National Strike updates/ watch/ News

Re: National Strike updates/ watch/ News

Postby Hook » September 11th, 2012, 11:40 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Wonder what would be teachers reaction if we benchmarked our education system to some of the best in the world (Japan, South Korea, Taiwan, Singapore, China) where the "summer" vacation is three weeks long?

mass suicide

Yorkshirelass
CARS Member

Postby Yorkshirelass » September 11th, 2012, 11:50 am

Greypatch wrote:
Yorkshirelass wrote:I had to pick my son from a high school in town-14 teachers came out!!!! And apparently the same thing happening next week?

why are the teachers taking action ?

they say they are working at 2007 pay rates.

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » September 11th, 2012, 12:41 pm

Hook wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Wonder what would be teachers reaction if we benchmarked our education system to some of the best in the world (Japan, South Korea, Taiwan, Singapore, China) where the "summer" vacation is three weeks long?

mass suicide

That would be adequate as teachers would not have any of the administrative duties that trini teachers are currently burdened with and sure as hell not have to deal with what teachers deal with in the classroom in Trinidad. Before a comparison is made with just holidays also compare the responsibilities of the teachers. I sure the difference would tell a different story.

Postby teems1 » September 11th, 2012, 12:56 pm

For my A level Further Maths, I unknowingly bought the Singapore past paper book instead of the UK (the one we use).

Sweet Jesus, question 1) a) in the Singapore paper was more difficult than the entire UK paper.

Insane!

Postby Dizzy28 » September 11th, 2012, 1:00 pm

mamoo_pagal wrote:
Hook wrote:

mass suicide

That would be adequate as teachers would not have any of the administrative duties that trini teachers are currently burdened with and sure as hell not have to deal with what teachers deal with in the classroom in Trinidad. Before a comparison is made with just holidays also compare the responsibilities of the teachers. I sure the difference would tell a different story.

Aware me of these administrative duties you speak off? I live with a high school teacher for the past 9 years. My two cousins who live one house away from me are high school teachers for the past 5 and 3 years respectively, my wife's aunt who we see very often has been a high school teacher for the last 15 years and what I do see are some of the most carefree people in Trinidad who only complain of low pay.

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » September 11th, 2012, 2:47 pm

mamoo_pagal wrote:
Hook wrote:

mass suicide

Aware me of these administrative duties you speak off? I live with a high school teacher for the past 9 years. My two cousins who live one house away from me are high school teachers for the past 5 and 3 years respectively, my wife's aunt who we see very often has been a high school teacher for the last 15 years and what I do see are some of the most carefree people in Trinidad who only complain of low pay.

Why must I make you aware, before you compare why the systems are different go and find out why are the factors that influence them.You really think a class room in Trinidad can mirror one in China or Singapore? We have no high school in T & T it is called secondary school.These ppl who you refer to sound like the delinquent teachers that are in the system for a free ride or those that just got frustrated and give up after years of inefficiency and unfair treatment in the system. Is it that 3 ppl can give such an accurate account of teachers in the country? What you need to do is broaden your vision, what you see clearly is limited by your exposure. If you want to see what the real teachers look like, visit any secondary school......any school, ask questions, observe the classroom and then compare.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 11th, 2012, 3:10 pm

mamoo_pagal wrote:
Hook wrote:

mass suicide

Why must I make you aware, before you compare why the systems are different go and find out why are the factors that influence them.You really think a class room in Trinidad can mirror one in China or Singapore? We have no high school in T & T it is called secondary school.These ppl who you refer to sound like the delinquent teachers that are in the system for a free ride or those that just got frustrated and give up after years of inefficiency and unfair treatment in the system. Is it that 3 ppl can give such an accurate account of teachers in the country? What you need to do is broaden your vision, what you see clearly is limited by your exposure. If you want to see what the real teachers look like, visit any secondary school......any school, ask questions, observe the classroom and then compare.

