Building a house in Trinidad

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby De Dragon » August 7th, 2016, 8:51 am

konartis wrote:If I want to scale down a house, like take off a floor basically how long does that take to have the plans amended at town an country? And what's the procedure?

6 months average for pretty much anything in T/C :(

boxy

Postby boxy » August 7th, 2016, 9:46 am

3mths minimum

The Raven

Postby The Raven » August 7th, 2016, 11:42 am

Is 8 feet the maximum for a concrete wall fence, according to town and country standard?

Postby De Dragon » August 7th, 2016, 11:46 am

rspann wrote:I did something like that already, where the fabricator made some spacers which were welded down to the rc columns and the y had holes on top where the beams were bolted. Also I helped a church do a building where funds were scarce so they welded the beams together instead of bolting and that was rc columns too.

The issue here would be the rigidity of the structure in case of an earthquake. If it isn't bearing much weight like a shed or garage, then you may be ok.

screwylewie

Postby screwylewie » August 7th, 2016, 2:39 pm

rspann wrote:I did something like that already, where the fabricator made some spacers which were welded down to the rc columns and the y had holes on top where the beams were bolted. Also I helped a church do a building where funds were scarce so they welded the beams together instead of bolting and that was rc columns too.

The issue here would be the rigidity of the structure in case of an earthquake. If it isn't bearing much weight like a shed or garage, then you may be ok.

I saw a guy weld a steel plate to the rods at the top of the rc column and then weld the beam unto the plate , is that safe?

low-profile

Postby low-profile » August 7th, 2016, 8:12 pm

whats the standard height people normally go up with blocks on top a decking?

Postby rspann » August 7th, 2016, 10:31 pm

low-profile wrote:whats the standard height people normally go up with blocks on top a decking?

It depends on the slope of the roof.

low-profile

Postby low-profile » August 8th, 2016, 6:06 am

rspann wrote:
low-profile wrote:whats the standard height people normally go up with blocks on top a decking?

It depends on the slope of the roof.

so lets say im going with a 30 degree slope and the width of the house is 18.5'. i'm looking for a 24" eave
i just dont want the top of my windows to be too close to the underceiling. windows are 32" from floor and 48" in height (no arches)
Last edited by low-profile on August 8th, 2016, 6:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 8th, 2016, 6:09 am

screwylewie wrote:I saw a guy weld a steel plate to the rods at the top of the rc column and then weld the beam unto the plate , is that safe?

You could weld on mild steel (smooth reinforcing steel).

You should not weld high tensile steel (ribbed or corrugated steel) that will be subjected to structural loads. The welding causes the high tensile steel to become brittle in the weld zone and weakens it.

screwylewie

Postby screwylewie » August 8th, 2016, 11:18 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
screwylewie wrote:I saw a guy weld a steel plate to the rods at the top of the rc column and then weld the beam unto the plate , is that safe?

You could weld on mild steel (smooth reinforcing steel).

You should not weld high tensile steel (ribbed or corrugated steel) that will be subjected to structural loads. The welding causes the high tensile steel to become brittle in the weld zone and weakens it.

Ok thanks

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » August 8th, 2016, 11:19 pm

The Raven wrote:Is 8 feet the maximum for a concrete wall fence, according to town and country standard?

I believe it is 7 feet maximum

The Raven

Postby The Raven » August 9th, 2016, 2:59 pm

Oh, thanks.

ddsdion

Postby ddsdion » August 13th, 2016, 11:02 am

hey guys, who does back fill, diego martin? Need a lot of dirt!

low-profile

Postby low-profile » August 15th, 2016, 9:39 pm

can anyone recommend a good roofman to do a standing seam hip and gable roof in cunupia area?
want someone dependable and does neat work. thanks

boxy

Postby boxy » August 16th, 2016, 9:16 am

anyone has any experience with island roofing?

kevin310

Postby kevin310 » August 17th, 2016, 12:53 pm

low-profile wrote:can anyone recommend a good roofman to do a standing seam hip and gable roof in cunupia area?

Call this number, just say you got the number from trinituner 310-0466

low-profile

Postby low-profile » August 17th, 2016, 10:11 pm

kevin310 wrote:
low-profile wrote:can anyone recommend a good roofman to do a standing seam hip and gable roof in cunupia area?

Call this number, just say you got the number from trinituner 310-0466

ok thanks

simplicity16

Postby simplicity16 » August 30th, 2016, 3:15 pm

Going to start a project soon, have a question.
The gravel we buy from the hardware etc (half and half they call it), would i need to mix sand when doing foundation, beams and house posts for a 2 storey residential.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » September 1st, 2016, 10:24 pm

May not need to. The fine materials or sharp sand usually cost less, so the 1/2 and 1/2 probably has too much sand or sharp sand. There is no good cheap way to find out except if you have experience with testing. Builders like to use gravel with more sharp sand as to avoid honeycombs and allow concrete to flow around the steel or reinforcement.

Cariri or a Ready mix or pre mix company can test same for you and make recommendations or you can buy aggregate direct from them.

The aggregate will most likely be free from dirt/silt and graded for structural concrete. Check them out. Inspect their materials and compare with where you would want to buy from. The guys are usually very helpful. Who know you may even give them some business.

Buying 1/2 and 1/2 can be tricky. A two storey building is going to cost a tidy sum. So it might be best to spend a little upfront to determine how to manage the material to make concrete. More fines (sharp sand) means more cement, more water which can lead to cracking or lower strength concrete.

If you have concerns you can post and I will be glad to help.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » September 1st, 2016, 10:33 pm

konartis wrote:If I want to scale down a house, like take off a floor basically how long does that take to have the plans amended at town an country? And what's the procedure?

