*** The OFFICIAL Government Achievements Thread*** (UNC/PP EDITION 2010-2015)

toyota2nr

Re: *** The OFFICIAL Government Achievements Thread***

Postby toyota2nr » November 7th, 2014, 1:29 pm

UML wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Yes ZR, the landlord will absorb all the tax and not pass it on the renters.

BTW I have a bridge for sale, I think you might be interested.

who is the landlord for the HDC houses?

how dey getting back the money if the tenants dont even pay their rent?

:?

Worst yet who would the government tax in all those HDC apartment buildings? Themselves? PNM people once again would have to pay nothing....

Postby RASC » November 7th, 2014, 1:41 pm

RASC wrote:
RASC wrote:
RASC wrote:But what is the problem?
If all PNM people are renters...and the property tax is going to raise rents making PNM ppl bigger sufferers-why is that a bad thing for you Zoom Rader?

Isn't that what you want?

In the renting business you want long term renters that pay on time . Raise rents to harsh and you get problems to get your rent. Dealing with renters and courts to get your money is time consuming.
There has tobe a balance you don't dig ppl eyes out.

Ahhhhh so its best to keep them on the edge of sufferation rather than full out sufferer mode?

I know something like you will quickly dig out another black man eye.

It's best to create a win win situation between landlord and tenant.
None of my renters have ever been on the edge of sufferation. Most end up saving and getting HDC houses and moving on.

But PNM people don't save... And PNM people are the only renters. So how is this possible :/

The ones that I have spoken to do save and they since moved away from the PNM.

Is it safe to say then, that home owners are automatically non PNM and if they were PNM they would renounce their PNM'ness immediately?

Postby zoom rader » November 7th, 2014, 1:46 pm

RASC wrote:
RASC wrote:
RASC wrote:
If all PNM people are renters...and the property tax is going to raise rents making PNM ppl bigger sufferers-why is that a bad thing for you Zoom Rader?

In the renting business you want long term renters that pay on time . Raise rents to harsh and you get problems to get your rent. Dealing with renters and courts to get your money is time consuming.

Ahhhhh so its best to keep them on the edge of sufferation rather than full out sufferer mode?

None of my renters have ever been on the edge of sufferation. Most end up saving and getting HDC houses and moving on.

But PNM people don't save... And PNM people are the only renters. So how is this possible :/

Is it safe to say then, that home owners are automatically non PNM and if they were PNM they would renounce their PNM'ness immediately?

That's what you say.
I don't know what goes on in a PNM person mind they just as confused as you

Postby UML » November 7th, 2014, 1:48 pm

RASC wrote:
RASC wrote:
RASC wrote:

the spin doctor en da house!!!

but the majority of pnm home owners are in pnm areas where there is pnm hdc housing or own pnm hdc houses....which will pay little to no tax.

Postby 16 cycles » November 7th, 2014, 1:51 pm

losing IQ reading this thread..../pressin 'x'

Postby zoom rader » November 7th, 2014, 1:54 pm

UML wrote:
RASC wrote:
RASC wrote:
RASC wrote:

the spin doctor en da house!!!

but the majority of pnm home owners are in pnm areas where there is pnm hdc housing or own pnm hdc houses....which will pay little to no tax.

Doh bother with rasc and habit7 they know that this PNM housing tax is really an injun tax where PNM ppl will pay jack chit in taxes.
If the PNM really wanted a fair tax system then they should have brought a council tax where both renters and home owners pay the same tax.

Postby RASC » November 7th, 2014, 2:14 pm

Well there you have it...when is the UNC implementing this council tax suggestion then?

Postby zoom rader » November 7th, 2014, 2:59 pm

RASC wrote:Well there you have it...when is the UNC implementing this council tax suggestion then?

Who said UNC implementing this?
This should have been implemented if PNM really wanted a fair tax system rather than an Indian tax.

Postby Habit7 » November 7th, 2014, 3:11 pm

So Tobagoians renting land the Germans?

Postby zoom rader » November 7th, 2014, 3:26 pm

Habit7 wrote:So Tobagoians renting land the Germans?

