3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Terran

Re: 3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Postby Terran » September 12th, 2012, 2:41 pm

Thanks for the tips! Good thought!

The "hot" spot at the top of the White Oak bottle is a result of angle, distance and direction of the flash - since it's the tallest object in the frame.

Still, I appreciate the comments.

Postby SMc » September 12th, 2012, 4:18 pm

pugboy wrote:anybody here using Tamron 70-300mm vc lens ?

Me, haven't used it in a bit though as just changed me job and therefore no free time

what you need, I'm no expert but will try my best (if you want to borrow not a problem but wont be home for another 18 months)

Postby DVSTT » September 12th, 2012, 5:59 pm

trini mk5 wrote:Last one looks the best, because its better exposed however the background becomes distracting, and the top left of the white oak bottle is "hot". I would move the smaller angostura bottle because the label is stained and kinda throws off the pic. Spray some water on the fruits and leaves too, it will give them some life with a nice reflection.

Took the words out my mouth there :/

Terran

Postby Terran » September 12th, 2012, 10:22 pm

Umm, you guys have me doing a double-take on the bottle of Orange Bitters. When you say "stain", are you just referring to the colour of the label? Because there's no actual stain on it at all. Just thought I'd mention.

The shot was actually "composed" by the bartender who made the cocktail, and those were his ingredients. The drink itself was being photographed by a professional who was in the room, and I fired a few while he was setting up some lighting. I'll upload another shot soon in which you can tell that the flash was positioned from the other side.

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 12th, 2012, 10:32 pm

^^lol I don't think orange bitters is popular locally, guys proberly thinking it looking like the bottle of bitters they have in the fridge for the last year. Lol

Terran

Postby Terran » September 13th, 2012, 5:32 pm

Here is one last shot of the cocktail...

Flash on the right side of the frame by Terran E, on Flickr

Terran

Postby Terran » September 13th, 2012, 5:36 pm

Just messing around a while ago without flash, all shot using a 55-250mm...

Titanic 3D BD by Terran E, on Flickr

Adjusted the focus slightly

Postby DVSTT » September 13th, 2012, 7:17 pm

Can't wait to get my 580! Never shot with a flash before!

Terran

Postby Terran » September 14th, 2012, 8:46 am

Would you want to consider getting the 600EX (newer model) instead?

Postby DVSTT » September 14th, 2012, 9:14 am

Terran wrote:Would you want to consider getting the 600EX (newer model) instead?

I'm still in school so $600.00 USD is alot to save up, I was gonna buy a lightly used one from ebay for around $350.00.

Postby DVSTT » September 14th, 2012, 11:19 am

Any of you guys entered EOG photo competition?

Postby Trini Hookah » September 14th, 2012, 11:05 pm

Postby Trini Hookah » September 15th, 2012, 12:18 pm

Same background I was playing around with + external light (lamp):

ImprezaDriver

Postby ImprezaDriver » September 17th, 2012, 1:28 am

Haven't posted...or shot in a while.

Trip to Glacier National Park MT
noisy...oh well

St Mary Falls

Logan Pass

Salt Lake City Capitol
Last edited by ImprezaDriver on September 18th, 2012, 12:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

neals

Postby neals » September 17th, 2012, 5:52 am

went diving matelot side

mrkessy

Postby mrkessy » September 17th, 2012, 12:59 pm

Guys,

Was trying to get some shots of napa over the last few days, and in the end i sorta got some i kinda liked, but..question: were those horrid bluetoned, trillion watt flood lights always there? if so, always on?I find they actually detract from the beauty of the building!!
I thought it was pretty well lit before, and had sufficient security staffing for that overkill to not be necessary... meh </rant>

anyway couple of shots from about below:

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » September 17th, 2012, 2:00 pm

I quite like the 3rd and 4th pic. i like the arrangement, the last one isnt bad either. I dont like the 1st because of the framing. You should leave a bit more room when shooting buildings.and the tree in the centre is distracting. And yes those purple lights were always there but not all the time they are on.
UWI photog class???

mrkessy

Postby mrkessy » September 17th, 2012, 2:10 pm

trini mk5 wrote:I quite like the 3rd and 4th pic. i like the arrangement, the last one isnt bad either. I dont like the 1st because of the framing. You should leave a bit more room when shooting buildings.and the tree in the centre is distracting. And yes those purple lights were always there but not all the time they are on.
UWI photog class???

thanks man. Cropped out those horrid lights in the first, which had the negative effect on the composition. Feedback appreciated!

nah, no classes as yet. Just some ebooks and a passion

Terran

Postby Terran » September 17th, 2012, 10:35 pm

Nice shots, mrkessy! Very nice!

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » September 18th, 2012, 9:52 am

Impreza Driver, nice shots. Were you on a trek with a guide or on your own?
I'm trying to decide where to go for a week in october.

Cid

Postby Cid » September 18th, 2012, 2:50 pm

Ah need some advice from the pros....Im thinking about upgrading from my 60d, i really want a digic 5+ , and as the universe would have it Canon announced the 6D fill frame yest which would be available in December.....

Canon EOS 6D Full-frame DSLR Brings Joy to Photography Enthusiasts
Posted on Monday, September 17, 2012 (EST)
Canon EOS 6D announced on Monday, September 17, 2012, is a full-frame DSLR whose most endearing feature is its affordability. So far full-frame cameras have been priced at points that only make sense to professional photographers.

Canon EOS 6D Full-frame DSLR for Photography Enthusiasts. Photo Credit: Canon
September 18, 2012, (Sawfnews.com) - Canon EOS 6D announced on Monday, September 17, 2012, is a full-frame DSLR whose most endearing feature is its affordability. So far full-frame cameras have been priced at points that only make sense to professional photographers.

