Best doubles in T&T

triniterribletim

Re: Best doubles in T&T

Postby triniterribletim » June 15th, 2023, 1:22 pm

death365 wrote:U just got d bess business plan (idea) ... u not only have the local peeps in the area but those adventurous eaters too.

triniterribletim wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:saw a youtube video a man selling doubles by the old airport furking $8 and a foot long aloo pie for $13. the things people go spend they money on a feel nice eh. as the say ' a fool and his money is soon parted'

i cud understand if it was in the current airport and foreigners paying that price but locals :roll:

I eh going to lie. After a year and a half without a doubles, the airport doubles man is the first stop next time I visit. One of the few things I miss about Trini. In some countries it's definitely learn to like the local food or make your own. Not a roti shop or doubles man for thousands of miles.

I actually thought about that for a while, at least with the roti shop idea, I'd probably have to test the market first though, by recruiting a few locals to try a chicken roti. Fortunately chicken and beef are cheap, and good quality curry is easy to come by because of all the Japanese people, plus Scotch bonnets are easily available. Maybe I should try a thing.

Postby Rovin » June 23rd, 2023, 6:41 pm

i havent tried it but jes sharing from fb : doubles & d other fry stuff $4 ... https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=10 ... 7672016377

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 28th, 2024, 11:53 am

A rollie pollie - dhalpourie instead of bara

https://www.facebook.com/share/r/MPnLvp ... tid=UalRPS

Postby Dizzy28 » February 28th, 2024, 11:56 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:A rollie pollie - dhalpourie instead of bara

So a channa roti with more steps involved?

Postby paid_influencer » February 28th, 2024, 6:04 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:A rollie pollie - dhalpourie instead of bara

that mini channa roti looking good

death365

Postby death365 » March 1st, 2024, 1:50 pm

thats the thing what is a "doubles" .

the precursor to doubles was the channa/bara then it evolve to the now prevalent doubles/triples - then a side bar to gourmet (meat) doubles. As such this might be the next step in the evolution of it.

EDIT: I hate all meat doubles except smoke herring, thats the BOSS

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » March 1st, 2024, 1:52 pm

If them doubles men and dem was real clever and business savy they would start selling a singles. 1 bara and channa for half the price $3. They go get real sufferers buying it which makes up the majority of the consumers.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 1st, 2024, 2:28 pm

DMan7 wrote:If them doubles men and dem was real clever and business savy they would start selling a singles. 1 bara and channa for half the price $3. They go get real sufferers buying it which makes up the majority of the consumers.

In primary school when my allowance was 50cents a day and doubles was $1 for 1 the man who came outside our school used to do this. Man that was one of my go to snacks - a "single" for 50c

Postby maj. tom » March 1st, 2024, 3:04 pm

whey boy allyuh had a doubles man? I just used to buy 2 salt prunes or the red mango.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 1st, 2024, 3:14 pm

maj. tom wrote:whey boy allyuh had a doubles man? I just used to buy 2 salt prunes or the red mango.

The school had no cafeteria so there was a whole ecosytem that developed outside. Two old ladies used to come and sell assorted looses snacks like red mango etc. they also did pholourie and aloo pies - iirc was 3 pholourie for 25c and 50c for an aloo pie.

Then the doubles man came..first on a bicycle and then he moved up to a car.

The Standard 3 and 4s utilised an adjacent community centre and they also had 2 snack ppl showing up there.

There were also several shops in close proximity.

Postby eliteauto » March 1st, 2024, 3:46 pm

DMan7 wrote:If them doubles men and dem was real clever and business savy they would start selling a singles. 1 bara and channa for half the price $3. They go get real sufferers buying it which makes up the majority of the consumers.
So use more channa, wrapping paper and condiments, sell at half price when the only input reduction is one bara and by this metric of business acumen you have identified the real sufferers ?

I actually think that you have indeed

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » March 1st, 2024, 4:41 pm

Back in the day in town, I used to buy doubles on Frederick Street next to Rama's, but then the school got a doubles man on compound. $1 and it used to lash.

Postby paid_influencer » March 1st, 2024, 5:35 pm

you could gauge people age from the price they buy a doubles for in primary school

grant school had a bike man selling singles for 50 cents. i remember the singles being child size too. you know the channa have a lil sprout part, children start rumor it had worms in the doubles and pointing at the stems and d teacher had to go show everybody dais a stem

Postby alfa » March 1st, 2024, 6:01 pm

No need for all that, sufferers just have to head to penal, Alex doubles 5 for $20 Clark road junction. And quality doubles to.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » March 1st, 2024, 6:28 pm

paid_influencer wrote:you could gauge people age from the price they buy a doubles for in primary school

grant school had a bike man selling singles for 50 cents. i remember the singles being child size too. you know the channa have a lil sprout part, children start rumor it had worms in the doubles and pointing at the stems and d teacher had to go show everybody dais a stem

was also $1 for a doubles in my early GMPS days. People used to spread rell rumours about the old man blowing his nose in the channa as it was such a bright, vibrant yellow colour.

