Cooler master N200

Cooler master quick fire rapid xl

Cooler master quick fire rapid stealth

Cooler master jetflows

Cooler master Eisberg

Cooler Master V8 GTS

Worldboss Linus from Linus Tech Tips

Worldboss Price from LavcoPriceTech

Nvidia Shield handheld streams users' PC games, connects to Steam and Big Picture Mode

Linus & Lavco

4k TV 80 inch

IPS LG monitor

New image processing from Nvidia

Tegra 4

CES Overview Day 1 by LPT

More CES vids from Linus Tech Tips

The 900D

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 10th, 2013, 1:27 pm

Can't stand this noisy stock CPU cooler, if I upgrading I might just buy a ready made CPU watercooler and done yes

Postby Ronaldo95163 » January 11th, 2013, 1:44 pm

Not sure how they perform on AMD CPUs...particularly the Phenoms...should be better than they did on 1366(If it's Corsair's Coolers you're referring to)

On another note
Got my Z68 FTW today 8)
Can't wait to get it in a rig up and running :)

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » January 11th, 2013, 8:51 pm

http://www.razerzone.com/gaming-systems ... edge-pro#4

The Razer™ Edge Pro is more than just a tablet, it’s a full-fledged mobile gaming PC, ready to play all of your favorite games and applications. With Windows 8, gamers will have access to the largest library of games in the world, so you’re not waiting on the most popular games and software.

Carnage117

Postby Carnage117 » January 12th, 2013, 1:55 pm

Hey tuners, need some advice, thinking of upgrading from my intel core i7 x58 series and going with a theme of red and black. Already ordered the sound blaster THX recon 3d Fatal1ty sound card, and have a Kingston 120 GB SSD for games and a Kingston 64 Gb SSD for the OS, what other red and black themed components (M/B, RAM, Case, Power Supply, GFX Card, Blu Ray Drive, Case Fans, Monitor) you all recommend I can get for a high end system? Thanks.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » January 12th, 2013, 2:32 pm

^black/red is an easy theme to do
asus rampage mobos are as red/black as you can get.
corsair vengeance ram comes in red. although the dominator platinum would look still look good in a red/black theme.
asus gfx cards suit your theme as well as some XFX cards. or you could really jump out and get a Devil 13.
and corsair AX series PSUs should look just about right.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » January 12th, 2013, 3:24 pm

Carnage117 wrote:Hey tuners, need some advice, thinking of upgrading from my intel core i7 x58 series and going with a theme of red and black. Already ordered the sound blaster THX recon 3d Fatal1ty sound card, and have a Kingston 120 GB SSD for games and a Kingston 64 Gb SSD for the OS, what other red and black themed components (M/B, RAM, Case, Power Supply, GFX Card, Blu Ray Drive, Case Fans, Monitor) you all recommend I can get for a high end system? Thanks.

Spray paint the parts red/black, u will save a lot of money. :D

I wanted to do a red/black theme too a time but the boards with that kinda colour (EVGA and ASUS) more expensive than the other brands.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » January 12th, 2013, 3:32 pm

I wanted the Asus Z77 Formula V...but I took the EVGA board instead because the Asus board was too expensive :lol:

Carnage117

Postby Carnage117 » January 12th, 2013, 4:04 pm

You guys are right, those Asus and some EVGA boards ridiculous in price and I wouldn't use a lot of those features. I saw ASRock has a nice Fatal1ity M/B but I don't trust that brand. 2NRSmurf, the Powercolour Devil 13 would have been perfect, can't find it available anymore though, besides, that's much more headroom than I need. Looking at a GTX 670, 680 or a 7970 Ghz Edition. Any other suggestions?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » January 12th, 2013, 4:37 pm

Carnage117 wrote:You guys are right, those Asus and some EVGA boards ridiculous in price and I wouldn't use a lot of those features. I saw ASRock has a nice Fatal1ity M/B but I don't trust that brand. 2NRSmurf, the Powercolour Devil 13 would have been perfect, can't find it available anymore though, besides, that's much more headroom than I need. Looking at a GTX 670, 680 or a 7970 Ghz Edition. Any other suggestions?

All the so called budget brands making good boards nowadays so doh fraid to go with something cheaper.

ATI reference cards have the black/red theme down already, kingston and corsair has red heatsinked ram sticks as well. If u wanna customize the wiring too, NZXT and Bitfenix has presleeved extensions.

OCZ fatality power supplies have a red led fan and a black case.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » January 12th, 2013, 5:21 pm

Man ask for high end so i start to call big parts :lol: :lol: :oops:

HCCA

Postby HCCA » January 12th, 2013, 6:33 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:Man ask for high end so i start to call big parts :lol: :lol: :oops:

No harm in dat. :lol:

I know about high end stuff but i prefer to recommend a more mid range solution which performs close to high end.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » January 12th, 2013, 7:02 pm

i think i may have fogged up my gpu.
running some stress tests now, will post more info later

:( :(

Chiney

Postby Chiney » January 12th, 2013, 7:27 pm

^^ what did u do?

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » January 12th, 2013, 7:42 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:^ran 3dmark 11 a lil while ago...and the fan did spin up, but very silent. Doubt id hear it over the gpu cooler though...after 60% rpm the thing starts to howl :|
Did the same test and mine did spin up, guess the psu can take alot of pressure before needing the fan.

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » January 12th, 2013, 7:46 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:i think i may have fogged up my gpu.
running some stress tests now, will post more info later

:( :(

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » January 12th, 2013, 8:31 pm

Ok so i was overclocking in Afterburner with core @ 900 and mem @ 1300.

