COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

daxt0r

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 116 cases, 8 deaths, 73 discharged in T&T

Postby daxt0r » May 6th, 2020, 6:57 am

notice CAL has back some flight routes and times renabled after the 15th, like the decision done make to reopen an public eh know yet :/

Postby teems1 » May 6th, 2020, 10:08 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
teems1 wrote:We are in a weird spot with respect to opening borders though, especially with the US.

Rowley said T&T has 350k passport holders who reside outside Trinidad.

Of that 350k, 250k are in the US.

Of the 250k, 150k are in NYC alone.

The US currently has 30m+ people filing for unemployment. Many of the T&T nationals who live abroad especially in NYC would be out of a job especially those paid under the table. We all know how expensive healthcare is in the US and how it is tied to your employment, so many T&T nationals would be out of a job and unable to get healthcare.

Which means a good chunk of them will be itching to jump on a plane back to T&T to take advantage of our free healthcare. Having never paid a health surcharge in their life.

It is within their rights to return, unfortunately. It sets a bad and dictatorial precedent to deny citizens entry into their own country. Especially since only a handful of countries in the world locked citizens out......and those that did gave more of an advanced warning that our government.

I agree it looks bad, but remember Trinidad only has 942 beds for COVID-19 patients.

If you're the hospital, and there is 1 bed remaining for 2 patients with the same age/gender/symptoms.

1 is a NYC returning resident who hasn't paid health surcharge or taxes for the past 10-20 years, while the other is a resident of Trinidad who has been paying their dues.

Who do you give the bed to?

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 116 cases, 8 deaths, 102 discharged in T&T

Postby MaxPower » May 6th, 2020, 10:17 am

Hello teems1,

I would give it to the Venezuelan.

Postby teems1 » May 6th, 2020, 10:25 am

MaxPower wrote:Hello teems1,

A Venezuelan with a valid residency permit who has been here for 6+ months would be more entitled to it imo.

For most of the contractors/odd jobs I required over the past few years, there was always a Venezuelan who accompanied the locals.

They worked twice as hard and were paid half as much. I'm sure they probably get less than minimum wage. Oh well, that is a different battle.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 6th, 2020, 10:40 am

teems1 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
teems1 wrote:We are in a weird spot with respect to opening borders though, especially with the US.

Of the 250k, 150k are in NYC alone.

The US currently has 30m+ people filing for unemployment. Many of the T&T nationals who live abroad especially in NYC would be out of a job especially those paid under the table. We all know how expensive healthcare is in the US and how it is tied to your employment, so many T&T nationals would be out of a job and unable to get healthcare.

Which means a good chunk of them will be itching to jump on a plane back to T&T to take advantage of our free healthcare. Having never paid a health surcharge in their life.

It is within their rights to return, unfortunately. It sets a bad and dictatorial precedent to deny citizens entry into their own country. Especially since only a handful of countries in the world locked citizens out......and those that did gave more of an advanced warning that our government.

I agree it looks bad, but remember Trinidad only has 942 beds for COVID-19 patients.

If you're the hospital, and there is 1 bed remaining for 2 patients with the same age/gender/symptoms.

1 is a NYC returning resident who hasn't paid health surcharge or taxes for the past 10-20 years, while the other is a resident of Trinidad who has been paying their dues.

Who do you give the bed to?

Give it to whoever needs it more, all this time we bought by locking down should have been used to increase facilities even more.

death365

Postby death365 » May 6th, 2020, 11:35 am

Who else feeling like this week they go extend to 31st May?

Postby MaxPower » May 6th, 2020, 11:48 am

death365 wrote:Who else feeling like this week they go extend to 31st May?

Extend wa bro?

We not open already?

screwbash

Postby screwbash » May 6th, 2020, 11:55 am

Extend wa bro?

We not open already?

when d doubles man come out to sell den we open. people jus liming an having a time.

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » May 6th, 2020, 12:16 pm

dean_spleen09 wrote:15th for now , 30th coming
stay woke bros

Postby Les Bain » May 6th, 2020, 1:02 pm

That would be real surprising. From what I see and encounter the last 2 weeks, the country reopen already.

Postby Ben_spanna » May 6th, 2020, 1:09 pm

So if you ran from Trini and went to NYC and scoring your home country for the past how many years, why the hell you wanna come home now all of a sudden?
Stay up in d white people place and deal with dem wacko ppl who don't wanna stay home.
Don't come home now, or be prepared for a quarantine.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » May 6th, 2020, 2:10 pm

Les Bain wrote:

That would be real surprising. From what I see and encounter the last 2 weeks, the country reopen already.

True, the traffic in chase village on Saturday was horrific. It was like a normal day, everyone was out carrying on business as usual. Alot of business already announcing that they opening on Monday even though nothing was announced officially by the govt. We just have to wait and see what guidelines we get. They should come up with some strict guidelines that are police enforced in order to try an avoid the rush that going to happen for e.g. at kfc etc... If things not regulated it can spiral downward very quickly

Postby Gem_in_i » May 6th, 2020, 6:13 pm

Heard that kfc re-opening on 18th May, delivery only.

Postby paid_influencer » May 6th, 2020, 6:57 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:Heard that kfc re-opening on 18th May, delivery only.

kfc doh taste good. is one set ah advertising fooling people. They know plenty people who rush to buy goh say, "so long I waiting for this and it nuh even tasting good."

KFC waiting the extra week for the advertising/brainwashing to kick in. Get they mouth watering for it.

Postby adnj » May 6th, 2020, 7:24 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

kfc doh taste good. is one set ah advertising fooling people. They know plenty people who rush to buy goh say, "so long I waiting for this and it nuh even tasting good."

