The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby nemisis » March 17th, 2013, 2:45 pm

casper wrote:I sure some ppl that complaining bout spending plenty on a phone are the same ones that pay $3k for a jockey shorts and beads and a paper helmet to wear for 2 days on carnival

nah Dan the people who playing carnival are the same ones that buy a phone over hype and not applicable function.

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » March 17th, 2013, 2:47 pm

RASC wrote:#teamnocase 10+ years...never a cracked screen or significant dinks/dents.

Just admit that y'all are just clumsy people and the world will be a better place :)

Hi, my name is wheelbarrow and I'm clumsy.... :grin:

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 17th, 2013, 2:51 pm

Lololololol

You know your new phone launch was fail when less than one page after people arguing about cases

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » March 17th, 2013, 2:51 pm

nemisis wrote:
casper wrote:I sure some ppl that complaining bout spending plenty on a phone are the same ones that pay $3k for a jockey shorts and beads and a paper helmet to wear for 2 days on carnival

nah Dan the people who playing carnival are the same ones that buy a phone over hype and not applicable function.

This. Especially bb users...real men used to coast on me when I had my s1 and s2 cause it eh have bb..just cause s3 popular they all have s3s now .. Funny thing is.. These same people feel they know more about android than I do after just a couple of months of using the s3, and yet they dunno Wtf a launcher is..

Postby RASC » March 17th, 2013, 3:11 pm

wheelbarrow wrote:
RASC wrote:#teamnocase 10+ years...never a cracked screen or significant dinks/dents.

Just admit that y'all are just clumsy people and the world will be a better place :)

Hi, my name is wheelbarrow and I'm clumsy.... :grin:

It's okay WheelBarrow...we are here for you :(

Postby Sky » March 17th, 2013, 3:12 pm

CBharath wrote:
stev wrote:isn't polycarbonate shatterproof compared to normal plastic?

by the way....i can see people paying much more than 4k for a phone....people that will actually use it as a "tool" as Sky said....and not just buy it to show off that they got the latest.

wait....i now realize i pay 4k for the Motorola Droid...bt then again it was a month after it was released....goin in 4 or 5 years now. lol

even if you using it as a tool i'm very sure it wouldnt go over 2k

Paid just above 2k for mine.
If it went far above 3 id consider another type of device

Postby Sky » March 17th, 2013, 3:14 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Lololololol

You know your new phone launch was fail when less than one page after people arguing about cases

I prefer less hype. We'll deal with the s4 when we need one

Postby nemisis » March 17th, 2013, 3:19 pm

The s4 makes the s3 look a lot better should push the price down nicely..

Postby Trini Hookah » March 17th, 2013, 3:21 pm

nemisis wrote:

Trini Hookah wrote:Hope he isn't the type to just buy a nexus to make calls and play temple run.

It amazes me how much things I use my phone for, that I haven't sat behind a pc for days on end.

never understood this logic unno, what wrong with him buying it t do nothing with it but calls and temple run??? Did you buy it for him?

Lolol

Postby nemisis » March 17th, 2013, 3:24 pm

I didn't say they couldn't eh

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 17th, 2013, 3:25 pm

Sky wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:Lololololol

I prefer less hype. We'll deal with the s4 when we need one

Right right less hype

CBharath

Postby CBharath » March 17th, 2013, 3:36 pm

Stephon. wrote:
CBharath wrote:
stev wrote:isn't polycarbonate shatterproof compared to normal plastic?

by the way....i can see people paying much more than 4k for a phone....people that will actually use it as a "tool" as Sky said....and not just buy it to show off that they got the latest.

wait....i now realize i pay 4k for the Motorola Droid...bt then again it was a month after it was released....goin in 4 or 5 years now. lol

even if you using it as a tool i'm very sure it wouldnt go over 2k

you real forkin cheap boy!

if yuh fadda did spend a lil more on rubbers.

you could justify a cell for 4k? as a tool?

CBharath

Postby CBharath » March 17th, 2013, 3:39 pm

worst yet for a carnival costume.

Postby RASC » March 17th, 2013, 3:46 pm

CBharath wrote:

Alot of persons are now using their cellphones as all in one devices. No longer does one have to carry around a cell, laptop,camera and a tablet when going to meetings or dealing with clients.

A well healed/spec'd cellphone can handle the majority of those every tasks during the day.

Take for example a real estate agent...can locate listings, directions, take photos of the listings, email to client, call contractor to fix impending issues, then show or project these images to the client on a Monitor later. To an agent, that 4K is WELL worth it.

