COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 116 cases, 8 deaths, 58 discharged in T&T

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 28th, 2020, 1:05 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:Swab results came back negative.. thank god.. but symptoms and cause of death and lungs, tests are very similar to covid

At least the negative result is some comforting news

Postby matr1x » April 28th, 2020, 2:17 pm

Lies and more lies. Motto of pnm

Postby De Dragon » April 28th, 2020, 2:49 pm

paid_influencer wrote:nobody in Parliament using the masks correctly, except for the MoH. Plenty of them have it hanging below the nose.

On every single one of them, it fitting real loose, requiring frequent adjustment and lots of hand-to-face contact. Them masks not well designed at all.

Maybe inside the Chamber.There was a clip with Akash Samaroo asking various MP's about their MP salary donations to the needy and he was actually the only one wearing it incorrectly with his entire chin clearly visible. Then there was the instance where he was touring the Home of Football hotel and he only had one strap of his N95 mask secured.

Postby aaron17 » April 28th, 2020, 3:03 pm

Lol

Postby eliteauto » April 28th, 2020, 8:42 pm

teems1 wrote:
neilsingh100 wrote:T&T did a better job than New Zealand but don't expect any foreign media coverage.

New Zealand have claimed to elimited Covid19 from their island.

Trinidad has done remarkably well in controlling the virus but we aren't at New Zealand's level as yet to make that declaration.

Agreed. but we're looking good, have a gander at page 4

https://www.bsg.ox.ac.uk/sites/default/ ... h-note.pdf

Postby pugboy » April 28th, 2020, 9:09 pm

We certainly dodged a bullet so far

if border lockdown was a week later
We would surely have gotten a lot of Usa flight import cases and the cruise ship folks out in the open.

Postby redmanjp » April 28th, 2020, 9:32 pm

https://www.cnbc.com/2020/04/28/coronavirus-may-cause-new-inflammatory-disease-in-children-medics-say.html

Coronavirus could be causing new inflammatory condition in children, UK health officials warn
PUBLISHED TUE, APR 28 20209:29 AM EDT
UPDATED MOMENTS AGO

Health officials in the U.K. are warning that Covid-19 could be causing a new and rare inflammatory condition in children.

Britain’s Paediatric Intensive Care Society said Monday the National Health Service alerted it to a small number of critically ill children presenting with “an unusual clinical picture.”

The society noted that many — but not all — of the children with symptoms of the new inflammatory disease had been diagnosed with Covid-19. The condition was likened to toxic shock syndrome and Kawasaki disease.

Toxic shock syndrome is a rare, life-threatening condition caused by bacteria getting into the body and releasing harmful toxins. Symptoms include a high temperature, a sunburn-like rash and flu-like symptoms such as a headache and sore throat. Kawasaki disease causes swelling of heart’s blood vessels and mainly affects children under the age of 5, according to the U.K.’s NHS. Symptoms include a rash, swollen glands in the neck, dry or cracked lips and red fingers or toes.

Symptoms of the condition
Common symptoms of the new inflammatory condition include abdominal pain, gastrointestinal symptoms and cardiac inflammation, the society said.

“An early case report relating to Covid-19 presenting as Kawasaki syndrome has been published recently, and PICS is aware of a small number of children nationally who appear to fit the clinical picture described in the NHS England alert,” the organization added.

Speaking to BBC Radio 4′s “Today Programme” on Tuesday, Dr. Sanjay Patel, a consultant in pediatric infectious diseases at Southampton Children’s Hospital in England, likened the illness to sepsis — a life-threatening reaction to an infection — but added there were “most definitely” ways it could be treated.

“Over the last few years there’s been a huge narrative about sepsis, parents are on the lookout for cold hands and feet, difficulty breathing, lethargy, and it presents similarly to that,” he said. “These children will end up in hospital, front line doctors will initially treat this as sepsis and these children initially don’t improve with antibiotics. It’s at that point that more investigations suggest this is an inflammatory condition that requires immune modulating treatment such as steroids and other drugs.”

‘Very worried’
The new coronavirus, which has infected more than 3 million people and caused 212,056 deaths globally to date, is widely understood to be less severe and cause fewer fatalities in children compared to adults.

