Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:brainchild, you should read through the pages of this thread (as painful as it might be) - we've been through this very discussion already
we've also come to the conclusion that megadoc1 is not open to anything other than what he already believes, so having a discussion with him is about as pointless as asking a brick for a solution for solving world hunger.
brainchild wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:brainchild, you should read through the pages of this thread (as painful as it might be) - we've been through this very discussion already
we've also come to the conclusion that megadoc1 is not open to anything other than what he already believes, so having a discussion with him is about as pointless as asking a brick for a solution for solving world hunger.
Yeah i realise it kinda pointless...wat i was trying to get at is that we allow religion to divide and control us, to dictate our lives wen millions lived without the knowledge we possess today. The purpose is to live a good and fair life, we didn't and don't need religion to do dat.well it is simple why not live without it and at the same time pretend it is not there? whats the issue? I guess its a bit tough for you to live in sin when "religion" is in your face so now you are trying to justify your condition by
deceiving your self into thinking that you don't need God.
None of us knows wat comes nx and the explanation of heaven isn't all dat enticing if u look at it realistically, because a lot of tings dat we all enjoy doin now n believe it 2 b harmless won't b permitted or even available in some cases. but i'll expand on dat heaven thing to tomorrow...got a life 2 live in d meantime.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ but we are primates - one ape has already surpassed the other. (Your words, eh, Duane. I thought our "ancestors" did not come from "apes" per se?))
I think you still do not understand how evolution works.
if we evolved differently than we are now, how would we know?
We can only accept what we have evolved into as "normal" and base our beliefs and superstitions on that.
brainchild wrote:Ok my thread got locked...i'm guessing because of this one.
So as i was asking...answer me this....If everyone claims there God is the true God...how come he or they as the case may be never appeared to the people on the other side of the world and taught the same things, used the same names etc?
Although their was hundreds of years of speculation, no one actually explored until Columbus' expedition...and the rest is history.
I'm no atheist, just wondered what peoples thoughts are on this. I'm not talking about so called modern day miracles, the modern bible or peoples visions. I'm just curious as to how this can be rationalized in the context of religious teachings.
brainchild wrote:megadoc1 wrote:I did answer your question
the true and living God chose to make himself known to the world through the house of Israel
now today we have Christians living in the "new world"
Of course, but i'm talking about the thousands of years and millions of people that lived before. What is the faith of these millions in the "afterlife". If they lived without this knowledge and led happy lives, experienced tragedies, built great cities and persevered to still have descendants walking around today...why do we place so much emphasis on modern religion and its practices? Most of us walking around now are decendants of people who worshipped other things or nothing at all.
sMASH wrote:but i hear about so many people know god, and askin me if i know god.
do u really think that u could ever get to know and understand or even fathom a being which can create a kidney, a liver, a brain, a placenta, a mitochondria, an atom, the subatomic particles, the sub sub atomic particles, the laws of thermodynamics, the laws of motion, and the killer, gravity?
do i know god? do i know god? it is impossible to even imagine understanding an atoms worth compared to the universe it exists in, a being such as god. we cant even understand our own brains, that we try to understand it with, but we would pretend to understand an know the being who created it by simply saying 'be' and it was?
to any one saying that they know god, if it have god, i would think that u dont know him and worse, u misunderstand him.
we are creation, that which was created, we are not worthy, nor capable to do any thing that we do except that which god permits. the air that u breathe, he just has to will that u stop and u will not breathe. u can stop breathing but still live if he so chooses to go against the laws of matter that he has set up, or enacts other mechanisms of matter which we have not understood to allow us to live while not breathing.
we do not know god,,, we cannot. what we can know is what he wants us to do.
Bizzare wrote:Actually most of you, even megadoc1, apply your own reasoning to the ways of God and why he hasn't made himself known to man in a way that is contrary to his word. God wishes that he could reveal himself unto so that every human being so that they can believe and receive the gift of salvation (eternity in heaven) but he can't. I'm not going to get into too much chalalal cuz I'm tired and someone gonna oppose so I may be explaining more soon.
First off I'm not the person I should be (spiritually) but I know that in order to understand why God has done some of the things he has chosen to do, we must first know him and by knowing him, I mean knowing what he can do and what he can't do. Yes, there are things that the ALMIGHTY God cannot do. Such as:
God cannot lie.
