Local Government Elections 2019 Thread

Re: Local Government Elections 2019 Thread

Postby zoom rader » December 3rd, 2019, 9:05 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
mrtrini45 wrote:The PNM donkey logic.....
1) I had control of 8 corporations now I have 7. WE WIN
2) Sando city corp was all mines, I now loss 3 seats. But WE WIN.
3) I held enterprise chag for 21 years. I lost it to a first time UNC candidate, but WE WIN
4) I had 1 seat in Princess town Corp. I lost it, Ptown is all yellow now. But WE WIN
5) UNC had four seats in Tunapuna they now have six ..... but WE WIN
7) I had two seats in Mayaro. I lost one to the UNC and only held on to the other one by 151 votes.
But WE WIN

the PNM did win (they got more seats), but by a smaller margin this time around.
Bro ,

Try and understand that winning more seats in total means jack 5hit in LE

What matters is who controls each council

Postby The_Honourable » December 3rd, 2019, 9:26 pm

Postby zoom rader » December 3rd, 2019, 9:39 pm

MSJ serves no purpose.

PNM will probably fund them for GE to split votes

2ndchance

Postby 2ndchance » December 3rd, 2019, 9:58 pm

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/ebc-voter-turnout-34-unc-wins-popular-vote-6.2.1000472.c0ea472ffb

EBC: Voter turnout 34%, UNC wins popular vote

The Elec­tion and Bound­aries Com­mis­sion (EBC) says the vot­er turnout in Mon­day's Lo­cal Gov­ern­ment Elec­tions was 34.49 per cent of the vot­ing pop­u­la­tion.

This rep­re­sents a mi­nor in­crease over the turnout in the 2016 Lo­cal Gov­ern­ment elec­tions, which was 34.34 per cent.

In a state­ment is­sued Tues­day night, the EBC said that of an elec­torate of 1,079,976 in the 139 elec­toral dis­tricts in Trinidad, to­tal votes cast were 372,503.

The Unit­ed Na­tion­al Con­gress re­ceived the pop­u­lar vote with 202,584 votes or 54.38% of the to­tal votes cast.

The break­down of votes by po­lit­i­cal par­ty is as fol­lows:

UNC: 202,584 (54.38%)

PNM: 161,962 (43.48%)

MSJ: 2,635 (0.71%)

PPM: 1,314 (0.35%)

COP: 972 (0.26%)

MND: 404 (0.11%)

NTP: 11 (0.003%)

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 3rd, 2019, 10:08 pm

The_Honourable wrote:"Nobody" won since it's a tie but it is very hard to ignore that UNC made significant gains this rounds.

LOL@pnm - well yuh see, if we did have the money we coulda do better... but kamla teef everything.
LE is not a contest for who wins overall.

It's who controls the individual council's.

Yup, which is why independent councillors can't do sheit in a party controlled council.

Postby zoom rader » December 3rd, 2019, 10:17 pm

All that PNM controls are the Crime hot spots and the most latrines.

As the number of latrines lessen the non PNM vote takes effect

Postby Dizzy28 » December 4th, 2019, 12:50 am

You enter lge to win corporations not seats.
paid_influencer wrote:
mrtrini45 wrote:The PNM donkey logic.....
1) I had control of 8 corporations now I have 7. WE WIN
2) Sando city corp was all mines, I now loss 3 seats. But WE WIN.
3) I held enterprise chag for 21 years. I lost it to a first time UNC candidate, but WE WIN
4) I had 1 seat in Princess town Corp. I lost it, Ptown is all yellow now. But WE WIN
5) UNC had four seats in Tunapuna they now have six ..... but WE WIN
7) I had two seats in Mayaro. I lost one to the UNC and only held on to the other one by 151 votes.
But WE WIN

the PNM did win (they got more seats), but by a smaller margin this time around.

Postby maj. tom » December 4th, 2019, 4:28 am

The UNC received 202,584 votes or 54.38 per cent to capture seven regional corporations, including wresting Sangre Grande from the People's National Movement (PNM).

