Gas prices in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Gas prices to raise, again.

Postby pugboy » March 7th, 2021, 1:43 pm

That’s the thing, things at a real breaking point with plaster over plaster and ppl not only afraid to call a spade a spade but they does defend nonsense

jhonnieblue wrote:Zoom boi, couldn't agree with you more about this country.
SMH
People could never stand up for anything. State of the roads, supply of water, difficulty of doing business, list goes on.
When will people actually stand up? Oh wait, sorry this is Trinidad, as you were
sMASH wrote:who cares at this point, pal. we dont know what is real austerity in this country. the point is to reduce the amount of driving cars on the road.
if the people begging for bread, let them eat cake. ur car goh drink nice gas from now on.
Eat cake and pay Arse Wari rents . Plus pay for Jeremy CCTV cameras .

The great red government con Job

What a jack arse country

Postby timelapse » March 7th, 2021, 1:46 pm

I remember an old thread similar to this where the red and ready members jump down my throat when I talk about PNM and their template for budgets.Gasolene has a trickle down effect.Inflation soon to increase because of it. My conspiracy theory of PNm deliberately trying to cripple the economy is coming to pass.For the fellow tuners willing to listen, state ownership of all property is their end game.Basic economics.Man's basic needs are food , clothing and shelter.Control any one of these markets and you set.

Postby zoom rader » March 7th, 2021, 1:48 pm

pugboy wrote:That’s the thing, things at a real breaking point with plaster over plaster and ppl not only afraid to call a spade a spade but they does defend nonsense

jhonnieblue wrote:Zoom boi, couldn't agree with you more about this country.
SMH
People could never stand up for anything. State of the roads, supply of water, difficulty of doing business, list goes on.
When will people actually stand up? Oh wait, sorry this is Trinidad, as you were
sMASH wrote:who cares at this point, pal. we dont know what is real austerity in this country. the point is to reduce the amount of driving cars on the road.
if the people begging for bread, let them eat cake. ur car goh drink nice gas from now on.
Eat cake and pay Arse Wari rents . Plus pay for Jeremy CCTV cameras .

The great red government con Job

What a jack arse country
Once the red government prime minister says its Kamala fault or its non red government then they win another pre programmed election.

Red government tribal voters are not free thinkers , these people still in chains and getting " buck breaking " every day.

Postby zoom rader » March 7th, 2021, 1:57 pm

timelapse wrote:I remember an old thread similar to this where the red and ready members jump down my throat when I talk about PNM and their template for budgets.Gasolene has a trickle down effect.Inflation soon to increase because of it. My conspiracy theory of PNm deliberately trying to cripple the economy is coming to pass.For the fellow tuners willing to listen, state ownership of all property is their end game.Basic economics.Man's basic needs are food , clothing and shelter.Control any one of these markets and you set.
Many red government idiots don't understand that Rowlee will cripple what he likes , blames Kamala and says he can build it back .

We seeing this right now with Wasa.

Just look at what they did to Petrotrin and Pt Lisas.

Who remember BWIA?

Then you have arse lickers P○rnhabit7, Redman, elec2020 and eliteauto all defending this donkey government.

Postby eliteauto » March 7th, 2021, 3:34 pm

death365

Postby death365 » March 7th, 2021, 3:40 pm

I noticed once pnm bring it up.... For discussion... It means its a done deal...

It coming 100 %

Postby gastly369 » March 7th, 2021, 3:50 pm

death365 wrote:I noticed once pnm bring it up.... For discussion... It means its a done deal...

It coming 100 %
So my A12 engine hadda sip on that "fine juice" soon?

renegade_wolf

Postby renegade_wolf » March 7th, 2021, 4:05 pm

Most japanese made cars were manufactured to run on regular 87-90 RON fuel and more efficient on Premuim fuel 91 RON or more.
According to NP our super is 92 RON. So why exactly do we need premium other than for turbo (ultra high compression engines).

Pirate

Postby Pirate » March 7th, 2021, 4:53 pm

Don't confuse RON and AKI.
Most cars have 90 to 92 RON as the minimum. 95 RON is usually recommended for most vehicles. Even tiidas and sylphy supposed to use Premium gas.
However most markets tune the vehicles based on the fuel available locally, so those foreign used cars should be using Premium as that is common place in Japan etc.
The main big market that supports low octane fuels on a wide range of vehicles is USA with their AKI 87, around 91 RON.

