megadoc1 wrote:I heard you used a term some posts aback "justification machinery "
do you mind sharing your thoughts on that?
d spike wrote:Hopefully, one day, people will be mature enough to do two things properly at the same time:
1.recognize that many parts of the Old Testament were written by men to show how loved by God they thought they were (and thus their actions were justified) and these writings were accepted because of their "historical value" (and value as "justification machinery") ... and these books will be accepted as such;
2.appreciate and apply the positive values that are existent in these and other scriptures - for THIS is the reason why they are (or should be) held in such high esteem.
sMASH wrote:i hope the mistakes ar because of the language barrier
dark_lord_tnt wrote:... you ask why a former translation which I made of some of the canonical books was carefully marked with asterisks and obelisks, whereas I afterwards published a translation without these. You must pardon my saying that you seem to me not to understand the matter: for the former translation is from the Septuagint; and wherever obelisks are placed, they are designed to indicate that the guide lines have been observed. But the asterisks indicate what has been added to it. In that version I was translating from the Greek: but in the later version, translating from the Hebrew itself, I have expressed what I understood it to mean, being careful to preserve rather the exact sense that women will not have a place in it. I am surprised that you do not read the books of the Seventy translators in the genuine form in which they were originally given to the world, but as they have been corrected, or rather corrupted, by Origen, with his obelisks and asterisks...
If people of other belief who practice the slaying of animals for sins really understand real purpose of it, Jesus would not be a question
THERE ARE NO COMMON GROUND
That is according to your paradime view and you are entitle to it
fuh real tell me
Obviously, you seem to have a translation of the document.
Your displaying this excerpt shows clearly that such a matter is capable on your part.
"In It he makes reference to the rules regarding canonization and the same accorded to him. The letter Is currently Locked in Vault 874 Of the New Age Catical Collection If Sacred Text Letters Dated.
Then it shouldn't be a problem for you to produce the rest of it, or more importantly, the part that you constantly allude to... unless you can't translate it... or you only know of this excerpt... or it doesn't refer to such a matter after all... either way, the conclusion is the same.
Then it shouldn't be a problem for you to produce the rest of it, or more importantly, the part that you constantly allude to
... you ask why a former translation which I made of some of the canonical books was carefully marked with asterisks and obelisks, whereas I afterwards published a translation without these. You must pardon my saying that you seem to me not to understand the matter: for the former translation is from the Septuagint; and wherever obelisks are placed, they are designed to indicate that the guide lines have been observed. But the asterisks indicate what has been added to it. In that version I was translating from the Greek: but in the later version, translating from the Hebrew itself, I have expressed what I understood it to mean, being careful to preserve rather the exact sense that women will not have a place in it. I am surprised that you do not read the books of the Seventy translators in the genuine form in which they were originally given to the world, but as they have been corrected, or rather corrupted, by Origen, with his obelisks and asterisks; and that you refuse to follow the translation, however feeble, which has been given by a Christian man, especially seeing that Origen borrowed the things which he has added from the edition of a man who, after the passion of Christ, was a Jew and a blasphemer. Do you wish to be a true admirer and partisan of the Seventy translators? Then do not read what you find under the asterisks; rather erase them from the volumes, that you may approve yourself indeed a follower of the ancients. If, however, you do this, you will be compelled to find fault with all the libraries of the Churches; for you will scarcely find more than one manuscript here and there which has not these interpolations.