To cut a long story short, One of the main attributes of the God is he cannot change his words nor his thoughts. Its right there in the bible but not feeling to pull up any scriptures etc. Whatever God SAYS or THINKS is final and it will never change. He dwells in eternity. The good news is God has already planned the future and it is documented in the Bible; Therefore the bible is a book you could rely on because (1)God cannot lie (2)His words/thoughts CANNOT change.
The reason why the earth is in so much disaster and God hasn't shown himself or intervened is because he cannot. In the beginning God gave man dominion over the earth. He put man in charge. Despite man's actions here on earth his word has already been spoken therefore it cannot be changed. Man can flip the earth inside out and his word must remain true. There are lots of biblical scriptures etc but I don't really get into the spiritual stuff here really.
The bible explains that even before God created Adam and Eve he saw that they would partake of the forbidden fruit and bring damnation upon the earth, but there was nothing he could do to even stop the creation of man to begin with. Because he thought of it, it had to come to pass. God gave man his own free and before he created man he saw that man was going to use the power of free will to bring damnation upon themselves (partaking of the forbidden fruit), yet he couldn't stop himself from creating man, since whatever is in his thoughts or is spoken must come to pass and cannot be changed. Even now that God is sorry that he made man, why can't he just destroy us? Like I said His word cannot change.
"And the Lord was sorry that He had made man on the earth, and He was grieved in His heart," (Gen. 6:6, NASB).
Why was he grieved in his heart?? Because there was nothing he could do to alter his creation. Everything in eternity and with God is final. But, God being a merciful God, gave unto man an alternative although the first man lived caused this distress for all generations to come.....Kinda like a plan B. That plan B was to send his only begotten son, Jesus...... and thats another story......
perhaps, but what is wrong with that? How would we know that to be different?bluefete wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ but we are primates - one ape has already surpassed the other. (Your words, eh, Duane. I thought our "ancestors" did not come from "apes" per se?))
I think you still do not understand how evolution works.
if we evolved differently than we are now, how would we know?
We can only accept what we have evolved into as "normal" and base our beliefs and superstitions on that.
If that is the case, then are you saying that once a species is evolutionally superior, another or the same species cannot overtake it in the evolutionary kingdom?
What if environmental conditions change? And we fail to adapt? Would "Planet of the Apes" be next?
Kasey wrote:megaduck and bluefete will not understand. Not because they cant, but simply WILL NOT. GO BACK in this thread and read some of d_spike's input......u'll see wher this was all discused already, and how closed some ppl's minds really are.
Old Chinese saying go:
"One CANNOT reason with a closed mind"
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ read the thread - you will understand all of our POVs including megadoc1, he has his reasons.
brainchild wrote:catched
Alpha_2nr wrote:brainchild wrote:catched
Indeed.
brainchild wrote:So many interesting comments dat i couldn't pick jus one to quote and reply 2.
Don't assume that because i am raising these questions i'm living in sin and searching for some kinda justification of it all, because I'm not.really ? you are a "good" person then?
according to the laws of God ? What i believe i have understood is dat we have made our self too reliant on something dat we don't understand and overlooking the knowledge dat we do possess. To achieve d final reward requires a good spirit which manifests itself thru good deeds, fairness etc. aka truly applying our knowledge of right and wrong witout all the things dat divide us.
well then how are we (you and I) divided then, if you are living by what you believe ?
is it because we (me and you) both believe something different? do you want me to believe what you believe so we may never be divided?
As far back as we can look the source of this divide has been religion, Christ was a Jew and his teachings basically told ppl to be good to one another but didnt speak of actual religion, God himself nvr spoke of religion...yet still we have accepted all these religions dat have originated from someone coming up wit there own views along d line, incorporating their own rituals into it allowing it to evolve with d times until we have come to dis point where we so far from where it began but still allow it to divide us.