However the measure the government is proposing is still stupid as in the supposed 'free market' the price will vary based on the oil price so why limit it. But still can't import quality diesel and make it available at pumps as another option for any vehicle that is not ah ole truck...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 7th, 2021, 6:59 pm

Try this if you can. Use premium on a vehicle which has that eco mode and then use it with a vehicle that does not. Same engine size etc...Come back and evaluate your findings

Postby adnj » March 7th, 2021, 8:08 pm

Japan shifted to 95/96 RON as their newer standard some time ago. High octane fuel in Japan is 98 to 100 RON.

renegade_wolf

Postby renegade_wolf » March 7th, 2021, 9:49 pm

Yeh but isnt the increase in RON there linked to the rise of ethanol blended fuels there E20/50/85 that burn cleaner than pure gasoline.
This measure proposed stinks of the CNG initiative they pushing. Look how many kits they gave away last year under the lottery system.

Postby redmanjp » March 7th, 2021, 9:50 pm

a Y10 AD wagon could take premium? what about if it has a B13 engine?

Pirate

Postby Pirate » March 7th, 2021, 10:00 pm

Yes it can use premium, but your gains will be negligible considering the extra fuel cost.
This will be the case for most older cars.

Postby bluefete » March 7th, 2021, 10:11 pm

So if we do some Math:

The current differential price between Super and Premium is 0.78cents/litre. ($5.75 - $4.97).

Without a change in the gas price, but eliminating Super, that would mean an extra $31.20 to fill up with 40 litres Premium.

Can you imagine what the price would be when we liberalise? Suppose Premium goes to $7.00, for a Super user that would mean an extra $81.20 to fill up 40 litres. ($2.03 x 40)

As Zoomie would say: Take Bull T&T. This is what we voted for.

BTW: Don't think for a moment that those waiting in the wings would have been any better.

Postby redmanjp » March 7th, 2021, 10:46 pm

bluefete wrote:So if we do some Math:

The current differential price between Super and Premium is 0.78cents/litre. ($5.75 - $4.97).

Without a change in the gas price, but eliminating Super, that would mean an extra $31.20 to fill up with 40 litres Premium.

Can you imagine what the price would be when we liberalise? Suppose Premium goes to $7.00, for a Super user that would mean an extra $81.20 to fill up 40 litres. ($2.03 x 40)

BTW: Don't think for a moment that those waiting in the wings would have been any better.

time to rise up - imbert say dey eh riot yet - let's change that. ok not a riot but a peaceful protest - these days anything is 'incitement'

Postby redmanjp » March 7th, 2021, 10:49 pm

Pirate wrote:Yes it can use premium, but your gains will be negligible considering the extra fuel cost.
This will be the case for most older cars.

yeah i doh think u will see any performance benefit as is mostly newer cars that designed to have a performance increase

Postby adnj » March 7th, 2021, 11:06 pm

renegade_wolf wrote:Yeh but isnt the increase in RON there linked to the rise of ethanol blended fuels there E20/50/85 that burn cleaner than pure gasoline.
This measure proposed stinks of the CNG initiative they pushing. Look how many kits they gave away last year under the lottery system.
The increase in RON is to facilitate improved performance and lower emissions levels. It can be achieved with methanol blends but modern sub-2.0 liter are commonly pushing 10.5+:1 compression ratios. Above 10:1 is where you will likely start to benefit from 95 RON.

Pirate

Postby Pirate » March 7th, 2021, 11:21 pm

And worse case, most cars have a fuel tank at 60 to 80 liters, so it will cost almost double what you calculated.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 8th, 2021, 5:12 am

redmanjp wrote:a Y10 AD wagon could take premium? what about if it has a B13 engine?

I put premium once in the b13 we had. Ah swear the gas tank had a hole :|

Postby timelapse » March 8th, 2021, 7:04 am

Unless a black man in the states get killed, nobody ent rising up wit you pardna.We dotish like that
redmanjp wrote:

time to rise up - imbert say dey eh riot yet - let's change that. ok not a riot but a peaceful protest - these days anything is 'incitement'

Postby zoom rader » March 8th, 2021, 8:46 am

All yuh better eat Eat cake and suck Rowlee balls

Stupid Trinis.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 8th, 2021, 9:12 am

If we're paying full fare for it, why remove it?
That article was tl;dr for my phone

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 8th, 2021, 9:20 am

who say another distraction.. keep falling for it.

