ipod in car updated
ipod on sound dock updated
iphone in pocket updated

 simplicity and functionality unmatched

Re: Attack of Samsung gadget spam

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 9th, 2014, 8:58 am

src1983 wrote:Just synced new tunes to all my iPods with out even looking for them

ipod in car updated
iphone in pocket updated

Devilting

Postby ismithx » October 9th, 2014, 9:02 am

src1983 wrote:Just synced new tunes to all my iPods with out even looking for them

ipod in car updated
iphone in pocket updated

there's probably an app for that

Postby Morpheus » October 9th, 2014, 9:56 am

Is 3 ipod yuh ha bai?

src1983

Postby src1983 » October 9th, 2014, 11:55 am

Done know

Postby Ted_v2 » October 9th, 2014, 12:11 pm

Lawd me eh even have one.
Brb

Postby pioneer » November 1st, 2014, 11:32 pm

http://www.businessinsider.com/best-sma ... 14-11?op=1

RANKED: The Best Smartphones In The World

cliffs:

#2 iPhone 6 Plus

If you want a phablet, the iPhone 6 Plus is the best phone you can buy. Unlike other phablets that can be thick, chunky, and plasticky, the iPhone 6 Plus is thin, gorgeous, and made of metal. It doesn't feel like you're lugging around a giant phone.

#1 iPhone 6

The iPhone 6 is the best smartphone. Unless you really like using Android or Windows Phones, the iPhone 6 should be your first choice.

Why? It's the perfect mix of design, hardware specs, and app selection. Apple also finally caught up to its competitors by adding a larger screen to the iPhone 6. It's 4.7 inches, up from the 4-inch screen on the iPhone 5S.

Postby nervewrecker » November 2nd, 2014, 12:11 am

pioneer wrote:http://www.businessinsider.com/best-smartphones-2014-11?op=1

RANKED: The Best Smartphones In The World

cliffs:

#2 iPhone 6 Plus

If you want a phablet, the iPhone 6 Plus is the best phone you can buy. Unlike other phablets that can be thick, chunky, and plasticky, the iPhone 6 Plus is thin, gorgeous, and made of metal. It doesn't feel like you're lugging around a giant phone.

#1 iPhone 6

The iPhone 6 is the best smartphone. Unless you really like using Android or Windows Phones, the iPhone 6 should be your first choice.

Why? It's the perfect mix of design, hardware specs, and app selection. Apple also finally caught up to its competitors by adding a larger screen to the iPhone 6. It's 4.7 inches, up from the 4-inch screen on the iPhone 5S.

Someone will reply about:

How iPhone users didn't want a bigger screen

The guy from apple gay

The iPhone 6 bending and had software issues

And you will then bring a next article where Samsung was dealt a blow by apple when they take a bite into the phablet realm and operating at a loss right now. Or you was saving that one? : lol:

Attack of Samsung gadget spam

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 18th, 2014, 4:59 pm

http://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2014/11/ ... eup-by-30/

Samsung decides that it is offering too many smartphones.

Samsung has been in a pretty tough spot lately. After several quarters of record profits in 2012 and 2013, the company has crashed back down to Earth. The low point for Samsung came last quarter, when it reported a 49 percent drop in profits. At the high end of the market, the company currently has to fight off Apple, which just released a phablet of its own. At the low end, it's going up against a flood of cheaper Chinese OEMs, led by Xiaomi and Huawei.

To try to get out of this slump, Samsung is taking a "less is more" approach. According to The Wall Street Journal, the company said it would cut its 2015 smartphone lineup by 25-30 percent. The company will work on the internals, too, saying during its last earnings call that it will "increase the number of components shared across mid- to low-end models, so that we can further leverage economies of scale."

The belt-tightening might seem like a big change for Samsung, but the company has so fully flooded the market with smartphone models that a 30 percent cut will barely put a dent in its lineup. And thanks to GSM Arena's phone database, we can get a pretty good estimate of just how big Samsung's product lineup is in order to compare it to the competition.

In 2014, Apple released two new smartphone models, Motorola released 11, and HTC came out with a pretty big lineup that saw 27 new phones released. These figures are all dwarfed by Samsung's output, though, which pumped out a whopping 56 new smartphones in 2014. The only company that comes close to Samsung is its Korean rival LG, which tried to keep pace with 41 smartphones.

That's not even counting existing devices that were introduced in 2013 but were still on sale in 2014, so the number of devices a customer has to choose from is actually much higher. If you go to Samsung's website and click on "All Cell Phones," you'll get a list of 171 products currently for sale. That's inflated by carrier variants and maybe even has one or two flip phones in it, but it's still a huge number.

2014 wasn't an especially busy year for Samsung, either. In three years, the company has created 190 smartphones, for an average of 63 smartphones per year. Apple introduced five smartphones total in the same time period. If Samsung actually goes through with the 30 percent lineup cut, it will still release 39 smartphones in 2015.

Samsung isn't expecting a quick turnaround from the move, saying it still believes profit margins will stay under 10 percent. However, the company traditionally has profit margins above 15 percent, which The Journal points out it maintained for 10 consecutive quarters until Q3 2014.

All things considered, tough times may still be ahead for the company. And Samsung didn't even mention tablets, a segment where the company introduced 27 new models in 2014 compared to Apple's two.

Postby pioneer » November 18th, 2014, 7:32 pm

Clearly you missed page 1.

Postby Slartibartfast » November 19th, 2014, 12:29 pm

To me, the S4 was a game changer. It was a leap ahead of the rest. Now the rest have caught up and found that there is no where else to really go. Even the S5 is just a minor step up from the S4. All flagship phones since the S4 are more capable than 99% of people want or need them to be.