"And I will move all nations, and the desired One shall come to all nations." [Hag, ii. 7.] In this passage the Septuagint translators giving another sense more suitable to the body than the Head, that is, to the Church than to Christ, have said by prophetic authority..
dark_lord_tnt wrote:I hope that clears it up now..
dark_lord_tnt wrote:and the translated part is... you ask why a former translation which I made of some of the canonical books was carefully marked with asterisks and obelisks, whereas I afterwards published a translation without these. You must pardon my saying that you seem to me not to understand the matter: for the former translation is from the Septuagint; and wherever obelisks are placed, they are designed to indicate that the guide lines have been observed. But the asterisks indicate what has been added to it. In that version I was translating from the Greek: but in the later version, translating from the Hebrew itself, I have expressed what I understood it to mean, being careful to preserve rather the exact sense that women will not have a place in it. I am surprised that you do not read the books of the Seventy translators in the genuine form in which they were originally given to the world, but as they have been corrected, or rather corrupted, by Origen, with his obelisks and asterisks; and that you refuse to follow the translation, however feeble, which has been given by a Christian man, especially seeing that Origen borrowed the things which he has added from the edition of a man who, after the passion of Christ, was a Jew and a blasphemer. Do you wish to be a true admirer and partisan of the Seventy translators? Then do not read what you find under the asterisks; rather erase them from the volumes, that you may approve yourself indeed a follower of the ancients. If, however, you do this, you will be compelled to find fault with all the libraries of the Churches; for you will scarcely find more than one manuscript here and there which has not these interpolations.
That was a letter from Jerome.. I did not write the above its a translation of part of Jereme's many letter.. So the above was written by Jerome not by me, It is not referring to any of my post of anything I said but it is part of a correspondence between Jerome, and DAüîÇ..
dark_lord_tnt wrote:Now the English translation as you have asked for of the above is in the highlighted quote..
d spike wrote:Then it shouldn't be a problem for you to produce the rest of it, or more importantly, the part that you constantly allude to...
dark_lord_tnt wrote:In It he makes reference to the rules regarding canonization
d spike wrote:dark_lord_tnt wrote: When the Church compiled the canon they had 3 basic qualities for the text chosen,
a.) Each book must represent God and Jesus as a Supreme Entity
b.) Women Cannot be shown to be equal to man
c.) The Church must retain its rights and power..
I would really like to know where this particular information comes from.
dark_lord_tnt wrote: When the Church compiled the canon they had 3 basic qualities for the text chosen,
a.) Each book must represent God and Jesus as a Supreme Entity
b.) Women Cannot be shown to be equal to man
c.) The Church must retain its rights and power..
... in the later version, translating from the Hebrew itself, I have expressed what I understood it to mean, being careful to preserve rather the exact sense that women will not have a place in it.
Then do not read what you find under the asterisks; rather erase them from the volumes, that you may approve yourself indeed a follower of the ancients. If, however, you do this, you will be compelled to find fault with all the libraries of the Churches; for you will scarcely find more than one manuscript here and there which has not these interpolations.
dark_lord_tnt wrote:...I am sorry about the size of the pictures but it was taken from a pen camera I will attempt to get a better resolution for you....
All i can do now is attempt a proper resolution for the document photograph as i have already stated its in Latin.
dark_lord_tnt wrote: Yes the church did choose what text before jerome but you can see he ventured against this and with good reason.
d spike wrote:You know us humans well... swaggering, boastful, prideful little buggers... always anxious for a chance to prove ourselves better or more worthy than our neighbours... and, sadly, religion gives us many marvelous opportunities to do so...
d spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:I heard you used a term some posts aback "justification machinery "
do you mind sharing your thoughts on that?d spike wrote:Hopefully, one day, people will be mature enough to do two things properly at the same time:
1.recognize that many parts of the Old Testament were written by men to show how loved by God they thought they were (and thus their actions were justified) and these writings were accepted because of their "historical value" (and value as "justification machinery") ... and these books will be accepted as such;
2.appreciate and apply the positive values that are existent in these and other scriptures - for THIS is the reason why they are (or should be) held in such high esteem.
Before I go further on this topic, recognize one thing: we are human. Every thing we do, no matter how superb or grandiose, reflects this... even when it comes to writing history, poetry, prose - and thus, scripture.
