:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby Dave » May 29th, 2021, 3:11 pm

I have a spring loaded Lisle using years. Not the three claw unit but two opposed clamps that grabs. The spring supposed to be a consumable but over 15yrs still have need to replace.

hindian

Postby hindian » May 29th, 2021, 5:17 pm

pugboy wrote:how does it work ?
Great actually, the 4 corners of the square stock gives an extra bite into the strap so it doesn't spin on the filter. For all other filters I just use the regular tool.

Postby MG Man » May 31st, 2021, 11:27 am

Gladiator wrote:
Kenjo wrote:
daxt0r wrote:what a good cheap grinder to buy just for sharpening ah 3line and some knives occasionally?
What kinda price dem ting does be? I fedup goin by meh mechanic to get stuff sharpen.

For d car audio why not use the conversion harness an dem so you would have no cutting or nothing to do.

The car audio harnesses are sometimes different so you would have to cut the wires anyway. Could get grinders for around $300 but once you not planning any heavy duty use that should be just fine

I have a Skil grinder from pricesmart that has taken a ridiculous amount of jamming and abuse for a cheap tool
Def recommended

Yeah boy I have one of those Skill grinders from Pricesmart... a very brutal tool. I hate it but it does wuk. Trying to spoil it for about 2 years now to upgrade... but it wont die.

Just weekend I had to buss piece of concrete and I dont have a hilti so I use the grinder with a masonary cutting bit and slice up the concrete in 1" squares to make it easy to buss. The grinder wuk and never complain...

cutting walls with it might very well kill it :D :D :D the dust can get in the bearings.
Mine ripped into my thumb last year because after weeks of wearing PPE for a particular job, I did the dotish 'is jus a quick grind wid ah flap disc' and didn't put on the gloves....it grabbed my thumb and pulled it into the gaurd and shred it open pretty good. Sat down with a nippers cutting out the chunks before going for stitches. Not looking forward to the finger print scan next time I pass thru US immigration :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Gladiator » May 31st, 2021, 11:05 pm

Gladiator wrote:
Kenjo wrote:
daxt0r wrote:what a good cheap grinder to buy just for sharpening ah 3line and some knives occasionally?
What kinda price dem ting does be? I fedup goin by meh mechanic to get stuff sharpen.

For d car audio why not use the conversion harness an dem so you would have no cutting or nothing to do.

The car audio harnesses are sometimes different so you would have to cut the wires anyway. Could get grinders for around $300 but once you not planning any heavy duty use that should be just fine

I have a Skil grinder from pricesmart that has taken a ridiculous amount of jamming and abuse for a cheap tool
Def recommended

Yeah boy I have one of those Skill grinders from Pricesmart... a very brutal tool. I hate it but it does wuk. Trying to spoil it for about 2 years now to upgrade... but it wont die.

Just weekend I had to buss piece of concrete and I dont have a hilti so I use the grinder with a masonary cutting bit and slice up the concrete in 1" squares to make it easy to buss. The grinder wuk and never complain...

cutting walls with it might very well kill it :D :D :D the dust can get in the bearings.
Mine ripped into my thumb last year because after weeks of wearing PPE for a particular job, I did the dotish 'is jus a quick grind wid ah flap disc' and didn't put on the gloves....it grabbed my thumb and pulled it into the gaurd and shred it open pretty good. Sat down with a nippers cutting out the chunks before going for stitches. Not looking forward to the finger print scan next time I pass thru US immigration :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Jesus Christ man MG... I hadda go take an Advil after reading that. Hope it heal up good...I feel I going and give away that thing now yes... :(

Postby Ted_v2 » May 31st, 2021, 11:08 pm

Rofl, i get slice with a mason blade already, i get a half c cut where the blade slice and burn my shin... Not a drop of blood, I slap on plaster and me and nervewrecker gone Cedros after... next morning i nearly couldnt walk yes

Postby Gladiator » May 31st, 2021, 11:13 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Rofl, i get slice with a mason blade already, i get a half c cut where the blade slice and burn my shin... Not a drop of blood, I slap on plaster and me and nervewrecker gone Cedros after... next morning i nearly couldnt walk yes

Boy when I using that friggin thing I does put on 2 pair of gloves, goggles and face shield, hard hat, 2 pair of socks and steel tip and a cricket cup just in case... I aint playing nah!!!