The only real teachers I personally know off are all retired. Almost the entire lot of Hillview in the early 90s. Rafeek, Bedoor, Seepersad, Samaroo, Kokes.......they never strike, they eh know what sick leave was.
These new batch of teachers do not have quarter of the level of commitment of the older set.

Postby pioneer » September 11th, 2012, 3:20 pm

Q - Are teachers aware their working hours are from 8-4 like any other regular public servants?

How many leave by 2:30?

No wonder they come to interviews and fail badly.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 11th, 2012, 4:18 pm

pioneer wrote:Q - Are teachers aware their working hours are from 8-4 like any other regular public servants?

really? please aware me where it says teachers have working hours from 8-4

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 11th, 2012, 4:32 pm

Swisha wrote:
pioneer wrote:Q - Are teachers aware their working hours are from 8-4 like any other regular public servants?

really? please aware me where it says teachers have working hours from 8-4

LOL @ taking Pioneer seriously

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » September 11th, 2012, 4:34 pm

mamoo_pagal wrote:
Hook wrote:

The only real teachers I personally know off are all retired. Almost the entire lot of Hillview in the early 90s. Rafeek, Bedoor, Seepersad, Samaroo, Kokes.......they never strike, they eh know what sick leave was.
These new batch of teachers do not have quarter of the level of commitment of the older set.

How do you know that? It seems you are following the status quo and "all ah dem teachas doh wok". You talk about retired Hillview teachers, how many schools in 2012 can compare to the caliber of students/parents that attended Hillview back then as well as the flexibility Hillview had in their administration. If those same teachers were to start of teaching and functioning in the average school environment in Trinidad presently would they have the same attitude?? I doubt, now is not what existed then, in now way, no form, no fashion. Again "These new batch of teachers do not have quarter of the level of commitment of the older set", how do you know that? Why is it some schools seem to be excelling (new and old) presently and others not? Is it because they doing obeah? I do agree there is serious teacher delinquency which should be addressed. But Peter pay for Paul, no!
Last edited by mamoo_pagal on September 11th, 2012, 4:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Yodins

Postby Yodins » September 11th, 2012, 4:35 pm

I think teachers striking friday and thursday. ntsureif2stayhome

Postby Hook » September 11th, 2012, 4:42 pm

:lol: Try my mom, a Teacher II and H.O.D. of 30years experience dealing with everything from school fights to errant parents, to sexual abuse in the home. Waiting in hospitals and police stations seeing about her students because the parents couldn't care less. She even got her food badge and sold home-made pizza, cake and fudge at school to raise funds for a student who lost her belongings in a fire.
Makes uniforms and buys shoes for the poorer students who cannot afford them and even gave one the shoes off her feet and went home in $3 rubber slippers.

Meanwhile, the younger teachers palm off work, don't supervise classes during their free periods, don't participate in the planning and execution of school functions and fund raisers, leave early, have doctor friends with sick leave notes on-tap, not finishing the syllabus in school so students have to pay for extra lessons...the list goes on...

Mind you, she does not strike. So long as there are students who want to learn, she's out there every day, some days staying to after 6pm helping them with their SBAs and dropping them home afterwards.

You think that older teacher deserves to be paying 2012 prices with a 2007 salary? Or teaching in a classroom without lights?

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » September 11th, 2012, 5:06 pm

Hook wrote::lol: Try my mom, a Teacher II and H.O.D. of 30years experience dealing with everything from school fights to errant parents, to sexual abuse in the home. Waiting in hospitals and police stations seeing about her students because the parents couldn't care less. She even got her food badge and sold home-made pizza, cake and fudge at school to raise funds for a student who lost her belongings in a fire.
Makes uniforms and buys shoes for the poorer students who cannot afford them and even gave one the shoes off her feet and went home in $3 rubber slippers.