It's like having a car that could reach speeds of 500 kmph and another company makes a car that can reach 600kmph. The choice between cars now come down purely to personal preference. How do yo u like the package that the performance came in.

No denying, the iPhone 6 is sexy. Personally I find they got it right with the 5. 6 Plus is too big. The S4 looks nice and feels cheaper, but the polycarbonate used is really an ideal material for its application and I can respect that. And let's not even mention the S5.... no really... please just buy a good looking case for it as soon as you get it and never mention its looks again.

The only reason I stick to samsung is expandable storage and removable battery (both of which I use)

Postby stev » November 19th, 2014, 12:32 pm

expandable storage will be dead very soon. lol

Postby 16 cycles » November 19th, 2014, 12:39 pm

^ as long as media files get larger and larger ...not so sure about that...

Postby Slartibartfast » November 19th, 2014, 12:40 pm

No problem killing the expandable memory if they start making 64gb phones the norm. Anything less than 32gb without expandable memory doesn't make sense for me.

Postby pioneer » November 19th, 2014, 12:53 pm

people still use expandable memory?

Postby stev » November 19th, 2014, 1:02 pm

why people need all that storage space on their phone? what they have to store so?

...plz dont say movies :|

Postby nervewrecker » November 19th, 2014, 1:11 pm

well you said it.

Postby Slartibartfast » November 19th, 2014, 1:15 pm

Games (good games are like 1GB or more)
Music (about 20GB if you want to have a good variety, or at the very least 10GB)

And sometimes I use it at a memory stick to transfer large files, folders or programs and sometimes even use it as a temporary back up much like I will do with a portable hard drive. This is the main reason I need the 64GB.

I would stream music but the walls of my office are made out of lead apparently so I get no data once I am at work and the internet is EXTREMELY limited.

I only have one movie on my phone and a few episodes of older sitcoms that I have not seen as yet to help pass time if I get stuck waiting somewhere for a few hours (and I have my charger on me). That's only about 5 gigs.

Also, recording any video in 1080P uses up a lot of space. So that feature is basically useless if you have only 8GB storage.

But that's just me... most people could make do with 16GB. Personally having 64GB has saved my as$ or proven to be very convenient in countless situations.

Postby nervewrecker » November 19th, 2014, 1:50 pm

I can understand music if you on the go and have some time to kill but movies and games?

20gb of music too? I have 8 in my vehicle and cant listen all that in one day.

Postby Slartibartfast » November 19th, 2014, 2:05 pm

Neither can I. But I have no idea what I will feel like listening to for the rest of the day, so having everything with me is really convenient. It's like having my own radio station with only music I have liked over the last 10 years right at my fingertips.

And if you really into music, you might start using FLAC instead of mp3. So each song is like 20-50mb. It's like 1080p for your ears.

Postby ismithx » November 19th, 2014, 2:43 pm

personally I have a gig or two in apps, plus one or two in in media. the convenience of having a 32gb card is that I can store other files on it if necessary, and if I going on a long trip or something I could always put some full HD movies on my device. The most I ever used is about 6gb combined, but the main advantage in having more storage space is not having to worry about deleting anything

Postby pete » November 19th, 2014, 3:25 pm

My 32 gig SD card has about 2 free.. only videos

Postby nervewrecker » November 19th, 2014, 4:07 pm

ismithx wrote:personally I have a gig or two in apps, plus one or two in in media. the convenience of having a 32gb card is that I can store other files on it if necessary, and if I going on a long trip or something I could always put some full HD movies on my device. The most I ever used is about 6gb combined, but the main advantage in having more storage space is not having to worry about deleting anything

Never thought about it like this.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 19th, 2014, 5:15 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Neither can I. But I have no idea what I will feel like listening to for the rest of the day, so having everything with me is really convenient. It's like having my own radio station with only music I have liked over the last 10 years right at my fingertips.

And if you really into music, you might start using FLAC instead of mp3. So each song is like 20-50mb. It's like 1080p for your ears.
listening to FLAC on your phone with a dinky little headphone jack?

Postby 16 cycles » November 19th, 2014, 5:19 pm

There are adapters...

Dunno how 4k format gonna evolve but if movies in that format and dloadable...storage might be an issue...

Postby ismithx » November 19th, 2014, 5:43 pm

4k is an issue for everything, the world not ready for it yet

we shouldn't be concerning ourselves with if we could, but rather if we should

Postby Trini Hookah » November 19th, 2014, 6:05 pm

ismithx wrote:4k is an issue for everything, the world not ready for it yet

we shouldn't be concerning ourselves with if we could, but rather if we should

Because you don't use or see the need for something, doesn't mean "the world isnt ready".

Postby 16 cycles » November 19th, 2014, 6:08 pm

GoPros can shoot in 4k format iirc

Not sure if new DSLRs can do the same but 1080 format is large as well...both making case for larger and larger sd cards ...once a phone has a slot to access ...cud only be a positive...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 19th, 2014, 7:13 pm

Instead of an SD card slot to slow down your phone, you can use a wireless flash drive
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00H4BBWGY/

or for iOS the Sandisk iXpand
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/sandisk-ixp ... Id=9294175

http://www.techradar.com/news/phone-and ... s--1219436

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 19th, 2014, 7:19 pm

ismithx wrote:4k is an issue for everything, the world not ready for it yet
the world not ready for 4K? Or you not ready for 4K?

most movies since Avatar are filmed in higher than 4K resolution.
desktop computers are selling off the shelves with 4K and 5K monitors
4K TV's in pricesmart
Youtube videos are now in 4K