The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The *Official* ANDROID/GOOGLE Thread

Postby RASC » December 17th, 2010, 4:32 pm

tiger balm wrote:
RASC wrote:Guys I was just thinking. Maybe this fragmentation was a bit too much.
There are just way too many versions out there, with OEM manufacturers slapping on layer upon layer of extra crap that you just don't need.

Making it harder and harder to upgrade efficiently to the latest official ROM's.
Apple and WP7 have the edge here, when they wanna update-they just update...BOOM...everyone at the same time. Just makes more sense. :? Views?

I'm also starting to look at WP7 phones. Apple? No, they deliberately omit basic features from their products just to make you spend more money. They've also become the "man" in my opinion with all the restrictions they've.

I haven't decided as yet but when I see the uncertainty surrounding the availability of almost every Android update to existing phones I wonder how quckly they (the phone) will become obsolete. That and so many new phones don't come out with the newest O/S version. I do love the apps available for android though. Android's openess will also allow me to get certain apps that Microsoft most probably wouldn't allow.

I'll keep an eye on both WP7 and Android developments. One thing though it's a bit exciting to see how phones are rapidly evolving. Given their functionality it makes me wonder if there is really a need for tablets.

Yup we're on the same page.
I think I'm really holding out for WP7-I was impressed from the get go, and the smoothness of ALL the handsets is amazing. All of them run fast, all of them will get upgraded at the same time. I couldn't ask for more.

Android officials did say they would slow down on releases as things become more stable, but the openness and the lack of control they possess on the manufacturing is annoying. MS explicitly told manufacturers you cannot do x,y,z and only a,b,c.

At first it sounded like tyranny, but now when you see the end result, it's nothing but silky smoothness and great response times. Look Pete above...he still cyar even get his update. That sucks man.

Read the Gizmodo article above...that gives you a great idea of what I'm talking about.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 17th, 2010, 9:01 pm

what about when Apple pushes out updates but all the features of the update is only available to their latest and greatest model out while earlier models lose out on all the ''good'' features like multitasking?

isnt that fragmentation also? so their customers always opt to get the latest and greatest model year after year...

as far as Android goes, the OS is not the problem. it's the stupid hardware manufacturers who try to slap a skin on it to make it their own. y not give customers the option of stock Android as well as whatever riced out version they want to use.

it's probably y i'll only get official Google phones since i'm sure there's no 1 year wait for updates after they're released.

and even if i go with an unofficial Google phone, at least i dont have to wait for an 'official' update and simply use one of the many custom ROMs that are way better imo...

open is the way to go and i'll say it again, Android ftmfw!

i dont need Steve Jobs telling me y i dont need certain features then come back the following year to announce it as a 'new' feature in an upcoming OS update.

but wait, ONE MORE THING...in order to use all these 'new' features that u said i didnt need a year ago, i need to go out and buy the newest iPhone.

no thanx.

Humes

Postby Humes » December 17th, 2010, 10:46 pm

I will need a new phone (for Bluetooth) in a few weeks when the new traffic laws go into effect, and it's either an affordable Android or a cheap BB.

So tell me...are there any decent Android handsets for below $2000?

I looking at a G1 selling for $1200 in the miscellaneous forum, but the software lookin a lil outdated.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 18th, 2010, 6:49 pm

got the new market app today

jumpkickjoe

Postby jumpkickjoe » December 18th, 2010, 7:51 pm

fellas ah getting fed up of mih blackberry, play with it enough, looking to go android.... what android phone would u recommend around the $3000 price range?

zcarz

Postby zcarz » December 18th, 2010, 8:01 pm

^buying local?

jumpkickjoe

Postby jumpkickjoe » December 18th, 2010, 8:07 pm

most likely i would order it...... i eh going thru bmobile or digi cause of the mad price they wanna call and i aint up for no contract extension

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » December 18th, 2010, 10:53 pm

^HTC Desire.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » December 19th, 2010, 4:22 am

^^seconded

roam
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby roam » December 19th, 2010, 11:11 am

Google Maps 5.0 FTW!

Postby DFC » December 19th, 2010, 10:42 pm

mitch, trinitachi, tr1ad, guys help me out.

My cousin has an Htc g1 and its specs are-

Model Number- Android Dev Phone 1
Firmware Version- 1.5
Baseband version- 62.50s.20.17H_2.22.19.261
Kernel Version- 2.6.27-00393-g6607056 san@sandroid #1
Build Number- dream_devphone-userdebug 1.5 CRC1150275 test-keys

and i got no idea how to root, and to afraid to try. i wanna put 2.1 or froyo.
it seems very technical. Can i meet any of you guys and show me what to do?

i also got my My Touch Slide.

Share some Christmas Spirit and help me!

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » December 20th, 2010, 2:04 am

DFC wrote:mitch, trinitachi, tr1ad, guys help me out.

My cousin has an Htc g1 and its specs are-

Model Number- Android Dev Phone 1
Firmware Version- 1.5
Baseband version- 62.50s.20.17H_2.22.19.261
Kernel Version- 2.6.27-00393-g6607056 san@sandroid #1
Build Number- dream_devphone-userdebug 1.5 CRC1150275 test-keys

and i got no idea how to root, and to afraid to try. i wanna put 2.1 or froyo.
it seems very technical. Can i meet any of you guys and show me what to do?

i also got my My Touch Slide.

