Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 4th, 2024, 7:03 am

The usual
IMG-20240104-WA0138.jpg

AlphaMan

Re: The stolen vehicles thread!!!!

Postby AlphaMan » January 4th, 2024, 4:36 pm

People don't have anti theft measures anymore?

Postby pugboy » January 4th, 2024, 4:44 pm

newer cars have to be carjacked

AlphaMan wrote:People don't have anti theft measures anymore?

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » January 4th, 2024, 4:48 pm

pugboy wrote:newer cars have to be carjacked

Is this an inside job by workers in insurance companies?
New cars gonna be covered by insurance so who cares if it's stolen right? :lol:

Postby maj. tom » January 4th, 2024, 5:00 pm

The insurance rates on certain models of vehicles always go up when they're the target of large scale thefts.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 4th, 2024, 11:21 pm

Taken from the Barataria area
IMG-20240104-WA0669.jpg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 6th, 2024, 7:35 am

Taken in the chaguanas area
IMG-20240106-WA0051.jpg

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 6th, 2024, 8:08 am

Waaays boi men stealing ole B15 now? Them not easy at all.

Postby pugboy » January 6th, 2024, 9:24 am

parts hard to get
they not stealing that to use for home invasion

Postby redmanjp » January 6th, 2024, 1:32 pm

newer cars seem to do away with alarms that used to be in cars in the late 90s/early 2000s. i considering putting in one for my car which is in the road right now - seeing ppl tiefing battery in the space of 20 seconds or less.

Postby bluefete » January 6th, 2024, 1:36 pm

redmanjp wrote:

newer cars seem to do away with alarms that used to be in cars in the late 90s/early 2000s. i considering putting in one for my car which is in the road right now - seeing ppl tiefing battery in the space of 20 seconds or less.

Some do have them but the alarm only trips if you break a window or something. If you open the door normally, the alarm does not trip at all.

Postby pugboy » January 6th, 2024, 1:39 pm

alarms dont help if you are carjacked
need a facial recoginition system so it will shutdown when the bandit drives off

bluefete wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

Some do have them but the alarm only trips if you break a window or something. If you open the door normally, the alarm does not trip at all.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 6th, 2024, 1:44 pm

Y'all don't have kill switches in your cars? :shock:

Postby redmanjp » January 6th, 2024, 1:57 pm

DMan7 wrote:Y'all don't have kill switches in your cars? :shock:

i have gps. not sure how a kill switch would work in hybrids

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » January 6th, 2024, 7:31 pm

redmanjp wrote:

i have gps. not sure how a kill switch would work in hybrids

How much is that gps package per year?
Looking to install one.
Any recommendations for gps or kill switch?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 6th, 2024, 7:33 pm

You concerned that your BMW or Lexus gone get stolen?

Postby pugboy » January 6th, 2024, 8:52 pm

how and when you activating kill switch?

Postby adnj » January 6th, 2024, 9:20 pm

pugboy wrote:how and when you activating kill switch?

Postby pugboy » January 6th, 2024, 9:26 pm

any details on this ?
we need this badly in this country

adnj wrote:
pugboy wrote:how and when you activating kill switch?

Postby adnj » January 6th, 2024, 10:03 pm

Either one is effective.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 6th, 2024, 10:04 pm

Go by your local car electrician they will install a kill switch for you. Turn the switch on when you leaving your car, Nobody will be able to move it unless they know where your switch is.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 7th, 2024, 6:22 am

Simple gas lock off or killing the current to the brain works well. Easy $100. Not sure how that would work on hybrids though.

I have regular GPS that I monitor on my own. Would rely on a padna to respond if things go south

Postby adnj » January 7th, 2024, 8:01 am

On HEVs and EVs, interrupt the power supply contactor ground circuit.

Postby pugboy » January 7th, 2024, 9:02 am

kill switch and gas locks work for statically parked cars
but say as you jump in car and start at a mall you get car jacked, what do you do after handing over keys to car already started ?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 7th, 2024, 9:48 am

^ Mind your surroundings nah. Don't be foolish.

Postby maj. tom » January 7th, 2024, 11:06 am

You can't put a kill switch in a vehicle for when it's already in motion. In fact it probably illegal to have a device to deliberately kill the engine/electronics of a modern vehicle in motion with a person inside it. It will lose control from brakes to power steering and cause a serious accident involving innocent 3rd party people. And the liability of that falls on? That's why there are starter kill switches and not the latter.

There is nothing you can do if you get hijacked other than police/GPS recovery services + insurance.