Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby pugboy » December 30th, 2021, 3:30 pm

so they only increase 9% instead of 20%

Postby Dizzy28 » December 30th, 2021, 3:47 pm

Kiss raises prices more often than small one location bakeries. Kiss who buys flour by the 40' tanker load ah.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 30th, 2021, 3:51 pm

Current KISS bread price is $12.75 with a 9% increase the new cost of KISS bread will be $13.89

Postby hover11 » December 30th, 2021, 5:57 pm

Trinis only have mouth yes, I remember when this same company announced a price increase not too long ago and everyone said they not supporting again, fast forward to today can't find a loaf on the shelf :S

Postby Rovin » December 30th, 2021, 6:27 pm

allyuh eh notice gyro is $40, i recently noticed d price on d side of d gyro van by medford

i eh buy that maybe 2yrs or more so if it had raise to that level a while ago then my bad, then d special 1s like bad habit etc is 45-50, i find this "street food" price getting a lil too hot now

also a lil while now no more $20 burger again, 25 & 30+ ...

Postby nemisis » December 30th, 2021, 7:44 pm

bluefete wrote:Good thing I do not buy KISS bread / products.

So they increased some of their prices in September and now increasing all of their prices in January.

Good going.
I noticed smaller bakeries raise their price a week or 2 after kiss instead on enjoying the increase in sales volumes

Postby hover11 » December 30th, 2021, 7:48 pm

I guess that VAT removal money on some items going somewhere else, there is very little the government can do when it comes to food and price controls in regard to such

Postby De Dragon » December 30th, 2021, 7:59 pm

Rovin wrote:flour takes out freshness, slime, odors - anyhow u want to say\describe it ... google it

dem yungstrs eh go kno about dem ole trix bai.
& flour works exceptionally well on wild meat, especially guana & manicou

Also the acidity of lime tends to toughen the meat

Postby pugboy » December 30th, 2021, 8:26 pm

what is this bad habit gyro ?

apart from a roti, you would be hard pressed to find any meal sized street fast food under $30

Rovin wrote:allyuh eh notice gyro is $40, i recently noticed d price on d side of d gyro van by medford

i eh buy that maybe 2yrs or more so if it had raise to that level a while ago then my bad, then d special 1s like bad habit etc is 45-50, i find this "street food" price getting a lil too hot now

Postby 88sins » December 30th, 2021, 8:26 pm

And change the taste, and texture, and color too

Postby Chimera » December 30th, 2021, 8:28 pm

pugboy wrote:what is this bad habit gyro ?

apart from a roti, you would be hard pressed to find any meal sized street fast food under $30

Rovin wrote:allyuh eh notice gyro is $40, i recently noticed d price on d side of d gyro van by medford

Bad habit is when they fry up the meat with cheese and onions green pepper pineapple egg and sauces etc

Postby pugboy » December 30th, 2021, 9:02 pm

exactly like them chinese restaurant when they say something is “hong kong” style
except no cheese

Postby De Dragon » December 31st, 2021, 12:24 am

For that $10, you could get 2 pounds of fig, or the fig/apple/grape/mango combo that some fruit vendors sell.

Postby timelapse » December 31st, 2021, 6:02 am

De Dragon wrote:For that $10, you could get 2 pounds of fig, or the fig/apple/grape/mango combo that some fruit vendors sell.
There lies the problem.
Since covid, wife and I cooking at home.I don't feel for outside food any more, because home food tasting better.
Lots of money saved from unnecessarily marked up outside food.
But there are people that will run down outside food no matter what the price is.
Nothing will come out of this price increase.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 31st, 2021, 6:23 am

Took covid for you to start cooking home^?. Better late than never!

My only question(which we may already know the answer). When shipping and porr activities "nornalize"......prices going back to how it was???

Guess thats a no no

Postby De Dragon » December 31st, 2021, 7:15 am

timelapse wrote:
De Dragon wrote:For that $10, you could get 2 pounds of fig, or the fig/apple/grape/mango combo that some fruit vendors sell.
There lies the problem.
Since covid, wife and I cooking at home.I don't feel for outside food any more, because home food tasting better.
But there are people that will run down outside food no matter what the price is.

I meant as an alternative to doubles.

Postby timelapse » December 31st, 2021, 7:27 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Took covid for you to start cooking home^?. Better late than never!

My only question(which we may already know the answer). When shipping and porr activities "nornalize"......prices going back to how it was???

Guess thats a no no
We used to cook quite a lot before covid.
Both my wife and I work and there are just some days you find it difficult to cook, especially how traffic is when you working north side.Buying lunch or dinner was the easy option , as there are a lot of food places around where my wife and I work.

Since work from home, however, home cooking has improved greatly.I get to use my grill a whole lot more, wife has enough time to prep stuff,bake bread,etc.

