2012/13 Budget - 44% increase in Premium gasoline

liquimolytt

Re: 2012/13 Budget - 44% increase in Premium gasoline

Postby liquimolytt » October 4th, 2012, 12:51 am

liquimolytt wrote:We have the answer for switching from Premium Unleaded Gasoline to Premiun Unleaded Gasoline

Octane Plus is designed to improve gasoline engine operation in areas where the octane rating (RON) is too low and causes engine knock, pinging, overheating and other problems associated with lowoctane gasoline. Raises the octane rating by up to 4 points. Contains no lead or other metallic-compounds that could harm catalytic converters.

Intended use
As additive treatment for all gasoline powered cars to increase performance and reduce problems of low-octane fuels. One can treats up to 50 l of gasoline.

Huge savings by switching to Super Unleaded Gasoline and adding can of Liqui Moly Octane Plus.

A car which fills up with 40 liters Premium before increase - 40 liters x $4.00 =$160.00
After increase to fill sam car will now cost - 40 liters x $5.75=$230.00
Additional cost $70.00

Switching to Super Unleaded and filling up same car and adding a Liqui Moly Octane Plus

40 liters Super Unleaded - 40 liters x $2.70 = 108.00
Liqui Moly Octane Plus - $65.00
SAVINGS - 57.00

So everytime I full up I have to use one?

Postby rollingstock » October 4th, 2012, 12:58 am

liquimolytt wrote:We have the answer for switching from Premium Unleaded Gasoline to Premiun Unleaded Gasoline

Octane Plus is designed to improve gasoline engine operation in areas where the octane rating (RON) is too low and causes engine knock, pinging, overheating and other problems associated with lowoctane gasoline. Raises the octane rating by up to 4 points. Contains no lead or other metallic-compounds that could harm catalytic converters.

Intended use
As additive treatment for all gasoline powered cars to increase performance and reduce problems of low-octane fuels. One can treats up to 50 l of gasoline.

Huge savings by switching to Super Unleaded Gasoline and adding can of Liqui Moly Octane Plus.

A car which fills up with 40 liters Premium before increase - 40 liters x $4.00 =$160.00
Additional cost $70.00

Switching to Super Unleaded and filling up same car and adding a Liqui Moly Octane Plus

Liqui Moly Octane Plus - $65,OO
SAVINGS - $ 57.00

4 points ain't doing diddly forkin squat for my gdi engine, and i doubt it will for other vehicles that NEED premium fuel.

Monster 101

Postby Monster 101 » October 4th, 2012, 1:22 am

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 4th, 2012, 4:31 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Rem ... 90001.html

Removal of subsidy on super gas a possibility
Story Created: Oct 4, 2012 at 12:05 AM ECT
Story Updated: Oct 4, 2012 at 12:05 AM ECT
Motorists who use super graded gasoline and diesel fuel are next on Finance Minister Larry Howai's list.
He is hoping that Government would be able to make another dent in the $4 billion fuel subsidy by as early as next year.
Speaking at the Energy Chamber's annual general meeting luncheon at the Hyatt Regency (Trinidad) hotel, Port of Spain, yesterday, Howai acknowledged that even with the removal of the subsidy on premium gas in Monday's national budget, other fuel prices remained "heavily subsidised".
Premium fuel prices were increased on Tuesday from $4 per litre to $5.75 (44 per cent higher) following Howai's budget presentation in Parliament.
Yesterday he compared the cost of the fuel subsidy to other projects, saying the annual subsidy could build "three hospitals and 25 schools".
"We left super and diesel untouched, but this must be addressed so we don't mortgage our future," he said.
The subsidy on super gas accounts for 41 per cent of the total volume of gasoline sold and 45 per cent of the subsidy, he said.
Premium users account for nine per cent of the volume of gasoline sold in the country.
Gradually, "we will see market forces playing a part in fuel prices", he added.
Howai's plan involves possibly removing the super gas subsidy and at least the marine fuel one as early as next year.
His aim is to replace drivers' dependence on premium, super and diesel and replace it with cheaper, cleaner compressed natural gas (CNG).
This will involve a CNG initiative, which will include 62 mobile and physical gas stations, construction of which will start next year, Howai told reporters following the luncheon.
He agreed with Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar that some vehicles that use premium gas could switch to the cheaper super fuel.