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » June 1st, 2021, 6:45 am

allyuh hv me seriously worried about buying grinder just to sharpen 3line an knives.
Sounds like candle go cost more dan d funeral lol

Postby Kenjo » June 1st, 2021, 7:11 am

daxt0r wrote:allyuh hv me seriously worried about buying grinder just to sharpen 3line an knives.
Sounds like candle go cost more dan d funeral lol
Need heavy duty gloves and goggles and long sleeve clothes at minimum for a grinder . Shield always in place towards you and a good grip. I used mine to sharpen a cutlass just weekend and that is a fairly low risk procedure . Check the integrity of your blade before to make sure no cracks

Postby MG Man » June 1st, 2021, 11:18 am

all kicks aside, an angle grinder is a VERY serious tool
Aside from my one dotish indiscretion, I always wear heavy duty gloves, full coverall, full face shield. Goggles are not sufficent
I have a UK friend who had a piece of exploded cutting disk slice his neck, just barely missing his jugular
And NEVER remove the guard. If the guard is in the way, find a better way / different method of ding the job
@Gladiator, the key to any injury is remain CALM
When the flap wheel grabbed my thumb, first action was power-off (after the initial shock of ohfuck)
Then carefully rest down tool, and apply pressure before blood get all over everything
Shredded meat isn't as bad as you'd think. Most already severed from nerves so easy to snip off with a sharp nippers. I was very lucky that the wound filled in and scarring is minimal, but I do get odd twinges sometimes, and the scarred area is permanently numb

Postby MG Man » June 1st, 2021, 11:20 am

Healed up nicely. Got a tetanus shot one time as a precaution

Postby Chimera » June 1st, 2021, 12:18 pm

i hate angle grinders

i have two,a hilti and a dewalt with paddle switch and i try my best not to use them for anything

the smallest piece of thing to cut i bringing out the chopsaw or fighting up with the hackzall

angle grinder is real last resort thing

fedup see them discs explode

worse yet them whole line of tolsen and ingco discs is real sheit

Postby pugboy » June 1st, 2021, 12:30 pm

those thin discs are the best
cut real quick but you need to stand over and use between your legs so everything shooting back

i buy a german chop saw disc they selling now
called Perf, terribly out of balance and it exploded on me. lucky my chop saw have guard

Postby Chimera » June 1st, 2021, 12:48 pm

kelvin ghany real puhing those pferd discs.....everytime i go to buy they sold out

they touting it as better than dewalt and other big brands

Postby pugboy » June 1st, 2021, 1:16 pm

I wouldnt buy them again as I find dewalt are good and I never got an unbalanced wobbly dewalt.
if you cutting 45's you need a good disc.

the perfd substance cuts good but if it wobbly then it not cutting straight and not safe more importantly.

Phone Surgeon wrote:kelvin ghany real puhing those pferd discs.....everytime i go to buy they sold out

they touting it as better than dewalt and other big brands

Postby pugboy » June 1st, 2021, 1:18 pm

was it a cutting disc or grinding disc that caused this accident ?

Postby Rovin » June 1st, 2021, 1:52 pm

discs do not really shatter so easily unless d grinder has been dropped\bumped causing d discs to be damaged, or if u using a thin disc to grind that was designed for cutting , or if u cutting something that causes d blade to squeeze\pinch\twist , only other thing i can think of is is d machine has a higher rpm than d blade is rated at

d way they advertised that pferd brand like is d best ting but never seen it sold in bhags , i eh gonna drive from chaguanas to buy 1 to try it

i usually use low price discs from bhags like pyramid & arrow for yrssss with no problem , i even used from price club toolcraft brand with no issues neither ...

Postby Rovin » June 1st, 2021, 2:46 pm

had my share of grinder accidents

got grind on my fingers\hands even thru d gloves holding d tool at odd angles or u in a awkward position, cleaning some steel on d ground & lifting up d machine b4 it stop spinning got me thru my pants on my leg just above d knee , a time i was grinding & blade got caught up in my loose fitting jersey & machine reach up on my chest ...sparks always flying offkey & hitting u on\near eyes\face even with safety glasses on

doh talk about when using wire cup brush d wires always fly out & stick in ur skin & clothes ... always buy twisted wire cups never d straight bristles & use smaller cups since d centrifugal force of larger cups make d machine want to jump out ur hands , same with discs - always use d smaller sizes , 9" discs is looking for trouble unless u a big strong guy with very strong arms & i still wouldnt advise it , still stick with smaller 7" discs for 7" machines & 4.5 or less for 4.5 machines

always cut\grind away from u ,dont find urself in alignment with d discs & always keep d safety guard on , welders love to remove since they find it restricts their use of d tool to be able to use it 360 right around , not me - i dont enjoy sparks flying on me or machine slipping & grinding my hands ...

