carluva

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby carluva » June 30th, 2021, 4:21 pm

Throw away old dirty rug.

Invest in one of these.

https://ruggable.com

Time to clean: remove top layer, throw in washer, line dry or air dry in dryer, place back on floor.

I ordered one of them last year... Best rug out and cleans so easily.

Postby *KRONIK* » June 30th, 2021, 10:27 pm

The rugs not dirty/stained or anything
But since my big vacuum died, we been using the roomba. That takes care of the surcace nicely, but i say i should probably just look to give them a lil clean out, on a deeper level.

And i wanna take out my vam carpet and wash that out too as its 10years old now.
It doesnt look dirty as i did an extractor clean on it about 1.5years ago. But, i say i go give it a lil refresh 1 time

But i like this concept too, but i dont plan on updating my decor anytime soon

carluva wrote:Throw away old dirty rug.

Invest in one of these.

https://ruggable.com

Time to clean: remove top layer, throw in washer, line dry or air dry in dryer, place back on floor.

I ordered one of them last year... Best rug out and cleans so easily.

Postby rollingstock » June 30th, 2021, 11:03 pm

Rent the bissell from doityourself
I did my entire which is carpeted except for the kitchen in a half day. Then did the couch and cars with it.

Postby Ted_v2 » July 1st, 2021, 5:18 am

what he said.

i have 4 cars to do in my family. I was watching another place however that rents the karcher units

hindian

Postby hindian » July 1st, 2021, 6:11 am

*KRONIK* wrote:What chemical to use?

Kronik wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:Yea fellaz

Lewwe discuss something here

Carpet/car floor mat/household rugs

Whats the best way to deep clean.

Does it male sense to take it outside and powerwash it?
Or extractor cleaning is more efficinent?
Carry it outside, spray thoroughly with your carpet cleaning chemical, scrub thoroughly, give a few mins for chemicals to do it's work, then pressure wash, and squeegee/extract/drain out remaing water and put to dry.

Repeat the chemical and scrubbing if it's an older mat or if it's heavily stained
To be honest I always have good results with purple blaster. I use it straight out the bottle or dilute it a bit depending on what I trying to clean

Postby *KRONIK* » July 1st, 2021, 6:46 am

I have a bissel spot clean, i used that on my van, but my van is all "leather", so only the floor has fabric carpet
Gonna be taking out the carpet soon for sound deadening and wiring, so i considered and exterior based cleaning
rollingstock wrote:Rent the bissell from doityourself
I did my entire which is carpeted except for the kitchen in a half day. Then did the couch and cars with it.

Postby *KRONIK* » July 1st, 2021, 6:47 am

The puzzi works great, i saw one in action at a carwash a few months back, thing only pulling black water
Ted_v2 wrote:what he said.

i have 4 cars to do in my family. I was watching another place however that rents the karcher units

Postby *KRONIK* » July 1st, 2021, 6:49 am

Aite
Will try a mild degreaser mix

Like i said, its not dirty, but i prefer give it a rinse while its out
hindian wrote:

Kronik wrote:

Carry it outside, spray thoroughly with your carpet cleaning chemical, scrub thoroughly, give a few mins for chemicals to do it's work, then pressure wash, and squeegee/extract/drain out remaing water and put to dry.

Repeat the chemical and scrubbing if it's an older mat or if it's heavily stained
To be honest I always have good results with purple blaster. I use it straight out the bottle or dilute it a bit depending on what I trying to clean

Postby Dave » July 1st, 2021, 6:54 am

Lanher had a carpet and upholstery cleaner which worked well. Can't say I have seen it but you can take a look for it.

carluva

Postby carluva » July 1st, 2021, 6:59 am

I have had very good results with two products in vehicles, carpets and upholstery.

3M carpet and upholstery cleaner.

Turtle Wax upholstery cleaner.

Both are in a spray can and foam when sprayed. The foam dissipates while breaking down the dirt, after which it's cleaned or extracted.

