COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 116 cases, 8 deaths, 58 discharged in T&T

Postby paid_influencer » April 27th, 2020, 5:16 pm

nobody in Parliament using the masks correctly, except for the MoH. Plenty of them have it hanging below the nose.

On every single one of them, it fitting real loose, requiring frequent adjustment and lots of hand-to-face contact. Them masks not well designed at all.

Postby MaxPower » April 27th, 2020, 5:27 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Hoss jus freaking quarentine them when they come, either at home if they can be alone or in a facility. But no, government has closed food delivery ensuring those that may have Covid-19 come out their house to go grocery

Exactly,

WHEN they come...just it should not be now.

Anyways, we have different views, just going in circles.

Safe.

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » April 27th, 2020, 5:48 pm

anybody could tell me what was the "rules" with regards to "funerals" ?
seeing a video making the rounds with about 100 ppl in a funeral.

Postby pugboy » April 27th, 2020, 5:52 pm

same as everything else, 5 persons max.

dean_spleen09 wrote:anybody could tell me what was the "rules" with regards to "funerals" ?
seeing a video making the rounds with about 100 ppl in a funeral.

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » April 27th, 2020, 6:03 pm

so these people special or what ?
i see music truck in it too.

Postby supercharged turbo » April 27th, 2020, 6:05 pm

My neighbour passed away last week and there were more than 30 people walking about.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 27th, 2020, 6:09 pm

paid_influencer wrote:nobody in Parliament using the masks correctly, except for the MoH. Plenty of them have it hanging below the nose.

On every single one of them, it fitting real loose, requiring frequent adjustment and lots of hand-to-face contact. Them masks not well designed at all.

That's ok mask wearing is to limit spread if you have it, not to prevent yourself from getting it.

Postby sMASH » April 27th, 2020, 6:43 pm

assassin wrote:No
The main intent of cloth masks is to reduce transmission from the infected. Since there can be asymptomatic carriers, everyone wearing a mask reduces the quantity and distance of particle transmission from a sick person

For a healthy person, a cloth mask will prevent direct droplets but virus size particles can still be inhaled
sMASH wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:What allyuh think about that cloth mask drive the government pushing.

And the test with the lighter/match and trying to blow it out

the intent with using cloth masks, is to reduce the demand on the professional maks, to leave them for frontliners. those cloth masks best is 50% effectiveness. if u coudl use a better one, use it.

not really, it kinda mixed. most places, like us and WHO were guiding persons not to wear masks as the continuous touching is a historical thing with those persons not trained, and would lead to more infection. but, with so many persons wearing, and a demand for masks in the medical sector, it was becoming scarce. so the recommendation became, if u hadda wear a mask wear a home made or cloth one and leave the professional ones for the frontliners. and that was interpreted as wear cloth masks or home made masks, and every body just flipped the script, cause it allowed the real masks for the pros.
in the asian countries, some places usually wear masks for pollution, and u saw some of the good countries handling it wear masks too. so it got positively associated with the better handling.

if u use a single layer cloth, u kinda blowing right trough, not much interference. u layer it, it diffuses it more, an u get less direct blow through. so its not in the air as much, like comparing sneezing into ur arm and into the air, its reduced. so thats where ur 'reducing transmission' part comes from.

the same hazard still exists, where they were recommending not to use it, as when u have it on, dont handle it much, when ur taking it off make sure and wash ur hands, and dont wear one for more than like 20mins whilst among other persons as it does not filter like the N95 and u would get the virus breaching through to the inside of the mask and thus u would inhale them... and if ur out and about different people, u have a high chance of collecting a lot of those viruses on the masks, and thus making it a collection point for viruses.

i watched the evolution of this thing from dont wear, to wear, happen very quickly and logically. tiktok had a big part to play too. hey, once the frontliners get their pro masks, evry ting aright.

Postby sMASH » April 27th, 2020, 6:44 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:nobody in Parliament using the masks correctly, except for the MoH. Plenty of them have it hanging below the nose.

That's ok mask wearing is to limit spread if you have it, not to prevent yourself from getting it.

they might infect the virus. blasted sour set of people there.

Postby sMASH » April 27th, 2020, 6:45 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:My neighbour passed away last week and there were more than 30 people walking about.

u count the number of people at the PM bro's funeral? plenty workers, plentyyy workers.

Postby Gladiator » April 27th, 2020, 7:03 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

Read that over again and see if it makes any sense at all....

