Mountain Biking

Re: Mountain Biking

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 5th, 2014, 2:15 am

^ thanks very much appreciated

nah was just wondering what can be used locally for the squeak because a lot of oils and stuff bought online isn't normally allowed to be shipped by air.

I have noticed the current main reason for the 5% brake rub is the wheel is slightly bent. I ain't no spoke master lol.

I will try the trick from the link by pushing the pistons back I heard that solves most of any issues.

Postby pugboy » January 5th, 2014, 5:32 am

Is the wheel centered between the dropouts?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 5th, 2014, 4:21 pm

It looks so.

I used the brake today and well it went out of alignment so it means the bolt must be tightened down hard.

Noway in the known universe to do such a thing with human strength while holding the caliber within 1mm of clearance distance from the disk. I tried everything but nothing works.

I watched all the videos on putting the rubber band on the brake lever and loosen and tighten the caliper to auto align it.

Still same problem. It can definitely be straight, when I do it manually but to tighten it while keeping it straight is the problem

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 5th, 2014, 5:19 pm

try using 2 call cards on either side of the rotor and tighten down the bolts that should work

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 5th, 2014, 5:51 pm

trinibajan34 wrote:try using 2 call cards on either side of the rotor and tighten down the bolts that should work

BOYAKAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

BOOOOOM LOL

that worked like a beauty LOL I actually used 2 call cards and my NIS card near the bolt outside the rotor meaning not where the brake bad is. LOL

Finally after all this trying using all my strength some cards did the trick LOL

I also pushed hard against the opposite side with a tire lever while tightening it. All that helped wonderful

Well done mr bajan

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 5th, 2014, 6:15 pm

no scene man glaf you got through

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 5th, 2014, 7:55 pm

yeah

btw any recommendations on slicks for this bike locally?

Mikes has but they is 25mm. They sound way to thin for a Hardtail MTB like this plus they will look retarded. If I buying online I need folded tires because they come in boxes the size of a fridge.

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » January 5th, 2014, 11:22 pm

Screenshot pic on the trails Dec 31st 2013. 8-) I only record the ride so I can have an idea of the route, since I'm not all that familiar with the trails as yet. With my slow internet, large size vids, as well as editing, the most I'll be able to do is post screen shots once in a while. :roll:

TRD12

Postby TRD12 » January 7th, 2014, 3:52 pm

VK-Sportsman wrote:Image
Screenshot pic on the trails Dec 31st 2013. 8-) I only record the ride so I can have an idea of the route, since I'm not all that familiar with the trails as yet. With my slow internet, large size vids, as well as editing, the most I'll be able to do is post screen shots once in a while. :roll:

When is the next trail? And how intense was this 1?

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 7th, 2014, 3:56 pm

the trail was easy

TRD12

Postby TRD12 » January 7th, 2014, 4:46 pm

trinibajan34 wrote:the trail was easy

Ok great, so a beginner like myself should enjoy it.

When next you'll going?

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 7th, 2014, 4:54 pm

im going Saturday morning hitting the tracking station first then the trails

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 7th, 2014, 5:46 pm

I am thinking of going with a road bike instead of MTB.

Looking to make long rides. So might sell this fuji for $3600 if not bess I keep it. Ain't going lower than that. It still have over 5 months warranty on it.

Else I go keep it for a couple years and sell it back for whatever its worth by then.

Anyone has experience with the GIANT SCR 2?

Mikes got them for like $4500. The place in St James that does TREK has the TREK 1.1 for $5200
But I feel the Specialized Allez compact is a better deal for the same price.

I have the bike for sale for $3600 I know I may not get that price for it so thats why I plan on keeping it if I ain't get that price.

Because I could profit a lot more if I want a couple years and go down. By then it would have paid out for itself lol

If allyuh know anyone looking for one you can always recommend them

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=550001&p=7697768#p7697768

It has 5 months warranty on it so no way I going lower.

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » January 7th, 2014, 6:13 pm

@TRD12, that's my 3rd time on the trails, and 1st time using platform/flat pedals. I can tell you that my confidence went up using platform pedals. With clipless pedals, I had the fear of falling. So that's the advice I'll give fellow beginners like myself.

Trails are easy, especially north & south bank. On the bunker trail, going up the bunker may seem daunting, but then you may lose traction pedalling up. Downhill on the bunker, most likely you'll walk it down, lol ... :|

@trinibajan, what time you're going up? I can probably meet up by the trails. Not me and tracking station as yet, lol.