Ran 3dmark 11 a couple times, all good no artifacts no crashes. Played some BF3, Deus Ex HR and all well. Left the pc for a while and when i came back it was in sleep mode. Upon waking it up, there were several pink/green/black horizontal lines across the screen. When i tried logging into my desktop the screen went black. Reset, same result @ login screen and same result after entering my pwrd.

I ended up having to pull out the card, sweep the drivers and msi afterburner then reinstall everything to get back stock clock speeds. This was wednesday night. since then ive been getting intermittent glitches where the image would either jump or some black horizontal bars would very quickly flash across the screen. I could game for over an hr and it would be fine. or run 3dmark looping for over an hr and all would be well, no artifacts or glitches, but sometimes, not all the time, when going back to the desktop, i get these glitches. one time the entire screen went grey.

Did i go too high with the core clock speed? Im thinking something went wrong when the pc went into sleep. My real concern here is...is this permanent gpu damage? should i be looking to replace? :(

HCCA

Postby HCCA » January 12th, 2013, 8:52 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:Ok so i was overclocking in Afterburner with core @ 900 and mem @ 1300.

Ran 3dmark 11 a couple times, all good no artifacts no crashes. Played some BF3, Deus Ex HR and all well. Left the pc for a while and when i came back it was in sleep mode. Upon waking it up, there were several pink/green/black horizontal lines across the screen. When i tried logging into my desktop the screen went black. Reset, same result @ login screen and same result after entering my pwrd.

I ended up having to pull out the card, sweep the drivers and msi afterburner then reinstall everything to get back stock clock speeds. This was wednesday night. since then ive been getting intermittent glitches where the image would either jump or some black horizontal bars would very quickly flash across the screen. I could game for over an hr and it would be fine. or run 3dmark looping for over an hr and all would be well, no artifacts or glitches, but sometimes, not all the time, when going back to the desktop, i get these glitches. one time the entire screen went grey.

Did i go too high with the core clock speed? Im thinking something went wrong when the pc went into sleep. My real concern here is...is this permanent gpu damage? should i be looking to replace? :(

My guess is either driver issues or the card itself.

You should prob test it on a next pc to try and narrow down the problems.

Sometimes when the video ram failing you get those kinda coloured crap on d screen, but that usually happens due to excessive heat.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » January 12th, 2013, 9:03 pm

^the card has always idled higher than average @ 45C. but it never gave any problems and the highest its ever gotten was 78C again with no performance issues ever.

Is it at all possible that when the pc powered down and the fans stopped, the vram somehow stayed hot? and can vram be permanently damaged?

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » January 12th, 2013, 9:06 pm

What was the highest temp you recorded it running @ after the overclock?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » January 12th, 2013, 9:14 pm

^^79C

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » January 12th, 2013, 9:19 pm

And the stock speed on your card was 800Mhz?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » January 12th, 2013, 9:49 pm

stock is core 880 mem 1250

HCCA

Postby HCCA » January 12th, 2013, 10:04 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:^the card has always idled higher than average @ 45C. but it never gave any problems and the highest its ever gotten was 78C again with no performance issues ever.

Is it at all possible that when the pc powered down and the fans stopped, the vram somehow stayed hot? and can vram be permanently damaged?

Well if the cooler has dust in it the heatsink will take longer to cool down than with a clean one.

79 degrees C shouldn't do that kinda damage, higher than 90 degrees C is danger territory.

I had ah gtx 280 a time and sold it to a guy who ran it a week and after it start to give trouble.

When he brought it back by me i took off the heatsink and all the thermal pads for the ram chips literally disintegrated :lol:

And yes VRAM can be permanently damaged.

Hope you have warranty on ur card in case you have to replace it.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » January 12th, 2013, 10:20 pm

All the BF3 players add me up FearlessTT and on Steam Firstchoicett

See You in the Game.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » January 12th, 2013, 10:47 pm

The card is just a couple weeks old. Will monitor it with regular usage and see. Guess ill have to hold off on the o/cing till i put it under water.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » January 13th, 2013, 12:38 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:The card is just a couple weeks old. Will monitor it with regular usage and see. Guess ill have to hold off on the o/cing till i put it under water.

Did you overvolt as well? That could damage the card in the long run. You could also try reapplying a better tim to the gpu or as you said wait & WC it.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » January 13th, 2013, 1:39 pm

^didnt interfere with the voltage.
i just played 2 missions in the BF3 campaign, and as soon as the 2nd one finished and went to the loading screen...i could hear the gpu fans spin down...and then i got a black screen and had to reset. The trend seems to be the card goes bonkers right after a work out...im wondering if there was some sort of latent heat damage that took place when i first o/c'd on wednesday.
Im gonna try a custom fan profile and see if it helps but im beginning to lose hope.

Im also not sure if it would even be worth it to spend the money and WC it since theres no guarantee thatll fix the problem. thinking to wait a couple months and get a 680 and done. shudda done that in the first place :evil:

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » January 13th, 2013, 2:51 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:
^didnt interfere with the voltage.
i just played 2 missions in the BF3 campaign, and as soon as the 2nd one finished and went to the loading screen...i could hear the gpu fans spin down...and then i got a black screen and had to reset. The trend seems to be the card goes bonkers right after a work out...im wondering if there was some sort of latent heat damage that took place when i first o/c'd on wednesday.
Im gonna try a custom fan profile and see if it helps but im beginning to lose hope.

Im also not sure if it would even be worth it to spend the money and WC it since theres no guarantee thatll fix the problem. thinking to wait a couple months and get a 680 and done. shudda done that in the first place :evil:

Next gen should be dropping in a couple months so 680's should drop in price. The 7000 series supposed to be good cards tho, you could also look @ the Asus 7970 DCII/Matrix.

Postby pioneer » January 13th, 2013, 3:11 pm

What would be a decent step up from an NVIDIA 8800 GT?