.::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Which major party will you be voting for in G.E. 2015?

Poll ended at April 9th, 2014, 7:52 pm

People's National Movement
26%
People's Partnership
53%
Independent Liberal Party
2%
Neither/Abstain
20%

Total votes: 388

Bezman

Re: .::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Postby Bezman » August 13th, 2015, 2:14 pm

eliteauto wrote:Daran, based on what you typed there, I want you to juxtapose that with:
1) the specs and capabilities (or limitations) of the machines handed out
2) the curriculum for IT in secondary schools currently
3) the availability of internet (and it's speeds) in both the school environment and homes esp in at risk communities

Now tell me what empirical evidence you have of real tangible successes of the programme, bear in mind I support the programme but are we really seeing results or are we dealing in theory?

Daran wrote:You guys really misunderstand the intentions of a programme like this. I haven't seen the UWI study....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 13th, 2015, 2:20 pm

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 13th, 2015, 2:25 pm

well vote nah Duane!

Postby rfari » August 13th, 2015, 2:31 pm

i eh vote ida. still waiting on a box drain contract

Untitled.jpg
Untitled.jpg (66.02 KiB) Viewed 2653 times

Postby K74T » August 13th, 2015, 2:34 pm

WTF :| :| :|

Postby K74T » August 13th, 2015, 2:42 pm

I voted but didn't know that you could change your vote. Cool.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 13th, 2015, 2:44 pm

me'em vote neither nah

Screen Shot 2015-08-13 at 2.43.23 PM.png
Screen Shot 2015-08-13 at 2.43.23 PM.png (28.42 KiB) Viewed 2463 times

Postby Redman » August 13th, 2015, 2:48 pm

You guys really misunderstand the intentions of a programme like this. I haven't seen the UWI study

Its very hard to take you seriously when you admit you disagree with something without reading it.

Secondly, studying effect A on an exam, is statistically very very difficult given the number of varying conditions involved....I highly doubt UWI's scholars have the statistical knowledge to really understand this, (most scientists lack this as well when making conclusions).

Well its 5 years the program start...and there is assessment at the school level...they call them fakin TESTS.

Can you state what the KPIs for the program are....do you know??

Are you implying that the Laptop program was executed without the mechanism to measure the impact???

If not show me where I can find them please...Cuz I voted for these fcukers because they said they will do things differently to the previous govt...accountability and transparency.

I cant believe that they spent 100s of millions and cant tell the country how it impacted the children...

Say it aint so.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 13th, 2015, 2:57 pm

Bezman wrote:well vote nah Duane!
I did. I took the screenshot from the admin panel

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 13th, 2015, 3:00 pm

Redman wrote:...Cuz I voted for these fcukers because they said they will do things differently to the previous govt...accountability and transparency.

I cant believe that they spent 100s of millions and cant tell the country how it impacted the children...

Say it aint so.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 13th, 2015, 3:01 pm

Bezman wrote:well vote nah Duane!
I did. I took the screenshot from the admin panel

** logs into admin panel to change Duane's vote **

Postby dougla_boy » August 13th, 2015, 3:03 pm

UML wrote:
1439488895224.jpg

La Horquetta wants Jairam Seemungal!!!!!

Unity with Jairam & the PPG!!!!!

LOLOL...u really feel dem wah he???

Postby dougla_boy » August 13th, 2015, 3:04 pm

Bezman wrote:
Redman wrote:...Cuz I voted for these fcukers because they said they will do things differently to the previous govt...accountability and transparency.

Say it aint so.

THIS! :twisted:

Postby rfari » August 13th, 2015, 3:11 pm

How duane songin like he vote UNC so?

Postby RASC » August 13th, 2015, 3:42 pm

This forum is clearly a UNC slanted one.
However look for victim #1&2 to come barging in here that they're being sidelined and marginalised by the powers that be...

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 13th, 2015, 4:21 pm

True I hear some men on this forum say they never voting for PNM yet they swear they are not sheep. For me once I think a party deserve to go I voting them out.

Not planning to consider it a voting in for the party I vote for since you never really know what you going to get.

Imagine I vote Anil in the last election!

Postby Redman » August 13th, 2015, 4:26 pm

Daran wrote:
Typical third world thinkers..

At least we read something BEFORE we criticize it.

Daran....how much of them study yuh post up you actually saw beyond the title?
Last edited by Redman on August 13th, 2015, 4:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby desifemlove » August 13th, 2015, 4:29 pm

Daran wrote:Typical third world thinkers.....have you all never really examined Digital Inclusion and the Digital Divide? Something as simple as giving laptops and internet (this is sadly behind) bridges a socioeconomic gap that can leave behind not just the poor, but the entire country as we become internationally less competitive.

But don't listen to me:
UN Secretary General Kofi Annan has pointed out that communication and the access to communication technologies are just like social security fundamental human rights and that the digital divide is a pressing humanitarian issue: “Three days from now, the world’s population will pass the six billion mark. Five out of those six billion live in developing countries. For many of them, the great scientific and technical achievements of our era might as well be taking place on another planet. (…) The capacity to receive, download and share information through electronic networks, the freedom to communicate freely across national boundaries – these must become realities for all people. (…) These people lack many things: jobs, shelter, food, health care and drinkable water. Today, being cut off from basic telecommunications services is a hardship almost as acute as these other deprivations, and may indeed reduce the chances of finding remedies to them.” (Annan, 1999).