Postby pete » October 4th, 2012, 5:37 am

Hopefully by the time they do it my daily commute will drop from 120km/day to 60km/day so no more increase in cost for me..

He talks about being able to build hospitals and schools with the removal of the subsidy.. so they better do that if they remove it. (like.. sure they will)

xtech

Postby xtech » October 4th, 2012, 6:21 am

Almost all countries consider cheaper Super as RON95 an premium at RON98.

Now the Prime Minster would be very correct when she says nearly all cars require regular/super

She needs to stop trying to fool us....

Postby 1UZFE » October 4th, 2012, 6:39 am

xtech wrote:Almost all countries consider cheaper Super as RON95 an premium at RON98.

Now the Prime Minster would be very correct when she says nearly all cars require regular/super

this ^^^
So then could it mean that we have a quality problem in the gas we are getting from the pumps.??

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » October 4th, 2012, 6:54 am

Intended use

Additional cost $70.00

SAVINGS - $ 57.00

4 points ain't doing diddly forkin squat for my gdi engine, and i doubt it will for other vehicles that NEED premium fuel.

Agreed
Moving from RON92 to RON 95 is a 30 point increase (point as in 0.1)
You'll need (3 / 0.4) = 7.5 bottles

Switching to Super Unleaded, filling up same car and boosting the octane to Premium levels (RON95) using Liqui Moly Octane Plus

40 liters Super Unleaded - 40 liters x $2.70 = $108.00
Liqui Moly Octane Plus - 7.5 x $65.00 = $487.50
TOTAL = $595.50

SAVINGS over filling up with Premium = -$365.50
:shock: :shock: :shock:

This option may not be the best
:oops: :oops: :oops:

Postby pugboy » October 4th, 2012, 7:02 am

isn't the main ingredient in most of those boosters toluene ?

Postby Morpheus » October 4th, 2012, 7:06 am

Just took my first "dive into 5.75" at Curepe Highway gas station. Put $60 and got 10.434 liters.

Fack! $240 to fill my lil tank now :|

EDIT: BTW, by the time I blink twice and let out a sigh, minding my own business, de man closing my tank cover yes. That was quick :?

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » October 4th, 2012, 7:18 am

pete wrote:Hopefully by the time they do it my daily commute will drop from 120km/day to 60km/day so no more increase in cost for me..

He talks about being able to build hospitals and schools with the removal of the subsidy.. so they better do that if they remove it. (like.. sure they will)

and this is my biggest concern. Removal of gas subsidy was inevitable (dem dunces could have done it on a phase basis not a today for tom 44%)but the claim is to invest more in hospitals, schools bla bla bla. I have no problem if they do this and not try to "pocket" the damn thing. They really better play it proper with this one.....

djcarbon

Postby djcarbon » October 4th, 2012, 7:48 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I not buying no damn electric vehicle. I not buying no damn cng conversion kit. I not buying no damn cng vehicle either.

Hahahahahahaahaaaaaa I laugh with tears in mih eye.

Seriously though and politics aside I have some questions and the convo here could produce answers from the collective.

Raising diesel is political suicide. These are politicians. Lewwe dun that there. If the premise is that they raised premium to cut into the gas subsidy I can't understand how if they are asking people to switch to super. Premium was subsidized less than super by ALOT!!!

So on average, premium was $0.73/liter to subsidize, super is $1.83

If they're ASKING US to ALL use super aren't we (as taxpayers) spending MORE to subsidize fuel? The diesel factor again is an issue. The only reason imho this is so is cause if we had a floated gas price or a cross the board subsidy taxi man cyaa just ups and raise price. Food and transport ting too...

Another question: has any tuner independently tested our fuel? I actually use premium because I dont trust the ratings.

Last question, I'm finding it hard to get feedback from people from their trip meter. What y'all getting on a full tank or half tank in terms of distance? If I drive reasonable with a/c I'm getting ~735Km / 63 liter (dry) tank (8 liter reserve). If I drive like an ass ~550+Km lol

Ironically, it seems my car and many other 'luxury cars' in its class can easily run super here assuming that its rating is 'real'. As a UK spec car it uses the same RON measurement not the US AKI and clearly states:

I'd like to believe that all BMWs here should be able to use super with no ill effects if they're similar in the manual. So it seems I'll be assisting in the increase in the expenditure from the treasury for the subsidy oui.

Bless.

