:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby pugboy » June 2nd, 2021, 12:35 pm

its also a lot faster, a lot lot quicker
because remember for every rotation, the outer part covers more distance than if you using the inner area.
exponentially so

viedcht wrote:You have more sense... These season construction men does start from the inside out, bawling 'nah if Yuh tinnit right tru it doh do nuttn'.
pugboy wrote:boy i do that all the time
but you need to do it near the edge of the disc which wearing out anyways
and even pressure
pressing hard elsewhere on disc could weaken it

viedcht wrote:I see madmen does clean off edges from round steel with chop saw disc running. Dat bad habit thinning the blade if alyuh doing dat inno.

So far the cheapo Total bench grinder doing light work easy... Btw doh grind blade with angle grinder even if Yuh vice grip it! Alyuh like stitches and plaster??!!

hindian

Postby hindian » June 2nd, 2021, 1:08 pm

pugboy wrote:its also a lot faster, a lot lot quicker
because remember for every rotation, the outer part covers more distance than if you using the inner area.
exponentially so

viedcht wrote:You have more sense... These season construction men does start from the inside out, bawling 'nah if Yuh tinnit right tru it doh do nuttn'.
pugboy wrote:boy i do that all the time
but you need to do it near the edge of the disc which wearing out anyways
and even pressure
pressing hard elsewhere on disc could weaken it

viedcht wrote:I see madmen does clean off edges from round steel with chop saw disc running. Dat bad habit thinning the blade if alyuh doing dat inno.

So far the cheapo Total bench grinder doing light work easy... Btw doh grind blade with angle grinder even if Yuh vice grip it! Alyuh like stitches and plaster??!!
I clean metal burrs with the chop saw blade all the time and have been doing so for years without incident thankfully. Like a grinder, I've learnt that there is a way to handle and use those tools, that being said, I still take all precautions when using them. The sketchiest thing I've ever done is use a 7" grinder with a metal cutting blade to cut a 2x4 I beam over my head during construction of a roof frame cuz propane run out. Never again...

Postby MG Man » June 2nd, 2021, 2:46 pm

viedcht wrote:Lucky was a flap disc...
pugboy wrote:was it a cutting disc or grinding disc that caused this accident ?

Healed up nicely. Got a tetanus shot one time as a precaution

flap disc. I was grinding off rust at an awkward angle and I still dunno how it grabbed my thumb...so it shredded, not cut the thumb

yup, if was cutting disc, I'd be challenged to give ppl thumbs up all now
And all because the damn gloves were literally on the ground by my feet :|
'is jus one quick grind' :|

Postby pugboy » June 2nd, 2021, 2:57 pm

i bought a big grinder and after using it once i sold it and stick to 4.5”

them big grinders could be real dangerous

Postby MG Man » June 2nd, 2021, 3:07 pm

pugboy wrote:i bought a big grinder and after using it once i sold it and stick to 4.5”

yo ever see men remove the guard on a 4.5 and mount a bigger disc? :lol:
fking madness

hindian

Postby hindian » June 2nd, 2021, 3:23 pm

pugboy wrote:i bought a big grinder and after using it once i sold it and stick to 4.5”

yo ever see men remove the guard on a 4.5 and mount a bigger disc?
fking madness
I have an uncle that can only count up to 9 1/2 on his fingers because of that. Right index finger got cut off at the second joint when the blade shattered. Said he didn't feel a thing until he saw the blood...

Postby pugboy » June 2nd, 2021, 3:24 pm

very stupid because the handle is closer on a small grinder so now your handle right up on the disc

fking madness

mad

Postby mad » June 4th, 2021, 2:45 pm

Looking to buy a polisher. Was checking the Dewalt (DWP849X) from SSL but I saw Total has one for less than half the price.
Any advise on this?

Upgrading from by orbital Black and Decker 10'' Polisher.

Postby Gladiator » June 4th, 2021, 2:57 pm

pugboy wrote:very stupid because the handle is closer on a small grinder so now your handle right up on the disc

fking madness

Hired a mason once and noticed he had the mother of all scars from his thumb across his palm almost to his elbow... asked him how that happened and he said that his boss insisted that he use a big disk in the small grinder. He lost control and it went down to bone he had to get 100+ stiches... :shock:

Postby adnj » June 4th, 2021, 3:14 pm

I also switched to paddle and trigger grinders a long time ago.

--------

Grinder Options

As their name implies, traditional top-switch angle grinders have an on/off switch on the top of the grinder that can be locked in the "on" position. If you lose control, the tool continues to run and the wheel continues to spin, causing damage to anything and anyone it encounters before you turn it off.

Because of these safety concerns, nonlocking paddle switch grinders, which have been manufactured for many years, are starting to gain headway in the industry. Instead of a lock-on switch, these grinders feature a paddle alongside the grip. When you grip the handle, you also hold down the switch that turns the grinder on. If you lose control of the tool, you no longer will be holding down the paddle switch, and the grinder will turn itself off.

Although using a nonlocking paddle switch grinder for a long period of time can become tiresome, the safety benefits often outweigh the additional exertion needed. In fact, safety personnel are advocating the use of these grinders and are now influencing what tool professionals use and distributors have in stock.

https://www.thefabricator.com/thewelder ... -to-safety
Last edited by adnj on June 4th, 2021, 3:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 4th, 2021, 3:16 pm

mad wrote:Looking to buy a polisher. Was checking the Dewalt (DWP849X) from SSL but I saw Total has one for less than half the price.
Any advise on this?