Many Tobagonians don't hold any deeds to their lands but have been living on it.
Large trini businesses own a good chunk of bago.

Have you forgotten THA sell out lands only to lease it back to themselves from a PNM group of ppl

Postby RASC » November 7th, 2014, 5:47 pm

RASC wrote:Well there you have it...when is the UNC implementing this council tax suggestion then?

This should have been implemented if PNM really wanted a fair tax system rather than an Indian tax.

Is there anything that's not an Indian Tax?
Think about it...if Black ppl don't save-dont own property, aren't seriously employed...then the people who are really keeping the country alive with Taxes is the Indian population.

So all taxes are Indian Taxes. Isn't that racist?

Why is the govt continuously and unfairly taxing Indians?

Postby zoom rader » November 7th, 2014, 8:32 pm

RASC wrote:

Think about it...if Black ppl don't save-dont own property, aren't seriously employed...then the people who are really keeping the country alive with Taxes is the Indian population.

Stop and think what trini would be like without any indos living here.

Postby Habit7 » November 7th, 2014, 9:11 pm

Many Tobagonians don't hold any deeds to their lands but have been living on it.

Have you forgotten THA sell out lands only to lease it back to themselves from a PNM group of ppl

Really?

So when the PNM's Denise Tsoiafatt-Angus was wrongfully accused by KPB of selling her family's prime land, did she sell with or without a deed? Or when the Rowley's Landate Estate was being developed, did he have a deed too?

Your concern should be if they start a racist tax, you will have the most to lose.

Postby RASC » November 7th, 2014, 9:22 pm

RASC wrote:

We wouldn't have anyone to wrongly tax?!?
Last edited by RASC on November 7th, 2014, 9:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » November 7th, 2014, 9:22 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Really?

So when the PNM's Denise Tsoiafatt-Angus was wrongfully accused by KPB of selling her family's prime land, did she sell with or without a deed? Or when the Rowley's Landate Estate was being developed, did he have a deed too?

Your concern should be if they start a racist tax, you will have the most to lose.

There are thousands of bago ppl that don't have deeds to there lands. Those that had deeds sold out to Trinis and large developers.
When you see new and well to do houses you know it's not locals that own it.
They cant start their racist tax pnm not coming back into office bro. Get over it.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » November 8th, 2014, 3:53 pm

RASC wrote:
RASC wrote:

We wouldn't have anyone to rob?!?

Postby UML » November 9th, 2014, 9:30 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:T&T according to IMF & World Bank is the third richest country in the western hemisphere behind the United States and Canada
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_GDP_(PPP)_per_capita

Postby UML » November 10th, 2014, 8:29 am

Idea 2 Innovation Programme

http://i2itt.com/

What is i2i?

i2i (idea2innovation) is an ideas challenge where persons are invited to submit innovative ideas for a chance to win support to move those ideas to the proof of concept stage. It is an initiative of the CCI as part of the Council’s activities around building innovation awareness and capacity within Trinidad & Tobago.

i2i is made up of two parts: the challenge phase and the programme phase.

Challenge Phase

In the challenge phase, persons are guided on how to think through the steps of taking an idea to proof-of-concept with a view to eventually producing some real value to society. They are encouraged to submit their proposals for evaluation by an independent evaluation panel who will go on to select and award submissions based on a set of pre-determined criteria. Broadly, ideas are evaluated on their innovativeness and their demonstration of likeliness for developing into a bankable/impactful innovation.

Within the challenge phase, we provide supportive materials and events to help you along in preparing your application and meeting like-minded persons.

Programme Phase

The programme phase represents what applicants can potentially win through i2i! In this phase, successful applicants are supported in moving their idea to the proof-of-concept stage. This is done through a mix of the following:

Grant funding (between $75,000 and $200,000, depending on the specific needs of the project workplan)
Workplan guidance and technical support (provided by CARIRI)
Community support from i2i peers, proven entrepreneurs and industry professionals (provided through workshops, seminars etc.)

