The Trinituner Entrepreneurship/Self Employed/ Side Hustle Thread

Re: Truck Business?

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 8th, 2012, 9:15 am

sti7 wrote:its a good business to get into im into it , but like everything else in this country , once you know the rite people , ull make alot of money with a dump truck .......... a ten wheeler dump is a good truck to make fast $$ with the rite amount of work .
Gd Luck with your investment if u decide to go true with it ...............

Idk na, the kinda price I hearing 10wheeler selling for, I would have suggested starting with a lil reliable ck20, and build up a stockpile. Then organize a small backhoe to load the truck, that way you cater for men who just want a few yards and your truck is small enough to go where the 10wheelers can't.

When the truck eh have work you outside hustling with the backhoe clearing a lil spot, then organizing to drop the material for the ppl to build house, unnastand? Sounds reallll easy reading that here doh and actually doing it.

Gx7

Postby Gx7 » May 8th, 2012, 1:16 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
sti7 wrote:its a good business to get into im into it , but like everything else in this country , once you know the rite people , ull make alot of money with a dump truck .......... a ten wheeler dump is a good truck to make fast $$ with the rite amount of work .
Gd Luck with your investment if u decide to go true with it ...............

Idk na, the kinda price I hearing 10wheeler selling for, I would have suggested starting with a lil reliable ck20, and build up a stockpile. Then organize a small backhoe to load the truck, that way you cater for men who just want a few yards and your truck is small enough to go where the 10wheelers can't.

When the truck eh have work you outside hustling with the backhoe clearing a lil spot, then organizing to drop the material for the ppl to build house, unnastand? Sounds reallll easy reading that here doh and actually doing it.

yea i know how it is i started with a ck20 i buy from dogspray .......and work my way up d ladder ........

but it hav work here and there u jus have to know the rite people , but trucking is not for everyone , u have to be a part time mechanic also lol

but as i said like in every business there are risk factors i have been in this Truck thing 5 years now , and it worked out pretty good for me ........

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 8th, 2012, 1:36 pm

You buy the white ck20 I think it was?

RGF Asset Management

Postby RGF Asset Management » May 8th, 2012, 1:56 pm

I tried it myself in 2007. At the time, it was not difficult at all to get work for the truck. My problem was getting someone reliable to drive the truck for me. In the space of one year, i went through no less than ten drivers. It was a nightmare. Off course this was just a sideline venture for me and i never intended to leave my main business to drive the truck myself so out of frustration, i eventually sold the truck and cut my losses.

Your luck may be different from mine but do not adopt a pie in the sky approach and just assume that everything will fall into place. I am guessing now also that availabilty of work would be considerably different between 2007 and now.

Think it through properly.

Good luck either way

Postby dougla_boy » May 8th, 2012, 2:25 pm

Ted Moseby wrote:Robin, get me my legal pad. It's Pros and Cons Time!!!

Postby brams112 » May 8th, 2012, 6:33 pm

Invest ur money in land or house and land to rent op,if you will drive it yourself and know the runnings you will be fine.If you hire a driver out of the blue then is a pain,those guys will run your truck in the quarries pulling pitrun for the quarry from the pits to the wash plant,make money on your head and still get paid from you killing your truck in the process.
Are you willing to work long hours in sweltering sun and pouring rain,you will benefit in years,not months,once a guy told me truck work nice and easy,this is beacuse he was driving a brand new one,i told him once he gets a double blowout with 10 yards of gravel,then he will see nice work.Thing is dont run into something you don't know anything about op.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » May 8th, 2012, 7:14 pm

brams112 wrote:i told him once he gets a double blowout with 10 yards of gravel,then he will see nice work.Thing is dont run into something you don't know anything about op.

try all left rear studs cutting and outer wheel and rim overtaking the truck and then crossing the median hitting a vehicle on the other lane,then you'll probably know pain.