Postby pugboy » June 1st, 2021, 3:30 pm

some of them cheap chowsaw disc
the metal insert where the hole is comes loose and renders it useless af

Postby pugboy » June 1st, 2021, 3:31 pm

believe it or not
sometimes with the guard on
the sparks can slide around the guard and shoot out closer to you
i make sure and always use in a way they fly out away from me or below between my legs

Postby Rovin » June 1st, 2021, 4:40 pm

pugboy wrote:some of them cheap chowsaw disc
the metal insert where the hole is comes loose and renders it useless af

like u bad lucky , i have used d lowest price 14" chopsaw blades i cud find even those under $30 from price club a brand called Brown & d another 1 Toolcraft , even 1 from Idrees marketing who have their own brand with their name on it & anything bhags sell , none ever broke around washer flange over d past 25+yrs

i usually do all my welding\fab work but when i have a big project that takes d time i dont have i hire a welder & he does something i dont ever do which is put d blade label side down aka metal insert side against d machine , he say he tort dise d correct way since in his mind d outer flange of d chopsaw or nut on grinder holds d other side ... he is a good welder but i dunno where he learn dat from since i know is d lableside\metal washer flange insert outside .... once i tried a 4.5" cutting disc on d grinder his way label side down & d whole disc broke right around washer flange , never me again

Postby Rovin » June 1st, 2021, 4:45 pm

anybody who uses a fair amt of 4.5" flap discs: its way cheaper if u amazon in it especially if buy a 10 pack , locally cheapest i seen $25 for 1 & amazon has them [doh mind is chinese brands] for as low as us$12-15 for a 10 pack , sometimes u see 20 packs for us20-25 ... u can buy them in assorted grits or 1 or 2 grits of ur choosing

viedcht

Postby viedcht » June 1st, 2021, 6:19 pm

I see madmen does clean off edges from round steel with chop saw disc running. Dat bad habit thinning the blade if alyuh doing dat inno.

So far the cheapo Total bench grinder doing light work easy... Btw doh grind blade with angle grinder even if Yuh vice grip it! Alyuh like stitches and plaster??!!

Postby pugboy » June 1st, 2021, 6:24 pm

boy i do that all the time
but you need to do it near the edge of the disc which wearing out anyways
and even pressure
pressing hard elsewhere on disc could weaken it

viedcht wrote:I see madmen does clean off edges from round steel with chop saw disc running. Dat bad habit thinning the blade if alyuh doing dat inno.

So far the cheapo Total bench grinder doing light work easy... Btw doh grind blade with angle grinder even if Yuh vice grip it! Alyuh like stitches and plaster??!!

Postby MG Man » June 1st, 2021, 6:50 pm

pugboy wrote:was it a cutting disc or grinding disc that caused this accident ?

flap disc. I was grinding off rust at an awkward angle and I still dunno how it grabbed my thumb...so it shredded, not cut the thumb

Postby MG Man » June 1st, 2021, 6:52 pm

re chop saw blades and cutting discs for angle grinders, I only buy Dewalt or Miluakee etc...not taking chances with cheap blades

Postby Ted_v2 » June 1st, 2021, 10:59 pm

did this once for that same thing, someone was grinding and it went into my eye, 10ft prob?

Postby MaxPower » June 1st, 2021, 11:56 pm

MG Man wrote:Image

Sexy boy with sexy fingers

Postby MG Man » June 2nd, 2021, 8:41 am

as if you didn't know already

viedcht

Postby viedcht » June 2nd, 2021, 12:27 pm

Lucky was a flap disc...
pugboy wrote:was it a cutting disc or grinding disc that caused this accident ?

flap disc. I was grinding off rust at an awkward angle and I still dunno how it grabbed my thumb...so it shredded, not cut the thumb

viedcht

Postby viedcht » June 2nd, 2021, 12:30 pm

You have more sense... These season construction men does start from the inside out, bawling 'nah if Yuh tinnit right tru it doh do nuttn'.
pugboy wrote:boy i do that all the time
but you need to do it near the edge of the disc which wearing out anyways
and even pressure
pressing hard elsewhere on disc could weaken it

viedcht wrote:I see madmen does clean off edges from round steel with chop saw disc running. Dat bad habit thinning the blade if alyuh doing dat inno.