Postby paid_influencer » April 27th, 2020, 7:04 pm

the handkerchief and two hair tie mask is the best, imo. Easy to wear, easy to breath, easy to clean.

https://edition.cnn.com/videos/health/2 ... town-hall/

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 27th, 2020, 7:16 pm

edit,,,,,
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on April 27th, 2020, 7:22 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Chimera » April 27th, 2020, 7:20 pm

My chinese padnas say how americand pushing the cloth mask but it useless and no way they going to get covid under control. They insisting on ordering cloth masks even fir the us military.
I get 3000 surgical.masks today...had to go through all kinda loops to pass tru germany to avoid the usa because usa seizing medical supplies like that

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 27th, 2020, 7:31 pm

You know if is one good thing that come out of this whole Covid situation is now we don't have to shake hands with people and we can actually wear masks in public to avoid the seasonal flu without being stared down.

Now people will wash their hands, Dr Fauci said one of the best things about Covid 19 is now we will significantly reduce seasonal flu infections which is a fcking welcome if you ask me. I hope I never have to worry about that crappy arse cold again.

The Norovirus is another nasty one, aka stomach flu we might even limit the spread of that now too who knows.

Everybody in the habit of using alcohol hand sanitizers or washing their hands before they enter an establishment I hope this practice NEVER goes away and everywhere is forced to leave those sinks outside and force the public to wash their nasty hands before entering any business place just think how many viruses we can eliminate if we forever continue this practice.

With any luck they will finally cancel Carnival, that is another satanic cult where women spending $8000 on bra and panty to do the donkey wine for a day while dumping their new born down a latrine. Or big hard back man with posi and panty on their head.

Postby Gladiator » April 27th, 2020, 8:03 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:My chinese padnas say how americand pushing the cloth mask but it useless and no way they going to get covid under control. They insisting on ordering cloth masks even fir the us military.
I get 3000 surgical.masks today...had to go through all kinda loops to pass tru germany to avoid the usa because usa seizing medical supplies like that

Exactly... its just a placebo to give the public something to do. Make masks...

If the purpose of the mask was to prevent the virus from going from one side of the cloth to the next, wont it have been effective in preventing you from spreading it if you have it and also contracting it if someone you talking to has it. How can it only work in one direction.... the cloth have corona check valves in it...???

From the start, the information was that the cloth masks do nothing... all of a sudden everybody needs to wear one. In fact our very own CMO and Minister both said on the TV that masks cannot prevent you from catching COVID when they were discouraging people from buying the N95 and backpedaling on the China mask donation. But the doctors wearing it... bullchit again!

Why don't they just make the proper materials available to make an effective mask from home. Not no old TShirt and kinda thing. I see a ras with a knitted mask like a rasta hat... the thing have big spaces between the threads you could see through it. Ignorance is a hell of a thing yes...

Postby supercharged turbo » April 27th, 2020, 8:05 pm

Them is gubament so ah different rule applies
sMASH wrote:
supercharged turbo wrote:My neighbour passed away last week and there were more than 30 people walking about.

u count the number of people at the PM bro's funeral? plenty workers, plentyyy workers.

Postby redmanjp » April 27th, 2020, 8:40 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Hoss jus freaking quarentine them when they come, either at home if they can be alone or in a facility. But no, government has closed food delivery ensuring those that may have Covid-19 come out their house to go grocery

i really doh understand why dey ban dat. perhaps d lines in kfc might have caused virus spread but then why not allow delivery and drive through? or was it just a knee jerk reaction because of d whole sauce doubles fiasco :roll:

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 116 cases, 8 deaths, 58 discharged in T&T

Postby MaxPower » April 27th, 2020, 10:00 pm

Had Trinis done what was asked from Day 1, nothing would have been banned. We had a chance to show the world how disciplined and organized we were. Imagine being the only country that did not a need a “lock down” to control the population. But poof.

Unfortunately, the very few of us that genuinely cared was not enough.

Do not congregate....allyuh remember that?

Allyuh had the power to do so....but yet still life went on as usual.

So Trinis playing the ass in and out of the country, the government retaliate by ressin pipe on allyuh bobolees in all directions....nobody know WDF really going on.......and everybody vex. Well duh.

Remember eh....allyuh brought this upon yourselves....doh blame no corona or keith for shutting down the small man eh....right.

But hey, it happened how it had to happen and unfortunately its a lil more ketch ass and inconvenience. Allyuh will get through it.

I lie?

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » April 27th, 2020, 11:19 pm

Swab results came back negative.. thank god.. but symptoms and cause of death and lungs, tests are very similar to covid

Postby sMASH » April 27th, 2020, 11:55 pm

MaxPower wrote:Remember eh....allyuh brought this upon yourselves....doh blame no corona or keith for shutting down the small man eh....right.

