Re: Low Carb\Low Cal\Healthier Food\Healthier Lifestyle Thre

Postby 1UZFE » June 15th, 2012, 3:45 pm

AllTrac wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:only ting rain does stop is cricket :|

Guess you were wrong there. Rain stopped the France Ukraine match earlier.

2-0... :lol:

ChristianRD

Postby ChristianRD » June 15th, 2012, 4:10 pm

AllTrac wrote:who does morning cardio instead of evening or night?

I do it upon waking and on an empty stomach. Probably the quickest way to lose fat imo, combined with a ketogenic diet.

Postby AllTrac » June 15th, 2012, 6:15 pm

ChristianRD wrote:

I do it upon waking and on an empty stomach. Probably the quickest way to lose fat imo, combined with a ketogenic diet.

how is your energy during the day?
Im actually trying to indue Ketosis right now, im on my 4th day, the strips still pink tho :(

ChristianRD

Postby ChristianRD » June 15th, 2012, 7:16 pm

AllTrac wrote:
ChristianRD wrote:

how is your energy during the day?
Im actually trying to indue Ketosis right now, im on my 4th day, the strips still pink tho :(

TBH I can't get through the day without caffeine whether it be pills/pre wo supps or coffee.

Postby AllTrac » June 15th, 2012, 10:40 pm

I need coffee also but i read the caffeine spikes insulin so it defeats ketosis, but thats with some people, i for one dont experience a spike.

Postby sharkman121 » June 16th, 2012, 1:10 am

nope..simply postponed it by an hour.

Postby De Dragon » June 16th, 2012, 1:22 am

I do some pre lifting cardio at 4am before I go to work if I missed the previous day's lifting. Also, when I come off night shifts before I go to sleep if that is a lifting day, but not exclusively cardio

Postby AllTrac » June 16th, 2012, 10:02 am

I do some pre lifting cardio at 4am before I go to work if I missed the previous day's lifting. Also, when I come off night shifts before I go to sleep if that is a lifting day, but not exclusively cardio

how long is your morning cardio? and do you have enough energy during the day?

Postby De Dragon » June 16th, 2012, 10:10 am

AllTrac wrote:

how long is your morning cardio? and do you have enough energy during the day?

40 minutes(20 before and after weights) and energy is high for about 4 hours, then it's coffee time.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 16th, 2012, 1:24 pm

sharkman121 wrote:

nope..simply postponed it by an hour.

Mere Semantics. Even if for 1 hr it was stopped the restarted.

kl122

Postby kl122 » June 16th, 2012, 2:17 pm

two "herbal life" reps came to our office to do a presentation about their products some time ago, they brought this scale, which u need to input age height and when you stand on it gives you a bunch of info, bmi,bone density, muscle mass index etc...forgot the name of the scale, but anyway i say let me give it a try, being 285lbs that time i was kind of skeptical about standing on the scale barefeet.......but i did and the results were very puzzling to the reps, they were kind of in disbelief with my bone density/mass index and my muscle mass........they said they never saw it so high on anyone before...they also told me i need a caloric intake of 5000 calories a day...which i tawt was kind of crazy...

so is the bmi reading a true reading? if u have big bone mass and muscle mass and you r short then, how can that reading give you your ideal weight......

ChristianRD

Postby ChristianRD » June 16th, 2012, 3:12 pm

kl122 wrote:two "herbal life" reps came to our office to do a presentation about their products some time ago, they brought this scale, which u need to input age height and when you stand on it gives you a bunch of info, bmi,bone density, muscle mass index etc...forgot the name of the scale, but anyway i say let me give it a try, being 285lbs that time i was kind of skeptical about standing on the scale barefeet.......but i did and the results were very puzzling to the reps, they were kind of in disbelief with my bone density/mass index and my muscle mass........they said they never saw it so high on anyone before...they also told me i need a caloric intake of 5000 calories a day...which i tawt was kind of crazy...

so is the bmi reading a true reading? if u have big bone mass and muscle mass and you r short then, how can that reading give you your ideal weight......

IMO BMI is only a guideline if you are obese or anorexic.

B.S. unless you are an ectomorph with a super high metabolism, which I doubt at 285lbs bodyweight.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 16th, 2012, 4:12 pm

ChristianRD wrote:

me too....on empty stomach (except for water and coffee)....walk/jog a 2.3+ miles...then some stretching and once time permits 1 hour strength training......

note the bad/funny breath that indicates that the body is in ketosis.....

