COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

SLVR1

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 116 cases, 8 deaths, 68 discharged in T&T

Postby SLVR1 » April 30th, 2020, 4:47 pm

TT has been quite fortunate vs other countries yet I see many people operating with no care. If it was worse, these would be the first to blame and complain and not even consider that they are the problem since they operate with no care towards others.

Postby sMASH » April 30th, 2020, 4:57 pm

sMASH wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Adjustments.JPG

Trinis....

Allyuh serious?

But borders are opening and closing so why not.

This pandemic should have been a little more deadly for allyuh to understand the seriousness.

Let them go.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/agricult ... d56f870804

where is the virus? where are the sources of infection?

No one knows where the virus is or where the sources are.

What is your point?

to attempt to reopen, u need to know that. if u dont know that, then u cant reopen. this is the route they decided to take.
if u dont know that, and u reopen, then second wave time. and it might be worse than the first wave. this time it might get 150 cases and 20 deaths.

Postby MaxPower » April 30th, 2020, 4:59 pm

SLVR1 wrote:TT has been quite fortunate vs other countries yet I see many people operating with no care. If it was worse, these would be the first to blame and complain and not even consider that they are the problem since they operate with no care towards others.

Hello SLVR1,

You could not have said it any better.

Postby sMASH » April 30th, 2020, 5:57 pm

SLVR1 wrote:TT has been quite fortunate vs other countries yet I see many people operating with no care. If it was worse, these would be the first to blame and complain and not even consider that they are the problem since they operate with no care towards others.

Hello SLVR1,

i wonder what encouraging the people....

Postby MaxPower » April 30th, 2020, 6:09 pm

sMASH wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Adjustments.JPG

Trinis....

Allyuh serious?

But borders are opening and closing so why not.

This pandemic should have been a little more deadly for allyuh to understand the seriousness.

Let them go.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/agricult ... d56f870804

where is the virus? where are the sources of infection?

No one knows where the virus is or where the sources are.

What is your point?

to attempt to reopen, u need to know that. if u dont know that, then u cant reopen. this is the route they decided to take.
if u dont know that, and u reopen, then second wave time. and it might be worse than the first wave. this time it might get 150 cases and 20 deaths.

This is what i am saying, excuse my sarcasm when i said to open the borders and let them go.

So why are we opening and closing?

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 116 cases, 8 deaths, 68 discharged in T&T

Postby MaxPower » April 30th, 2020, 6:14 pm

sMASH wrote:

Hello SLVR1,

i wonder what encouraging the people....

Steups this is so annoying.

Yuh see the TTPS know who to come around. You really feel the TTPS going to come around that Social Welfare crowd? Them people are irate, hungry, broke and ready to lash out and i dont give them wrong.

But no, them 9 ppl was probably looking like some mooks, so the TTPS monkeys know exactly which tree to climb. Have you see Inshan and his crowds? Nun wrong with the his motive, but TTPS shaking down the smaller defenseless groups and that is advantageous.

Postby sMASH » April 30th, 2020, 6:58 pm

stap blaming the ttps for the bs GoRTT encouraging.

Postby Ted_v2 » April 30th, 2020, 7:46 pm

Poor people under pressha yes, i know some people working for 3 grand a month as trainees and now working for Nothing, i understand the situation but SALT? how they go live with noting coming in and little to no savings? they applied for the grant but the delay with this is crazy.

my working hours cut down plenty too, lets say by 75% more or less. luckly i have a decent enough savings to allow me to roll over this time without much stress, but sooner than later.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 30th, 2020, 8:06 pm

The ppl yapping is the ones who bread butter. It not easy to lose income for two to three months especially if you were the sole income earner in a family. I know there are some small businesses opening on downlow like and I wouldn't patronise them but I understand why they doing it.

Men in here and on Facebook never see their children cry cuz they hungry but that's what going on out there
Ted_v2 wrote:Poor people under pressha yes, i know some people working for 3 grand a month as trainees and now working for Nothing, i understand the situation but SALT? how they go live with noting coming in and little to no savings? they applied for the grant but the delay with this is crazy.

my working hours cut down plenty too, lets say by 75% more or less. luckly i have a decent enough savings to allow me to roll over this time without much stress, but sooner than later.

Postby MaxPower » April 30th, 2020, 8:22 pm

Many people work pay check to pay check, with little or no savings.

It’s the end of the month and many people will not be getting their grants.

“They haven’t rioted yet”.......so why rush?

Postby zoom rader » April 30th, 2020, 8:26 pm

MaxPower wrote:Many people work pay check to pay check, with little or no savings.

Cause they law abiding citizens when PNM in office

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 116 cases, 8 deaths, 68 discharged in T&T

Postby Gladiator » April 30th, 2020, 8:50 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Poor people under pressha yes, i know some people working for 3 grand a month as trainees and now working for Nothing, i understand the situation but SALT? how they go live with noting coming in and little to no savings? they applied for the grant but the delay with this is crazy.

