COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 116 cases, 8 deaths, 73 discharged in T&T

Postby sMASH » May 1st, 2020, 8:22 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Oxford based their ranking purely on reported stats and measures taken. It is flawed to use this to make decisions and they even state so themselves. I love what they're doing but their top 20 countries listing has counties with widely varying health care and testing protocols. We cannot use this as any guage yet.
they do those things to put things in perspective, without having to outright accuse somebody, like how our parliament conducts itself.
accordign to that list, we better than new zealand. so why we lock done still? it have some baboo man running run still. but how newzealand reopening? we dont know but we cant. y? u have to understand we have to flatten the curve

so when u go tru and see who test and identify their sources, and who didnt, then u would see the real story. they dont care bout us, we just a stat, is for we to open we brain and tink.

i have been saying, the govt has to take this course of actions if they want to get that specific outcome. but when they reopen, we start back at square one, people still moving about, and spreading the babooman infection. it spreading, but no figures to show where it is or who has it.

without a vaccine, sweden is the way to go. u only need average 60% infected and over come, to acheive effective herd immunity. it may not last for years, but just like the common cold, might give u for a year or so, and that is the time a vaccine might be ready.
and by that time covid 2 will be just like the routine flus we get.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 1st, 2020, 8:47 pm

We do have to realize, our normal way of life has come to an end until there's a vaccine. Hope anti-vaxers take note, this is what happens in a world where we have no vaccines.

5000 to 10,000 Trinis have to come home, how do we deal with them? Self-quarantine at home? Suppose they live with a big family?

Quarantine facilities? How good are they? If they're not good, suppose they get infected there and spread it around after the 14 days.

Is 14 days total isolation enough for them?

Do we ever re-open our borders until a vaccine is out? What about venes who coming in illegally? Are we finally going to end that porous border?

What about foreigners who need to come to TT to work, I've been told many industries have equipment waiting to be commissioned or calibrate by foreign engineers, but obviously they can't right now. They are paid daily, if 14-day quarantines are mandatory when they arrive, do our local companies pay their daily wages or those 14 days? Some of these costs are thousands of USD per day.

My nephew studying in Canada, he's back in Trini (very lucky to be back in time), but school is supposed to resume in September, can he fly back? If he flies in, can he come home or Xmas? Not a big deal, but these are things we have to think about.
Last edited by Dohplaydat on May 1st, 2020, 10:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby toyolink » May 2nd, 2020, 10:27 am

The views being expressed are quite interesting and in the most part very valid.
The reality of a virus like this vs other real fundamental needs to survive in T&T are certainly heading for a collision and the impact would be getting worse as time goes by.
Our ability to scramble out of the economic whole created in the absence of any meaningful stimulus initiatives sponsored by the state spells real trouble.
Admittedly, what the state can do is a function of our national financial condition, which at this time is weak.
Election spending which has become our norm may cause a very brief high with hell to pay come early 2021.
…..We await the work of the road map planners!

Postby paid_influencer » May 2nd, 2020, 11:59 am

road map planners have plenty work.

literal bread lines every day all around the country.
https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 17247.html
5eacc79c4c66e.image.jpg

Postby bluefete » May 2nd, 2020, 12:28 pm

paid_influencer wrote:road map planners have plenty work.

The seeds have been sown for massive social unrest.

I was accused of being an alarmist when I said weeks ago that we must look at re-opening our economy.

I looking to see how many Venezuelans in the line because Clarence Rambharat say so.

Postby redmanjp » May 2nd, 2020, 2:23 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:We do have to realize, our normal way of life has come to an end until there's a vaccine. Hope anti-vaxers take note, this is what happens in a world where we have no vaccines.

5000 to 10,000 Trinis have to come home, how do we deal with them? Self-quarantine at home? Suppose they live with a big family?
don't allow all trinis back- perhaps only those who may have left recently for urgent family or work reasons. certainly not trinis who living/working abroad but have a TT passport and want to come back home. Quarantine them in a state facility as long as we have the capacity.