Meanwhile, the younger teachers palm off work, don't supervise classes during their free periods, don't participate in the planning and execution of school functions and fund raisers, leave early, have doctor friends with sick leave notes on-tap, not finishing the syllabus in school so students have to pay for extra lessons...the list goes on...

Mind you, she does not strike. So long as there are students who want to learn, she's out there every day, some days staying to after 6pm helping them with their SBAs and dropping them home afterwards.

You think that older teacher deserves to be paying 2012 prices with a 2007 salary? Or teaching in a classroom without lights?

It's unfortunate that ppl don't believe that there are dedicated teachers in the younger generations. Correction to your post, there are Educators who go beyond and above and there are those who function like parasites (by job title Teachers). You are correct, the one's who make the effort won't be the one's striking. Educators deserve what is being fought for, the parasites don't. The system has to be weeded...........

Postby brams112 » September 11th, 2012, 5:39 pm

Aware me on this,do y'all think the children should pay for political mischeif?Hook tell ur mums she is a great person if she goes through all that trouble to mould her students.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 11th, 2012, 10:06 pm

Hook wrote::lol: Try my mom, a Teacher II and H.O.D. of 30years experience dealing with everything from school fights to errant parents, to sexual abuse in the home. Waiting in hospitals and police stations seeing about her students because the parents couldn't care less. She even got her food badge and sold home-made pizza, cake and fudge at school to raise funds for a student who lost her belongings in a fire.

and those are the ones who cause ALL teachers to be branded as lazy, only looking for more money and not dedicated....there are many who are just like your mom there Hook, very hardworking, dedicated and will do anything to ensure their pupils are given the best....but fair is fair....settle the long overdue negotiations and pay arrears of increments.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 11th, 2012, 10:15 pm

http://www.mackinac.org/10840 wrote:International analysis yields similar results. It is true that some countries, such as Korea and Japan, average more than 200 days of school per year and consistently outscore the United States on tests like the Programme for International Student Assessment and the Trends in International Mathematics and Science Study. Several other countries, however, average fewer school days than the United States and still score higher on the same tests. Analyzing international standardized test scores and average number of school days produces the same result that exists in Michigan: There is no relationship between the time students spend in school and their academic achievement.

Even historical comparisons suggest the same conclusion. According to "Market Education: The Unknown History," by Andrew Coulson, in 1909-1910, the average American student spent 113 days in school. By 1969-1970 that average had climbed to 161 school days; today that number is approaching 180 days. This means that the high school graduates of today are in class for what amounts to more than four additional school years — at the 180-day school year level — than graduates of 1910. What has been accomplished with those additional years of schooling? Not much, considering that the average reading score for a 17-year-old is 12 points below a level at which "readers can understand complicated literary and informational passages, including material about topics they study at school," according to the 2008 National Assessment of Educational Progress report.

Postby De Dragon » September 11th, 2012, 10:15 pm

Aware me this, if the issue is pay, why not strike during the vacation period. And before some twitnit comes on with "the purpose of ah strike yada yada yada", if thet really CARED about educating and helping students they would minimize the disruption to those very students lives.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 11th, 2012, 10:25 pm

would the parents and other members of the public who like you are concerned about the children's welfare/minimizing disruption, care to protest on the behalf of teachers to encourage the CPO/gov't to listen?

If they would then maybe the teachers would go to school as normal...

Postby De Dragon » September 11th, 2012, 10:31 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:would the parents and other members of the public who like you are concerned about the children's welfare/minimizing disruption, care to protest on the behalf of teachers to encourage the CPO/gov't to listen?

Why would I need to protest with them? Can't they take up their grievances with the Ministry on their own? Would they come to my workplace and ask my boss for a raise? My concern is educating my children, not getting salary increases for teachers.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 11th, 2012, 10:45 pm

and therefore withholding their service/skill is the only tool that can be used at this moment to get the ministry moving forward......all other options have been tried but the CPO/gov't refuses to budge...

why is it when oil industry decides to down tools/withhold their service everyone panics and there is urgency to quell/settle issues? that also affects the lives of everyone.....

you talk about CARING about the education of the children but is the teacher able to go to the grocery with their dated incomes and tell the proprietor that they go pay him with care?