Postby pete » October 4th, 2012, 8:09 am

^^ Where did you get those figures from? (the $1.83 for super and $0.73 for premium)

You're saying super costs only 20c/litre less to make than premium?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 4th, 2012, 8:23 am

djcarbon wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I not buying no damn electric vehicle. I not buying no damn cng conversion kit. I not buying no damn cng vehicle either.

Hahahahahahaahaaaaaa I laugh with tears in mih eye.

Seriously though and politics aside I have some questions and the convo here could produce answers from the collective.

Raising diesel is political suicide. These are politicians. Lewwe dun that there. If the premise is that they raised premium to cut into the gas subsidy I can't understand how if they are asking people to switch to super. Premium was subsidized less than super by ALOT!!!

So on average, premium was $0.73/liter to subsidize, super is $1.83

If they're ASKING US to ALL use super aren't we (as taxpayers) spending MORE to subsidize fuel? The diesel factor again is an issue. The only reason imho this is so is cause if we had a floated gas price or a cross the board subsidy taxi man cyaa just ups and raise price. Food and transport ting too...

Another question: has any tuner independently tested our fuel? I actually use premium because I dont trust the ratings.

Last question, I'm finding it hard to get feedback from people from their trip meter. What y'all getting on a full tank or half tank in terms of distance? If I drive reasonable with a/c I'm getting ~735Km / 63 liter (dry) tank (8 liter reserve). If I drive like an ass ~550+Km lol

Ironically, it seems my car and many other 'luxury cars' in its class can easily run super here assuming that its rating is 'real'. As a UK spec car it uses the same RON measurement not the US AKI and clearly states:

I'd like to believe that all BMWs here should be able to use super with no ill effects if they're similar in the manual. So it seems I'll be assisting in the increase in the expenditure from the treasury for the subsidy oui.

Bless.

I only responding cuz you quote me :lol:

Seriously though for me:
Before subsidy reduction in premium I would get 500 km per tank off of 52 litres when driving hard (anywhere from 50 kph to 200 approx) with ac.

After subsidy reduction I switched up immediately just to see how things go. No AC, set cruise control on highway to 95-100 kph, windows up, sunroof closed, air con fans blowing air from outside into vehicle...vehicle is projecting to get about 850 - 900 km per 52 litres now :shock:
My average fuel economy so far is 5.9 litres per 100 km ===>52/5.9x100= 881 km :shock: Worse yet is that includes some city driving. The more highway runs the better for me so it conceivable I can get 900+ as long as I plan properly.

Now that I see VW says I can run RON 91 I feeling to fill super now. I miss meh zorcing :D

On another serious note I believe this adjustment to Premium price was JUST a WARNING shot to the middle class population of things to come. The government knows the subsidy will INCREASE when people switch to Super. They also knew they couldn't' adjust Super one time after being in the bad eye of the public recently. There are concessions to the general public to appease them but the real cuts coming just now. Super going up in fiscal year 2013 for sure. Not sure if they brave enough to adjust diesel too even though they stated that they will in fiscal year 2013.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 4th, 2012, 8:30 am

xtech wrote:Almost all countries consider cheaper Super as RON95 an premium at RON98.

Was in Miami in February this year and the highest grade fuel at the Shell station I filled up at was Ron 93 thereabouts and it was US$4.05/gallon

There was nothing as high as RON 95 at any station I went to.

Postby rollingstock » October 4th, 2012, 8:31 am

^ USA uses AKI rating.

dread_2002

Postby dread_2002 » October 4th, 2012, 8:36 am

PPL all over the world have different rating systems... do not get the chain up that our gas already better than alot of other countries..that is false and propaganda

our gas is actually not that good

Postby Dizzy28 » October 4th, 2012, 8:43 am

rollingstock wrote:^ USA uses AKI rating.

But the pump had Ron marked on it though.........................I think.
Hmmmm Now second guessing myself :?

Postby rfari » October 4th, 2012, 8:46 am

Why the beatup? Kamla going to listen to the plight of the people and revert to the original prices to then implement a more suitable pricing strategy. Meem frighten

Postby cinco » October 4th, 2012, 8:49 am

Difference between RON and AKI

Because of the 8 to 10 point difference noted above, the octane rating shown in Canada and the United States is 4 to 5 points lower than the rating shown elsewhere in the world for the same fuel. See the table in the following section for a comparison.