What field do you work in CBharath ??

sync3

Postby sync3 » March 17th, 2013, 3:56 pm

No need to use antivirus on Linux/android...it only adds bloat..less ram usage---less battery consumption

Devs don't have time to bash Linux viruses when they can exploit windows with a 5 min script

CBharath

Postby CBharath » March 17th, 2013, 3:59 pm

RASC wrote:
CBharath wrote:

Alot of persons are now using their cellphones as all in one devices. No longer does one have to carry around a cell, laptop,camera and a tablet when going to meetings or dealing with clients.

A well healed/spec'd cellphone can handle the majority of those every tasks during the day.

Take for example a real estate agent...can locate listings, directions, take photos of the listings, email to client, call contractor to fix impending issues, then show or project these images to the client on a Monitor later. To an agent, that 4K is WELL worth it.

you is a real estate agent ?

Postby RASC » March 17th, 2013, 4:01 pm

CBharath wrote:
RASC wrote:
CBharath wrote:

No why?

Postby Ted_v2 » March 17th, 2013, 4:04 pm

agreed

CBharath

Postby CBharath » March 17th, 2013, 4:17 pm

RASC wrote:
CBharath wrote:
RASC wrote:
CBharath wrote:

No why?

better than an ass just bawlin yuh fackin cheap. i not saying you cant use it as a tool but for the ppl that talking here, they cant really justify that price. hell, i had a minix10 that was doing everything i wanted in a compact form that fitting in the center console in the rolla. (woodwork , car maintenance etc minus a larger screen). i wanted men who have the 4k+ phone to say if they could justify the purchase .

Postby Trini Hookah » March 17th, 2013, 4:34 pm

I never purchased a phone more than $2k and that was the Nokia Rihanna had in "Unfaithful" :oops:

But prices only increase for the combination of a bigger screen and better processor when you think about it.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » March 17th, 2013, 4:49 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:I never purchased a phone more than $2k and that was the Nokia Rihanna had in "Unfaithful" :oops:

But prices only increase for the combination of a bigger screen and better processor when you think about it.

I had one of those too! :lol: everyone used to be like WTF when I twisted it

Btw, you guys fussing over who's paying around 4K for phone.. Go to the Apple thread, then that's just pushing it. I have a friend who paid $7200 for a 16gb iPhone 5 when it was released. Just cuz she wanted one. And people still buying 64gb iPhones for > $5,500

Postby Stephon. » March 17th, 2013, 4:54 pm

CBharath wrote:
RASC wrote:
CBharath wrote:
RASC wrote:
CBharath wrote:

No why?

better than an ass just bawlin yuh fackin cheap. i not saying you cant use it as a tool but for the ppl that talking here, they cant really justify that price. hell, i had a minix10 that was doing everything i wanted in a compact form that fitting in the center console in the rolla. (woodwork , car maintenance etc minus a larger screen). i wanted men who have the 4k+ phone to say if they could justify the purchase .

.....................................lol

Postby RASC » March 17th, 2013, 4:54 pm

I mean once the person can afford, what's the issue?
There are people who make well into the 5 figures per month on the forum...so why not? :s

CBharath

Postby CBharath » March 17th, 2013, 5:49 pm

next....

Postby stev » March 17th, 2013, 8:25 pm

so the android thread reach to where the price of a phone has to be justified? :S

live and let live...if u can afford it and want it....den buy it. if u cant afford it then work hard until u can...simple. no one should question the way a man spends his money.

anyway...anybody has a Galaxy Y? my gf has one and wants to know a good custom rom she can put....any recommendations?

Postby ismithx » March 17th, 2013, 8:33 pm

^^ i have one... i doh really recommend a custom rom atm... there were some good ones coming out but they got shut down for using pirated apps....

i would ideally recommend you root and go with a custom kernel to avoid the problems when you can't update the google apps like youtube.

1st choice: stock rom with kuro's kernel: settings 156-830mhz, governor = blackcats, scheduler = sio or noop
2nd choice: hyperion 7.x GM rom (you may have to do some real digging to find this link)

Postby stev » March 17th, 2013, 8:37 pm

thanks a mil smithy...will look into it now ;)

Postby Ted_v2 » March 17th, 2013, 8:57 pm

Might buy back one of those yes. Either that or the ace

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 17th, 2013, 9:02 pm

Not sure if repost but watching this now....

Postby ismithx » March 17th, 2013, 9:11 pm

np stev, and sound boy go for the ace the hardware has more support for later versions of android