On Monday, the PNM won 161,962 votes or 43.48 per cent as it lost ground although it retained seven corporations.
https://newsday.co.tt/2019/12/03/unc-wi ... -per-cent/

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 4th, 2019, 5:05 am

COP should officially scrap their party...imagine PPM get more votes than them

Postby hydroep » December 4th, 2019, 5:19 am

Crowd doh win elections...:|

Rondon blames Grande loss on poor choices
SHAL­IZA HAS­SANALI

For­mer chair­man of the San­gre Grande Re­gion­al Cor­po­ra­tion (SGRC) Ter­ry Ron­don is blam­ing the Peo­ple’s Na­tion­al Move­ment (PNM) poor choice of (SGRC) can­di­dates for their de­feat at the De­cem­ber 2 polls.

Ron­don be­lieves the bad de­ci­sions by the par­ty gave the Unit­ed Na­tion­al Con­gress (UNC) the edge to wrest con­trol of the SGRC which the PNM won in 2016.

The UNC cap­tured five seats with the PNM win­ning Va­len­cia, San­gre Grande North­east and Va­len­cia East/To­co dis­tricts.

Ex­press­ing dis­ap­point­ment at the re­sults, Ron­don who won the Va­len­cia East/To­co seat against his UNC ri­val Ker­wyn Charles ad­mit­ted that one mis­take the PNM made was not putting the right can­di­dates to fight their op­po­nent.

He said par­ty groups and MPs have to stop bring­ing “their friends and fam­i­ly” to be screened at Bal­isi­er House as can­di­dates.

Ron­don said the minute an in­di­vid­ual is se­lect­ed to con­test an elec­tion they for­get about serv­ing the peo­ple and in­stead fo­cus on their full-time jobs.

“I call on par­ty groups to stop pick­ing your favourites. It’s time the elec­torate se­lect the can­di­date of their choice....some­one they have con­fi­dence in...peo­ple who are com­mit­ted to do­ing the job. The PNM has to go out in the com­mu­ni­ties and find out from the peo­ple who they want rep­re­sent them. This can­not be done at Bal­isi­er House. Let the hi­er­ar­chy of the par­ty send out their scouts and lis­ten to the voice of the peo­ple,” he said.

The PNM, Ron­don said, al­so failed to seek his ap­proval of can­di­dates.

“I nev­er had the op­por­tu­ni­ty to rec­om­mend any­body.”

Ron­don said for an in­cum­bent to lose their seat is an in­dict­ment on their poor per­for­mance and lack of rep­re­sen­ta­tion dur­ing their term in of­fice.

“It means they did not do their home­work in the last three years. We have to do our work by go­ing back to the draw­ing board and see where we went wrong. What is hurt­ing me, San­gre Grande is a PNM town,” Ron­don said.

He in­sist­ed that the PNM should not have been de­feat­ed.

Ques­tioned if the PNM made a grave mis­take by re­s­e­lect­ing some of their 2016 coun­cil­lors to con­test Mon­day’s polls, Ron­don said yes, but stopped short of call­ing names.

He said the par­ty did not lis­ten for which they were now pay­ing a heavy price.

“I will tell it as it is. We have to wake up and smell the cof­fee. My work can­not be go­ing down the drain. I worked re­al­ly hard this elec­tion. I am dis­ap­point­ed, yes.”

Ron­don said he was baf­fled as to how the PNM lost the mar­gin­al San­gre Grande North­west seat which they fought hard to re­tain.

Lead­ing up to the elec­tion, burgess­es in this elec­toral dis­trict ben­e­fit­ted from paving of sev­er­al streets, but it was not enough to woo vot­ers.

The PNM had an­tic­i­pat­ed win­ning six seats in the SGRC based on their strong cam­paign­ing and sup­port base.

“I was look­ing at six or sev­en seats.”