However, speaking to U.K. radio station LBC on Tuesday, British Health Minister Matt Hancock said he was “very worried” about recent reports of children presenting with the new condition.

“We don’t know yet (if it can prove fatal),” he said. “It’s a new disease that we think may be caused by the Covid-19 virus — we’re not 100% sure because some of the people who got it hadn’t tested positive, so we’re doing a lot of research now but it is something we’re worried about. Although it is very significant for those children who do get it, the number of cases is small.”

He said the NHS had put out a call to doctors to be on alert for the condition and collate any information on children who were admitted to hospital with symptoms.

Meanwhile, Chris Whitty, England’s chief medical officer, told reporters at the U.K. government’s daily coronavirus press conference on Monday it was “entirely plausible” the new condition could be brought on by Covid-19.

“This is a very rare situation, but I think it’s entirely plausible that this is caused by this virus at least in some cases, because we know that in adults big problems are caused by an inflammatory process, and this looks rather like an inflammatory process,” he said at Monday’s press briefing.

Whitty emphasized, however, that it was not clear the coronavirus was definitely the cause of the new condition in children, noting that experts needed to look for other potential causes.

“Given that we’ve got a new presentation of this at a time with a new disease, the possibility that there is a link is certainly plausible,” he said. “But … the number’s very small, the key thing is if parents are worried, then phone up and get advice. It’s very rare.”

‘Absolutely tiny numbers’
NHS England’s National Medical Director Steve Powis said at the press conference that it was important to note the condition — which had only been reported over the last few days — was rare, but should not be ignored.

“It’s important for this and other conditions, although very rare — I must emphasize rare — that you come forward to seek treatment and diagnosis as quickly as possible,” he advised parents.

Patel also stressed on the BBC’s “Today Programme” Tuesday that the new condition was very rare.

“It’s really important to get this into perspective,” he said. “This has generated a huge amount of alarm, (but) we’re talking about a tiny number of cases. Less than 10 children in the U.K. have been admitted to intensive care units with this shock-like condition that we’re calling an inflammatory condition, and that’s out of about 11.5 million under-16-year-olds in the U.K., so that’s absolutely tiny numbers.”

Postby supercharged turbo » April 28th, 2020, 9:44 pm

^^Agreed on the cruise ship point but for less than 1600 tests done in approximately 2 months and now every few days you hearing "72 hours with no positive cases" then one positive case the day after.The population becoming complacent with those figures.They see it as the virus is dying down and they could start back socializing which they are doing.

Most people have stopped watching the daily news conference and don't even take on international news so they not aware of what going on outside.At the same time,I'm still seeing alot of people complaining about how they not getting tested and members of their family sick.The figures could very well be true and the government could be handling this situation rather well but I don't think that's the case.I think they making it look like they have the situation under control while the virus spreading in the background.I hope I'm wrong and we really do have this situation under control.

Postby pugboy » April 28th, 2020, 10:00 pm

Yes I agree the testing protocol or availability has been less than honest
A friend of mine wanted to get tested as he had regular flu in end of March and they refused him repeatedly.
At one point he was considering showing up at a public hospital, but thankfully he didn’t.

Postby maj. tom » April 29th, 2020, 12:19 am

Seeing some videos of the swabing procedure for covid testing. Looks painful.

Postby Chimera » April 29th, 2020, 11:42 am

Caring for you is our priority
American Airlines
Your well-being is important to us, so we are working diligently to enhance your travel experience in response to COVID-19.

Personal protective equipment
In May, we will begin to distribute sanitizing wipes or gel and face masks to passengers, as supplies allow. Our flight attendants will be required to wear face masks on all flights, beginning May 1.

Enhanced cleaning program
In the weeks ahead, we are expanding our cleaning program by wiping down customer high-touch surfaces (seatbelts, armrests, window shades and seatback screens) before every flight. Plus, we're implementing enhanced cleaning in our team member areas (galley, cockpit and jumpseats).

Our HEPA air-filters remove 99.97% of airborne particles in the aircraft, working to ensure the air you breathe is clean.