ALSO note that if you NOT working out or anything of the sort and you on are on a low carb with increased protein diet then the protein tends to actually become stored as fat! You can actually gain weight.....

tardissubie

Postby tardissubie » June 18th, 2012, 10:42 pm

Vast amount of papers to back this up... Cinnamon great for insulin control
Not a miracle but great for people who are "sensitive" to carbs or problems with insulin resistance....still doesn't mean you could raid cinnabon :lol:
Plenty info on it, published academic journals and stuff.
http://www.livestrong.com/article/34619 ... -cinnamon/

Good thread yo 8)...and eat yuh broccolli like a big man

Postby 1UZFE » June 18th, 2012, 10:47 pm

^^^ it akso helps with HBP....

Postby sharkman121 » June 19th, 2012, 1:20 am

Romany wrote:Good thread yo 8)...and eat yuh broccolli like a big man

i did this today... im pretty proud of myself. :|

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 19th, 2012, 3:30 am

okay...re-starting my workouts today....in a lil while actually....been slacking off food wise since last Sunday too....been having ice cream, cake (remains of birthday scenes) and peas pouri intermittantly.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » June 19th, 2012, 11:34 am

On vacay here in TT and I must say its been difficult minimizing my carb intake. Don't know how you guys do it. Everything here is so rich and delicious and did I mention rich? Thankfully I am burning those calories off with a healthy dosage of physical activity (jogging, etc). :)

Postby sharkman121 » June 19th, 2012, 12:43 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:On vacay here in TT

[joey voice] how you doin :lol: [/joey voice]

also for those who interested, pricemart has the bix box of quaker oats on special for $45, it has fifty something packs in the box. apple, cinnamon etc

also the big bag of almonds for the needed good fats. $60 which is more than reasonable considering how much you getting.

Just thought id share this.

Postby AllTrac » June 19th, 2012, 2:14 pm

sharkman121 wrote:

also for those who interested, pricemart has the bix box of quaker oats on special for $45, it has fifty something packs in the box. apple, cinnamon etc

Dan :? do get tie up with that, u would be defeating the whole process and putting back and then some of what you burned out with your exercise, have you seen the amount of sugar they have in those flavored oats? Sugar is the enemy, go with old fashion steel cut oats.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 19th, 2012, 5:06 pm

^ agreed. I buy the rolled oats in the cannister for when i need to mix things up a bit

Postby AllTrac » June 19th, 2012, 7:09 pm

did a blood sugar test by my family doctor and the test came back yesterday, he said I read 87mg/ dL, which according to him is perfect. Thats a huge accomplishment for me coming from a family with a history of diabetes and high blood pressure. My diet has been continuously improving my life in so many different ways.
Diabetes, COME AT ME BRO

Postby sharkman121 » June 19th, 2012, 8:04 pm

AllTrac wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:

Dan :? do get tie up with that, u would be defeating the whole process and putting back and then some of what you burned out with your exercise, have you seen the amount of sugar they have in those flavored oats? Sugar is the enemy, go with old fashion steel cut oats.

Let me explain, i monitor my nutrition facts very carefully and use the nutrition counter on "myfitnesspal.com" to monitor the intake. You see exactly how much sugars, calories, protein, carbohydrates and fats you consume. You can then double check it against the nutrition facts on the quaker oats box to verify.

Next, the big quaker oats box comes with about 50 sachets including the ORIGINAL quakers oats (flavourless), then there are some with added cinnamon and some apple flavored for variety. I eat some of each depending on my needs and i eat em for breakfast too which is the best time technically if you are to consume any sugars if you decide to use a cinnamon or apple sachet. Again moderation is key.

Postby AllTrac » June 19th, 2012, 8:18 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
AllTrac wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:

Let me explain, i monitor my nutrition facts very carefully and use the nutrition counter on "myfitnesspal.com" to monitor the intake. You see exactly how much sugars, calories, protein, carbohydrates and fats you consume. You can then double check it against the nutrition facts on the quaker oats box to verify.

i really dont know what you explained there, but when you checked it, you fine with putting in 16grams of sugars and 36grams of carbs in one meal? you ok with the larger portion of its calories (177cals) come from sugars? If so then, fine. But for me ill pass. Could do without the insulin spike unless i plan to lift weights hour after. I really dont see how packing in 16g of sugars in one meal is moderation but To each his own i guess. If it works for you then more power to ya.