The hype of PNM sup­port­ers in San­gre Grande dur­ing cam­paign­ing, Ron­don said back­fired on them.

“Any­time we lose it is hard. I say it again crowd don’t win elec­tions.”

Ron­don said it is time for the PNM to do some in­tro­spec­tion.

He said he in­tends to raise the se­lec­tion of can­di­dates with Prime Min­is­ter Dr Kei­th Row­ley when next they meet.

“We got to sit down. We have to see where we went wrong and we have to cor­rect it. We have a gen­er­al elec­tion to fight in a cou­ple of months.”

Once the er­rors are cor­rect­ed and the right can­di­date is cho­sen, Ron­don is op­ti­mistic the PNM can bring home vic­to­ry for the To­co/San­gre Grande con­stituen­cy in the 2020 gen­er­al elec­tion.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/rondon-blames-grande-loss-onpoor-choices-6.2.1000431.5ec06b74a5

Postby hydroep » December 4th, 2019, 5:31 am

4 of the 5 recounts have gone to the PNM so it doesn't look as if the results are going to change...

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/four-of-five-recounts-go-to-pnm-6.2.1000434.f97c4e6128

Postby zoom rader » December 4th, 2019, 7:18 am

Elections over time to plan to get rid of the rest of PNM pest and their low life supporters

2ndchance

Postby 2ndchance » December 4th, 2019, 10:20 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:COP should officially scrap their party...imagine PPM get more votes than them

Lol. Like NAR they refuse to disappear quickly. General elections next year, so maybe after that.

From their political leader:
'The COP is not dead'
https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/the-cop-is-not-dead/article_7aca0e9a-1697-11ea-a2b0-c724613ebd78.html

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » December 4th, 2019, 10:22 am

Calm down, calm down.
zoom rader wrote:Elections over time to plan to get rid of the rest of PNM pest and their low life supporters

one eye

Postby one eye » December 4th, 2019, 10:27 am

Yellow curry stains in injun constituencies. I am not surprised. However this does not affect GE.

Postby zoom rader » December 4th, 2019, 10:28 am

one eye wrote:Yellow curry stains in injun constituencies. I am not surprised. However this does not affect GE.
Where in India?

Postby Gladiator » December 4th, 2019, 11:02 am

And Red blood stains of murder in the PNM constituencies...
one eye wrote:Yellow curry stains in injun constituencies. I am not surprised. However this does not affect GE.

Postby The_Honourable » December 4th, 2019, 11:04 am

hydroep wrote:Crowd doh win elections...:|

Rondon blames Grande loss on poor choices
SHAL­IZA HAS­SANALI

For­mer chair­man of the San­gre Grande Re­gion­al Cor­po­ra­tion (SGRC) Ter­ry Ron­don is blam­ing the Peo­ple’s Na­tion­al Move­ment (PNM) poor choice of (SGRC) can­di­dates for their de­feat at the De­cem­ber 2 polls.

Ron­don be­lieves the bad de­ci­sions by the par­ty gave the Unit­ed Na­tion­al Con­gress (UNC) the edge to wrest con­trol of the SGRC which the PNM won in 2016.

The UNC cap­tured five seats with the PNM win­ning Va­len­cia, San­gre Grande North­east and Va­len­cia East/To­co dis­tricts.

Ex­press­ing dis­ap­point­ment at the re­sults, Ron­don who won the Va­len­cia East/To­co seat against his UNC ri­val Ker­wyn Charles ad­mit­ted that one mis­take the PNM made was not putting the right can­di­dates to fight their op­po­nent.

He said par­ty groups and MPs have to stop bring­ing “their friends and fam­i­ly” to be screened at Bal­isi­er House as can­di­dates.

Ron­don said the minute an in­di­vid­ual is se­lect­ed to con­test an elec­tion they for­get about serv­ing the peo­ple and in­stead fo­cus on their full-time jobs.