And, we are working with airports to clean high contact surfaces (kiosks, gate counters and ticket counters) multiple times a day.

We're here for you and want to ensure that you have peace of mind when you travel with us — because, you are why we fly.

Postby redmanjp » April 29th, 2020, 12:14 pm

maj. tom wrote:Seeing some videos of the swabing procedure for covid testing. Looks painful.

Is that the procedure MOH is using?

If so ah go just hawk and spit and tell them use dat

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » April 29th, 2020, 12:24 pm

9 held for attending funeral
https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 2f8bf.html
how come people get hold in arouca and not couva ?

Postby redmanjp » April 29th, 2020, 12:31 pm

pugboy wrote:Yes I agree the testing protocol or availability has been less than honest
A friend of mine wanted to get tested as he had regular flu in end of March and they refused him repeatedly.
At one point he was considering showing up at a public hospital, but thankfully he didn’t.

MOH update this morning - every 3 ppl showing up to get tested with actually get a test

Postby sMASH » April 29th, 2020, 12:40 pm

dean_spleen09 wrote:9 held for attending funeral

they will have to get released.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » April 29th, 2020, 1:11 pm

Vietnam war, 20 yrs, 58k Americans dead
Covid19, 4 months, 58k Americans dead (and counting)

COVID-19 has now killed more Americans than the Vietnam War
U.S. coronavirus-related deaths reached a somber milestone on Tuesday, surpassing the number of Americans killed in the Vietnam War.

More than 58,300 Americans have died from COVID-19, according to a tally kept by Johns Hopkins University. That compares with the National Archives’ figure of 58,220 deaths from the Vietnam War, which lasted more than a decade.

Confirmed cases of COVID-19 topped 1 million in the U.S. on Tuesday, according to Johns Hopkins.

https://www.latimes.com/world-nation/st ... rs-caution

also https://www.marketwatch.com/story/coron ... 2020-04-29

Postby redmanjp » April 29th, 2020, 1:12 pm

sMASH wrote:

probably pay a fine

wing

Postby wing » April 29th, 2020, 1:33 pm

Last edited by wing on April 29th, 2020, 1:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

wing

Postby wing » April 29th, 2020, 1:34 pm

wing wrote:https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/strokes-among-young-covid-cases-worry-medics-6.2.1106690.8fefac117d
Hope it's not a repost. Makes interesting reading.

Postby sMASH » April 29th, 2020, 1:47 pm

redmanjp wrote:
sMASH wrote:

probably pay a fine
what fine?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 29th, 2020, 2:13 pm

CMO says get accustomed to the new normal

Postby Slartibartfast » April 29th, 2020, 2:38 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Lol MaxDotish, answer the question, if Covid-19 is around for at least a year until we have vaccines, so we ever open our borders?

Dohplaydummy,

Its actually a good question but you’re mind is already set on your answer because of your Trini mentality.

Presently, we are unable to determine how long Covid19 will be around. How will we know for sure if it can be controlled? How can we ascertain the extent of it?........Time.

To answer your question, we are now in the early stages and it is imperative that we strictly adhere to measures as advised by our medical experts. Over and over and over DPD, we must practice proper/considerate hygiene, social distancing and staying at home. This will also include border closure which was/is/can be the main contributing factor.

UNTIL we are certain that Covid19 will prevail for an extended period of time, only then should we look at options to open our borders to our stranded nationals. We cannot completely close our borders for years, but it is reckless to be opening and closing our borders this soon. 10 May could have been a good time to update those outside on when they will be allowed to come in. We have to keep our healthcare resources for the people IN T&T and not
assume that because we have space for some irresponsible idiots it has to be a neverseecomesee situation.

But remember ur a Trini, and Trinis will support other Trinis regardless of their behavior and possible impact to society.

They could always make use of antibody testing to open the borders conditionally. Let people get a certificate from some recognised institution if the got a negative test result for COVID19 and a positive test result for the antibody. I'm not a qualified professional in this area though to I can't say how practical that idea is. Then again... shutting down the world for a year ent really that practical either so who knows...