The EOS 6D features a newly developed 20.2-megapixel full-frame CMOS sensor, DIGIC 5+ Image Processor and, for the first time in a Canon DSLR, built-in wireless and GPS.

The camera also includes an 11-point AF array and 63-zone dual-layer iFCL metering sensor together with 1080p Full HD video capabilities.

The combination of the full-frame sensor and Digic processor allows it to shoot upto to 4.5 frames per second (fps) in burst mode.

It's impressive normal ISO range of 100-25600, can be expanded to 50-102400.

The EOS 6D camera's Auto Focus (AF) system includes a newly-developed 11-point AF sensor featuring a high-precision center cross-type point with an exceptional EV -3 sensitivity rating for accurate focusing even in extremely low-light conditions.

The EOS 6D has a large 3.0-inch Clear View LCD monitor with 1,040,000 dot VGA resolution and 170 degree viewing angle. When used for Live View shooting, the LCD screen provides 100 percent coverage, for easy focusing and framing.

The EOS 6D supports Full-Frame 1080p Full HD Video captures with full manual control over exposure and audio levels.

It's built-in wireless transmitter allows the camera to share images and video with the user's choice of wireless devices such as select PowerShot cameras, smartphones, or tablets, as well as cloud-based destinations including social networking sites through the Canon iMAGE GATEWAYii iii.

A free Canon EOS Remote app available for iOS and Android systems allows a smartphone or wireless device such as a tablet to remotely connect, control and operate the connected EOS 6Div.

Canon EOS 6D Full-frame DSLR for Photography Enthusiasts. Photo Credit: Canon
For on-location shooters, landscape photographers or enthusiast photo travelers, the EOS 6D features

The built-in GPS can record longitude, latitude, elevation and Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) as EXIF data for seamless geo-tagging while shooting.

Besides the traditional HDR (High Dynamic Range) mode that allows you to capture three separate exposures and combine them in-camera, the EOS 6D features Multiple Exposure mode where users can combine up to nine individual images into a single composite image, with no need for later computer post-processing. Four different compositing methods are provided for maximum creative control, including Additive, Average, Bright and Dark.

Compositing results can be viewed in real time on the camera's LCD monitor, and there is a one-step Undo command that allows photographers to delete an image and try again if desired.

The camera is compatible with SD, SDHC, and SDXC memory cards including the new Ultra High Speed (UHS-I) cards.

Pricing and Availability

The EOS 6D Digital SLR Camera will be sold in a body-only configuration at an estimated retail price of $2,099.00 and it will additionally be offered in a kit version with Canon's EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM zoom lens at an estimated retail price of $2,899.00. Both configurations are expected to be available in December 2012.

http://www.sawfnews.com/Tech/69764.aspx

so question ......how is the transition like from crop to full frame and how ah go know if is for ah small man like me?

Postby RBphoto » September 18th, 2012, 3:32 pm

^^^^ Price of bodi will b unaffected. 60D is a borse camera. With full frame your long zooms will have less reach... if you have any EF lenses to start with at all.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » September 18th, 2012, 3:58 pm

FF frame's main advantage is its low light capability. While a crop sensor can shoot at around 3200 ASA max for fairly clean images, a GOOD FF sensor should be able to shoot at 6400 and above for really clean images. If you doing concert photography or anything that involves low light photography a FF is always better....providing you are not shooting with flash or you cant light the scene.
However your wide lenses will be wide but your telephoto lenses will be shorter than if it was on a crop sensor body. Example 200mm of a FF is 200mm, but on a crop nikon body it will be 300mm which is great for longer distances. multiply by 1.5 times
Image quality will be really up to the lens you use and remember you will have to buy new FF lenses to work effectively on this cam.
If you have the money by all means buy it, or you could exploit the canon 5d2 at a cheaper price, which as far as i see is still a better camera than this. cheers

Postby DVSTT » September 18th, 2012, 3:59 pm

WOW, some bess pics got posted while I was away! Imprezadriver, some awesome shots there man! Like the framing of the building! Nice dramatic skies as well!

mrkessy, liking the detail on the coconut shot and the composition of the shot with the seasoning!

neals the second to last shot is my favourite, like the low perspective. Not an angle normally seen!

Postby RBphoto » September 18th, 2012, 4:52 pm

trini mk5, the 60D is better than the 5DMK2 in a lot of ways. The Mk2 is yesterday news and has horrible noise even at base iso. Would not reccomend it over the 60D.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » September 18th, 2012, 4:57 pm

crossdrilled wrote:trini mk5, the 60D is better than the 5DMK2 in a lot of ways. The Mk2 is yesterday news and has horrible noise even at base iso. Would not reccomend it over the 60D.

the 60d ya say dey???

Postby RBphoto » September 18th, 2012, 5:09 pm

^^^ Buh yeahboi danboidogboi!!... whappen?

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » September 18th, 2012, 5:17 pm

crossdrilled wrote:^^^ Buh yeahboi danboidogboi!!... whappen?

just wanna make sure danboidogboi!!

And the d700 is pretty good with noise

ImprezaDriver

Postby ImprezaDriver » September 18th, 2012, 9:00 pm

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:Impreza Driver, nice shots. Were you on a trek with a guide or on your own?
I'm trying to decide where to go for a week in october.

no guide...the park is easy to get around...you'll have to wait until next spring unless you want to rough it with the snow. It's blocked off to all vehicles during the winter

Postby Trini Hookah » September 18th, 2012, 9:44 pm

No Sony men in here orr :|