And so, scripture has two aspects, namely, the divine (morals, revealed truths, extolled virtues, yada, yada, yada... you know about this, so details aren't necessary)... and the human.
You know us humans well... swaggering, boastful, prideful little buggers... always anxious for a chance to prove ourselves better or more worthy than our neighbours... and, sadly, religion gives us many marvelous opportunities to do so... and one such way is to point out in writing how beloved our particular group is by a deity, thus preserving this viewpoint for posterity - in the form you know as scripture.
Do you know of any tribe or people who think that ANOTHER tribe or people is their "God's chosen people"? (I'm not talking about individual, low self-esteemed Uncle Ruckuses who worship the ground trod on by fairer-skinned folk)
The Masai believe they came from the sky... The Japanese think they descended from the gods... We all have this natural, but vain, belief that "We're no.1"... "Daddy's favourite"...
Thanks to this chest-thumping aspect of humanity, scripture does have in it references to what the goodly folks did... and if it was successful, then "clearly, God was rewarding his children"... if it wasn't, then "certainly, God was guiding them back to the right path".
You never hear the Philistines being referred to as "God's other children", do you?
Since all this material was considered scripture, as weeding out unseemly parts would not have seemed appropriate - until Luther came along - so the bathwater remained behind with the baby.
All this remarkable stuff now allows folk to quote "the bible" to justify whatever they want. Slavery and racism has been justified using scripture. Both homophobia and homosexuality has been justified using scripture. Invasions, destruction, genocide, murder, war, hate, and quite a few other bad habits humans love to suffer from, have been justified using scripture.
This doesn't mean scripture is not good... it just means we need to understand it better, and a mature outlook is required for this purpose.
dark_lord_tnt wrote:Jerome's major problem with Origen was that of the translations of the document. Jerome believed that everything should be original and translated as best as possible to retain the authentic meaning. Its impossible to translate word for word only meaning can be translated.
dark_lord_tnt wrote:No I do not believe he castrated himself and with good reason. I will no go into it cause it will require information I am not able to provide. But I dont believe he was ever castrated. The effects of this caused a feud among some Jerome included. The problem wasnt the castration, the castration was created to solve the problem i guess. But no I dont believe he ever was although its alleged he castrated himself or was castrated for that matter. While castration was at that time practiced among the falsetto soprano by their parents at a very young age. Origen was not involved in opera to the best of my knowledge.
According to Book VI of Eusebius’s Ecclesiastical History Origen, after reading the Gospels took Jesus’ words, “there are eunuchs who made themselves eunuchs for the sake of the Kingdom of Heaven” (Matthew 19:12) literally and castrated himself . Eusebius, it must be noted, did not invent this story, but reported the rumor that had by his time been accepted as true.
We do not find this self-castration mentioned in any of his writings. Looking to the source of this tradition (the one whom Eusebius notes first told others about this so-called event in the life of Origen), it seems it is more likely a piece of malicious gossip than truth. For its source is Patriarch Demetrius of Alexandria. Demetrius originally was one of Origen’s supporters. However, in 215, Origen was in Jerusalem and Bishop Alexander of Jerusalem requested Origen, a layman, to preach in his presence. Demetrius was upset, believing a layman should never preach when a bishop is present. After a brief reprimand, Demetrius’ anger cooled off. Then, in 230, Origen was asked to settle a dispute in Achaea. He used the opportunity to revisit Caesarea; the bishop there, remembering the conflict of 215, decided to have Origen ordained so that Origen could be given a chance to preach. When Demetrius heard about this, he was enraged: Origen was one of his subjects and his ordination was seen as a breach of ecclesiastical etiquette. Demetrius had Origen banished from Alexandria, and it was at this time that he, bitter at Origen, suggested the story of Origen’s self-castration.
dark_lord_tnt wrote:Above I posted 4 Pictures ,, anyone has any idea what and where they are ? Even so what is it concerning ? As you can see I'm leaning towards a debate based on the topic just I aint sure who knows about it,, Do you have any comments ?