98 in the us is 93 here
in the lower states where it is hotter they tend to not have the higher R+M/2 rated fuels

Postby nervewrecker » October 4th, 2012, 8:50 am

Intended use

Additional cost $70.00

SAVINGS - $ 57.00

What about those who switch to super unleaded?

Postby Dizzy28 » October 4th, 2012, 8:54 am

cinco wrote:

Because of the 8 to 10 point difference noted above, the octane rating shown in Canada and the United States is 4 to 5 points lower than the rating shown elsewhere in the world for the same fuel. See the table in the following section for a comparison.

98 in the us is 93 here
in the lower states where it is hotter they tend to not have the higher R+M/2 rated fuels

Well AKI or RON or MON I know I didn't see any number as high as 95 at the pumps.

Postby cinco » October 4th, 2012, 8:58 am

cinco wrote:

98 in the us is 93 here

Well AKI or RON or MON I know I didn't see any number as high as 95 at the pumps.

miami usually has 89 91 and 93
if u go more north the lowest you would get is 93
u will get 95 and 97
sunoco and gulf stations tend to have 99 or 110

Postby tr1ad » October 4th, 2012, 9:08 am

lpg powered tida for sale...........

pm me your email

narvin

Postby narvin » October 4th, 2012, 10:39 am

All I have read about is all well and good. What they need to do is dig in deep into Petrotrin and get rid of half the people who suck salt all day and then protest and hold the country to ransom. Why do you all think the subsidy is so high, it is also because the cost of production due to the union continuously asking for increases. People go to work there and sit down for a full 8 hours with not one damn thing to do and collect a fat paycheck from Labourers go all the way up to Managers. I am not for this increase as we are going backwards as far as I am concerned. Where in the world do they encourage the population to drive Diesel powered vehicles. In most countries Diesel is more than Gas yet we are going in the opposite direction but I guess they not even thinking about the environment and long term effects either.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 4th, 2012, 10:56 am

narvin wrote:All I have read about is all well and good. What they need to do is dig in deep into Petrotrin and get rid of half the people who suck salt all day and then protest and hold the country to ransom. Why do you all think the subsidy is so high, it is also because the cost of production due to the union continuously asking for increases. People go to work there and sit down for a full 8 hours with not one damn thing to do and collect a fat paycheck from Labourers go all the way up to Managers. I am not for this increase as we are going backwards as far as I am concerned. Where in the world do they encourage the population to drive Diesel powered vehicles. In most countries Diesel is more than Gas yet we are going in the opposite direction but I guess they not even thinking about the environment and long term effects either.

Diesel and super getting its due just now. Doh worry.

Postby tr1ad » October 4th, 2012, 10:57 am

diesel will increase no doubt, but not by much

this is because from inception of services, diesel has been utilized, transport and public transport on the whole

if it had been limited to government transport (buses) and strictly commercial vehicles then it would be a different story

if diesel raises by a mere 50cents, commuters and consumers would suffer none the less

Postby nervewrecker » October 4th, 2012, 11:04 am

So with that note (price increase due in the other 2 fuel types) will owners of vehicles that use super and diesel jack up prices or drop them?

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » October 4th, 2012, 11:33 am

Didn't see this posted anywhere. Official release from N&M.
NM Recommended Fuel Types.jpg

Postby pete » October 4th, 2012, 11:43 am

tr1ad wrote:diesel will increase no doubt, but not by much

this is because from inception of services, diesel has been utilized, transport and public transport on the whole

if it had been limited to government transport (buses) and strictly commercial vehicles then it would be a different story

if diesel raises by a mere 50cents, commuters and consumers would suffer none the less

Yes but it's something that has to be done.

If they make premium and super 4x the price of diesel then everyone will just buy diesel vehicles and you're back to square one. What would you say about all the other countries in the Caribbean that don't have their fuel subsidised? How do they get by? You make it seem like we won't be able to survive in Trinidad if that happens but that's not true.

I gave an example of how the price of goods would increase if diesel price doubled in an earlier thread. Even something like bread would not have to go up much ($0.15/loaf). Transport maybe 10-15%. Only people it'll hit hard is the ones who are using it in their private vehicles.

Thing is.. if diesel actually COSTS the government say $6/litre and you're buying it for $1.50 then every time you fill up for $80 you're taking $240 from the rest of the population.

It will be hard if they take it away but if they don't in a few years we're really going to be screwed.