“I call on par­ty groups to stop pick­ing your favourites. It’s time the elec­torate se­lect the can­di­date of their choice....some­one they have con­fi­dence in...peo­ple who are com­mit­ted to do­ing the job. The PNM has to go out in the com­mu­ni­ties and find out from the peo­ple who they want rep­re­sent them. This can­not be done at Bal­isi­er House. Let the hi­er­ar­chy of the par­ty send out their scouts and lis­ten to the voice of the peo­ple,” he said.

The PNM, Ron­don said, al­so failed to seek his ap­proval of can­di­dates.

“I nev­er had the op­por­tu­ni­ty to rec­om­mend any­body.”

Ron­don said for an in­cum­bent to lose their seat is an in­dict­ment on their poor per­for­mance and lack of rep­re­sen­ta­tion dur­ing their term in of­fice.

“It means they did not do their home­work in the last three years. We have to do our work by go­ing back to the draw­ing board and see where we went wrong. What is hurt­ing me, San­gre Grande is a PNM town,” Ron­don said.

He in­sist­ed that the PNM should not have been de­feat­ed.

Ques­tioned if the PNM made a grave mis­take by re­s­e­lect­ing some of their 2016 coun­cil­lors to con­test Mon­day’s polls, Ron­don said yes, but stopped short of call­ing names.

He said the par­ty did not lis­ten for which they were now pay­ing a heavy price.

“I will tell it as it is. We have to wake up and smell the cof­fee. My work can­not be go­ing down the drain. I worked re­al­ly hard this elec­tion. I am dis­ap­point­ed, yes.”

Ron­don said he was baf­fled as to how the PNM lost the mar­gin­al San­gre Grande North­west seat which they fought hard to re­tain.

Lead­ing up to the elec­tion, burgess­es in this elec­toral dis­trict ben­e­fit­ted from paving of sev­er­al streets, but it was not enough to woo vot­ers.

The PNM had an­tic­i­pat­ed win­ning six seats in the SGRC based on their strong cam­paign­ing and sup­port base.

“I was look­ing at six or sev­en seats.”

The hype of PNM sup­port­ers in San­gre Grande dur­ing cam­paign­ing, Ron­don said back­fired on them.

“Any­time we lose it is hard. I say it again crowd don’t win elec­tions.”

Ron­don said it is time for the PNM to do some in­tro­spec­tion.

He said he in­tends to raise the se­lec­tion of can­di­dates with Prime Min­is­ter Dr Kei­th Row­ley when next they meet.

“We got to sit down. We have to see where we went wrong and we have to cor­rect it. We have a gen­er­al elec­tion to fight in a cou­ple of months.”

Once the er­rors are cor­rect­ed and the right can­di­date is cho­sen, Ron­don is op­ti­mistic the PNM can bring home vic­to­ry for the To­co/San­gre Grande con­stituen­cy in the 2020 gen­er­al elec­tion.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/rondon-blames-grande-loss-onpoor-choices-6.2.1000431.5ec06b74a5

It's well known that the screening committee is a sham as the party hierarchy already knows who they want to put. You can have all the support from the ground as you want, if you not with the inner circle chances of being selected are low. Even if you are selected, most of the time you will be in a corner somewhere with little support from the hierarchy and will only be brought out a year or so before elections to mamaguy the voting public.

If Rodon is correct, PNM figured that the "brand" alone will get them thru even if the candidate has zero to offer. That will work in hotspots like POS but not in others.

Postby sMASH » December 4th, 2019, 11:17 am

zoom rader wrote:MSJ serves no purpose.

split wah votes bai? their own members didnt vote for them. their paying members... well, they may not be financial, seeing as they were fired... sooo...

Postby zoom rader » December 4th, 2019, 11:26 am

sMASH wrote:
zoom rader wrote:MSJ serves no purpose.

split wah votes bai? their own members didnt vote for them. their paying members... well, they may not be financial, seeing as they were fired... sooo...
Well they know they can't ever get a seat agian and PNM only hope is to pay ppl to split votes.