The few times we bought food outside after lockdown eased up, food tasted bland, sometimes plain awful.I'm thinking to myself why tf do people run down these things outside.
I'm sure that most people can make stuff better than outside,and at fractions of the cost.
Especially with places like TGI and the like.The stuff they produce is not difficult at all.

Postby pugboy » December 31st, 2021, 7:32 am

doubles for breakfast is a drug just like kfc is

Postby hover11 » December 31st, 2021, 7:32 am

pugboy wrote:doubles for breakfast is a drug just like kfc is
Why pay more to eat something that's already unhealthy to begin with

Postby Dave » December 31st, 2021, 8:16 am

Many have grown to the taste of unhealthy. Our home made doubles is excellent but doesn't taste anything like a bought unit.
I bake all my fries and again I enjoy as I know it hasn't got anything unhealthy in it.
Even when stuff is fried the oil is vegetable oil so once again the taste of the cheaper and used oils isn't there to give it the bought taste.
I forget the taste when the greater good is being fulfilled.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 31st, 2021, 8:40 am

Dave wrote:Many have grown to the taste of unhealthy. Our home made doubles is excellent but doesn't taste anything like a bought unit.
I bake all my fries and again I enjoy as I know it hasn't got anything unhealthy in it.
Even when stuff is fried the oil is vegetable oil so once again the taste of the cheaper and used oils isn't there to give it the bought taste.

Supposedly a not so secret "secret" is that Doubles men put sugar in the channa and its already added in making the bara dough as well.

Sugar is pretty addictive stuff.

Postby Dave » December 31st, 2021, 8:43 am

It was to me so thanks for sharing. Even more reason to avoid. Hidden sugars is not helping the situation.

Postby hover11 » December 31st, 2021, 8:44 am

Dave wrote:Many have grown to the taste of unhealthy. Our home made doubles is excellent but doesn't taste anything like a bought unit.

Supposedly a not so secret "secret" is that Doubles men put sugar in the channa and its already added in making the bara dough as well.

Sugar is pretty addictive stuff.
Then we wonder why diabetes is a common affliction to most

Postby aaron17 » December 31st, 2021, 8:47 am

Where i can get rye bread in tnt?

Postby pugboy » December 31st, 2021, 8:47 am

lack of exercise is equally a contributor to diabetes
too many couch potatoes

Postby 88sins » December 31st, 2021, 11:11 am

timelapse wrote:
There lies the problem.

Boi, if you only kno.
Plenty of the ones in the younger generation in the 13-28 demographic, have no idea how to cook, and not interested in learning either. Serious talk, no joke. They happy to spend their money buying fast food. When the first set of lockdowns happened, they started eating what family and friends who could cook prepared, and is only then they discovered that preparing your own food is something they should know.

I have a younger bredren does lime by me, he in his 30's, and is only last year he start trying a thing in d kitchen, cuz I tell him, you cyah call yourself a man when you cyah even feed yuhself and if somebody else eh cook so you could eat you go starve.
A year and change later, now my boi could hold his own. He learned some things from me, some things from his grandmother, and watching a few local cooking channels.

Youths out here different

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 31st, 2021, 11:13 am

Nobody doh need to teach yuh how to cook, it have plenty youtube channels even local Trinidadian local youtube channels showing you how to make classical Trini foods. Once u have the ingredients yuh good to go.

Postby Rovin » December 31st, 2021, 12:09 pm

DMan7 wrote:Nobody doh need to teach yuh how to cook, it have plenty youtube channels even local Trinidadian local youtube channels showing you how to make classical Trini foods. Once u have the ingredients yuh good to go.

full 100 ^^^

at risk of sounding ole its jes d times we living in, even d females dunno how to cook cause their mothers too dunno, some have d attitude cause that are female that doh mean they must cook - have book sense & no common life sense ... basic life lessons : cook, clean, laundry

i began frying up meh lil egg, fry aloo & other small stuff since primary school days & started cutting up chicken & meat shortly after ..... have some big donkeys out here cant even cut up a chicken or wash meat, their parents to blame alot for that too, have them like king\queens turning into adults who doh even move their plates or wash dishes they jes eat\drink from or put their dutty clothes by d machine to wash or ever use a broom

child obesity is a serious thing too, have a primary school right opposite my store & u see some chubby kids, parents spoiling them with fast food, poor kiddies looking like tanties & uncles already ...

agent007

Postby agent007 » December 31st, 2021, 12:25 pm

I have a confession to make. First time I purchased a gyro after the lock down, I gave $100. to the guy for 2 lamb and he gave me back $20. In change. I was like yuh forget the $10. and he says no, it's $40. Per gyro now.

The end...that was my last.

Postby Chimera » December 31st, 2021, 12:31 pm

Goat/lamb gone up like he'll.
It's all kinda 60 or 70 for a good goat roti