@EFFECTIC, when I had my Raleigh hardtail mtb, I was strictly on road, never even thought of going off road with it.
After selling that and buying the Specialized soft-tail, one wheelset with road tires, another with offroad tires, it's my do-it-all bike. Just lock out the suspension and put on the road wheelset. I'll never buy a road bike because of this reason using one bike for two purposes. I'm not a racer, so I just enjoying riding around with one bike. 8-)

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 7th, 2014, 6:30 pm

^ ok that sounding good. I go keep it.

I Called mikes and they said they have 700x35c specialized tires for $150 for one. $45 for a tube
Can this fit my rim? thats about 1.5 inch ent? the one on the bike is a whopping fat 2.1 inch.

One at mikes is also over 100 psi which I presume would make road riding 1000 times easier.

And yes my front shox can lockout. how much easier could a road bike to ride compared to this its only 10 pounds lighter I could simply lose 100 pounds of fat and profit ent lol

how much distance you does ride on your hybrid? or you sold it since?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 7th, 2014, 7:08 pm

One thing I forgot to ask

Will a 700x35c tire fit on my rim?

Since thats way smaller than my 2.1 inch tire.

I assume I will have to also change the tube right? I lost 3 inches on the waist riding I can't get enough of it now.

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » January 7th, 2014, 7:29 pm

Google it and you'll see that 700c x35 should fit a 29er rim. http://www.mmba.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=110032
My road tire I previous stated in this thread is 26x1.5, and yes I used a smaller tube for it.

The "hybrid" you referring, is my specialized full-suspension 120mm travel bike = soft-tail. :lol: .My Raleigh hardtail was a bike similar to yours with front suspension only, just a 26" version. Not much riding as of recently, definitely gonna do a 5-10km per week at least.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 7th, 2014, 7:41 pm

nice link

that about answers my question LOL

suddenly I once again love my MTB once more

thanks for reminding me why I bought this was for hybrid use because I disliked the roadbike uncomfortable low aero positioning compared to the mtb upright ultracomfortable positioning I no longer see the need to sell her anymore

TRD12

Postby TRD12 » January 8th, 2014, 2:57 pm

[quote="VK-Sportsman"]
@trinibajan, what time you're going up? I can probably meet up by the trails. Not me and tracking station as yet, lol.
quote]

I would like to meet up for the trail as well. What time we looking at?

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 8th, 2014, 3:03 pm

Fed up lurk on this thread.
Saturday morning sounding good fellas. Details please.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 8th, 2014, 10:36 pm

i want to reach by 6:30 hit the tracking station then ride to the trails ,i park in the golf carpark then ride to bamboo catheral up to the tracking station then back down to the trails. yeah i'm sick like that

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » January 8th, 2014, 10:56 pm

^LOL, like you preparing for competition :shock: .What time so you expect to be downhill on the tracking station?
I was looking at 8am or maybe earlier leaving aboretum carpark. Wonder what the other guys think about the time?

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 8th, 2014, 11:19 pm

well it would tske me about 45 mins to reach the the top and 15 to come down should be back down before 8 say 7 30ish

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » January 9th, 2014, 3:01 am

Anyone ever saw bigfoot while on your journey?

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 9th, 2014, 1:10 pm

trinibajan34 wrote:i want to reach by 6:30 hit the tracking station then ride to the trails ,i park in the golf carpark then ride to bamboo catheral up to the tracking station then back down to the trails. yeah i'm sick like that

Sounds challenging, but i willl give it a try, never went to the tracking station.
I'll organise and meet with you on Saturday morning.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 9th, 2014, 1:11 pm

cool it is very challenging also if you have heart condition i would not recommend doing this run cause your heart will be in ears. :lol:

TRD12

Postby TRD12 » January 9th, 2014, 1:35 pm

So for those who going for the Trail alone, what time and where you'll wanna meet up?

btw....this is what i'm riding

http://www.trekbikes.com/us/en/bikes/mo ... /820/820/#

an entry level trek.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 9th, 2014, 3:26 pm

trinibajan34 wrote:cool it is very challenging also if you have heart condition i would not recommend doing this run cause your heart will be in ears. :lol:

well i don't have heart problems, lol. what kind of distance and slope is it going on the tracking station run?
As compared to like how Chancellor has a not too bad slope riding uphill, but Fort George is alot steeper that that.

I've done these already so I have a frame of reference.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 9th, 2014, 3:30 pm

dont know off hand but I will track it this weekend

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 10th, 2014, 1:46 pm

What timee you all meeting for the trail alone?
Not sure if i want to kill myself trying to keep up behind Trinibajan...