Had to fire a worker today due to all this forked up COVID Sheit... how the man going to see bout he people now. Had to do it since yesterday....

If we sooo good and the PNM do so so well... open up the damn place nah man. People chirren need food and they have to work....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 30th, 2020, 10:01 pm

CNN's Anderson Cooper and Dr. Sanjay Gupta speak to Dr. Anthony Fauci about his concerns over states starting to reopen amid the coronavirus pandemic.

Postby paid_influencer » April 30th, 2020, 10:48 pm

down to 35 active cases.

VII

Postby VII » May 1st, 2020, 12:07 am

Buh ah tort was de other way around? About being emboldened etc..make up your mind Zoom.

Too much sun?

MaxPower wrote:Many people work pay check to pay check, with little or no savings.

Postby K74T » May 1st, 2020, 12:44 am

Jamaica
FB_IMG_1588308180798.jpeg
FB_IMG_1588308195550.jpeg

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 116 cases, 8 deaths, 73 discharged in T&T

Postby sMASH » May 1st, 2020, 1:37 am

tim stew come back again, to praise tt corona figures

Postby adnj » May 1st, 2020, 5:22 am

AstraZeneca intends to manufacture the Oxford Covid 19 vaccine before regulatory approval to get it to market earlier.

-----------

Big Pharma bets on University of Oxford vaccine after monkey tests

First results of human trials expected in June

Mike Moffitt | on April 30, 2020

It worked on monkeys, so researchers at the University of Oxford have high hopes that their coronavirus vaccine will also work on humans.

But they don’t expect preliminary results until the middle of June, John Bell, a regius professor of medicine at Oxford, told BBC Radio on Thursday.

Human trials — the first in Europe for a vaccine — began April 23, following successful tests on rhesus macaque monkeys in late March.

The results were so promising that British pharmaceutical giant AstraZeneca agreed to partner with the Oxford team to help ramp up production of the hAdOx1 nCoV-19 vaccine once the human trials are completed, according to the BBC.

AstraZeneca isn’t the only Big Pharma company betting on the vaccine. Last week, the Serum Institute of India, the world’s largest vaccine maker, announced it would begin mass-producing hAdOx1 nCoV-19 without it being approved or even knowing if it works.

The University of Oxford researchers had projected that human trials would conclude in September, but the Serum Institute decided that was too long to wait. So it’s using its own funds to produce 40 million units of the vaccine.

Manufacturing a vaccine before it’s proven effective and before it receives regulatory approval flips the normal development process on its head. It’s a huge risk, but one that some companies are willing to take in order to get a jump on deploying a vaccine on the massive scale needed to defeat the pandemic.

https://www.sfgate.com/science/article/ ... 238406.php

Kronik

Postby Kronik » May 1st, 2020, 7:34 am

But what will happen to your savings after, I sure you was saving for something, you forced to use it.

I know ppl who not making enough to save normally, but luckily they still have work running so salary still running, then it have others who giving up some of their vacation and in return getting most of their normal salary.

But for the others, what them will really do, govt not helping, is citizens/businesses who helping, just like when it had the floods

Postby zoom rader » May 1st, 2020, 8:25 am

VII wrote:Buh ah tort was de other way around? About being emboldened etc..make up your mind Zoom.

Too much sun?

Bro had this been a non PNM goverment in office dealing with covid and folk having money issues then there would have been marches with protess everyday.

We are well behaved when PNM in office
Last edited by zoom rader on May 1st, 2020, 8:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby alfa » May 1st, 2020, 8:29 am

VII wrote:Buh ah tort was de other way around? About being emboldened etc..make up your mind Zoom.

Too much sun?

Bro had this been a non PNM goverment in office dealing with covid and folk having money issues then there would have been matches with protess everyday.

We are well behaved when PNM in office

Same as if a non pnm government had closed petrorrin. Everyone would have rioted including the union

Postby adnj » May 1st, 2020, 9:10 am

Coronavirus headlines: Expert report predicts up to two more years of pandemic misery

CNNwire

2 hours ago

May 1, 2020

(WJW) — As of Friday, there were 3,269,667 cases of coronavirus worldwide, including 1,070,032 in the United States.

The United States has seen 63,746 deaths and 133,000 recoveries.

(CNN) — The new coronavirus is likely to keep spreading for at least another 18 months to two years—until 60% to 70% of the population has been infected, a team of longstanding pandemic experts predicted in a report released Thursday.

They recommended that the US prepare for a worst-case scenario that includes a second big wave of coronavirus infections in the fall and winter. Even in a best-case scenario, people will continue to die from the virus, they predicted.

“This thing’s not going to stop until it infects 60 to 70 percent of people,” Mike Osterholm, who directs the Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy (CIDRAP) at the University of Minnesota, told CNN.

“The idea that this is going to be done soon defies microbiology.”