For more details on this phase, we invite you to visit our About the Programme page.
Alana Abdool
2013 Awardee
I'm Alana Abdool, and our project is We Cricket - a forum where the rising stars of cricket could be featured.
The T&T Entrepreneurship Directory
A list of entrepreneurship-related initiatives within Trinidad & Tobago categorised under the different domains of an entrepreneurship ecosystem.
http://i2itt.com/what-is-i2i/

About the CCI

The Council for Competitiveness and Innovation (CCI) was established by the Government of Trinidad and Tobago in early 2011 as an advisory board to the Ministry of Planning and Sustainable Development. It is currently charged with the responsibility to significantly improve this country’s global competitiveness as well as to foster innovation as key drivers of a diversified knowledge based economy. The Council is expected to assist in developing and implementing a holistic and competitive innovation policy that will transform the economy of Trinidad and Tobago and improve its global competitiveness and innovation rank over the next ten years.
i2i

CCI created the i2i (Idea 2 Innovation) competition to become a vehicle for the development of ideas with commercial potential. This programme represents an investment in the creativity, potential and ingenuity of citizens of Trinidad and Tobago to conceive new inventions and innovative projects.

i2i also dovetails with the work that the CCI does in the area of supporting entrepreneurs. Its recent efforts have focused on understanding the local entrepreneurship ecosystem and then supporting the various elements where possible. i2i spans a number of the domains represented within the ecosystem and it serves as a good proxy for developments in this wider ecosystem.
http://i2itt.com/about/

Postby UML » November 12th, 2014, 11:44 am

Old PTSC buses for underwater reef

Reshma Ragoonath

Published:
Wednesday, November 12, 2014

Derelict Public Transportation Services Corporation (PTSC) buses will soon be given a new lease on life, as they will be used to create artificial reefs around the coast of T&T. Yesterday Transport Minister Stephen Cadiz said he was working with the Environmental Management Authority (EMA) to use the 45 decommissioned buses. “I hope that we will be able to make further use of these old chassis by making artificial reefs where fish will breed in them and increase the fish count,” Cadiz said as he spoke with reporters during a tour of the PTSC garage at Lady Hailes Avenue, San Fernando, yesterday.

The minister said similar reefs were successfully created 20 years ago. He said the derelict buses from South Quay and San Fernando would be removed to PTSC’s facility in Carlsen Field where they would be further decommissioned. “Before we make an artificial reef with them, we have to get EMA to sign them off and make sure that all liquids, anything that would damage the environment, has to be removed, and we will then begin making artificial reefs,” Cadiz said. Artificial reefs are a popular use for derelict vehicles and ships around the world and are strategically placed in coastal areas to be colonised by soft corals and plants and encourage spawning of fish.

Cadiz said his ministry was in talks with the Ministry of Land and Marine Resources, Fisheries Division and the EMA to decide where the buses would be put. He said there would be little to no cost to PTSC for the project since the private sector and the Game Fishing Association had come forward to help with the creation of the reefs. “They say they will lend us a hand by proving cranage, etc, to the exercise. It will be a combined effort from PTSC, the ministries, the people who will benefit, fishermen and the Game Fishing Association. It is an all-out effort from everybody.”

CNG buses to roll soon
Cadiz announced that this weekend PTSC’s in-house CNG (Compressed Natural Gas) fuelling station at South Quay, Port-of-Spain would be formally commissioned. This would pave the way for the integration of its new fleet of CNG-powered buses, he added. On Sunday the 35 new Sunlong buses, made in China, arrived at the Port-of-Spain port. He said the buses, which cost $38 million, were being commissioned and licensed. “I am hoping by the first week in December we would have the brand new buses out on the road which will again greatly improve the run-out (number of buses on routes at a given time),” Cadiz said.