My concern however is that with everyone clamoring for pay increases cost of living would increase as well...taxation etc....so all's well in asking for more BUT one may end up paying a lot more....

I say cut back on all the damn social spending free-ness geemee geemee free house nonsense.....same ting pandey was doing....

Postby rfari » September 11th, 2012, 10:51 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:The only real teachers I personally know off are all retired. Almost the entire lot of Hillview in the early 90s. Rafeek, Bedoor, Seepersad, Samaroo, Kokes.......they never strike, they eh know what sick leave was.

I geh bamboo from all but 4. Pause raise yes

Postby De Dragon » September 11th, 2012, 10:53 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:and therefore withholding their service/skill is the only tool that can be used at this moment to get the ministry moving forward......all other options have been tried but the CPO/gov't refuses to budge...

you talk about CARING about the education of the children but is the teacher able to go to the grocery with their dated incomes and tell the proprietor that they go pay him with care?

I fail to see the connection here. Aren't there ways to go about the CBA? Does there protest have to involve disruption to hard working people's daily lives? I'm sure a lot of these teachers would cuss and carry on when Petrotrin causes panic gas buying, but would not think twice about affecting other people.

Postby sMASH » September 11th, 2012, 11:12 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:would the parents and other members of the public who like you are concerned about the children's welfare/minimizing disruption, care to protest on the behalf of teachers to encourage the CPO/gov't to listen?

Why would I need to protest with them? Can't they take up their grievances with the Ministry on their own? Would they come to my workplace and ask my boss for a raise? My concern is educating my children, not getting salary increases for teachers.

if public not working out too well, try private or home tutoring.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 11th, 2012, 11:14 pm

again I state that other options have been exhausted...these negotiations have been ongoing since 2008....they did think many many times more than twice about affecting the convenience and lives of other people....

the connection you fail to see: teachers go to school and care for children, remain quiet with old salary with nobody - gov't nor cpo taking them on....prices of everything raising since 2007/8.....here look $40 for a nip of flour and some caring to make up the $25 price difference....

Yes they care and that is the power that the gov't has over them....AND the protest is much more than simply salary....it involves, among other issues, working conditions. student health and safety, re-tooling classrooms, updating infrastructure, adequate staffing....

So don't be too quick to condemn...

Postby De Dragon » September 12th, 2012, 12:13 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:again I state that other options have been exhausted...these negotiations have been ongoing since 2008....they did think many many times more than twice about affecting the convenience and lives of other people....

the connection you fail to see: teachers go to school and care for children, remain quiet with old salary with nobody - gov't nor cpo taking them on....prices of everything raising since 2007/8.....here look $40 for a nip of flour and some caring to make up the $25 price difference....

Yes they care and that is the power that the gov't has over them....AND the protest is much more than simply salary....it involves, among other issues, working conditions. student health and safety, re-tooling classrooms, updating infrastructure, adequate staffing....

So don't be too quick to condemn...

I never condemned, nor argued with anyone's right to protest for fair wages, conditions etc, but you can't have been that upset that you let 6 weeks pass and didn't protest or demonstrate once. The timing is what my beef is with. I make specific arrangements to have my kids attend school, and here it is you're telling me as a shift worker, that I have to quash all that in the very beginning of the term? As someone said earlier, not everyone has the family support network in place to just pick up and care for kids when they cannot.

Postby sMASH » September 12th, 2012, 1:14 am

^^ protest of the off days for the gov't to sort out the teachers and dem.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 12th, 2012, 2:26 am

sorry dey de dragon,.....I understand your concern as a parent.....same with me.....dunno what I gonna do with the kid on those two days but throughout teachers do take really good care of my kids and 'I agree that they CPO needs to complete the survey so I would bear with the teachers with these couple days cause there are hardworking ones who really needs to be paid properly for all the hard work they put in.....