Postby bluefete » March 1st, 2024, 6:30 pm

paid_influencer wrote:you could gauge people age from the price they buy a doubles for in primary school

The days of one shilling doubles.

Postby maj. tom » March 1st, 2024, 6:39 pm

wham bluefete next you go tell we was one EII Regina penny for a loaf of bread and condense milk and u still had money over to watch d flick in Empire big screen. :lol: :lol:

Postby bluefete » March 1st, 2024, 6:45 pm

maj. tom wrote:wham bluefete next you go tell we was one EII Regina penny for a loaf of bread and condense milk and u still had money over to watch d flick in Empire big screen. :lol: :lol:

If yuh know, why yuh asking meh for?????

And it wasn't Empire, it was Royal :D :D :D :D

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » March 1st, 2024, 7:17 pm

^ Oh gawdo, back then only had donkey cart no cars too eh? :lol:

Postby bluefete » March 1st, 2024, 7:39 pm

DMan7 wrote:^ Oh gawdo, back then only had donkey cart no cars too eh? :lol:

Tram and tram line. Please. We did have technology you know.

Shilling doubles used to taste real bess.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 1st, 2024, 8:35 pm

maj. tom wrote:whey boy allyuh had a doubles man? I just used to buy 2 salt prunes or the red mango.
My primary shcool, one of the vendors had doubles on mornings

That was rel.zess inno

Postby rollingstock » March 2nd, 2024, 10:44 pm

In my days doubles wasn't a thing yet. It was a single bara and channa. Then men start to ask for a 'double' indicating a second bara to sop up the remaining channa.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 3rd, 2024, 7:17 am

In my primary school days, this lady had an offer for any amount of $ you had..

50 cents got you a bara with about 7 grains of channa and a lil sauce

Skanky

Postby Skanky » March 3rd, 2024, 8:27 am

Hands man a single:

"ohgoarboidawgboy how yuh go do yuh boy dat....i does come here cuz i know is real jostiss....within ah de timin' i is a man rectifying the finances nah boi....yeah yuh brejrin jus handlin' up a scene dese days nah so tings not flowing like they used to and meh paper tie up in some investments nah.....yuh see wha ah saying.....bless yuh boi up wid a second bara nah d boss....i is a man doh watch face boidawgboi....yuhannnastaan....i is a man show yuh real love from long time....since i small i buying here boidawgboi....an yuh know dat too...heh heh heh....yuh know how we does do it....wha we go do?"

Postby alfa » March 3rd, 2024, 8:38 am

Skanky wrote:

Hands man a single:

"ohgoarboidawgboy how yuh go do yuh boy dat....i does come here cuz i know is real jostiss....within ah de timin' i is a man rectifying the finances nah boi....yeah yuh brejrin jus handlin' up a scene dese days nah so tings not flowing like they used to and meh paper tie up in some investments nah.....yuh see wha ah saying.....bless yuh boi up wid a second bara nah d boss....i is a man doh watch face boidawgboi....yuhannnastaan....i is a man show yuh real love from long time....since i small i buying here boidawgboi....an yuh know dat too...heh heh heh....yuh know how we does do it....wha we go do?"

True, what people like the mouttete boy or fake profile purporting to be such don't realize is that doubles is a street food and it's consumers like it just the way it is. Any deviation from what it currently is wouldn't catch on just like chicken doubles. Many doubles men can follow mouttete's advice and build a brick and mortar structure but that won't cause profits to increase. Consumers like it exactly the way it is including the drain that comes next to it

Postby maj. tom » March 3rd, 2024, 8:46 am

All those chicken and pork and duck any meat doubles are an unholy abomination.

dogg

Postby dogg » June 5th, 2024, 11:58 am

The van outside food basket in Champs Fleurs have some consistently decent doubles.

Postby Chimera » June 5th, 2024, 12:09 pm

what year u went grant school?

i was there for a 2 years back when it had the big tree in the front yard where they had assembly

Postby paid_influencer » June 5th, 2024, 7:04 pm

Chimera wrote:

what year u went grant school?

i was there for a 2 years back when it had the big tree in the front yard where they had assembly

late 90's

That big tree was the best. When the flowers fall, we used to take the filament and play cockfight with it. i not too sure what chicken had to do with it, but was fun.

Postby bluefete » November 22nd, 2024, 4:13 pm

If only our politicians cared about diversification. There are so many avenues open to earn foreign exchange:

Look what he had to say about our doubles.