http://www.monstercable.com/productdisplay.asp?pin=4445

Home Theater PowerCenter™ HTS 1000 MKIII with Clean Power™ Stage 2

$1000.00

decided to get this one for now

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby 16 cycles » July 15th, 2010, 6:47 pm

Problem with listening to audiophile grade set-ups is that afterwards, one always feels that something is missing with other less 'high-end' systems...

Btw last air bender has a great musical score... Would make a nice addition to one's collection.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 15th, 2010, 8:03 pm

^ can't wait to see it

@mitch, that's a good buy!

@ru$$ell, lucky for you that your UPS has automatic voltage regulation and surge protection, ALOT of standard UPSs don't have that. Your UPS is also 1000VA which is good, the Panamax is 1500VA

what the HT setups have though is noise filtering which can really help your system if you have high end stuff like you do.

at the end of the day an extension cord will work, but it depends on the features you want

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » July 15th, 2010, 9:13 pm

:-? Duane:

ado15mk3 wrote:that cabinet looks great!
what was the total cost for the finished product?

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » July 15th, 2010, 9:59 pm

ado15mk3 wrote::-? Duane:

ado15mk3 wrote:that cabinet looks great!
what was the total cost for the finished product?

$3000 :D

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 16th, 2010, 12:08 am

^ about TT$3400 delivered

I added the soft close hinge adapter and the soft open 90` stay afterward.
Oh and I added and wired the 120mm fans myself

daleeman101

Postby daleeman101 » July 16th, 2010, 12:09 am

yep 8-) 8-) 8-)

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 16th, 2010, 1:05 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ can't wait to see it

@mitch, that's a good buy!

@ru$$ell, lucky for you that your UPS has automatic voltage regulation and surge protection, ALOT of standard UPSs don't have that. Your UPS is also 1000VA which is good, the Panamax is 1500VA

what the HT setups have though is noise filtering which can really help your system if you have high end stuff like you do.

at the end of the day an extension cord will work, but it depends on the features you want

i have a APC UPS currently. nothing wrong with plugging the UPS into the wall and then plugging the line conditioner into one of the backup outlets on the UPS right?

Postby SR » July 16th, 2010, 9:56 am

presently using a votage regulater from Computer power and supplies designed for computer equipment works well and is accurate its a bit bulkier than the pretty units

the other system is a good old 2.1 setup
self amplified drivers
1 pair of 8" with horn and an 18" sub

not your home theatre stuff but sounds good and will go much louder :)

not really a big fan of the 5.1 and 7.1 setups as i dont watch much movies at home but prefer the good old 2 channel audiophile mode

Postby X_Factor » July 16th, 2010, 10:45 am

so after trying various component cables
monster cables did prove to be a bit clearer and more definition could have been seen when compared to belkin and amazon basic cables!

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » July 16th, 2010, 10:48 am

X_Factor wrote:so after trying various component cables
monster cables did prove to be a bit clearer and more definition could have been seen when compared to belkin and amazon basic cables!

finally someone else said it :!:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 16th, 2010, 12:22 pm

^ I used regular amazon cables and then used Monster M series cables on my 58" plasma and bluray and saw and heard a marked improvement.

It is interesting to note that I also tried the same amazon and Monster M series cables on my 32" LCD with a el cheapo DVD player and saw NO difference.

mitch wrote:i have a APC UPS currently. nothing wrong with plugging the UPS into the wall and then plugging the line conditioner into one of the backup outlets on the UPS right?
That is how I have my desktop PC setup and it works well. However I didnt want to go that route for the HT setup as the Panamax was allows for various load requirements on each outlet which the average UPS or line conditioner cant do.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 16th, 2010, 12:52 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:ok before ru$$ell suffers from an aneurysm

Samsung Plasma PN58B860

I need to do some cleaning and dusting!
Pioneer Elite VSX-23TXH and PS3 fat

Panamax M5400-PM

Bluray on top, DVD below

Klipsch Quintet LCR center channel

Klipsch Satellite surround

been saving up and researching for years on this.
Plan to change the speakers eventually, but they are spectacular sounding as is.

Duane,

That rug.... How much yuh pay for it?
Doesnt it trap sound though?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 16th, 2010, 1:03 pm

^ can't remember - got it at mode alive

it may trap some sound yes, but better than a bare tiled floor reflecting sound from the ground.

The tweeters from the L+R are at ear level which is perfect and the center channel is just blow ear level. I wouldnt want that sound reflecting from anywhere else, so the almost anechoic rug might be a plus!

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » July 16th, 2010, 7:41 pm

anyone wants an open copy of Avatar on blu-ray ?

$200.00

watched once last weekend

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » July 17th, 2010, 12:09 pm

just downloaded this app for my iphone
http://www.mobilemouse.com/

now i can sit in the tv room and use my iphone as a touch pad/mouse and control the pc that is connected to the TV

i new to this iphone ting eh... so i probably late on this...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 17th, 2010, 1:06 pm

^ yeah late, logitech has a similar app too for the iPhone

nick009

Postby nick009 » July 19th, 2010, 4:11 pm

sharkman121 wrote:^ Yeh the pictures really didnt do it justice, coudve sworn it was smaller.

The lighting and color adds a lot to the room though.

Send me the link for the sketchup as well. This is my samsung 56" also but after reading the link on calibration yesterday i believe mine really needs calibrating badly.