Glad to see that you believe in God and what you heard about Jesus this stuff I agree with you to a point, the only problem is that you assume that I am following religion and that's bad because all the way tru this ched I have been saying that it is Jesus I am after, you really should
go back and take a look because I said some really wired things back there
What i'm saying is dat we dont or at least shouldn't need religion to guide us, if we truly wish to be god-like we must strive to live a fair life, where we are not misguided by the so-called leadership of priests, pastors, popes, kings, queens or anyting.you just created your own religion dude the very thing you appeared to have a problem with
Unless God actually returns to tell us exactly what is what we are jus speculating and making it up as we go along, so are you waiting for God to return and tell us
what he has already returned to tell us?this is a being dat created a cosmos dat we haven't even begun to understand.true
We live on a planet that has a balance that is so intricate that we have only scratched d surface in terms of what we understand and we've been here for millions of years. So for me what makes d most sense is to stop the fruitless attempts at explaining what we don't understand and reshape our entire existence towards promoting balance in the way we do things. If we look at what God has created the central theme of it is BALANCE, from the distance of the moon from the earth and its effect on gravity, weather to our very moods, from the water we need to survive to a plant somewhere in a distant jungle that can cure some ailment we may have on the other side of the world...we see a balance. Even natural disasters and plagues (dat aren't man-made) play it's part in controlling population growth.
If we were to make these changes God could not help but b impressed when he returns to see that we have flourished and managed to understand and co-exist wit what he created and what we would have done essentially is created heaven on earth.
what gospel is this ? do you mind telling me the name of this religion?
Personally i don't buy in to the everlasting life thing, in fact if you read the book of Enoch (which was left out of the Bible) you would see dat he says there is no such thing,
since you are giving weight to the book of enoch lets look at what Jesus said to the Sadducees (they never believed in a resurrection either)
in the book of mark 12:18 -27
i'll get to the point from here
Mar 12:24 And Jesus answering said unto them, Do ye not therefore err, because ye know not the scriptures, neither the power of God?
Mar 12:25 For when they shall rise from the dead, they neither marry, nor are given in marriage; but are as the angels which are in heaven.
Mar 12:26 And as touching the dead, that they rise: have ye not read in the book of Moses, how in the bush God spake unto him, saying, I am the God of Abraham, and the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob?
Mar 12:27 He is not the God of the dead, but the God of the living: ye therefore do greatly err.
but instead we would experience a more full life. I f you really thought logically about it counting all who died already we looking at about a billion entering heaven, i doubt God will take away d ability to bear childrenMar 12:25 For when they shall rise from the dead, they neither marry, nor are given in marriage; but are as the angels which are in heaven.
so it will jus turn into unstoppable population growth cos nobody dies so regardless of how large heaven is we will fill it eventually and where do we go from there? I can make several other points where heaven is concerned but i'll leave dat there for now.yuh trying to confuse me here or are you contradicting yourself? you jus said in some paragraphs ago that
"this is a being dat created a cosmos dat we haven't even begun to understand."
so how you come to the conclusion that man will over populate heaven?
So don't assume that my question sought 2 do away wit God or find myself in the midst of a sinful life, i have stopped allowing myself to b affected by religion a long time now
but this is what I am saying, the problem is you are not sure if you are doing the right thing, some how religion affects you no matter how hard you try to avoid it I think that's your conscience , i accept every1 as my equal...i'm not perfect but i am a work in progress.me too I'm just looking to see if anyone ever gave it as much thought and can understand what i'm saying. yes alot have done it and have made their decisions, we will all soon know if we made the right choice
brainchild wrote:Just an extra point here about religion....If i give my child a young tree and tell her plant it and take care of it, the greatest way she can honor me is by truly caring for dat tree making it grow huge and strong (barring natural disasters etc). I don't need her to come and thank me for giving her everyday or do anyting for me because i gave her it, but if i forget about dat tree and come back yrs later and see dat she really took care of it and cherish it because i gave her dat would touch me d deepest. I believe we must think of life, companionship (meaning everyone else), food, all things and in fact d entire planet in d same way.
brainchild wrote:Letting go of wat u've been programmed 2 believe since birth is a hard ting....you can say that again
i was fortunate in dat i always had questions my parents couldn't ans since childhood,
lol you call that fortunate lol..........
so i slowly discovered everyting myself over d course of years. Fellas like megadoc probably only jus hearing dis stuff as an adult so it's 2 much 4 there minds...it seems blasphemous.thats a big assumption yo, is that how you learned things over the years?