My only worry about pressure washing a rug is the after smell that remains when you agitate the dirt, it's not totally washed out the thick rug does not dry properly. Worse yet if it's one of the rugs with the backing.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » July 1st, 2021, 7:05 am

Kronik wrote:

Rojan marketing in aranguez have a carpet cleaner concentrate I buy, that one gallon giving you real plenty when you dilute, I had very good results with that on a mattress, couch, my carpet, turned the seats of a wingroad from dark brown back to blue, I never even knew the original colour.

I planning on removing the carpet from my CS and soaking in chemical and pressure washing it, if I wasn't removing it, then I would have to use the extractor, which I'll be using for the seat.

I also throw in some tuff stuff just for good measure

Postby timelapse » July 1st, 2021, 9:49 am

I have a rotating sweeper attachment for my Karcher pressure washer.The carpet setting works well on rugs.I use tuff stuff

hindian

Postby hindian » July 1st, 2021, 4:08 pm

Not sure if this the right thread fellas but I looking for black polyurethane plastic much like the water tank material but it must be flat or if anybody have a cut water tank to throw away I'll gladly take it off your hands. I dont need much really just like 2'x2' square thanks.

Postby Chimera » July 1st, 2021, 9:14 pm

I was pricing some 4x4x 10 feet teak posts for my pergola today
Prices amazing yes

This is the going price from 3 of the sawmills I message. Up to 700 rough

While my carpenter padna getting it for $270 a length dressed if he order it
Screenshot_20210701-211314_Gallery.jpeg

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » July 5th, 2021, 9:52 am

Anyone have an update on the total Wacker??... 2hp 45cc is the advertised on it. Or even the Starke

My little fs55 Stihl hitting the wall right now.. this total sounding like my next play yes

Edit: ended up buying the Sabre 52cc... $1500.. working proper on 4ft tall bamboo grass, good vibration handling and it isn't too loud.

Postby *KRONIK* » July 6th, 2021, 7:44 pm

Total mitre saw for 1k,
Whats you guys' thoughts?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » July 6th, 2021, 7:47 pm

Looking for a good battery operated sawzall, Which brand is a good one to buy locally?

Postby *KRONIK* » July 6th, 2021, 8:00 pm

I used the compact 20v dewalt for plenty stuff before i sold it
Cut up plenty drill pipe and barrels with it.

They have a new brushless version, so that should be even better.

But TBH, stick with what you have batteries for already or plan to expand to later on
Ie: dewalt/milwaukee/ryobi/makita
ProtonPowder wrote:Looking for a good battery operated sawzall, Which brand is a good one to buy locally?

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » July 6th, 2021, 8:01 pm

trinibajan34 wrote:Has anyone bought the Total cordless impact wrench or EMTop impact wrench? Any reviews on any of them if anyone bought them.

Should have said cordless impact gun. anyone bought any of the brands mentioned above.

Postby supercharged turbo » July 7th, 2021, 4:36 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Total mitre saw for 1k,
Put the rest and buy something good to last
ProtonPowder wrote:Looking for a good battery operated sawzall, Which brand is a good one to buy locally?
SSL has a sale right now on Milwaukee..check their website or FB page

Postby Chimera » July 7th, 2021, 6:03 pm

The rest is 2000 to 3000 extra

If you hardly using it buy the total

Postby Rovin » July 7th, 2021, 6:31 pm

miter saw : look at product reputation , built quality, level of design if it was made for occasional use, daily or heavy duty, how solid it feels

if seller also has known reputable brands like makita, milwaukee, dewalt , bosch on display alongside d chinese brands , scrutinize d built quality of them side by side , if they allow u to power on d tools on so u can get a an idea of power & a feel for how rough\smooth\comfortable it feels to operate & how easy it is set angles\miters

i own 2, both of them 10" not sliding type , a craftsman which is about 15yrs old still works good & few yrs ago got a new hitachi on sale for iirc us 100 works really good & is lighter to tote than d CM , if i doing something that needs both a 90 or other angle both come in handy at d same time ...

