2015, 6:12 pm

De Dragon wrote:Rowley was disrespectful plain and simple. He knows what he said, and the context in which he said it. Remember, prior to the dog/cat comment, he was making comments like "she love me like she love no man" "she not my type" etc. He was leading up to that last disgusting statement. Only noob Stuart Young had the decency to realize that it was overboard and apologize from the PNM camp.

Explain disgusting?

Postby desifemlove » March 21st, 2015, 6:47 pm

mr. zoom, ent you say rowley threw tea cup? was that proven true? you know what the word allegation means, ent?

Postby pete » March 21st, 2015, 6:57 pm

If he had said "cat" and pronounced it properly then it would never have escalated like this. I guess he knows his audience.. The fact that you guys defending this and bringing up something kamla said how long ago is pretty amazing yes.

Postby RASC » March 21st, 2015, 7:34 pm

Zzzzzzzzz
Yawn
Distraction

Deal with issues, not this foolishness.
No One Cares!

Postby zoom rader » March 21st, 2015, 7:35 pm

desifemlove wrote:mr. zoom, ent you say rowley threw tea cup? was that proven true? you know what the word allegation means, ent?

Kitchen attendants confirmed there was a broken tea cup in the aftermath.

Postby zoom rader » March 21st, 2015, 7:36 pm

RASC wrote:Zzzzzzzzz
Yawn
Distraction

No One Cares!

I agree leave Rowley alone, he doing a good job

Postby rfari » March 21st, 2015, 8:21 pm

RASC wrote:Zzzzzzzzz
Yawn
Distraction

No One Cares!

I agree leave Rowley alone, he doing a good job

Correct. Because I sure when kamala was bennin and pressure testing Ganga pipe, pete didn't have an opinion on that

Postby K74T » March 21st, 2015, 10:05 pm

Gewd.

Postby pete » March 21st, 2015, 11:08 pm

Boy that was 14 years ago. I know I've matured a bit since then and I'm pretty sure so has Kamla.

Postby rfari » March 21st, 2015, 11:13 pm

pete wrote:Boy that was 14 years ago. I know I've matured a bit since then and I'm pretty sure so has Kamla.

We getting no where quickly.

Anyways, no confidence motion is next Wednesday. What's on UNC supporters' wish lists?

Postby RASC » March 22nd, 2015, 1:42 am

Abuses by male UNC members and MP's has not stirred the same amount of outrage by the women's league of the UNC-maybe because they're used to that level of abuse by their men?

Suddenly, its an outrage.

How convenient. Let us move on. The pettiness is reaching all time lows now and is PROVING the stereotype that UNC supporters have no testicular fortitude and are extremely emotional and fickle.

The "whoa is me" narrative is forever cropping up with this bunch.

Postby zoom rader » March 22nd, 2015, 8:38 am

RASC wrote:Abuses by male UNC members and MP's has not stirred the same amount of outrage by the women's league of the UNC-maybe because they're used to that level of abuse by their men?

How convenient. Let us move on. The pettiness is reaching all time lows now and is PROVING the stereotype that UNC supporters have no testicular fortitude and are extremely emotional and fickle.

I doh know why ppl beating up over this.
They should know Rowleys behaviour is nothing new and learn from this and move on.

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » March 22nd, 2015, 5:32 pm

Cyat Cyat Cyat Cyat Cyat Cyat Cyat..............sue me :mrgreen:

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » March 22nd, 2015, 9:05 pm

The thing is Dr. Rowley should have played it safe an not chosen such a word. Especially given the population he should have known that it could illicit a response like this.

Postby De Dragon » March 22nd, 2015, 10:49 pm

RASC wrote:Abuses by male UNC members and MP's has not stirred the same amount of outrage by the women's league of the UNC-maybe because they're used to that level of abuse by their men?

What abuses? For the umpteenth time Rowley has proven that he lacks the statesmanship, decency and decorum required for someone seeking higher office. That aside, he cannot be so dotish as to see that he is again alienating the undecided voters who are critical to the outcome of the next election.