Understanding the potential economic benefits of digital inclusion

Improved education and employment outcomes, for example as individuals enhance their qualifications and this improves their earnings and/or their probability of finding employment;

Improved health and well being outcomes, for example through access to improved health information and health services;

Efficiency savings for public service providers enabled by greater use of online information and transactional services; and

Potential benefits for consumers able to purchase a wider range of products at lower prices. We have assessed the relevant direct and indirect benefits and how they impact on GDP and broader measures of economic welfare. We have also noted the wider effects on other areas of the economy including the social, health and environmental impacts.

Education, skills and employment benefits We have considered the potential education, skills and employment benefits for digitally excluded children and adults.

Children
There is a large body of evidence that suggests that home access to a computer and the internet can have a positive impact on children’s educational achievements. This has already been recognised in the development of the Home Access Programme (HAP). Using the same evidence, we estimate that the potential economic impact of home access to a computer and the internet to the 1.6 million children in digitally excluded households. If all these children had access to a computer and the internet at home, it could enhance their potential lifetime earnings by over £10.8 billion depending on how it affects their academic performance, especially at GCSE level.
UNC's plan means well. But in ANY ICT project, there needs to be maintenance. What about deprecated models? or software upgrades? or losses/thefts? Internet penetration is just one form of network readiness, and considering laptops cost $1000, UNC's plan won't go far. this may sound very far-fetched, but I believe it's true, very few people in T&T CANNOT afford a $1000 laptop...even in poor areas like Beetham, country in Tabaquite, etc.

Postby desifemlove » August 13th, 2015, 4:32 pm

RASC wrote:If its not a safe UNC seat, there's no way this govt is winning it.

St. Joseph included?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 13th, 2015, 8:08 pm

LOL well look what we have here.

This for real? last radio station I would expect to see him on after what he say about them.

I missed the program this evening, he gone back PNM or what?

Postby rfari » August 13th, 2015, 8:48 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:LOL well look what we have here.

This for real? last radio station I would expect to see him on after what he say about them.

ED, I always see u as a smarter fella than the rest of dem UNC fellas. U have rell intellectual capacity but you does rell discounting it when you actually listening to fellas like gladiator that have very little to say on anything. Quality ED

Postby bluefete » August 13th, 2015, 9:22 pm

I miss Pioneer this rounds.

Postby desifemlove » August 13th, 2015, 9:49 pm

Fazeer gettin licks......... and who says Dr. Sagewan-Ali is biased? http://www.tv6tnt.com/watch-live

Postby bluefete » August 13th, 2015, 10:00 pm

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 13th, 2015, 10:51 pm

rfari wrote:ED, I always see u as a smarter fella than the rest of dem UNC fellas. U have rell intellectual capacity but you does rell discounting it when you actually listening to fellas like gladiator that have very little to say on anything. Quality ED

Nah I realized recently he is ah supper singer, he retire after 2010 when manning did handle him nice, I hear was close to a million dollars. So he just saying what he paid to say, nonetheless his programs does be entertaining I will give him that. Does also get stale quick when he run out of stuff and start repeating the same.

Infact it was so entertaining they fire him from power 102 But this one surprised me quite a lot never expected him to be on 91.9 fm probably a strategy to reduce support for Rowley since 91.9 is the number 1 PNM station. Who knows might be either UNC or Manning Faction of the PNM paying for that.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on August 13th, 2015, 11:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 13th, 2015, 11:14 pm

Found this on facebook

Anyone knows where the other segments are? Rowley said its going from Toco to Sando?

I so sick of muffler bearings who does call in radio stations and jump on every opportunity to discredit this rapid rail idea. I swear men like "bamboo" if we listened to them, man would never build a rocket. Or hell a automobile.

Postby The_Honourable » August 13th, 2015, 11:54 pm

A railway in Trinidad is needed for sure. The question is if the Rapid Rail is too much for our country? or do we need some form of "light rail" instead?

bluefete wrote:I miss Pioneer this rounds.

That guy entertains me... where is he?

desifemlove wrote:Fazeer gettin licks......... and who says Dr. Sagewan-Ali is biased? http://www.tv6tnt.com/watch-live

What happened?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 14th, 2015, 12:00 am

I have not seen pioneer in a long time yes.

I studying ah 20 minute trip to toco beach for me. hmmm but on a world map if you compare the size of Trinidad to other Caribbean Islands we are pretty big. I think for this reason a rapid rail would do well. The other question is if anybody would actually build this thing or if it go end up like many other projects abandoned and money gone and only covering a small part of Trinidad.

Then union and workers striking, is a next issue. All of these things sound nice in theory but that's about it. Its just sickening to hear illiterate people who keep discrediting the idea of it, they give the UNC more of a reason not to even consider this thing. When the idiots are supposed to be demanding something like this regardless of the government in power.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » August 14th, 2015, 8:39 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:LOL well look what we have here.

kjaglal76v2 wrote:Gladiator hadda be the biggest supper singer in the country, don't trust that porch monkey one bit, last election he was PNM (after receiving close to 1mill from them)

Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk

i said that early last month, this guy so predictable.

closer to the elections he's gonna switch right back to supporting the PNM 100%, jus wait for it

Postby Redman » August 14th, 2015, 8:47 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Found this on facebook

Anyone knows where the other segments are? Rowley said its going from Toco to Sando?

I so sick of muffler bearings who does call in radio stations and jump on every opportunity to discredit this rapid rail idea. I swear men like "bamboo" if we listened to them, man would never build a rocket. Or hell a automobile.

We need a policy document....What direction are we going in ?

If the goal is to decentralize away from POS....and with static population growth ....what is the need to increase the volume capacity into POS...?
When POS seems AT capacity??

And keep the UNC/PNM out of this.