U said u werent finished, what else u intend on doing to the room?

say there sharkman is this the led dlp version?
did you get it locally?

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » July 19th, 2010, 7:04 pm

duane where did you get the hinges for the fold down doors for your cabinet?

i'm going to add a glass door to the pocket in my cabinet to hide all the equipment, i just cant seem to hide the wires like i wanted

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 19th, 2010, 8:55 pm

^ those are standard concealed hinges. You can get that by Carpenter's Edge, Peaks or Bhagwansingh, just about any good hardware

I bought some "soft close" hinge attachments from Amazon
so that the doors don't slam when you close them

Postby sharkman121 » July 19th, 2010, 9:22 pm

nick009 wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:^ Yeh the pictures really didnt do it justice, coudve sworn it was smaller.

Send me the link for the sketchup as well. This is my samsung 56" also but after reading the link on calibration yesterday i believe mine really needs calibrating badly.

did you get it locally?

Actually its the plasma dlp version..and i got it @ Circuit Zone.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » July 19th, 2010, 10:45 pm

yea i got those hinges on my kitchen cupboards, the soft close

just didnt know where to get them locally

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 19th, 2010, 11:41 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
nick009 wrote:

did you get it locally?

Actually its the plasma dlp version..and i got it @ Circuit Zone.

errrr, what is led dlp version and plasma dlp version?

as far as I know there are plasma tv's, dlp tv's and lcd tv's
some newer lcd tv's use LED lighting instead of fluorescent CFFL bulbs

But I've never heard of a plasma dlp or a led dlp TV :?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 20th, 2010, 5:01 pm

TV:
Samsung LN46C750 46'' 1080p 240Hz 3D LCD HDTV

got the TV today!
waiting on the receiver, speakers and sub later this week...

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » July 20th, 2010, 6:09 pm

^ sweet...
how many glasses did you get with it?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 20th, 2010, 6:16 pm

didnt come with glasses, still need to order some.

but Samsung has a free 3D starter kit if u buy a 3D TV and a 3D blu-ray player...

http://www.samsung.com/us/3dTV/www.sams ... ex_ok.html

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 20th, 2010, 10:18 pm

^ Circuit Zone has the starter kit

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 21st, 2010, 9:38 am

not really interested in the 3D yet till more 3D blu-ray movies come out...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 21st, 2010, 11:44 pm

^ I don't think the new 3D (3DTV) is available on DVD. I think it will only be on bluray because of the data throughput required.

I would really like to test a 3D aftermarket box though like the nVidia 3DVision but for TVs to see if they can make a 120Hz or 240Hz or higher TV show 3D by communicating with shutter glasses.

i KNOW 3D is not a fad. it is here to stay, however I think shutter glasses and current 3D technology will be updated quickly making alot of the first-to-market sets obsolete.

this is the future and maybe very near future

New systems without glasses

There is increasing emergence of new 3-D viewing systems which do not require the use of special viewing glasses. These systems are referred to as Autostereoscopic displays. They were initially developed by Sharp. The first Autostereoscopic LCD displays first appeared on the Sharp Actius RD3D notebook[14] and the first LCD monitor was shipped by Sharp in 2004 for the professional market[15]. Both have since been discontinued. The first Autostereoscopic mobile phone was launched by Hitachi in 2009 in Japan and in 2010 China mobile is to launch its version. Manufacturing trials are being run for TV. For the gaming market the first probable commercial application will be handheld gaming devices, such as the Nintendo 3DS. These systems do not yet appear to be applicable to theatrical presentations.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 22nd, 2010, 12:52 am

i KNOW 3D is not a fad. it is here to stay, however I think shutter glasses and current 3D technology will be updated quickly making alot of the first-to-market sets obsolete.

this is the future and maybe very near future

so what u think about this article then?

Is 3D Already Dying?

Earlier today I reported on the unlikelihood that the next Batman movie will be in 3D. But is that a fluke or part of a trend? If box office numbers are any indication, it's definitely the latter.

Since the high-water mark of Avatar, where 71% of the revenue came from 3D screenings, numbers for big-budget 3D movies have plummeted to less than 50%.

Obviously Avatar was a unique case in that it was basically sold as a 3D "experience," so if you saw it in 2D you were missing out. But then three months later the animated How to Train Your Dragon pulled in 68% of its revenue from 3D screens, hardly a significant drop-off.

Fast forward a mere four months and you have Despicable Me, another 3D animated kids movie, pulling in 45% of its revenue from 3D screens. As you can see by The Wrap's chart below, it's a pretty clear trend.

What's this mean? It means that now that people have had a chance to experience 3D in theaters, they're opting to spend $10 on a 2D screening rather than $15 on a 3D screening when given the option.

It's not great news for Hollywood studios that have sunk boatloads of money into 3D cameras and tech, but it's much, much worse news for consumer electronics companies such as Sony and Panasonic who are betting the farm on people wanting to upgrade two-year-old HDTVs to 3D HDTVs. But if Hollywood finds that making 3D movies isn't as profitable as they thought, they'll stop doing it. And without that content, no one will have any reason to buy a 3D TV.

Sucks for them, but it's good news for consumers who are voting with their wallets. No more inflated ticket prices and no need to buy a new TV for a feature no one ever really wanted? Sounds good to me.

http://gizmodo.com/5592956/is-3d-already-dying