But hey, it happened how it had to happen and unfortunately its a lil more ketch ass and inconvenience. Allyuh will get through it.

I lie?

day 1 = janurary 31th??

releasing the prisoners was just going to be till the middle of april? and then they would have reabsorbed them???
license office postponing all renewals till august, we cause dat??? when we cause that, middle of april??
any import we have was because rowley went all over the world looking for yam, and did not self isolate when he came back, definitely not carnival with the 40k foreigners frolicking in the streets.

Postby redmanjp » April 28th, 2020, 1:22 am

aaron17 wrote:So ah hear air pollutants can be a carrier. Soooo what about Sahara dust?

air pollutant, aerosols, blood clots in young healthy ppl. reinfection, why not sahara dust? this virus might as well be a plague from God. Every day we learn something more and generally is bad news. tomorrow boils might break out.

Postby adnj » April 28th, 2020, 5:14 am

World’s biggest cargo plane to ship Chinese PPE to Quebec

Germany's Defence Minister Annegret Kramp-Karrenbauer, left, looks to packages with face masks in front of the world's largest operational cargo plane, which brings more than eight million protective face masks from China, as a Bundeswehr transport to the Leipzig/Halle airport in Leipzig, Germany, on April 27, 2020. JENS MEYER/THE ASSOCIATED PRESS

The cargo specialists arranging a massive shipment of personal protective equipment from China for the Quebec government have turned to the world’s biggest aircraft to carry the load.

The Soviet-era Antonov AN-225 is scheduled to carry what will be the largest single delivery of personal protective equipment (PPE) to Canada later this week to Montreal’s Mirabel Airport. The most recent flight plan calls for the huge aircraft to land on Thursday night.

Much of the freight is expected to be medical gowns that be can be used by health care workers.

Quebec’s gear is taking a different route from some other shipments chartered by the federal government and provinces. The plane will pick up the PPE in the northern Chinese city of Tianjin rather than Shanghai. The Tianjin airport is the only one where the AN-225, which weighs more than 285 tonnes and has a wingspan of more than 88 metres, is allowed to land in China.

https://www.theglobeandmail.com/canada/ ... to-quebec/

Postby sMASH » April 28th, 2020, 6:36 am

225 on duty!!!

Postby adnj » April 28th, 2020, 8:36 am

How New Zealand 'eliminated' Covid-19 after weeks of lockdown

By Julia Hollingsworth, CNN

Updated 1007 GMT (1807 HKT) April 28, 2020

Wellington, New Zealand (CNN)After weeks of lockdown, New Zealand has achieved its ambitious goal of eliminating the coronavirus.

But the country isn't celebrating yet.
Over the past few days, newly diagnosed infections have been in the single digits. And on Monday, New Zealand reported just one new case.
"That does give us confidence that we've achieved our goal of elimination, which never meant zero but it does mean we know where our cases are coming from," Ashley Bloomfield, New Zealand's Director General of Health, said on Monday, adding that there was only one case since April 1 where authorities were still investigating the source of infection.

Like many countries, New Zealand had models that showed that a potential coronavirus outbreak could be devastating if no action was taken. Unlike some other countries, New Zealand responded relatively fast.
When Ardern announced on March 14 that anyone entering the country would need to self isolate for two weeks, it was among the toughest border restrictions in the world. At the time, the country had six cases.
When, on March 19, Ardern banned foreigners from entering the country, there were 28 confirmed cases.
And on March 23, when Ardern announced that the country was going into lockdown, there were 102 confirmed cases -- and no deaths.

New Zealand has ramped up its testing, to the point that it can now carry out up to 8,000 tests per day, Ardern said Tuesday.
To date, New Zealand has carried out 126,066 tests. For comparison, the United Kingdom -- a country with around 13 times more people than New Zealand -- has completed 719,910 tests.

phpBB [video]

https://edition.cnn.com/2020/04/28/asia ... index.html

Postby sMASH » April 28th, 2020, 9:10 am

photo copy that pattern after the 15th.

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » April 28th, 2020, 9:24 am

T&T did a better job than New Zealand but don't expect any foreign media coverage.

Postby sMASH » April 28th, 2020, 9:30 am

deyalsingh saved us a bunch of money by not buying test kits.

Postby teems1 » April 28th, 2020, 9:41 am

neilsingh100 wrote:T&T did a better job than New Zealand but don't expect any foreign media coverage.

New Zealand have claimed to elimited Covid19 from their island.

Trinidad has done remarkably well in controlling the virus but we aren't at New Zealand's level as yet to make that declaration.

Postby Dave » April 28th, 2020, 9:48 am

Kudos and congratulations to ppl down under! Hope soon we can make a claim like that.