Postby MaxPower » April 29th, 2020, 3:12 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:Lol MaxDotish, answer the question, if Covid-19 is around for at least a year until we have vaccines, so we ever open our borders?

Dohplaydummy,

Its actually a good question but you’re mind is already set on your answer because of your Trini mentality.

Presently, we are unable to determine how long Covid19 will be around. How will we know for sure if it can be controlled? How can we ascertain the extent of it?........Time.

To answer your question, we are now in the early stages and it is imperative that we strictly adhere to measures as advised by our medical experts. Over and over and over DPD, we must practice proper/considerate hygiene, social distancing and staying at home. This will also include border closure which was/is/can be the main contributing factor.

UNTIL we are certain that Covid19 will prevail for an extended period of time, only then should we look at options to open our borders to our stranded nationals. We cannot completely close our borders for years, but it is reckless to be opening and closing our borders this soon. 10 May could have been a good time to update those outside on when they will be allowed to come in. We have to keep our healthcare resources for the people IN T&T and not
assume that because we have space for some irresponsible idiots it has to be a neverseecomesee situation.

But remember ur a Trini, and Trinis will support other Trinis regardless of their behavior and possible impact to society.

They could always make use of antibody testing to open the borders conditionally. Let people get a certificate from some recognised institution if the got a negative test result for COVID19 and a positive test result for the antibody. I'm not a qualified professional in this area though to I can't say how practical that idea is. Then again... shutting down the world for a year ent really that practical either so who knows...

Hello Slartibartfast,

I agree with your comments.

Lets see what implementations the experts come up with.

Postby pugboy » April 29th, 2020, 3:15 pm

antibody testing proven so far to be not totally reliable

Postby hydroep » April 29th, 2020, 3:38 pm

There are also reports of people being re-infected which would render certificates of clearance useless...:|

Postby paid_influencer » April 29th, 2020, 4:56 pm

Shutting down the border until 2022 is a reasonable move. We really don't know how long antibody protection lasts and nobody has vaccine. In the mean time, we could rebuild here with a strong focus on local brands and products.

I could see a 'phased' re-opening to other nearby islands that are free of COVID (with a common external border policy). At the least, it would allow regional efforts in medicine, sports, UWI, etc.

Postby De Dragon » April 29th, 2020, 6:15 pm

Isn't it odd that hand washing, sneezing/coughing into a rag/washcloth/elbow crook and not spitting like if you're pregnant or using chewing tobacco could be seen as a "new" normal, when we should have been doing it anyways?

Postby maj. tom » April 29th, 2020, 6:16 pm

Coronavirus: Outcry as Spanish beach sprayed with bleach

Authorities in a Spanish coastal resort have apologised after spraying a beach with bleach in an attempt to protect children from coronavirus.

Zahara de los Atunes, near Cadiz, used tractors to spray more than 2km (1.2 miles) of beach with a bleach solution a day before Spain allowed children out of lockdown for the first time.

Environmentalists say the move caused "brutal damage" to the local ecosystem.

Spain has been badly affected by the coronavirus, with 23,800 deaths.

It recently announced a four-phase plan to lift its stringent lockdown measures and return to a "new normality" by the end of June.

María Dolores Iglesias, who heads an environmental volunteer group in the Cadiz region, said she had visited the beach at Zahara de los Atunes and seen the damage for herself.

She said the bleach "killed everything on the ground, nothing is seen, not even insects".

The beach and its dunes are protected breeding and nesting places for migratory birds and Ms Iglesias said she had seen at least one nest with eggs destroyed by the tractors.

Ms Iglesias said that because of the lockdown, wildlife had been thriving on the beach.

"The beach has its own way of cleaning itself, it was not necessary," she said.

"They do not think that this is a living ecosystem, but a lot of land."

Local official Agustín Conejo admitted it was "a wrong move".

"I admit that it was a mistake, it was done with the best intention," he said.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-52471208

Postby sMASH » April 29th, 2020, 6:19 pm

if it was misted, it shoudl not be too much of an issue. but if it was doused, and allowed to penetrate the sand surface, that might be an issue with the animals living in the sand

Postby MaxPower » April 29th, 2020, 7:07 pm

I await to see social distancing in Caura.