As most of them said,Drivers is real pain,CK450 not even a year old and driver decided to adjust the front brakes himself before he came home,lining was to low,he dipped for brakes right after the st helena bridge and the brake pistons flew out,causing fluid to leak on the hot rim,catching it afire,truck blazed for over 2 hours before fire service got on the scene,250k down the drain,all the driver did was walk away.

Another incident is driver offloading in a bad spot,another CK450,right side wheel was sunk to much in the ground,due to weight of 12yards of wet gravel,didnt break in time,entire truck went over,about 20k repairs for 1 messup

Yet another incident,driver coming down the hill from Dookaran quarry in williamsville,pouring rain,he decided he'll neutralize the truck and just tip brakes,bad idea,brakes got extremely hot,cause it was loaded with 10yards of 2-4 boulders,gave out,he ditched it in the drain,yet another truck capside,this time was a fuso fighter

I could go on and on about incidents,but you get the idea,as kurpal said,if you not gonna drive it yourself,or have extremely strict rules with drivers,dont waste your time,this is why we sold out most of our fleet,and only kept 2 trucks,a CK52 and a 450 Nissan.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 8th, 2012, 7:27 pm

Why do you see mostly Japanese trucks with the blown out tyres? Cheap tyres? Overloaded (built up tray and not the standard tray)?

You hardly see the Sterling, Mack, Renault, Volvo and International trucks parked up on the side of the road with blown out tyres.

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 8th, 2012, 7:36 pm

Yet another incident,driver coming down the hill from Dookaran quarry in williamsville,pouring rain,he decided he'll neutralize the truck and just tip brakes,bad idea,brakes got extremely hot,cause it was loaded with 10yards of 2-4 boulders,gave out,he ditched it in the drain,yet another truck capside,this time was a fuso fighter

Wen that was boy?

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » May 8th, 2012, 7:37 pm

@ rory overloaded basically,the 10 wheeler nissan that is sold here locally comes with a 13 yard tray,i've seen a foreign used 10 wheeler carry as much as 22 yards,makes a spectacle to look at when offloading,the entire front of the truck goes airborne sometimes. The local single axles Nissans as well are like 7-8 yards i believe,and the mitsubishi's are even less,foreign used are 10-12 yards,i've even seen up to 14 yards on some.

@kurpal,some years ago.

Postby Ted_v2 » May 8th, 2012, 7:46 pm

a business i would get involve in is getting one of those flatbed trucks and wrecking some vehicles

i know a friend that got into it and he made quite a decent pay out but he got a contract with a insurance company . he used to make almost 800$ for 2 runs (made 6-8 runs a day)

NR8

Postby NR8 » May 8th, 2012, 8:03 pm

^^^you think that's still viable today soundboy? I'm seeing A LOT of those flatbed wreckers one the road these days. Like all of them thinking the same thing. I feel it's a real hard job if you don't have a contract as you noted. Is basically patrolling up and down the highways, esp at night looking for jobs, or, waiting for calls.

It does pay well though. Most of them charge around $400 for just a half hour drive with regular towing. One charged a friend of mine $2500, to pull a car out of a ditch and tow.

Postby Ted_v2 » May 8th, 2012, 8:31 pm

NR8 wrote:^^^you think that's still viable today soundboy? I'm seeing A LOT of those flatbed wreckers one the road these days. Like all of them thinking the same thing. I feel it's a real hard job if you don't have a contract as you noted. Is basically patrolling up and down the highways, esp at night looking for jobs, or, waiting for calls.

It does pay well though. Most of them charge around $400 for just a half hour drive with regular towing. One charged a friend of mine $2500, to pull a car out of a ditch and tow.

start up cost are high but think of it like this

400$ is a regular days pay for some people right? more or less
these guys make 400$ in a 1/2 hour

imagine making 8 trips at 400 in a 10 hour day which might be a good day

thats 3200$
its not something to quit ur job and start up but its a possibility for some...