He said converting the PTSC’s fleet to CNG would not only reduce the corporation’s operating costs but was better for the environment. Cadiz said he decided to tour the San Fernando facility to see firsthand some of the issues staff were experiencing. Transport and Industrial Workers Union (TIWU) shop steward Kervyn Edwards said workers had health and safety concerns, as well as issues with lack of equipment. Cadiz assured that his ministry was working with the PTSC management and board to address all concerns so the bus company would be more efficient and effective.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-11- ... water-reef

Postby RASC » November 12th, 2014, 7:30 pm

1415835004012.jpg

Postby UML » November 12th, 2014, 8:13 pm

^^^ being a pnm supporter I understand your uncontrolled wanton wastage.

would you use a crane to lift a brick?

it is caused by contact with bodily fluids its not radioactive material :roll:

btw what you think the dallas boys measuring with the handheld device? might be how much male bodily fluids you have up ur orifice bananaboy :lol: :lol:

that pic might not even be from an ebola situation...knowing the PNM Propaganda like Emailgate and the NY Consulate scandals :wink:

#soeasytofoolunintellects

Postby eliteauto » November 12th, 2014, 8:46 pm

strange you'd say that considering the pic was made by known PP supporter and COP wannabe candidate Phillip Edwards Alexander :lol:

https://www.facebook.com/phillipedward. ... &ref=br_tf

oh btw a simple google image search will reveal fully ventilated hazmat suits being used by CDC personnel in the US for ebola. :wink:

maybe you should stop focusing on tuner's orifices :idea:

Postby UML » November 12th, 2014, 9:36 pm

Ahhhh the original backerboy.

Who? Sorry I don't deal with small fries and wannabes like urself :wink:

I know u never understand anything but was the said pic from an Ebola case? Or is it pnm propaganda? Wah dey measuring? :lol: :lol: :lol:

The people who actually fighting the fight in Africa dress similarly to me :|

Well u eh have paper so u will definitely use a crane to move a brick :roll:

#dictionaryfailingyuh

Postby Habit7 » November 12th, 2014, 10:42 pm

^^^that pic is from Liberia, one of the poorest countries in the world, and it is in July 2014. Are you really using them as a model?

UML wrote:would you use a crane to lift a brick?
No, but PP used a crane to remove a firetruck, when a tow truck with a wench could have done the job. #$6,000,000

Postby eliteauto » November 12th, 2014, 11:10 pm

lol UML winning giddem boy giddem

Postby UML » November 13th, 2014, 9:20 am

Ebola is not air borne. No need for hazmat suits. :roll:

wah dey measuring? :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby UML » November 13th, 2014, 9:30 am

back on track....letc keep focused, on pnm failure!!!

Japan signs agreement at UTT
By Sue-Ann Wayow

Story Created: Sep 22, 2013 at 10:26 PM ECT

Story Updated: Sep 23, 2013 at 6:33 PM ECT
A PARTNERSHIP between Japan and Trinidad and Tobago is expected to expand local research, with the hope of finding alternative sources of energy.

On Monday, a letter of intent between the University of Trinidad and Tobago (UTT) and the Japanese National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST) was signed at UTT’s Energy Campus at Point Lisas, Couva.

Attending the signing were Minister of Tertiary Education and Skills Training Fazal Karim, Energy Minister Kevin Ramnarine and representatives from Japan.

Karim said Trinidad and Tobago will join other nations in the search for alternative sources of energy to eliminate dependency on petroleum. He said this could be done through the production of dimethyl ether (DME).

According to online industry sources, DME can be used as an automotive fuel, for electric power generation and in domestic applications such as heating and cooking. It can be derived from many sources, including renew­able materials (bioma­ss, waste and agricultural products) and fossil fuels (natural gas and coal).

Ramnarine said DME has the greatest potential to end the petroleum dependency and that it was clean, portable, efficient and safe.

Karim said DME will not only be a foreign exchange revenue earner, but will also create sustainable jobs, diversify the economy and form new products and by-products.

By 2016, a DME plant is to be constructed in La Brea and it will produce at least 100,000 pounds of DME, Karim said.

He said the construction of the plant will follo­w UTT’s tenth anniversary.
Karim said: “The plant is expected to gene­rate numerous research, development and operator training opportunities from UTT and Trinidad and Tobago.

“UTT and the Japanese National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, a national research organisation in Japan, are agreeing today to collabo­rate and research...

“By collaborating on DME, UTT is further investing itself in alternative energy research, and there can be no better place to launch this than at the energy campus at UTT within the context of the Point Lisas Industrial Estate.”