dark_lord_tnt wrote:All of these are Eqyptian arks or "THE SEAT OF GOD" which is the same principle that applies to the Ark of the covenant as made by Moses. Moses was thought by the egyptian so by all means he retains their culture, ability and priestly magic, so its easy to understand where the concept of the ARK came from. Why is the Ark of the Covenant so famous ?? Cause the Jewish, and Christian religions are based on it. But the Ark was a fairly common practice. Oh and most Egyptian arks lined with gold are also claimed to have magical abilities striking anyone that touches it or comes close with lightning or glowing. None have ever been opened or the contents examined. Actually only 2 have ever been recovered. The First Of the Seat of Anubis is kept in Karo and the second the thrown of galambi is in Vatican Library.
most Egyptian arks lined with gold are also claimed to have magical abilities striking anyone that touches it or comes close with lightning or glowing. None have ever been opened or the contents examined.
" wikipedia.."The artifacts consist of terracotta jars approximately 130 mm (5 in) tall (with a one and a half inch mouth) containing a copper cylinder made of a rolled-up copper sheet, which houses a single iron rod. At the top, the iron rod is isolated from the copper by bitumen plugs or stoppers, and both rod and cylinder fit snugly inside the opening of the jar, which bulges outward towards the middle. The copper cylinder is not watertight, so if the jar was filled with a liquid"
dark_lord_tnt wrote: I'll start with the technology of the Ark.. Two most likely theories.
Gold is a very good conductor. Cover any material with silk and it becomes statically charged. Rub it with silicon (sand) and it becomes charged. If Moses had the ark in the dessert *which he did* covered it with fur of silk *which he did* it servers to reason the ark is a Giant Capacitor. Maybe its this knowledge that was refereed to as magic. Personally I believe that if a culture did not understand science but some did (magicians) the Magicians could use science to say it magic. Now if the ark was charged with static electricity, from the wind blowing the sand against it,, or rubbing the coverings (silk or fur) or a combination of both..
1. If you touch it you could die of electrocution.
2.) If you were close it it would make your hair stand on ends or even tingling sensation.
3. With the power of suggestion each of the above together with this could actually make an ark seem supernatural especially to a culture that did not understand it.
dark_lord_tnt wrote:So now that we have established magicians were able to produce electricity and we know Moses learn't from the Egyptians all there secrets, We know he knew how to make it as well.. I wounder what would happen if these devices was placed in the ark ,, with the angels on top as the positive and the ark itself as the negative,, It would be shocking wont it ??not really unless the person made contact with both the angels and the body of the ark itself to create a circuit for the "magic" of electricity to take place providing there was enough electrical charge produced by the cell to get the job done (shock )in the first place which I doubt very much.
what you are suggesting can only seem plausible if you stick to the static electrical concept and even that have some issues , I will point out shortly If this was so combined with the static electricity, the ark would be capable of producing enough power to kill many men instantly from a few feet away. Not to mention that type of power can disorient anyone close enough making them feel ill. well I guess you are beginning to imagine things from here on
1. I don't think you can combine the electricity produced in a cell with static electricity
2.I think it is easier for the electrical charge generated to run down the leg of a levite to ground
or vice versa (according to the charge produced + or -) than to jump several feet in thin air to strike many men occupying common ground as the levites carrying the ark (not that it cannot happen but its too random and unstable, anyone can die because electricity is not a respecter of persons even moses) what would happen if they passed by a tree?
I guess thats why levi's (am i using the correct word ?) of the priest that carried it needed special clothing. And it would also explain how the priest that tried catch it as if it was falling was instantly struck dead as if hit by lightening. I guess it was his special clothing that stopped him from bursting into flames like Moses's nephews. Given enough power something can be spontaneously combustive, Depends on the clothing and how much the witness can exaggerate.