Postby *KRONIK* » July 7th, 2021, 7:45 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:
Put the rest and buy something good to last

Logic understood
But its for really basic cutting of 1x4, 2x4, 2x2
Looking at it mainly for the ease of use with the fence

I had a bad experience last week with a cicular saw, i find them difficult to use to get really accurate cuts with guides.

Postby *KRONIK* » July 7th, 2021, 7:48 pm

I wish i had the opportunity to use a few brands and even compare them side by side.
But that may be impossible these days with all them restrictions.

But as i said before, it may be used once every couple months when a small project comes up.
So i feeling hard to jump out on a big brand unit
Rovin wrote:miter saw : look at product reputation , built quality, level of design if it was made for occasional use, daily or heavy duty, how solid it feels

if seller also has known reputable brands like makita, milwaukee, dewalt , bosch on display alongside d chinese brands , scrutinize d built quality of them side by side , if they allow u to power on d tools on so u can get a an idea of power & a feel for how rough\smooth\comfortable it feels to operate & how easy it is set angles\miters

i own 2, both of them 10" not sliding type , a craftsman which is about 15yrs old still works good & few yrs ago got a new hitachi on sale for iirc us 100 works really good & is lighter to tote than d CM , if i doing something that needs both a 90 or other angle both come in handy at d same time ...

Postby Chimera » July 7th, 2021, 7:52 pm

Buy the total.
Work it hard.
Lend all yuh padnas it
Test that warranty lol

Postby *KRONIK* » July 7th, 2021, 7:56 pm

Rofl

Daz wah we saying
Chap up every MC ting
Phone Surgeon wrote:Buy the total.
Work it hard.
Lend all yuh padnas it
Test that warranty lol

Postby Rovin » July 7th, 2021, 8:02 pm

big hardwares like bhags, allied, SSL etc shud all be opened so go look then go check d various chinese brands , u decide

all a miter saw does is cross cut & angle cut, not a tool u will often use but when u need it u will be glad to have it ...

Postby *KRONIK* » July 7th, 2021, 8:25 pm

Yup
I borrowed a dewalt circular saw from a padna to build a lil table/stand
Was horrible to use, especially with the rip-cut blade he had on it.
I was looking at the mitre saw cuz it has the fence? To line up the wood against so i wont be fighting up to hold the saw and wood.

Let it be known i have zero wood work experience, so all this new to me
Rovin wrote:big hardwares like bhags, allied, SSL etc shud all be opened so go look then go check d various chinese brands , u decide

all a miter saw does is cross cut & angle cut, not a tool u will often use but when u need it u will be glad to have it ...

Postby Gladiator » July 7th, 2021, 8:45 pm

Purchased the 8" version last December. I must say I am astonished at its performance. Got it on special for $900 at a hardware in St Helena. So far i have chopped up the following for a couple projects.

20 lengths - 1x4x14 DTPP
24 lenghs - 1x4x12 Green Heart
6 lengths - 2x2x10 RTPP
4 lengths - 2x4x10 DTPP
2 lengths - 1x3x12 DTPP
Some 2" PVC Sch 40

It never missed a beat. The power delivery is very good. The precision is good. I have no regrets. I was previously a brand name tool man (Dewalt, Bosch etc). This is my first Chinese tool from Total and I am blown away.

Just one of the projects.... still to varnish

thumbnail_IMG_20210707_204108.jpg

Postby *KRONIK* » July 7th, 2021, 9:26 pm

#realreview
#inspiration
Gladiator wrote:

Purchased the 8" version last December. I must say I am astonished at its performance. Got it on special for $900 at a hardware in St Helena. So far i have chopped up the following for a couple projects.

20 lengths - 1x4x14 DTPP
24 lenghs - 1x4x12 Green Heart
6 lengths - 2x2x10 RTPP
4 lengths - 2x4x10 DTPP
2 lengths - 1x3x12 DTPP
Some 2" PVC Sch 40

It never missed a beat. The power delivery is very good. The precision is good. I have no regrets. I was previously a brand name tool man (Dewalt, Bosch etc). This is my first Chinese tool from Total and I am blown away.

Just one of the projects.... still to varnish

thumbnail_IMG_20210707_204108.jpg