He said UTT had ope­rator training, process engineering, utilities engineering and design engineering that will be needed for the operations of the plant.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Jap ... 07722.html

Minister Karim promised "permanency" to UTT staff yesterday evening

TTEC will save $300 million

By Laurel V Williams Thursday, November 13 2014

We have the power: Public Utilities Minister Nizam Baksh (left) points to one of the control panels at TTEC's sub-station in Ghandi Village yesterday...

UPON the completion of the Gandhi Village substation in Debe within the next few weeks, the Trinidad and Tobago Electricity Commission (TTEC) would save approximately $300 million annually in reduced purchases of gas.

So said Energy Minister Kevin Ramnarine yesterday during at tour at the facility together with Public Utilities Minister Nizam Baksh and officials of TTEC.“ If we are able to utilise the full capacity as we will from mid-December, it saves TTEC approximately $300 million per year in reduced purchases of gas. They will have to procure less gas from the NGC (National Gas Company) because the TGU (Trinidad Generation Unlimited) plant is very efficient. It has the best thermal efficiency of all the power plants in TT,” Ramnarine explained.

The project started in August last year and is expected to be completed mid-December. It costs $100 million to date. Ramnarine noted that the purpose of the site visit was to gain an appreciation of where this project is. He referred to it as one the most important projects taking place in the country at present adding it is cost-saving for TTEC .

“The gas that TTEC is no longer buying, NGC will be able to sell to the plants on the Point Lisas Industrial Estate at market prices and therefore earn more revenue for NGC,” Ramnarine said.

He explained that the purpose of the project is to allow the ministry to utilise the full capacity of the TGU power plant in La Brea. At present, TTEC, because of infrastructural constraints, can only utilise half the capacity of TGU’s plant.

Saying that the almost-completed facility allows TTEC to have greater flexibility in terms of how its distribute power throughout the country, Ramnarine charged that if the facility were operational last year on the night if the nationwide black out it would not have happened.

“We would not have had a national blackout because the TGU plant on its own could probably supply the country’s residential and commercial needs... This is going to greatly enhance the reliability of the power generation electricity transmission system in TT. From what I have seen here, it will finish on time and once that happens we will be able to utilise the full load of TGU,” Ramnarine explained.

From the Gandhi Village substation, TTEC will be able to transmit power to other parts of Debe where there is a substation close the construction site of the University of the West Indies. From there the company will distribute that power to Brechin Castle and also to Penal.

“ From Brechin Castle they will be be able to distribute power to the entire country. It is really highly beneficial from an economic point of view and from a reliability point of view for the country,” Ramnarine assured.

Baksh was confident that upon completion of the project, the people of TT would be “exceptionally happy”. “We are providing power for the people. People take it for granted that when they flick a switch , electricity will be there. These are the types of work we have to put on the ground to ensure that that is realised. It is critical for us,” Baksh said.

TTEC General Manager Kelvin Ramsook noted the project has two phases. He said Phase One is about 80 percent completed and the entire project is about 60 percent completed. Ramsook admitted that apart from the $100 million, there are additional costs when you have to develop the grid to facilitate the entire process.

He added: “ There are two lines that leaves TGU and goes across to Brechin Castle. We have transformer capacity here and that capacity is sent to Debe and back onto the grid. This will allow us to bring the remaining 320 megawatts from TGU on the grid. We were only able to take 400 out of the 720 so this will complete the process and allow us to take the final capacity at this time.”
http://www.newsday.co.tt/business/0,202872.html

Postby RASC » November 13th, 2014, 11:19 am

Keep Track on PNM failure?

Thought this was a thread on GOV'T ACHIEVEMENT... Always watching others but not yourself.

Postby UML » November 13th, 2014, 11:26 am

RASC wrote:Keep Track on PNM failure?

Thought this was a thread on GOV'T ACHIEVEMENT... Always watching others but not yourself.

u make this so easy eh :lol: :lol:

well the Government Achieving what the PNM FAILED TO DO. :roll:

Postby pete » November 13th, 2014, 12:06 pm

What's going to happen to Powergen with the cut back in how much power is needed from them?