.::The Official Nokia Thread::.

trini mk5

Re: .::The Official Nokia Thread::.

Postby trini mk5 » January 14th, 2014, 7:02 am

madman2961 wrote:
trini mk5 wrote:im looking for a lumia 520, anyone has to sell? I check the msc section already

i have one for sale from Digicel
offer me something reasonable if you interested.
used it for 2 days only.

I was looking for a Bmobile version or unlocked

cornfused

Postby cornfused » January 15th, 2014, 7:44 pm

Is the 820 available locally ?

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » January 15th, 2014, 8:06 pm

Not afaik. Had to order mine.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » January 15th, 2014, 9:20 pm

Amazon ? what were the local taxes ?

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » January 15th, 2014, 9:29 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1389835748.390821.jpg

grimreaper009

Postby grimreaper009 » January 16th, 2014, 11:59 am

$5000 postpaid with data for a 1020 wdmc......on the bright side the 520 price looking great

Average

Postby Average » January 19th, 2014, 8:21 am

Anywhere still selling N8?

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » January 19th, 2014, 8:36 am

So nobody has an unlocked 520 for sale ?

Postby Morpheus » January 19th, 2014, 11:09 am

I got a 520 as a company phone. Still trying to get familiar with Windows :???:

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » January 20th, 2014, 11:30 am

^u working by me or wah :D

its fairly straightforward... try Paul Thurrott's http://www.windowsphonebook.com/

cornfused

Postby cornfused » January 21st, 2014, 2:34 pm

Yes Bmoblie or unlocked ,820,625,620

Average

Postby Average » January 24th, 2014, 7:56 pm

Is there any way at all to disable the touch screen vibration on a 1020?

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » January 27th, 2014, 10:54 pm

trini mk5 wrote:So nobody has an unlocked 520 for sale ?

I have one, but was used for about 2 mths though. It's in mint condition. Can be used with a digicel sim, not too sure about a bmobile sim. Has a screen protector on it and has a leather pouch.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » January 27th, 2014, 11:08 pm

^^pm me price

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » January 28th, 2014, 3:27 pm

Average wrote:Is there any way at all to disable the touch screen vibration on a 1020?

i myself im trying, the battery drains so quickly sigh, anything to save battery charge.

also when you try charging the phone when it is off, it automatically turns on

Average

Postby Average » March 3rd, 2014, 4:07 pm

speedmelter wrote:
Average wrote:Is there any way at all to disable the touch screen vibration on a 1020?

i myself im trying, the battery drains so quickly sigh, anything to save battery charge.

Yeah...battery drain on this model is a scene but I always try and limit stuff that runs in the background when I can. I only have my e-mail and Whatsapp running constantly btw.
My screen brightness is set to low and the automatic adjuster is off as well as sunlight readability,tap+send and location is off (really sucks battery life). Even the battery saver is off. The glance is off and with regards to touch, I leave mines at normal and take off the Double tap.
That helps my battery life situation but I have grown accustomed to the touch screen vibration by now.

PS The fact that you can't set a personalised ringtone for Whatsapp notifications is failure.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » March 4th, 2014, 2:06 am

but having such a great camera has me winning alot :D :D

once i get tru the day with the battery im happy, just worried that in maybe one year the battery wont last an hr when the phone gets older

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » March 4th, 2014, 3:28 am

Average wrote:
speedmelter wrote:

Yeah...battery drain on this model is a scene but I always try and limit stuff that runs in the background when I can. I only have my e-mail and Whatsapp running constantly btw.
My screen brightness is set to low and the automatic adjuster is off as well as sunlight readability,tap+send and location is off (really sucks battery life). Even the battery saver is off. The glance is off and with regards to touch, I leave mines at normal and take off the Double tap.
That helps my battery life situation but I have grown accustomed to the touch screen vibration by now.

PS The fact that you can't set a personalised ringtone for Whatsapp notifications is failure.

Don't you have the option to disable touch screen vibration here? Works for me.

Also, any day now there will be an update for whatsapp that will introduce custom notification tones.

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » March 4th, 2014, 9:46 am

Captain Awesome wrote:Also, any day now there will be an update for whatsapp that will introduce custom notification tones.

Finally! I think this is long overdue. Wish we could've gotten it for normal sms and email too...

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » March 4th, 2014, 12:28 pm

d.d.s. wrote:
Captain Awesome wrote:Also, any day now there will be an update for whatsapp that will introduce custom notification tones.

Finally! I think this is long overdue. Wish we could've gotten it for normal sms and email too...

Agreed. All that is coming in the 8.1 update in a couple months.

Average

Postby Average » March 4th, 2014, 2:45 pm

Captain Awesome wrote:Image

Don't you have the option to disable touch screen vibration here? Works for me.

*slaps own face :|
Well,well,well.....I didn't run the update for touch because that option was not there :P
Problem solved.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » March 4th, 2014, 4:55 pm

lol i missed that completely

AppleForLife

Postby AppleForLife » March 4th, 2014, 8:21 pm

I'm looking for a lumia for school

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » March 6th, 2014, 10:53 am

by school u mean secondary or tertiary?

do they allow cameras at secondary level? i'd say 520 (preferably 620)

if youre in Uni, then definitely an 820/920 or if u can afford it the 1020

Average

Postby Average » March 6th, 2014, 11:10 am

Race The Stig now out for Windows Phones

http://m.wpcentral.com/race-the-stig-ne ... um=twitter

Postby mitsu_chick941 » March 6th, 2014, 2:17 pm

finally got back my 920

this phone is decent

Postby Ronaldo95163 » March 7th, 2014, 12:25 am

wow Nokia finally releases Android phones and dey is tewts :|

Vice8200

Postby Vice8200 » March 7th, 2014, 12:23 pm

anyone willing to trade their 920 for a nexus 4?

ravi901

Postby ravi901 » March 20th, 2014, 7:30 pm

anyone here owns a lumia 925??
considering getting one, unlocked international version from Amazon and will like to hear about someone's experience with it, not the amazon reviews.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » March 21st, 2014, 9:23 am

ravi901 wrote:anyone here owns a lumia 925??
considering getting one, unlocked international version from Amazon and will like to hear about someone's experience with it, not the amazon reviews.

I used a Lumia 925 on the Digicel network.

Pros:
great call quality and volume
very slim and svelte phone design
screen brightness quite good
battery life was good too. unplugged from 7.30am to 7.00pm and had about 15% battery life still.
Used lots of streaming, twitter, TuneIn, facebook, glance screen on, 4G, medium brightness.
Very stable OS Windows Phone 8 Lumia Black... never crashed ..not once.
tile interface is much more friendly...
8mp camera but takes great shots...
MS office built in---great if you use office apps on the go

Cons:
Can get a bit warm while charging.
Waiting on Windows Phone update 8.1 to bring new features such as the notification centre

My main issue with windows phone is the QUALITY of the apps..I did not say variety or number...just the quality. not enough of the windows phone apps are up to scratch. You usually get a 'not as good' version of the app.
For example facebook and twitter (twitter's design mainly) apps are stuck in a previous generation..constantly asking for data, late notifications, photo upload errors and facebook messenger is still quite buggy. I use football apps / media apps such as TUNEIN, THESCORE and GOAL.COM LIVE SCORE and they are just not up to the standard i was used to on android and IOS.
the keyboard is good but the Swiftkey keyboard on android is better for me.
I also have the 1520 which is a great PHONE but suffers on the app quality front.

If you simply need a reliable phone and use basic services such as whatsapp and browsing websites...it will be good.
I would like Windows Phone to be my daily driver but alas..my Samsung S4 is in that position.