The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

bassotronics

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby bassotronics » March 10th, 2013, 8:21 am

Check out this live wallpaper, really amazing IMO, a real battery drainer though..
https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... S5mcmVlIl0.

Postby pete » March 10th, 2013, 10:35 am

The one I really like is the microbes wallpaper I got when I updated to Jellybean, mostly cause I like dark wallpapers.

Postby Trini Hookah » March 10th, 2013, 10:48 am

I always had Microbes afaik.

I like the Live Glow wallpaper, shows visualisations of the audio being played, great battery drain though as a with all Live Wallpapers :lol:

Postby maj. tom » March 10th, 2013, 10:59 am

Rolex and Swiss Watches live wallpapers from Mango Concepts do not drain the battery. I prefer these, they work great. Really handsome pieces with perfect live movements.

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » March 10th, 2013, 11:01 am

Archlord wrote:
Mr.Bollywood wrote:ok just passing tru here 4.2.2 is available on what models ? cuz i havent gotten that update as yet,,,,,,,,but anticipating 5.0 KEYLIMEPIE (i swear all of the ppl at android dow geh feed or sum ? all of the android version is something with food )

You mean official updates right, cuz custom ROMs of 4.2.2 have been floating around a while now...

yess official updates , not roms , i rather the official firmwares they seem much smoother and work much better than any rom i have used so far , and ive used ultimaroms , paranoid roms (best so far) , omega roms etc. but i always restore to original firmwares, gladly awaiting 4.2.2 and keylime pie 5.0

btw guess who i never had a berry and not planning on owning one any time soon , i rather my s3 , runs quite smooth and very very effective will post some cpu performance results to support my claims

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » March 10th, 2013, 11:43 am

Cpu performance
uploadfromtaptalk1362929508774.jpg
uploadfromtaptalk1362929484251.jpg
uploadfromtaptalk1362929459676.jpg
uploadfromtaptalk1362929357569.jpg

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » March 10th, 2013, 12:10 pm

CBharath wrote:I running 4.2.2 on the nexus7. Running decent with it rooted. Battery life improved.

Just a random thought, with Samsung phones you don't receive OTA updates when rooted, is it the same for the Nexus 7? I'd like to root mine but I'm not interested in flashing roms on it.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 10th, 2013, 7:03 pm

Guys, I sold a friend my samsung galaxy tab 2 a while ago.
Turns out i need one for some upcoming jobs and projects..... and of course that was my first android device and I want my next tablet to be android.
Looking for one of the latest...something around 4 - 500US any suggestions ?

Postby Ted_v2 » March 10th, 2013, 7:23 pm

galaxy note 10.1

btw how much you sold yours for? i wanna sell mines

Postby Trini Hookah » March 10th, 2013, 7:54 pm

I'd buy a 10 inch Samsung tab later this year for the parents to play around, mum always playing word search and angry birds on my phone :lol:

Cant decide between galaxy tab or note tho

CBharath

Postby CBharath » March 10th, 2013, 8:28 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:
CBharath wrote:I running 4.2.2 on the nexus7. Running decent with it rooted. Battery life improved.

Just a random thought, with Samsung phones you don't receive OTA updates when rooted, is it the same for the Nexus 7? I'd like to root mine but I'm not interested in flashing roms on it.

even rooted i got the update but you will lose the root after . i just root it again. there is an app to save the root but i learned about it after the update

Postby ismithx » March 10th, 2013, 8:34 pm

pssh small thing just reapply the root!

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 10th, 2013, 9:05 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:galaxy note 10.1

btw how much you sold yours for? i wanna sell mines

Sold it for a $850 Had it for about a 3 months... was in good condition. Could have gotton more but was a good padnah so a cut d man a lil slack

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » March 11th, 2013, 1:50 am

CBharath wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:

even rooted i got the update but you will lose the root after . i just root it again. there is an app to save the root but i learned about it after the update

i believe its rootkeeper. never used it cuz there was already a root script for my ics update. jb coming soon so i might have to use rootkeeper until a root script comes out for it.

Postby stev » March 11th, 2013, 1:52 am

Thursday’s Other Big Announcement Will Feature The Worlds Fastest Smartphone

We are fast approaching March 14th and the big announcement that will surely shake the Android world to it’s core. That’s right, who’s ready for the “worlds fastest smartphone”? The handset which is manufactured by Samsu.........nope.....Xolo…..........

Xolo?

Yes there is another big announcement this Thursday but this one is coming out of Goa, India and from a company called Xolo, which is a sub brand of Lava International. And while we already have pretty decent idea of what to expect from Samsung this week in New York City, this other device that is coming out of India remains somewhat of a mystery.