Quarantine facilities? How good are they? If they're not good, suppose they get infected there and spread it around after the 14 days.
As there are less persons there now they should do some improvement work on them- we are going to need this facility for the next year or more
i'm not sure but I guess that;s why we have a 'step down' facility- case the virus decide to 'reactivate' or someone incubation period is unusally longer.
Do we ever re-open our borders until a vaccine is out? What about venes who coming in illegally? Are we finally going to end that porous border?
reopening borders should be limited to a small number of nationals- certainly no non-nationals. put soldiers to guard those borders for the rest of this pandemic
What about foreigners who need to come to TT to work, I've been told many industries have equipment waiting to be commissioned or calibrate by foreign engineers, but obviously they can't right now. They are paid daily, if 14-day quarantines are mandatory when they arrive, do our local companies pay their daily wages or those 14 days? Some of these costs are thousands of USD per day.
Don't open the borders to any foreigners- I'm sure some of those persons can get in touch with locals and instruct them on how to run the equipment, or if the equipment can be put online, do a remote control session- perhaps only if this is not possible them MoNS can grant an exception to such a person and quarantine for 14 days first- not allow all foreigners to come in- u crazy!
My nephew studying in Canada, he's back in Trini (very lucky to be back in time), but school is supposed to resume in September, can he fly back? If he flies in, can he come home or Xmas? Not a big deal, but these are things we have to think about.
flying out of T&T is fine- coming back in after being exposed to the virus outside- not so much. will have to skip coming home for xmas this year- my siblings in the US can't come every year- covid or no covid.
Last edited by redmanjp on May 2nd, 2020, 10:04 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Postby MaxPower » May 2nd, 2020, 2:47 pm

bluefete wrote:

I was accused of being an alarmist when I said weeks ago that we must look at re-opening our economy.

I looking to see how many Venezuelans in the line because Clarence Rambharat say so.

Why should it matter how many Venezuelans are in line?

This is also their country as well and we are all in this together.

Remember that.

Postby toyolink » May 2nd, 2020, 3:11 pm

bluefete wrote:

Remember that.

This for me is a very powerful observation and a simple truth.

Postby pugboy » May 2nd, 2020, 3:13 pm

Clarence doh think so or at least using them as a red herring

bluefete wrote:

Remember that.

Postby sMASH » May 2nd, 2020, 3:16 pm

who is this 'we' that all in this together? keep rowley sanctions by he self, lol.

Postby MaxPower » May 2nd, 2020, 5:15 pm

Adjustments.JPG

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 2nd, 2020, 5:17 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:We do have to realize, our normal way of life has come to an end until there's a vaccine. Hope anti-vaxers take note, this is what happens in a world where we have no vaccines.

don't allow all trinis back- perhaps only those who may have left recently for urgent family or work reasons. certainly not trinis who living/working abroad but have a TT passport and want to come back home. Quarantine them in a state facility as long as we have the capacity.

As there are less persons there now they should do some improvement work on them- we are going to need this facility for the next year or more
i'm not sure but I guess that;s why we have a 'step down' facility- case the virus decide to 'reactivate' or someone incubation period is unusally longer.
reopening borders should be limited to a small number of nationals- certainly no non-nationals. put soldiers to guard those borders for the rest of this pandemic
Don't open the borders to any foreigners- I'm sure some of those persons can get in touch with locals and instruct them on how to run the equipment, or if the equipment can be put online, do a remote control session- perhaps only if this is not possible them MoNS can grant an exception to such a person and quarantine for 14 days first- not allow all foreigners to come in- u crazy!

flying out of T&T is fine- coming back in after being exposed to the virus outside- not so much.

Your answers are good in theory, we'll see how it works out. There are lots to get right still, imposing a lockdown closing borders are easy solutions. But in the long run they hamper us economically more and more.

I for one would have love to see temporary health and quarentines facilities constructed or sourced, medication and PPE stockpiled and other measures put in place so that we can open back up to some semblance of normalcy.

Instead, we bought almost 3 months of time for almost nothing.

They are playing a dangerous game if they think they can maintain these figures.

Postby rspann » May 2nd, 2020, 5:18 pm

Why Rambharrat minimizing the venes so ? So because it's not trinis that makes a difference ? Remember the venes were invited here and promised they would be a part of TnT . They were even registered .