Share some Christmas Spirit and help me!

Here's a good guide i used a month ago, read twice, then start following instructions so you don't make errors and brick your phone:-
http://www.denraf.be/content/howto-android-21-g1adp1dream

This will install the 2.1 firmware you want and its pretty straight forward. I have never been asked to root an HTC so im a lil inexperienced in that respect. Most people just ask about firmware upgrade, im more Xperia X10 oriented.. I will research it for you tho, as it interests me, i'll look for the simplest version of the rooting process and will post it here if i find it. What i've found so far is complicated.. Good luck :)

Postby r3iXmann » December 20th, 2010, 2:34 am

superoneclickroot ftw ^ 8-)

Postby M_2NR » December 20th, 2010, 2:55 am

I'm surprised this wasnt posted:

Android 2.3 Gingerbread From Nexus S Ported To Samsung Galaxy S [VIDEO]

http://www.redmondpie.com/android-2.3-gingerbread-for-galaxy-s-ported-video/

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » December 20th, 2010, 5:36 am

^Trust meh i been reading up on this since day 1. But no wifi, no camera, no external SD. it still needs lots of work.

I really hope they get it ironed out cuz we'd probably have to wait till june/july '11 for samsung to make an official update. :|

Postby tr1ad » December 20th, 2010, 7:42 am

word is nexus one will get their update to 2.3 by fri this week...

as for the rooting i don't really care to do it

Postby M_2NR » December 20th, 2010, 10:11 am

Smurf at least it aint like SE :(

and yeh that makes no sense.. reminds me of iDroid on iPhone... yes its cool... but nothing really works well and it turns your phone into a heating element.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 20th, 2010, 1:36 pm

Google Docs presentation makes PowerPoint weep, beg for mercy (video)

And you thought your year-end PowerPoint -- complete with that snazzy "Ding!" after every slide -- was something to admire. The video below is a Google Demo Slam entrant, going up against a Voice Search piece featuring Maria Sharapova. We know precious little about what it took to create, but somehow or another, a trio of animators created a mind-blowing 450 page presentation in just three days, and none of 'em were located in the same space. Thankfully for you, it's all explained in a blistering one minute, twenty-nine second YouTube clip. Enjoy.

http://goo.gl/QUaMo

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 20th, 2010, 1:50 pm

oh snap Motorola!

Tablet Evolution presented by Motorola

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » December 20th, 2010, 3:02 pm

oh crap.... PWNT!!!!!!

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » December 20th, 2010, 4:39 pm

M_2NR wrote:Smurf at least it aint like SE :(

i wouldnt be surprised if samsung give SGS owners a big hymc with 2.3...

times like this i wish i had bought the htc desire instead :(

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 20th, 2010, 7:01 pm

weekSSS? :S

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 20th, 2010, 7:03 pm

btw the Swype keyboard is now available for download. it's certainly faster than any other keyboard!

http://beta.swype.com/

zcarz

Postby zcarz » December 20th, 2010, 11:32 pm

woohoo, just got my HTC Desire HD.. gonna unbox, set it up and get familiarised with the OS (my first android phone)

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » December 21st, 2010, 12:26 am

r3iXmann wrote:superoneclickroot ftw ^ 8-)

Would z4root work also? Its available on the market and its a breeze to root Xperia with it.

Postby M_2NR » December 21st, 2010, 12:49 am

2NR Smurf wrote:
M_2NR wrote:Smurf at least it aint like SE :(

i wouldnt be surprised if samsung give SGS owners a big hymc with 2.3...

times like this i wish i had bought the htc desire instead :(

sigh... im getting scared for the 3G i have.. i bet iOS 5 will give that a hymc and 3GS will lose out like the 3G is getting right now... ohh well i have a few months still.

Wasnt X10's not getting 2.2? but now there is some word on them getting it...

I just read off Se-nse.net cuz i dunno i still feel like i have something there

zcarz

Postby zcarz » December 22nd, 2010, 8:56 am

Poweramp wins!

Postby r3iXmann » December 22nd, 2010, 9:06 am

trinitachi wrote:
r3iXmann wrote:superoneclickroot ftw ^ 8-)

Would z4root work also? Its available on the market and its a breeze to root Xperia with it.

i never used that one

only superoneclickroot

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 22nd, 2010, 10:37 pm

zcarz wrote:Poweramp wins!

how d DesireHD goin? post some pics 8-)

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 22nd, 2010, 10:38 pm

Samsung sells 9.3 million Galaxy S devices, within reaching distance of its lofty goal

10 million freaking smartphones. Who thought, when Samsung put that number forward as its 2010 Galaxy S sales goal two months ago, that it was actually going to happen? Well, with just over a week left in the calendar year, the Korean giant has racked up 9.3 million sales of its Android superphone globally and actually expects to sneak past the mythical 10 million mark just before the champagne glasses start clinking. The Galaxy S has also scored a win in its home market of South Korea, where its two million units sold so far leads the iPhone 4's 1.8 million sales. Hearty congratulations are due to the crew in Seoul, such success doesn't happen by chance, but let's keep working on those Froyo (and Gingerbread!) software updates as well, eh chaps?

http://goo.gl/zFdhL