A quick look at the company’s website shows a clock counting down the days, hours, minutes, and seconds until the big announcement. While the invitation that was sent out to the media touts the previously mentioned “worlds fastest” claim to fame with the Intel logo, it also has an angled view of the device. From the picture we can only see the the top of the phone where the power button and a 3.5mm headphone jack are located.

The obvious connection to be made is that this handset will be the first to use one of the Intel powered Clover Trail+ CPUs which were just announced last week at Mobile World Congress. The reasoning behind this being that the two companies have been dance partners before, most recently with the Xolo X500 & X900 using Intel’s Medfield line of processors.

These CPU’s which boast “industry-leading performance” come in three variants the Z2580 (2.0GHz), the Z2560 (1.6GHz), and the Z2520 (1.2GHz), with each packing two PowerVR SGX 544MP2 GPUs for a performance boost. The guess would be that the yet to be announced device would have to feature the Z2580 in order to be the world’s fastest. Unfortunately these CPUs do not support LTE radios, although they do work with HSPA+ 42Mbps modems.

It’s certainly shaping up to be a pretty big week for Xolo as they also announced another smartphone this morning. The Xolo Q800 is the manufacturer’s first quad core device, although it’s a 1.2 GHz quad core Mediatek chipset, and has a 4.5 inch IPS panel display with qHD (540 x 960 Pixels) resolution. More of a budget handset this one has a 8 megapixel autofocus rear camera with backside illumination and a 1.2 megapixel camera in the front. The 2100 mAH battery will give this 3G only phone 26 hours of talk time.

You have to love the marketing strategy of Xolo. While everyone is looking one way at the Samsung Galaxy S IV, they throw out a wild claim of their device being the world’s fastest and launching it on the same day. Even though it doesn’t steal all the headlines it definitely grabs a few in the calm before the giant media storm.

http://androidheadlines.com/2013/03/thu ... phone.html

doesn't look too promising IMO.

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » March 11th, 2013, 7:56 pm

interesting , xolo must check it out , any idea how much it costs?

Postby maj. tom » March 11th, 2013, 8:07 pm

some good specs on XOLO stuff, made by Intel since last year. How come we never heard of them before?

http://www.xolo.in/xolo-products

intelMAX

Postby intelMAX » March 11th, 2013, 9:07 pm

Postby sharkman121 » March 11th, 2013, 9:54 pm

maj. tom wrote:some good specs on XOLO stuff, made by Intel since last year. How come we never heard of them before?

same thing i wondering, now checkin em out on youtube here

Postby Stephon. » March 11th, 2013, 10:01 pm

Samsung just tweeted this picture
Samsung Mobile US ‏@SamsungMobileUS
The countdown for #TheNextBigThing has begun. Who’s ready for the Global Unpacked Event on March 14? pic.twitter.com/yi8VSDFxUe

I swear if it looks just like the S3 I'm gonna be donE with them!

Take mah money water proof sony phone (i dunno the name so sorry about that)

Postby Trini Hookah » March 11th, 2013, 10:05 pm

Xperia Z :|

Postby Trini Hookah » March 11th, 2013, 10:07 pm

Anyone else see this?

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=217542

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » March 11th, 2013, 10:08 pm

If it looks like a bigger S3 im gonna be so disappointed..

Swisha

Postby Swisha » March 11th, 2013, 10:13 pm

Stephon. wrote:Samsung just tweeted this picture
Samsung Mobile US ‏@SamsungMobileUS
The countdown for #TheNextBigThing has begun. Who’s ready for the Global Unpacked Event on March 14? pic.twitter.com/yi8VSDFxUe

I swear if it looks just like the S3 I'm gonna be donE with them!

Take mah money water proof sony phone (i dunno the name so sorry about that)

well it seems like the leaked pics today may be real...

Source

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 11th, 2013, 10:59 pm

Display look better I must say, wont know for sure if im done with them till they release all the specs lol One thing I dont want is a bigger phone in terms of physical size, the S3 is probably the biggest I intend on going

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 11th, 2013, 11:05 pm

Screen does look nicer.

Postby M_2NR » March 12th, 2013, 12:15 am

Guys, anyone has a kindle fire hd? Family looking to get one for a "mature" individual and looking at using it for email reading mainly. I was thinking of getting an ASUS tablet instead since they're always on sale and might be more relevant to that sort of need. Any ideas?

Ideally I would have gone iPad mini but budget wise it isn't feasible.

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » March 12th, 2013, 12:26 am

whats that in the top right corner? looks like two sim card symbols... dual sim?

hmmm fake?

Postby Stephon. » March 12th, 2013, 12:28 am

The leaked images are fake

Trini Hookah wrote:Anyone else see this?

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=217542

welp! free cyah charger bay

Postby RASC » March 12th, 2013, 4:46 am

Photos do look chopped...

Even tho any Samsung code ending in "2" is an official duos device.
This maybe the Chinese only Note II Duos variant.