Osterholm has been writing about the risk of pandemics for 20 years and has advised several presidents. He wrote the report along with Harvard School of Public Health epidemiologist Marc Lipsitch, who is also a top expert on pandemics; Dr. Kristine Moore, a former Centers for Disease Control and Prevention epidemiologist who is now medical director for CIDRAP; and historian John Barry, who wrote the 2004 book “The Great Influenza” about the 1918 flu pandemic.

Waiting for herd immunity

Because Covid-19 is new, no one has any immunity, they said. “The length of the pandemic will likely be 18 to 24 months, as herd immunity gradually develops in the human population,” they wrote.

Their predictions are different from models presented by groups such as the Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME) at the University of Washington or the models produced by Imperial College London, whose report predicting millions of deaths in the US and UK helped galvanize responses by both governments.

https://fox8.com/news/coronavirus-headl ... ic-misery/

Postby Slartibartfast » May 1st, 2020, 9:45 am

Dohplaydat wrote:What we've foolishly done was to reduce the spread of covid-19 so low that we didn't flatten the curve, we beat it (which means delayed it). Our numbers (and yes I know we have some of the lowest testing in the world) are EXTREMELY low.

What this means that we will fall into a false sense of complacency thinking we beat Covid-19, only to relax lockdowns as people can only be locked down psychologically for so long otherwise it can lead to disobedience.

Then we will have drastic community spread. Our testing has been extremely low, which means we're probably missing 75% of the real cases out there.
This is what a lot of people don't seem to get. For once, we are part of something that has to do with the rest of the world. Remember this started in once country. So if all countries in the world but one "beat" COVID19 today and open up their borders tomorrow we will just be starting back all over again.

Dohplaydat wrote:I don't fault the government for their measures, but their approach was too risk adverse and strict given the numbers, and I cannot see how they plan to sustain any of this for the next year.

It will lead us to a collapsed economy and with oil prices never going to peak anytime soon, we are setting up ourselves to fail big time.
The dropped the ball at the start by not taking it seriously until it was too late. They needed a drastic measure to correct their early mistake which I was supporting from the start so I don't fault them either. I'm sure closing down places like KFC made a huge difference (not sarcasm). But from the second then lockdown they should have been working on opening things back up in a controlled manner, not just seeing how long we could wait it out, because we can't.

Like when sauce doubles found a way to operate safely, why shut them down? Why not use them as an example? Let KFC remain open but say only drive through and delivery services. Say doubles people can open but people must stay in their car or something (because you know people not going to maintain the 6ft seperation and risk someone cutting in front of them). Just some examples.

Also, I want to see how many companies actually adopt work at home policies when this is over. You know trinis have that outdated mentality where they think hours spent in work = work done.

assassin

Postby assassin » May 1st, 2020, 9:54 am

The business community is lobbying hard to reopen. They have drafted a plan and proposed guidelines and are pushing govt for approval

Large level financiers

Postby De Dragon » May 1st, 2020, 10:05 am

assassin wrote:The business community is lobbying hard to reopen. They have drafted a plan and proposed guidelines and are pushing govt for approval

Large level financiers

Well JUHN SCarfy did load the roadmap team with big business interests, so what was expected?

Postby zoom rader » May 1st, 2020, 10:08 am

assassin wrote:The business community is lobbying hard to reopen. They have drafted a plan and proposed guidelines and are pushing govt for approval

Large level financiers
They want your money

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » May 1st, 2020, 10:33 am

Qty tested seems low though.. for 1700/1,400,000 people.
That's 0.1% of the population.

//from today's guardian.

wing

Postby wing » May 1st, 2020, 10:49 am

FrankChag wrote:Qty tested seems low though.. for 1700/1,400,000 people.

//from today's guardian.

If we were to seriously ramp up testing as many want to do, how many test kits are required? cost? availabilty of the numbers required? which labs (private/public) doing the testing and at what cost to the patient or country? do we buy the chinese kits or some other type and fight up with other countries since there are shortages worldwide and hoarding taking place....?

assassin

Postby assassin » May 1st, 2020, 10:50 am

For six weeks we were conditioned that...
"Carpha is the authorised agency and tests are being administered according to Carpha's criteria for potential risk of exposure"

Every day. Every single day. As the response to questions about whether sufficient testing is being done.

Wake up one morning to hear "MoH has revised the criteria for testing and is expanding the definition and base of who is to be tested"
FrankChag wrote:Qty tested seems low though.. for 1700/1,400,000 people.

//from today's guardian.

Postby paid_influencer » May 1st, 2020, 11:08 am

Earlier we had many people wanting to be tested that were outside the too strict CARPHA criteria. Tests were refused or denied, even after samples were taken and delivered to CARPHA. Now we have the opposite problem - people are not coming in to be tested.

the reasons why they are not coming in is a good question. It could be the population is healthier in general. Maybe they are scared of exposure to COVID at the hospitals, and thus do not go to hospitals. Maybe they are scared of being quarantined or getting stigmatized. Maybe they don't like the tests.

Case #115 and #116 are local spread. so far nobody knows who or where they got it from. So there is probably COVID out there somewhere.