Postby Habit7 » March 22nd, 2015, 11:18 pm

De Dragon wrote:What abuses? For the umpteenth time Rowley has proven that he lacks the statesmanship, decency and decorum required for someone seeking higher office. That aside, he cannot be so dotish as to see that he is again alienating the undecided voters who are critical to the outcome of the next election.

I respect your opinion but facts are:

THA Election
Local Govt Election
St. Joseph By-election
PNM leadership election

Rowley has the continual affirmation of the electorate, not Kamla. I am impressed with how the UNC last week was getting to distract the public from NGC and Anand, but magnifying peccadillos of Rowley. But Kamla has allowed herself to appear drunk on stage claiming victory as PP went from 11 corporations to 5, her crass diplomacy has caused CARICOM shoppers to boycott TT products and she has the sole stewardship over the most scandalous govt ever.

Rowley is the one gaining ground on the undecideds, not Kamla.

Postby De Dragon » March 23rd, 2015, 5:45 am

Habit7 wrote:
De Dragon wrote:What abuses? For the umpteenth time Rowley has proven that he lacks the statesmanship, decency and decorum required for someone seeking higher office. That aside, he cannot be so dotish as to see that he is again alienating the undecided voters who are critical to the outcome of the next election.

THA Election
Local Govt Election
St. Joseph By-election
PNM leadership election

Rowley has the continual affirmation of the electorate, not Kamla. I am impressed with how the UNC last week was getting to distract the public from NGC and Anand, but magnifying peccadillos of Rowley. But Kamla has allowed herself to appear drunk on stage claiming victory as PP went from 11 corporations to 5, her crass diplomacy has caused CARICOM shoppers to boycott TT products and she has the sole stewardship over the most scandalous govt ever.

So you don't agree that Rowley needs to tone it down? Is that the speaking/behavior style of an aspirant PM. so much to be gained by a "Stuart Young" styled apology, but he insists on bull-headedness which is really really off-putting. Can You imagine this man giving a UN, Caricom or Commonwealth speech?

Postby desifemlove » March 23rd, 2015, 6:50 am

desifemlove wrote:mr. zoom, ent you say rowley threw tea cup? was that proven true? you know what the word allegation means, ent?

Kitchen attendants confirmed there was a broken tea cup in the aftermath.

and court case said it was false. yuh gonna say dat corrupt now?

Postby RASC » March 23rd, 2015, 6:54 am

Habit7 wrote:

THA Election
Local Govt Election
St. Joseph By-election
PNM leadership election

So you don't agree that Rowley needs to tone it down?

Tone down for who? To appease UNC voters? This is war not ring around the roses.

Is that the speaking/behavior style of an aspirant PM.

Oh please Piccong has been a part of our politics forever, suddenly he's not fit because the other side can't stand the heat. Heres a hint, daily flights to Canada. Buss out.

so much to be gained by a "Stuart Young" styled apology, but he insists on bull-headedness which is really really off-putting.

Overly Emotional.

Can You imagine this man giving a UN, Caricom or Commonwealth speech?

Dr. Rowley is very eloquent when he needs to be. You're picking at straws as you VERY well know the man is capable of making speeches. Furthermore don't think it can get any worse than kamalas latest caricom speeches which alienated and chastised the rest of the region -I'm sure you won't remember that tho-bahhhhhhh

Postby desifemlove » March 23rd, 2015, 7:01 am

pete wrote:If he had said "cat" and pronounced it properly then it would never have escalated like this. I guess he knows his audience.. The fact that you guys defending this and bringing up something kamla said how long ago is pretty amazing yes.

eh...i doh care in honesty. I does tink UNC and PNM is equally worse in racist, sexist or whatever statements. only iz funny to hear both ah dem say who is worse or who more racist. for every "Calcutta Ship" dat zoom and them does say, there's an "ethnic cleansing", Siparia corp. saying "fire all afro trini".