Keep in mind enough electrical charge and an object can become illuminated or glow like the ark did. (think lightening)no
sMASH wrote:^^ u try eet nah, to prove it can't work. hoss man, a little capacitor, (or as the old people know it as, condenser) from a tv does give u a jolt, and that is just a small piece of paper wrapped around a small piece of sheet metal. imagine a big one like the size of those jars, or the arks. tazzers utilize capacitors and see how small they are and how strong they are.
mamoo_pagal wrote:sMASH wrote:^^ u try eet nah, to prove it can't work. hoss man, a little capacitor, (or as the old people know it as, condenser) from a tv does give u a jolt, and that is just a small piece of paper wrapped around a small piece of sheet metal. imagine a big one like the size of those jars, or the arks. tazzers utilize capacitors and see how small they are and how strong they are.
I am a tv tech
I have learnt that electricity, big charge or small charge must follow the same principle , an electrical charge in a capacitor can only be discharged between its to charged points and I have never in all my life seen an electrical charge arc of to a third point(isolated)
see how tazzers work, ent they produce lightning like electricity?
why does it needs to make contact with a man before it become effective?
simple because the electrical charge can only travel between the two contact points on the tazzer but if you can some how get that electrical charge to jump towards the man without making contact bet yuh but a dollar you are gonna be feeling most of that if you are the one holding it![]()
yup don't forget in them crt displays the "flyback" and why it was called the flyback!!
damn ting could pelt u a good couple feet........remember the first types of capacitors invented was in a jar form the Leyden jar
A flyback transformer (FBT), also called a line output transformer (LOPT), is a special transformer which is used to generate high voltage (HV) signals at a relatively high frequency. It was invented as a means to control the horizontal movement of the electron beam in a cathode ray tube (CRT). As with all step-up transformers, it receives low voltages and transforms them into high voltages; in this case, it does so at a relatively high frequency--much faster than the vertical movement of the electron beam (known as the vertical scan rate).
The flyback transformer is used in the operation of CRT-display devices such as television sets and CRT computer monitors, and in other HV devices such as the DIY plasma lamp. The voltage and frequency can each range over a wide scale depending on the device. For example, a large color TV CRT may require 20 to 50 kV with a horizontal scan rate of 15.734 kHz for NTSC devices. Unlike a power (or 'mains') transformer which uses an alternating current of 50 or 60 Hertz, a flyback transformer typically operates with switched currents at much higher frequencies in the range of 15 kHz to 50 kHz
mamoo_pagal wrote:sadly again megadoc it is understood that the transformer is called the flyback, however if you read carefully I used "flyback" in inverted commas. It is sad for a tv technician you never heard the joke concerning why in trinidad the use the term flyback in relative terms to the capacitors.
no its not sad it is just that a flyback transformer is a transformer(stores no charge) and a capacitor is a capacitor if you say the tube acts as a capacitor then we may be on to something
and please lets deal with the science of it and not what trinis think ok
For example, for any basic electronic course especially where crt's are involved "these capacators store alot of charge and if not discharged properly and one makes accidental contact it causes one to "flyback" !!
nice try! who are you trying to impress?
It demonstrates the potential stored by these componentes and how powerful the discharge can be.....hence, the term "flyback" is commonly used to illustrate the importance of discharging the caps. properly
I think you meant the crt, it stores as a capacitor when not in use
and you are quite correct when you say it needs to be discharged properly
and this is mostly where my questioning came from
so
please explain to me then, why would an electrical charge travel four feet
in thin air when it could be discharged four inches across it contact points ? (in the same thin air)
just a few questions
am... since this is all science and can be explained as you did
there lies the possibility that it can be reproduced,(the ark) tested and proven right?
have you, or do you know anyone who have tested this theory ?
how much electricity was accumulated or discharged and over what distance?