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 12th, 2012, 2:46 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Min ... 10756.html

Ministers concerned
TTUTA's 2-day 'rest and reflect'...

By Aabida Allaham aabida.allaham@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Sep 11, 2012 at 11:01 PM ECT
Story Updated: Sep 11, 2012 at 11:01 PM ECT
EVEN while the Trinidad and Tobago Unified Teachers' Association (TTUTA) prepares for "another showdown" on Friday, two ministers and the Chief Personnel Officer (CPO) are calling on the union to reconsider its decision.
In a telephone interview with the Express yesterday, Labour Minister Errol McLeod said: "It is regrettable that TTUTA and the Chief Personnel Officer are at a stage where you clearly have unfavourable action being perpetrated by one group on the other."
McLeod, who is currently attending the 58th Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference in Colombo, Sri Lanka, added that he hoped TTUTA would reconsider for the sake of the children.
"I hope they can try to find more effective ways to resolve their issues other than one that will disrupt children's education," he said.
While protesting in a joint trade union gathering last Friday, TTUTA's first vice-president, Davanand Sinanan, advised members to use Thursday and Friday as days to rest and reflect on the progress, or "lack thereof", of negotiations with the CPO.
Addressing this decision, Education Minister Dr Tim Gopeesingh issued a statement to the media yesterday, saying he was concerned about TTUTA's decision to have teachers stay away from classes, but maintained that the issue was out of his purview.
However, in the interest of the teachers who are directly affected by these wage negotiations, Gopeesingh said he consulted with Public Administration Minister Carolyn Seepersad-Bachan on the matter and he has been advised in-house discussions will continue on Friday.
In his statement, he said Seepersad-Bachan told him "phases one, two and three of the Labour Market Study have been completed and the aforementioned discussions between the two relevant parties are now at a stage negotiating the 2011 salaries".
Gopeesingh added that he "is confident that while these negotiations are ongoing, the nation's teachers will continue to show dedication and commitment to the students who fall under their charge, and he trusts that they will always ensure that the welfare of the children and education sector remains their priority".
Sinanan, meanwhile, maintains that their patience has been maxed out and the decision to call a day of rest is intended to end a signal to the CPO.
"We expected this much from people... we even understand Dr Gopeesingh's position, but we feel like we are being taken advantage of.
"So on Friday, when we again meet with the CPO, people can expect another showdown," he said.
Since July 2010, the CPO and TTUTA have been in negotiations to determine revised salaries for teachers for the period October 1, 2008, to September 30, 2011.
The discussions have centred on the review of the methodology utilised since 2000 to determine the revised salaries in keeping with the terms of a Letter of Understanding signed on October 2, 2007, by the CPO and TTUTA.
And in a statement, the CPO said these negotiations have been conducted in an atmosphere of cordiality and in a spirit of compromise.
"It is also anticipated that teachers would continue to demonstrate their usual high level of commitment to the students of Trinidad and Tobago as the CPO and TTUTA work together to conclude the current negotiations in the shortest time possible," the CPO's statement added.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » September 12th, 2012, 2:06 pm

I come from a family of mainly teachers and coincidentally some of my friend and parents are also teachers. The effort they need to make with these children that come from lets just say socially unwell homes , nothing to do with financials. The backgrounds of these children are varied and often in the wrong area of the spectrum.

I fully support the teachers and their actions . Part of this same salary pays for school stationery and seed funding for graduations, sports and many school events . They secure sponsorships and sometimes deal with genuinely mentally challenged children not just delinquent crowdpleasers. I also know more than a few young teachers you give holiday time lessons for free , follow up with parents via cell and home phones etc .

CPO is a bain of contention for most everyone in the Govt sector , I use govt here to mean contract and public officers . Some are working on 2004 salaries.