KFC waiting the extra week for the advertising/brainwashing to kick in. Get they mouth watering for it.
They are doing something right. KFC generates more cash than any other fast food chain in the world.

KFC averages about US$1M of revenue for every outlet that they operate.

Postby supercharged turbo » May 6th, 2020, 7:54 pm

Mcdonald's not KFC
adnj wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

They are doing something right. KFC generates more cash than any other fast food chain in the world.

ScHoolboySoloQ

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » May 6th, 2020, 8:38 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

You kinda dotish owah.. KFC does cut

Postby nervewrecker » May 6th, 2020, 8:47 pm

teems1 wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Hello teems1,

A Venezuelan with a valid residency permit who has been here for 6+ months would be more entitled to it imo.

For most of the contractors/odd jobs I required over the past few years, there was always a Venezuelan who accompanied the locals.

They worked twice as hard and were paid half as much. I'm sure they probably get less than minimum wage. Oh well, that is a different battle.

As we on the topic, how does one go about getting their work permit renewed in these times?

Have one that rolls with me sometimes, Civil Engineer by trade, his work permit expired. Mankind does the work for about 2 men maybe 3 and has the strength for about 6 men. Very well-groomed, well dressed, speaks English 9/10 and rather good looking. Thank god he have a woman yes :lol:

Probably won't be with me after all this because he landed a 2 year contract with a construction company so I tryna help him out wherever I could. Will miss that guy though :( :(

Postby Dave » May 6th, 2020, 9:23 pm

Starting they have to file their tax return to get that tax clearance then off relevant ministry for work permit renewal.

Postby adnj » May 6th, 2020, 9:48 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:Mcdonald's not KFC
adnj wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

My error. ...one of the largest chains in the world.

Postby Ted_v2 » May 6th, 2020, 11:10 pm

What about these people in India who longing to come home, i really understand their point. But you really wanna come back here right now? hell i could imagine the amount of people stuck somewhere they dont wanna be, but thats the way it is.

i seeing this thing extending till the end of the month, those people in parliament not satisified with what they got so far, hadda get more.

and another thing, i see a fry chicken place going to start selling out of the gas station, i think its the guy who frys his chicken with raw pepper? will post the link later

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 116 cases, 8 deaths, 103 discharged in T&T

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 6th, 2020, 11:14 pm

Postby redmanjp » May 7th, 2020, 9:30 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
Gem_in_i wrote:

Of the 250k, 150k are in NYC alone..

I wonder how they got to these figures. If it is only by people who applied for passports, then am sure the number will be greater.

These would probably be T&T passport holders who migrated to the US, I have a dozen or more family members living in the US but still have their TT passports too.

I'd say maybe 5-10% of these are real residents of T&T who need to come back with some urgency.

so say 15k ppl from the epicenter NYC coming back- where 1 in 5 had it so many could currently have it- that could mean 1500 infected ppl if we assume 10% infected!

Health Minister was right - d next wave could be worse, except it could happen due to borders reopening

Postby Gladiator » May 7th, 2020, 12:03 pm

Borders open... for citizen to come home (Guyana, Bahamas, Caribbean)... just heard Stewartie on radio news

Postby goalpost » May 7th, 2020, 2:23 pm

Well look how we stats go rise.

Postby paid_influencer » May 7th, 2020, 2:26 pm

Gladiator wrote:Borders open... for citizen to come home (Guyana, Bahamas, Caribbean)... just heard Stewartie on radio news

also Venezuela and Margarita

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 7th, 2020, 2:32 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Gladiator wrote:Borders open... for citizen to come home (Guyana, Bahamas, Caribbean)... just heard Stewartie on radio news

also Venezuela and Margarita

Y'all might be surprised bars and restaurants never even closed in Guyana.

carluva

Postby carluva » May 7th, 2020, 8:56 pm

So fellas, especially those with the inside intel, what's the vibe for what the govt will announce on Sunday?

500+ community tests seems quite low given our population size and other testing ratios done elsewhere in the world.

Are we looking at some relaxing of rules come 16-May and a "reopening of the economy" (of sorts) come 18-May?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 7th, 2020, 9:16 pm

carluva wrote:So fellas, especially those with the inside intel, what's the vibe for what the govt will announce on Sunday?

500+ community tests seems quite low given our population size and other testing ratios done elsewhere in the world.

Are we looking at some relaxing of rules come 16-May and a "reopening of the economy" (of sorts) come 18-May?

I think the Government's logic is only open up until we have no new cases, therefore they can cover their ass and say it wasn't there fault if a Covid-19 breakout ever occurs.

Now, cases 115 and 116 were community spread and they haven't determined how those two got it, at least not to my knowledge. That means there are at least two secret cases who spread it to 115 & 116. If things 'open' up slowly from May 15th we don't know if the persons responsible for infecting 115 & 116 are still contagious (unlikely as they might be asymptomatic and should be over it by then), but we don't know how much people they spread it too during this Lockdown.

Also, given that there was some small community spread detected, we don't know to what extent yet. Hence the waiting we are in right now.

Additionally, we are not detecting cases well right now. We are testing at one of the lowest rates in the world right now, and Ian Allen and company have scared away most people for going in for testing.

So honestly, we have no idea if it's safe to open up slowly on May 15th, or lockdown further. But lockdowns especially now when things are not bad, aren't necessary and are probably doing much more harm to our future.

Postby The_Honourable » May 7th, 2020, 9:29 pm

I believe some Government services where interaction with the public is usually minimal would be reopened. Any ministries that has to deal with large numbers of the public would open on the tail end or last.