Postby brams112 » May 8th, 2012, 8:43 pm

SO much flat bed wreckers now it is a hustle,russel i know about the studs cutting boi,once my dad's flatbed right side studs cut away,all of them with a load of red blocks,wheels came off with the truck hub touching the ground,had to jack up the entire truck,blocking the whole right side from tipping over,removing the hub and changing the studs in the road,this happened around three oclock in the evening,good thing the mechanic and faddy good we had him waiting for us to give us the studs after he closed,plus driver did not care one fcuk,,

Gx7

Postby Gx7 » May 8th, 2012, 9:17 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:You buy the white ck20 I think it was?

Cream Ck20 .......

trent

Re: getting a degree is overated...

Postby trent » June 10th, 2012, 10:08 am

so true...

getting a degree is overated...

Postby nemisis » June 10th, 2012, 10:31 am

Nothing new here, it has always been who you know. I know people who have no degree and pulling big paycheck where as under qualified persons landing positions above more highly qualified individuals.

Once again nothing new here, the illiterate will blame the fact that uwi free now so the problem is that more ba being generated where as before the employers complaint was the lack of minimally qualified individuals.

trinihub

Postby trinihub » June 10th, 2012, 10:33 am

Interestin stufff...sigh

Postby Stephon. » June 10th, 2012, 10:43 am

I only in school to make my parents happy lol.

Postby Bizzare » June 10th, 2012, 10:59 am

Stephon. wrote:I only in school to make my parents happy lol.

this. i've probably said this multiple times on here.

trinihub

Postby trinihub » June 10th, 2012, 11:03 am

There are lots of uneducated people who became millionaires and never even saw a secondary school or university.

Postby BrotherHood » June 10th, 2012, 11:04 am

Slightly overated! It looks good on your CV but in the end they really want experience in the field.

Postby Bizzare » June 10th, 2012, 11:32 am

but there's no reason why you should not get a degree even if you not gonna depend on it.

Adrenalinerush

Postby Adrenalinerush » June 10th, 2012, 12:06 pm

is all about your passion...if you passionate about a field that requires higher education, by all means go for it, but if you passionate about makin money, you don't necessarily need a degree to start a business...just some proper market research and common sense ;)

trinihub

Postby trinihub » June 10th, 2012, 12:06 pm

Bizzare wrote:but there's no reason why you should not get a degree even if you not gonna depend on it.

agreed.. a backup plan

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 10th, 2012, 1:35 pm

I personally find the most dodo heads out there with degrees plastered on their resume's are those from uwi. UWI graduates are the most narrow minded and tunnel vision people I've ever met who lack critical thinking skills to actually think outside the box. So that is why the OP says its overated.

getting a degree is overated...

Postby nemisis » June 10th, 2012, 1:42 pm

acesinghit wrote:I personally find the most dodo heads out there with degrees plastered on their resume's are those from uwi. UWI graduates are the most narrow minded and tunnel vision people I've ever met who lack critical thinking skills to actually think outside the box. So that is why the OP says its overated.

fair enough as an employer you can fire them and get another, what happens is you keep these dodo heads or or just higher your cousin...

konartis

Postby konartis » June 10th, 2012, 1:50 pm

in my opinion there are to many schools offering degree programes, SBCS,SAM,CTSCBCS and so on...to get the degree you have to get the minimum passing grade and entering into it with just 4 cxc's so if a man have 4 cxc's @ grade 3 he getting to do the degree, pass that...then looking for a job, employers dont just look at the degree, they looking at ur entire educational back round....

Postby Habit7 » June 10th, 2012, 1:51 pm

I need more persons with this mentality....

...less competition for me.

Postby Bizzare » June 10th, 2012, 2:01 pm

konartis wrote:in my opinion there are to many schools offering degree programes, SBCS,SAM,CTSCBCS and so on...to get the degree you have to get the minimum passing grade and entering into it with just 4 cxc's so if a man have 4 cxc's @ grade 3 he getting to do the degree, pass that...then looking for a job, employers dont just look at the degree, they looking at ur entire educational back round....

i don't think it's that way in general