Postby Habit7 » March 8th, 2021, 12:57 pm

Media Release
CONTINUED AVAILABILITY OF SUPER GASOLINE IN TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO

Following the publication of an article in the Trinidad and Tobago Guardian on Sunday 07 March 2021 with details obtained from an interview with Senator the Honourable Franklin Khan, Minister of Energy and Energy Industries, as well as other related newspaper articles and comments circulating on social media, the Ministry of Energy and Energy Industries (MEEI) wishes to advise that based on proposals from stakeholders in the industry, technocrats from the MEEI made a recommendation to the Government to consider the option of phasing out the use of Super Gasoline. The current decision of the Government is that it has no intention to phase out Super Gasoline with preference to Premium Gasoline on the local liquid fuels market. Therefore, Super Gasoline will continue to be available to the motoring public.

As Minister Khan stated, the Government of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago has taken a decision to liberalize the fuels market which is expected to be implemented in the coming months. In this liberalized environment, members of the public can expect to see monthly fluctuations in the pump prices of Premium Gasoline, Super Gasoline and Diesel in alignment with the market prices of these fuels and also depending on the retail margins set by fuel service station operators across the country.
The Ministry of Energy and Energy Industries hereby assures the general public that Super Gasoline will continue to remain available as a fuel option in Trinidad and Tobago.
For more information please contact Senior Communications Officer, Mr. Choy Felix at cfelix@energy.gov.tt

https://www.facebook.com/TTMEEI/posts/3825970680794634

Postby zoom rader » March 8th, 2021, 1:15 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Media Release
CONTINUED AVAILABILITY OF SUPER GASOLINE IN TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO

Following the publication of an article in the Trinidad and Tobago Guardian on Sunday 07 March 2021 with details obtained from an interview with Senator the Honourable Franklin Khan, Minister of Energy and Energy Industries, as well as other related newspaper articles and comments circulating on social media, the Ministry of Energy and Energy Industries (MEEI) wishes to advise that based on proposals from stakeholders in the industry, technocrats from the MEEI made a recommendation to the Government to consider the option of phasing out the use of Super Gasoline. The current decision of the Government is that it has no intention to phase out Super Gasoline with preference to Premium Gasoline on the local liquid fuels market. Therefore, Super Gasoline will continue to be available to the motoring public.

As Minister Khan stated, the Government of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago has taken a decision to liberalize the fuels market which is expected to be implemented in the coming months. In this liberalized environment, members of the public can expect to see monthly fluctuations in the pump prices of Premium Gasoline, Super Gasoline and Diesel in alignment with the market prices of these fuels and also depending on the retail margins set by fuel service station operators across the country.
The Ministry of Energy and Energy Industries hereby assures the general public that Super Gasoline will continue to remain available as a fuel option in Trinidad and Tobago.
For more information please contact Senior Communications Officer, Mr. Choy Felix at cfelix@energy.gov.tt

https://www.facebook.com/TTMEEI/posts/3825970680794634
This is the same kantas that said they not selling Petrotrin.

Very few people trust these red arses

Postby Habit7 » March 8th, 2021, 1:35 pm

zoom rader wrote:This is the same kantas that said they not selling Petrotrin.

Nobody said they are not selling Petrotrin.

You shouldn't trust your own memory.

Postby alfa » March 8th, 2021, 2:31 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Rowley did lie to the nation and said that they are not closing petrorrin. Then the numbers to be laid off went from 2500 to 4000 or something so until espinet said all all all have to go home. Don't play politics with stupidity sir

Postby Habit7 » March 8th, 2021, 2:47 pm

alfa wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

Rowley did lie to the nation and said that they are not closing petrorrin. Then the numbers to be laid off went from 2500 to 4000 or something so until espinet said all all all have to go home. Don't play politics with stupidity sir

When you can refresh your memory you are free to call me stupid. As it stands today, Petrotrin still exists.
Dr Keith Rowley
4 September 2018 ·

The Government is not closing down Petrotrin.
The energy company will be restructured.
https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php? ... 3240978278

TPHL-Corporate-Structure-Chart[1].jpg

Postby zoom rader » March 8th, 2021, 2:56 pm

Habit7 wrote:
alfa wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

When you can refresh your memory you are free to call me stupid. As it stands today, Petrotrin still exists.
Dr Keith Rowley
4 September 2018 ·

The Government is not closing down Petrotrin.
The energy company will be restructured.
https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php? ... 3240978278

TPHL-Corporate-Structure-Chart[1].jpg
Stop being a kantas

3500 workers plus contractors lost their jobs and the refinery is closed.

Shut your arse and stop your spin nonsense

REFINERY WAS CLOSED BY THE RED GOVERNMENT