Scaling down a house may involve structural issues. Contact the Regional Corporation in which you are going to build in. The Building Inspector will be able to advise. There is usually an office day and you can discuss with him. I dont know of any female Building Inspectors.

Once Town and Country sends the plan to the Regional Corporation, they wash their hands of the issue. A draughsman can probably advise also.

Let us know how it goes.

The Raven

Postby The Raven » September 2nd, 2016, 12:01 am

Guys currently in the process of electrical wiring, any advise or issues to look out for?
Need to seal off also, but I want to do it after the electrical is completed and pass. Who has done it this way? That is leaving the overhead pipes floating.

Also any advise on sealing off? Gypsum or PVC.
Thanks.

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » September 2nd, 2016, 7:06 am

Once you start building you supposed to be getting electrical inspections at each phase. If you doing an underground cable you need to get a trench inspection, when you do the conduit in the decking you need to get an inspection before pouring concrete, you need to get a wall inspection before you plaster, ceiling inspection before you board off. You should have a card at GIS with all the inspections done so far, you can go in and ask to see it.

PVC is faster, cheaper and less mess. But gypsum looks better and is safer in terms of fire.

simplicity16

Postby simplicity16 » September 2nd, 2016, 11:11 am

dude2014 wrote:May not need to. The fine materials or sharp sand usually cost less, so the 1/2 and 1/2 probably has too much sand or sharp sand. There is no good cheap way to find out except if you have experience with testing. Builders like to use gravel with more sharp sand as to avoid honeycombs and allow concrete to flow around the steel or reinforcement.

Cariri or a Ready mix or pre mix company can test same for you and make recommendations or you can buy aggregate direct from them.

The aggregate will most likely be free from dirt/silt and graded for structural concrete. Check them out. Inspect their materials and compare with where you would want to buy from. The guys are usually very helpful. Who know you may even give them some business.

Buying 1/2 and 1/2 can be tricky. A two storey building is going to cost a tidy sum. So it might be best to spend a little upfront to determine how to manage the material to make concrete. More fines (sharp sand) means more cement, more water which can lead to cracking or lower strength concrete.

If you have concerns you can post and I will be glad to help.

Thanks for the info, called Coosal's and Alescon but neither sell aggregate the concrete prices are approx $1000. with vat. which is pretty ok, will try a few more places.

One more question though: What will happen if i put too much cement in the mixture? Do u think/know if it will have a negative effect (strenght, etc)?

Postby Slartibartfast » September 2nd, 2016, 11:52 am

simplicity16 wrote:One more question though: What will happen if i put too much cement in the mixture? Do u think/know if it will have a negative effect (strenght, etc)?
Theoretically, increasing the amount of cement in a mixture, while holding all other variables constant, should increase the strength of the mixture.

However, there is a point where adding more concrete actually has negative effects. Remember the aggregate actually provides a lot of strength of concrete. Too much cement could cause the concrete to be more brittle. It also increases the heat of hydration for the pour and increases the likelihood of cracking duet to shrinkage while curing. Also, cement is the most expensive component of concrete by volume so you will also be wasting a bit of money depending on the size of the pour.

Try your best not to vary a mix design for yourself unless you have experience doing so.

Also, if the concrete is not workable (fluid) enough, try adding plasticizer instead of water. You get a more fluid mix without affecting the mix design.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » September 2nd, 2016, 4:14 pm

Remember what I advised. More fines mean more cement, more cement means more water.
Having to add more cement than is necessary (taking into account the fines or sharp sand), it can affect the ease with which you mix the concrete.

Strength can increase. You can have cracking because of the heat generated by excess cement which can make the concrete porous. When this happens seepage from water especially in a marine environment will cause the steel to rust and the concrete will fall off. More headache.

Further the cement, fines and water can cause extra hydrostatic pressure in and on the formwork (ie in column and beams, slabs. This will necessitate more robust formwork construction, greater supervision not forgetting the guys who loves to say it good so together with the associated cost.

Bottom line is that you can write a book on too much cement and how to hand mix concrete.

What I would recommend is the traditional Rule of thumb: 1:2:4 mix.
This works out to one sack of cement to six cubic foot of 1/2 and 1/2 providing that the coarse and fine are in good proportions.

You can build a cubic foot box or work out the volume of the cube and find a container that is equivalent to one cubic foot. Pour into a barrow and you could measure this way. Dont just let workers load a barrow with how much they think is two cubic foot. Been there done that, you would be surprise to know that the cement will seem too much.

One final note. Cement acts as a dye and colours the gravel. It may not be evenly distributed and you will discover this after the guys get paid. they will tell you 'that good so' 'do worry'. Aggregate and cement is best mixed dry. Get a small amount of gravel and try mixing it dry and then adding water and mixing another sample by putting the cement on top and adding water.

In local palance just go and maco how people in general like to mix concrete.
YES!!!!!! I know. God is a trini

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » September 3rd, 2016, 3:55 pm

I know it's probably been discussed but anyone have a good contact for a roof company..want to get a quotation done

TheOwnerPO

Postby TheOwnerPO » September 5th, 2016, 12:14 am

Rambo's Traders Tunapuna Road. Don't know the number though.

turboturnsmeon2

Postby turboturnsmeon2 » September 5th, 2016, 9:26 am

Can you guys recommend a supplier for steel frame materials ? I tried Bhawagnsinghs which has 14mm concrete boards at $310.

matthewb

Postby matthewb » September 5th, 2016, 5:21 pm

i have a private road on to my land in horrible condition does any1 knows any1 who can repair roads?

Babsy

Postby Babsy » September 5th, 2016, 5:33 pm

So I heard that there are empty lots of land where you can lease and build on. Does anyone know of any?