Pro or personal use? A rotary polisher is quite difficult to learn to use. It will eff up your paint if you not careful.

mad

Postby mad » June 4th, 2021, 3:45 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:
mad wrote:Looking to buy a polisher. Was checking the Dewalt (DWP849X) from SSL but I saw Total has one for less than half the price.
Any advise on this?

Pro or personal use? A rotary polisher is quite difficult to learn to use. It will eff up your paint if you not careful.

Personal Use.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » June 4th, 2021, 4:19 pm

Actually I learnt that grinding discs have an expiry date. It is printed on the centre ring of the disc. You shouldn't use a disc that is past 3 years after the manufacture date. After the expiry date there is the high risk of shattering

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 4th, 2021, 4:50 pm

mad wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:
Any advise on this?

Personal Use.

Then try to get a dual action polisher if you can. Much more new user friendly. Finding one locally may be a pain.

Rotary is not impossible, just more difficult to learn to use properly. Whichever you get, DO NOT USE the pads that come with it unless it is an actual detailing brand.

carluva

Postby carluva » June 4th, 2021, 5:47 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:
Any advise on this?

I bought this from Amazon last year.

Meguiars backing plate.

Griots garage pads.

That polisher has been used about 7 times already.

Highly recommended this especially for weekend warriors.
Screenshot_20210604-174612-185.jpeg

mad

Postby mad » June 4th, 2021, 5:58 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:
mad wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:
Any advise on this?

Personal Use.

Then try to get a dual action polisher if you can. Much more new user friendly. Finding one locally may be a pain.

Rotary is not impossible, just more difficult to learn to use properly. Whichever you get, DO NOT USE the pads that come with it unless it is an actual detailing brand.

I thinking about leaning to the rotary as its easily available, plus you can vary the speed to prevent "paint burn" and swirl marks. If I do get a DA polisher here, I will seriously look into buying.
I am not a beginner nor professional but I polish my vehicles myself quite often and believe I acquired enough experience to go rotary.
My Black and Decker works good for just a nice Wax on Polish, but I want something more powerful to go more into deep cleaning of the paint job.
Thanks for the tips.

mad

Postby mad » June 4th, 2021, 6:00 pm

carluva wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:
Any advise on this?

I bought this from Amazon last year.

Meguiars backing plate.

Griots garage pads.

That polisher has been used about 7 times already.

Highly recommended this especially for weekend warriors.Screenshot_20210604-174612-185.jpeg

Looking to buy it Locally. Hence the reason at looking at the Total brand. It is cheap but if it is any good?

NR8

Postby NR8 » June 4th, 2021, 7:09 pm

Where selling the Total polisher and what price?

NR8

Postby NR8 » June 4th, 2021, 7:14 pm

Where selling the Total polisher and what price?

carluva

Postby carluva » June 4th, 2021, 8:34 pm

Understood Mad. Just did a Google and seems like the Total is a rotary.

Personally I don't know much of rotary polishers as I use a DA. But if the price is good, take the plunge.

mad

Postby mad » June 5th, 2021, 7:37 am

NR8 wrote:Where selling the Total polisher and what price?

Ali's Hardware in Marabella. Have other places have it too ranges between $650-$700, which not bad compared to a dewalt that goes for $1900

mad

Postby mad » June 5th, 2021, 7:38 am

carluva wrote:Understood Mad. Just did a Google and seems like the Total is a rotary.

Personally I don't know much of rotary polishers as I use a DA. But if the price is good, take the plunge.

Waiting for the Hardware to open back up. Will update on my choice and give a review on the polisher I choose.

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 5th, 2021, 3:13 pm

mad wrote:
NR8 wrote:Where selling the Total polisher and what price?

Ali's Hardware in Marabella. Have other places have it too ranges between $650-$700, which not bad compared to a dewalt that goes for $1900

Just see this pop up on FB, Handyman Store Couva

Item: INGCO Brushless Dual Action Polisher (Lithium Ion)
Price: $825 Without Battery & Charger
$1125 With Battery & Charger

Postby Ted_v2 » June 7th, 2021, 12:19 am

if yall want some brand new open box premium stuff, send a message. I know a guy.
DeWalt, Milwaukee and Makita, only one in each, however.

Postby *KRONIK* » June 7th, 2021, 12:58 pm

Fellaz
I have a drawer/cabinet handle jig to sell.

Used for 1 project

No need for it anymore.

Like new
Comes in storage bag.

Asking 200

PM or msg 708-0101 if interested

Screenshot_20210607-125354_Amazon Shopping.jpeg
Screenshot_20210607-125408_Amazon Shopping.jpeg
Screenshot_20210607-125421_Amazon Shopping.jpeg
Screenshot_20210607-125446_Amazon Shopping.jpeg
Screenshot_20210607-125437_Amazon Shopping.jpeg

mad

Postby mad » June 7th, 2021, 7:34 pm

BTW guys.

Selling two angle grinders:
1 Bosch: Brand new in box
1 Milwaukee: Used (but hardly)
Both are side switch.

Price for both is $700. Best price here.
Contact me at 471-3200. I can whatsapp you videos of both.

Postby MG Man » June 7th, 2021, 8:13 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Fellaz

still available?

Postby *KRONIK* » June 7th, 2021, 8:14 pm

PM'd
*KRONIK* wrote:Fellaz

still available?

Postby *KRONIK* » June 9th, 2021, 4:15 pm

Aye fellaz

Anybody have a terminal lug crimper to lend/rent or at least do some crimps for me?

Postby pugboy » June 9th, 2021, 4:22 pm

looking for one of these plug outlets with the switch on it
BD0D6261-F9DE-4173-8C47-F97FC5A36492.jpeg