New Trinidad & Tobago $ money polymer notes

Re: New $100 bill revealed

Postby maj. tom » December 15th, 2019, 11:44 am

The new polymer $100 is impossible to duplicate because of four major features on the new note, said Gareth Evans, regional manager for De La Rue. He said, “One thing that makes it more difficult is the clear window feature and the polymer. The polymer is more secure, and for that reason we want the public to focus on the clear window on the bill.
The window is on the top-left hand corner of the bill and can be seen from both sides, he said.

4 features of new $100 bill

The feel: Polymer notes feel smother than paper

* Run your fingers at the bottom corner of the note to feel the X or a cross. There are a series of dots embossed on the reverse of the note which allows the visually impaired and the blind to recognise the denomination they are holding.

Look: When you hold the note up to the light you will see:

* A clear window can be seen from the front and the back of the note

* The number 100 which is in the blue print is not visible when the note is flat.

Tilt – As you move the note around you will see:

* Areas with a shimmering gold ink. The gold shimmering ink is located over the clear window.

Check – Using an ultra-violet (UV) light and a magnifier

* If you look at the note under UV light you will see that some areas of the note glow

* If you look at the note under magnification, some areas that appear as plain print are in fact very small letters and numbers
https://newsday.co.tt/2019/12/12/bankno ... duplicate/

Postby matr1x » December 15th, 2019, 12:08 pm

My point was, we treating venes better than citizens. Time to give the venes the option: go back warm....or cold

Farmers and the breadbasket of Trinidad met with constant racism.

assassin

Postby assassin » December 15th, 2019, 12:28 pm

pugboy wrote:how they copying the clear plastic window ?
That seems to be a good security feature.
In the pic posted, the fake doesn't have the window at the top left so u not seeing the red cloth background

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 15th, 2019, 12:58 pm

$749m in dirty money
FIU reports hike in laundering before new blue notes

An estimated $749 million in "dirty money" got laundered as "clean currency" in the months leading up to Government and the Central Bank's changeover of $100 bills to the difficult-to-duplicate polymer notes.

The Financial Intelligence Unit (FIU) reports that 429 transactions, amounting to $749,024,557, is the highest recorded number of money laundering cases in the last three years, and occurred between July and September.

In an emailed response to questions from Sunday Newsday, acting head of FIU, Nigel Stoddard said there was an increase in money laundering activities in the third quarter of this year compared to the same period in 2018. Last year, there were 237 reports and 247 in 2017. The second highest figure was 300 reports in the last quarter of 2018; the figure was 179 in 2017.

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/12/15/749m-in-dirty-money/

Postby maj. tom » December 15th, 2019, 1:06 pm

umm... so who did it and how they knew the money was going to be changed? Nobody in the country knew about the change.

yeah.. but let's pretend that none of us know what going on and who would have had insider access to such secret top level national security information as far before as July 2019. Let's all just pretend.

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 15th, 2019, 1:35 pm

maj. tom wrote:umm... so who did it and how they knew the money was going to be changed? Nobody in the country knew about the change.

yeah.. but let's pretend that none of us know what going on and who would have had insider access to such secret top level national security information as far before as July 2019. Let's all just pretend.

Suppose this was the trigger for the change?

Postby zoom rader » December 15th, 2019, 1:38 pm

maj. tom wrote:umm... so who did it and how they knew the money was going to be changed? Nobody in the country knew about the change.

They were given ample time to get their house in order.

PNM made sure to tell the big folk to clean up and now they Mamoo for selling pumpkin and bhaji

This goverment is a bunch of crooks controlled by 1% with supporters that are idiots .

It's the same as the weed law, certain folk was given ample time to prepare for bussines a year before the bill.

Postby maj. tom » December 15th, 2019, 1:50 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Suppose this was the trigger for the change?
Would not explain the spike compared to the last 3 years. No reason to suddenly change money laundering habits that had worked for a long time to suddenly attract authorities with a drastic increase.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » December 15th, 2019, 1:56 pm

They print it on paper, like they tried with the polymer 50.

Postby redmanjp » December 15th, 2019, 4:28 pm

viedcht wrote:They print it on paper, like they tried with the polymer 50.

Hard to do that. One look at that and you would see something wrong.

Postby pugboy » December 15th, 2019, 4:48 pm

not if you living out of the way and haven’t seen a new one yet

redmanjp wrote:
viedcht wrote:They print it on paper, like they tried with the polymer 50.

Hard to do that. One look at that and you would see something wrong.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 15th, 2019, 5:01 pm

How do they know it's Laundered money? Was anyone arrested and charged?
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:$749m in dirty money

An estimated $749 million in "dirty money" got laundered as "clean currency" in the months leading up to Government and the Central Bank's changeover of $100 bills to the difficult-to-duplicate polymer notes.

The Financial Intelligence Unit (FIU) reports that 429 transactions, amounting to $749,024,557, is the highest recorded number of money laundering cases in the last three years, and occurred between July and September.

In an emailed response to questions from Sunday Newsday, acting head of FIU, Nigel Stoddard said there was an increase in money laundering activities in the third quarter of this year compared to the same period in 2018. Last year, there were 237 reports and 247 in 2017. The second highest figure was 300 reports in the last quarter of 2018; the figure was 179 in 2017.