Keep in mind enough electrical charge and an object can become illuminated or glow like the ark did. (think lightening)no
I am a tv tech
I have learnt that electricity, big charge or small charge must follow the same principle , an electrical charge in a capacitor can only be discharged between its to charged points and I have never in all my life seen an electrical charge arc of to a third point(isolated)
megadoc1 wrote:please explain to me how an electrical charge would jump over four feet when it can be done inches apart?
megadoc1 wrote:mamoo_pagal wrote:sadly again megadoc it is understood that the transformer is called the flyback, however if you read carefully I used "flyback" in inverted commas. It is sad for a tv technician you never heard the joke concerning why in trinidad the use the term flyback in relative terms to the capacitors.
no its not sad it is just that a flyback transformer is a transformer(stores no charge) and a capacitor is a capacitor if you say the tube acts as a capacitor then we may be on to something
Dude that is not what Trinidadians interpret of the flyback, it is pun that is used. But anyways have no time to deal with that
For example, for any basic electronic course especially where crt's are involved "these capacators store alot of charge and if not discharged properly and one makes accidental contact it causes one to "flyback" !!
Lol trying to impress!!!! sad just sad
It demonstrates the potential stored by these componentes and how powerful the discharge can be.....hence, the term "flyback" is commonly used to illustrate the importance of discharging the caps. properly
so
in thin air when it could be discharged four inches across it contact points ? (in the same thin air)
dark_lord_tnt wrote:megadoc1 wrote:please explain to me how an electrical charge would jump over four feet when it can be done inches apart?
LOL thermionic discharge.. The capacitor charges the AIR around it,, which then jumps to another conductor (you) which then transfers to the earth and then back to the air. Completing a circuit.. "THERMIONIC DISCHARGE" thats why lightening jumps from cloud to cloud, cloud to ground Positively charged to negatively charged electrons..
The capacitor positively charges the AIR and the ground While you remain negatively charged...
you can purchase an IDEO electric Lighter THE ONE THAT PRODUCES ELECTRIC SPARK. Take it apart and hold the IDEO device between your thumb and index fingers, move the wire close to an object (not you or anything your touching) metal works best especially gold, now press it and watch the sparks jump from the wire to the object and your not in contact with it .. Why ?? Thermionic discharge..
Thermionic Discharge is a quantum physics theory which explains why solar storms affect the planet electrically without completing a circuit. For example A solar ripple can put power in dead lines as it did in the 1800's where you can send a telegraph without a battery as well as electrocuted many people and there was no connecting material to the telegraph lines. They were suspended only by poles without any connection.. Thermionic Discharge..
What the bleep do we know ??
mamoo_pagal wrote:megadoc1 wrote:mamoo_pagal wrote:sadly again megadoc it is understood that the transformer is called the flyback, however if you read carefully I used "flyback" in inverted commas. It is sad for a tv technician you never heard the joke concerning why in trinidad the use the term flyback in relative terms to the capacitors.
Dude that is not what Trinidadians interpret of the flyback, it is pun that is used. But anyways have no time to deal with that
Lol trying to impress!!!! sad just sad
so
Wow.............so I guess you are trying to say that tv's don't contain high voltage capacitors???? no they do not! the highest i saw in a tv was 430 v and that was in the power supply unit when the set is unplugged it is slowly discharged
and the circuit that drives the flyback transformer's primary windings(horizontal output) operates between 90v -135 volts even if you stick a higher voltage capacitor in there it can only be charged to the operating voltage in the setand u were a tv tech!!!
BTW megadoc......before you make a feeble attempt to educate people, just a little food for thought, on trinituner there a ppl of all different backgrounds who knows some maybe technincians, engineers ect. in the field of physics/electrical electronics. So there maybe a few who might know what they are talking about. Not me eh.........I kinda dunce. ok
There was a reason why I decided to stay out of this thread.......need to stick to it
Hmph interestingok and please lets deal with the science of it
I guess science can make sense after all yes science makes a lot of sense when it is used for science