Postby rspann » May 2nd, 2020, 5:19 pm

Watching that line / crowd , I seeing some real Indian and afro looking venes there though .

Postby pugboy » May 2nd, 2020, 5:48 pm

clarence getting real pong
he almost in trump league with that utterance

Postby paid_influencer » May 2nd, 2020, 5:53 pm

if there ever was a COVID reservoir population, it would be the Venes.

under-reported population numbers, close living quarters, economically vulnerablility, manual laborers or bar workers. God himself will punish us for not specifically seeking out and helping our Venezuelan brothers and sisters here.

Postby pugboy » May 2nd, 2020, 5:55 pm

that is exactly what has happened to singapore
their low level labour force is all from the poor south east asean countries and has exploded with cases in last couple weeks

paid_influencer wrote:if there ever was a COVID reservoir population, it would be the Venes.

under-reported population numbers, close living quarters, economically vulnerablility, manual laborers or bar workers. God himself will punish us for not specifically seeking out and helping our Venezuelan brothers and sisters here.

Postby bluefete » May 2nd, 2020, 6:25 pm

Easy on the eyes and some interesting points.

death365

Postby death365 » May 2nd, 2020, 6:49 pm

Even ah lil child can understand that we can just open back everything I'm one shot... But u can't stop retail for too long cause its what drives the circulation of $.

Consumer goods and food is the 2 biggest retail. It go have to be food in a phased basis... No dine eat take away and delivery then limited open hours for stores. Then finally maybe July bars and casino

Postby hydroep » May 2nd, 2020, 9:06 pm

^^As she bring up the talk about condoms and sex, the Dr. Campbell fella on youtube expects to see a bumper crop of births 9+ months down the road, dubbing the newborns "Corona Babies"...:|

Postby paid_influencer » May 2nd, 2020, 10:09 pm

You know why none of them social distancing? because they have a mask on and believe it will protect them.

LET ME REMIND EVERYONE:

THERE IS NO EVIDENCE THAT SAYS CLOTH MASKS ARE PROTECTIVE.

Here from the WHO
clothmasks.jpg
advice.jpg

Postby sMASH » May 2nd, 2020, 10:22 pm

it have any cheese stick up inside there?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 2nd, 2020, 10:47 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

You know why none of them social distancing? because they have a mask on and believe it will protect them.

LET ME REMIND EVERYONE:

Here from the WHOclothmasks.jpgadvice.jpg

Sigh, masks reduce the transmission of it greatly, so if everyone where's it then there really isn't a need for social distancing.

Postby Gladiator » May 3rd, 2020, 12:34 am

The correct masks, or correctly designed masks.... not the sheit masks that some people sewing and putting on. How the hell a rastaman hat material knitted mask protecting you from anything, people wearing that cause it hah rasta colours. Last week the cashier in the grocery have on a mask made from what seems to be an old handbag, the thing is plastic and no air could pass through. She literally stifling and have to pull it down to breathe.

At least inform and educate the public properly nah man... but no. This Govt can't do anything right....

Dohplaydat wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

LET ME REMIND EVERYONE:

Sigh, masks reduce the transmission of it greatly, so if everyone where's it then there really isn't a need for social distancing.

Postby adnj » May 3rd, 2020, 2:38 am

........Image

Postby sMASH » May 3rd, 2020, 3:06 am

is not much, but it doing sumting. if the virus is suspended in the air, like if someone cough, move on, and u walk there, u will breathe that in np. the only real advantage is if u are sick, when u breathe out, it would not travel as far forward with the cloth barrier.

if u social distance as germany say, 1 to to meters, thats ur best bet. but everybody jump on the cloth mask train, so wah u goh do.

like green energy, it not as green as its made out to be, but its the way that we moving so we goin.

Postby sMASH » May 3rd, 2020, 4:00 am

Postby sMASH » May 3rd, 2020, 4:19 am

Postby hydroep » May 3rd, 2020, 8:28 am

Check the policeman line up on the right nuh. Law enforcement at it's finest...:|

paid_influencer wrote:

LET ME REMIND EVERYONE:

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » May 3rd, 2020, 9:43 am

Follow the deaths...
Numbers don't lie

https://www.usatoday.com/story/news/inv ... 048381001/