Postby zoom rader » December 15th, 2019, 5:07 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:How do they know it's Laundered money? Was anyone arrested and charged?

No source of funds I guess

Dem had to be pumpkin and bhaji farmers

rebound

Postby rebound » December 15th, 2019, 5:12 pm

Doh forget Pholourie and cutting grass, just giving some assistance.
Dizzy28 wrote:How do they know it's Laundered money? Was anyone arrested and charged?

Postby toyolink » December 15th, 2019, 5:19 pm

The determination of money being dirty has to be as a consequence of proof or evidence.
Certainly, transactions may be suspicious and questions are to be asked about where the funds were derived
and if the depositor can provide a reason and there is no other evidence to effectively diminish the validity of the explanation, it is difficult to successfully do much.
Presently, the levels and frequency of deposits would far exceed what was normal and understandably so.
What, is the state going to investigate all unusual deposits?
The state wasn't doing a great job when suspicious deposits were low in number for lack of resources and proper systems are we to believe that something magical has taken place.

Postby zoom rader » December 15th, 2019, 5:21 pm

rebound wrote:Doh forget Pholourie and cutting grass, just giving some assistance.

Folks just dont understand how racist impsbert and Jenny prime-ass was when they made these statements.

This was an attack on indo folk who normally fit these proffesions.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 15th, 2019, 6:38 pm

We might as well save all the salaries and costs we spend on that FIU when no one gets arrested charged and prosecuted for financial crimes.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 15th, 2019, 7:02 pm

So all that money laundering and not 1 person arrested or charged

Postby zoom rader » December 15th, 2019, 7:06 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:So all that money laundering and not 1 person arrested or charged
A PNM pappy show .

Only guilable folk believe anything PNM say or have done

Postby hydroep » December 15th, 2019, 7:07 pm

When yuh ask for details they does hit yuh "That we cannot discuss, it's a matter of National Security". Dunno to what extent the Freedom of Information Act covers such matters...:|

Postby sMASH » December 15th, 2019, 7:14 pm

the most they would uncover is wide spread tax evasion. but the fact they not accepting the funds that 'may' not have been taxed, is silly.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 15th, 2019, 8:06 pm

Logic time, which I know allyhh hate....the FIU said that x amount of millions was laundered in some months leading up to the exchange...this means that the govt would have passed the info to the big boys that this was going to happen which led to men trying to clean up house...only person suffering is the avg joe who hadda line up like some cu$%@ and run the risk of being robbed...then stuarty have the balls to say they crime fighting.....my lord

Postby paid_influencer » December 15th, 2019, 8:28 pm

now that we on the tail end of the demonetization, I feeling better. i see the new notes being circulated, even at the grocery, so there is light at the end of the tunnel. if you have old hundreds, spend them all this week. there are new ones at the ATM and your bank account should be good now with the deposits.

spend all your old hundreds this week. i personally bought a very nice pillow set to help me sleep at night.

Postby pugboy » December 15th, 2019, 8:32 pm

yup and the short man gonna day xmas sales this year were best ever
economy booming

paid_influencer wrote:now that we on the tail end of the demonetization, I feeling better. i see the new notes being circulated, even at the grocery, so there is light at the end of the tunnel. if you have old hundreds, spend them all this week. there are new ones at the ATM and your bank account should be good now with the deposits.

spend all your old hundreds this week. i personally bought a very nice pillow set to help me sleep at night.

Postby zoom rader » December 15th, 2019, 8:47 pm

pugboy wrote:yup and the short man gonna day xmas sales this year were best ever
economy booming

paid_influencer wrote:now that we on the tail end of the demonetization, I feeling better. i see the new notes being circulated, even at the grocery, so there is light at the end of the tunnel. if you have old hundreds, spend them all this week. there are new ones at the ATM and your bank account should be good now with the deposits.

These fvck heads PNM ppl will believe anything these clowns tell dem

Postby nervewrecker » December 15th, 2019, 9:11 pm

Have some different $50's out here?Image

Postby maj. tom » December 15th, 2019, 9:28 pm

https://www.central-bank.org.tt/sites/d ... 2017_1.pdf

Whoever posted that, send them that link. It's easy to determine if it's counterfeit according to the published security features.
The telling features are the transparent window and the tilt holograms.
By now polymer counterfeits of the $50 would be showing up in circulation, but not in large numbers like older type lint bills.

Postby nervewrecker » December 15th, 2019, 9:41 pm

All 4 notes are in my possession.
All 4 look legit wrt the literature posted.
All 4 are 2014 notes.
2 have shorter stripes on the left hand side and the other 2 look like what is posted online as the specimen.
So is there something I am missing?
No way someone counterfeit this and missed that detail. Image

Black Scorpion

Postby Black Scorpion » December 15th, 2019, 9:54 pm

Also have 50s where the serial is one size font and some people say they are fake

Postby nervewrecker » December 15th, 2019, 9:57 pm

https://www.ebay.com/itm/TRINIDAD-50-Do ... 3746075538

Saw this one selling on ebay and it looks like mines.

This going to open up a can of worms with people paranoid out here.

Thankfully three are just notes I had simply put away.