MSJ is dead horse

Postby hydroep » December 4th, 2019, 12:04 pm

MSJ and COP gone thru.

COP lost all credibility by violating its core principles and staying with the Partnership to "eat ah food" when the UNC started playing the arse.

And MSJ — nobody eh go trust them after what play off with Petrotrin.

Both might as well jump in the dustbin from now and save themselves further embarrassment (and deposit money)...:|

Postby Rovin » December 4th, 2019, 3:28 pm

all kinda excuses dey boi ....... :roll:

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/t ... ium=social

The MSJ fails again

The Movement for Social Justice (MSJ) has again failed to make an impression on voters.

All 28 MSJ candidates lost in Monday’s local government election.

And the party attracted a total of 2,635 votes, representing .71 per cent of the total.

Despite the dismal results, MSJ leader David Abdulah remains positive and says the country is ready for change.

In a telephone interview with the Express yesterday, Abdulah said: “What we are trying to do is bring about fundamental change in the country, and that does not happen overnight. We are challenging a very powerful status quo in the society in terms of political culture, and we will continue to do what we have to do.”

Abdulah could not give the exact number of votes his party got, but said some MSJ candidates said that in places where they did not have a single vote before, people are recognising the MSJ as a political party and people are prepared to vote for them.

Abdulah was not pleased with some of the campaigns in the lead-up to the election and described the tactics of his political opponents as “crass and cruel”.

“A lot of intimidation took place in these elections,” he said.

Abdulah pointed out that he heard money was being given out to people to vote a certain way, while others were being threatened with unemployment or loss of their pension if they did not vote for a certain political party.

“There are a lot of things that are happening in the politics of the country, particularly election politics,” he said.

“It is very disturbing. I think we had it for quite some time, but I think it was even more crass and cruel in this local government election.”

He said this type of campaigning not only hurt the MSJ but the democracy of the country, and ultimately determines who forms the government.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 4th, 2019, 3:35 pm

Abdullah and Carolyn have no fcking shame nuh

Postby The_Honourable » December 4th, 2019, 4:01 pm

He bank on that petrotrin vote and fail.

I don't think even 1/2 of the owtu membership vote for abdullah :lol:

Postby Redman » December 4th, 2019, 4:32 pm

hydroep wrote:MSJ and COP gone thru.

COP lost all credibility by violating its core principles and staying with the Partnership to "eat ah food" when the UNC started playing the arse.

And MSJ — nobody eh go trust them after what play off with Petrotrin.

Both might as well jump in the dustbin from now and save themselves further embarrassment (and deposit money)...:|

Why the loss of trust after Petrotrin?

Postby Gladiator » December 5th, 2019, 6:40 am

Interesting... Wasn't proportional representation implemented in LGE some time ago? Or is the EBC just another arm of the PNM
FB_IMG_1575542222337.jpeg

Postby zoom rader » December 5th, 2019, 6:57 am

Gladiator wrote:Interesting... Wasn't proportional representation implemented in LGE some time ago? Or is the EBC just another arm of the PNM FB_IMG_1575542222337.jpeg

Never trust the EBC in anything they are really a Sub PNM group

Postby Dizzy28 » December 5th, 2019, 8:18 am

So now that the election over all these massive potholes everywhere not seeing some love till closer to the GE?

Postby zoom rader » December 5th, 2019, 8:21 am

Dizzy28 wrote:So now that the election over all these massive potholes everywhere not seeing some love till closer to the GE?

Well its back to normal in PNM mob controlled councils, so expect nothing from PNM

Postby pete » December 5th, 2019, 8:52 am

Gladiator wrote:Interesting... Wasn't proportional representation implemented in LGE some time ago? Or is the EBC just another arm of the PNM FB_IMG_1575542222337.jpeg

What does this really mean though? Each councillor in Tunapuna/Piarco has to see about the needs of 5x a many people as the ones in La Brea?