Postby sharkman121 » June 19th, 2012, 8:42 pm

Maybe i need to take a photo but the box is next to me

Cinnamon 12g sugar
Apple 11g sugar
Original 0g sugar

Another thing you look at is the overall calories per serving. Its considered to be beneficial by many fitness gurus that the calories from fat must not exceed 10-20% of total calories.
In this, the calories to calories from fat ratio are as follows for cinnamon, apple and regular respectively.

130/16 160/20 100/20

This makes it more than acceptable as a meal as the nutrition facts are very well balanced. Put it this way, the original is GREAT, the apple is GOOD, and the cinnamon is OK.

I personally never had much of a sweet tooth anyway, so my wife eats the cinnamon mostly even though id try it now and then This is also why sugars in cereals, fruits and juices are best eaten on mornings for breakfast because yr body metabolizes it much more efficiently and burns up quicker during the day.

Another reason why they say dont eat fruits at night so as for it not to be stored as fat. So not too sure where u got 16g from but i can take a photo upon request.

Postby AllTrac » June 19th, 2012, 10:09 pm

you dont need to take a pic, even at 12grams that still alot, im not going to break down the science to you about carbs basically being sugar and the body would first metabolize the sugar thus storing the fat already there on your tissue. If it works for you then well done, have you seen the results on your scale or waist band?. I dropped 22lbs in 3 months by sticking to Paleo and good exercise regime. Fats got a bad name because everyone associated fats with obesity so they stay clear of it, im no guru but im a walking results of eating high fats and high protein diet with approx 30carbs daily intake. do ya thing.

tardissubie

Postby tardissubie » June 19th, 2012, 10:27 pm

agree with shark there about 12g sugar in the morning, but this depends a lot specifically to the person as in lifestyle and caloric needs. After a nights rest no matter what you consume, your body is going to burn that $hit up. 12g for a moderately active hardback man is minimal. But as trac rightfully said, to each his own. What works for some may not work for others...

Most lenient times to indulge in carbs is breakfast (you have the entire day ahead and just "broke" fasting period) and after workouts (body shuttles it immediately to replenish glycogen). Moderation 8)

Postby sharkman121 » June 19th, 2012, 10:39 pm

True, im no guru either but we are here to learn and id welcome any advice even if it conflicts mine. I know about fats and how they get a bad name and how you have good fats and bad fats which is why i have my almonds and peanut butter etc to get my necessary intake of good fats everyday..even butter which is much better than margarine.

So far ive dropped only 12lbs in 5 weeks. ALthough it varies from person to person how many grams of sugar one should intake per day on average, the average intake for a man is roughly about 45grams by just doing a quick internet search. So getting 12 grams from one meal especially breakfast isnt bad at all. Even yr site livestrong has it
http://www.livestrong.com/article/38242 ... intake-be/

Remember also only a certain % is cinnamon and apple, most is original which has 0 sugars and cals.

Im not debating per se but rather want to create healthy banter in which one or both of us would learn something at the end. I try to do my part by reading as many up to date and relevant articles i can get my hands on online.

Postby sharkman121 » June 19th, 2012, 10:41 pm

Also high fats and protein > high carbs and protein anyday as you stated, a lot of ppl still have a negative perception of fats though.

My carbohydrate limit intake for the day is 291, which is great for my considering that im a flour baby and love all things flour like bread, roti, doubles etc :lol:

Postby AllTrac » June 20th, 2012, 5:33 am

i dont follow everything i read online, i try to make myself the example so i can say for sure if something works or not. Ive tried my best to cut out as much sugar as i can and it has helped me by leaps and bounds, the only reason i did those test by the doc is to see if there was any negative effect hidden, so far my blood sugar is good, my BP is nice and stable and with the extra fats im taking in im waiting on my cholesterol reading which my doc assured me that he is sure it would be good as he endorsed my diet, as he put it "you never saw a fat caveman" Ive learned from the earlies to never trust everything you read on the internet just like the whole egg yellow is bad and a calorie is a calorie fallacy