What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Re: What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 22nd, 2016, 1:39 pm

If the subsidy is removed ....how much will super and diesel be?

Postby S_2NR » March 22nd, 2016, 1:54 pm

PNM really is a tough love government.

Postby De Dragon » March 22nd, 2016, 2:00 pm

S_2NR wrote:PNM really is a tough love government.

Tough love only appeals to the ones doling out the tough love. Notice any move to reduce salaries by politicians? Any moves to delay or cancel vanity projects conceived or started decades ago?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 22nd, 2016, 2:02 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:If the subsidy is removed ....how much will super and diesel be?

Cater for a $4 diesel bai.

Postby sMASH » March 22nd, 2016, 2:30 pm

In an effort to stimulate local economies u can afford to incur a small level of debt, as it allows the low and low to mid income parts of the society to have a source of income. But, to go overboard on mega projects where the return to the country is proportionally low, is foolish. Don't listen to America, it is always better to be out of debt, eat little and live long, a penny saved is a penny earned.

All the same, $55bn on a rapid rail is unnecessary. But, unlike me and a bank, where if I default on a loan, the bank would seize my asset to recover Their losses, the world bank would not really seize the rapid rail.

What is necessary at this point is to encourage efficient business models and businesses that can bring In the almighty USD.

Postby desifemlove » March 22nd, 2016, 2:34 pm

desifemlove wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Yawn

yawn, what? cos she always saying how she ent repsonsible in part and people stupid enough to believe? or UNCs ent realise it's a free country and ent like challenge? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

You still with this sickening rant? Oh gosh we get it! Yuh want KPB to come in Woodford Square with sackcloth and ashes(Louis Vuitton probably) and admit that she caused the whole economic slump all by sheself. Well keep plugging away on 2NR my friend, cuz I'm sure that when she's on here, she will heed your call :roll: :roll:

actually..no, she can do what the firetruck she like. just you and yuh UNC brethren mashing up de country, and it common sense that a retard can figure our dat five years in government don't affect no...lololol.

but then if you dont' like views you don't agree with nor find comfortable, den move to North Korea...i saying what i believe is truth!

Postby desifemlove » March 22nd, 2016, 2:35 pm

desifemlove wrote:

yawn, what? cos she always saying how she ent repsonsible in part and people stupid enough to believe? or UNCs ent realise it's a free country and ent like challenge? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

You still with this sickening rant? Oh gosh we get it! Yuh want KPB to come in Woodford Square with sackcloth and ashes(Louis Vuitton probably) and admit that she caused the whole economic slump all by sheself. Well keep plugging away on 2NR my friend, cuz I'm sure that when she's on here, she will heed your call :roll: :roll:

actually..no, she can do what the firetruck she like. just you and yuh UNC brethren mashing up de country, and it common sense that a retard can figure our dat five years in government don't affect no...lololol.

but then if you dont' like views you don't agree with nor find comfortable, den move to North Korea...i saying what i believe is truth! and who are you to say what can be said here? for a man older than I am, you does have a pretty big ego, ent yuh?

Postby Gladiator » March 22nd, 2016, 3:12 pm

zoom rader wrote:Increased Taxi fares and transport fees in allyuh MC while paying double for crappy limited new cars.

This would not affect the masses.... just now they would not have any jobs to go to!

Postby De Dragon » March 22nd, 2016, 3:24 pm

desifemlove wrote:

but then if you dont' like views you don't agree with nor find comfortable, den move to North Korea...i saying what i believe is truth! and who are you to say what can be said here? for a man older than I am, you does have a pretty big ego, ent yuh?

That amount of froth and unintelligible ranting needed a double post to decipher :lol: I feel either Kamla blank yuh ah fack, or ah drink ah W.O. cuz your level ah beatup and dead horse whipping is unbelievable. I suspect that even Habit7, himself a master of beatup and dead horse whipping would frown upon your shenanigans.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » March 22nd, 2016, 6:57 pm

Daran wrote:
EmilioA wrote:The PNM's plan seems to be to pass on as much cost to the regular citizen as possible in the short term. And hope that oil prices rise before the next election so they could do a tax cut right before.
(The UNC's plan of course was to borrow and steal. )
If oil prices dont rise the PNM's plan will lead to a stalled economy, with inflation , unemployment and low production.
OTOH the UNC would have led us to Greece with massive debts and a complete inability to repay and finally the loving arms of the IMF.

So you're saying PP's solution would have been to spend like crazy, deny there's a recession and ensure everyone carry on like normal. Then they'd hopefully await a rise in oil prices to repay debts.
Whereas, PNM's strategy is austerity and await a rise in oil prices.
I'm not economist but PP's strategy seems far smarter.

I take you dont know what happened to Greece ? Borrowing is addictive.

Postby desifemlove » March 22nd, 2016, 8:03 pm

desifemlove wrote:

That amount of froth and unintelligible ranting needed a double post to decipher :lol: I feel either Kamla blank yuh ah fack, or ah drink ah W.O. cuz your level ah beatup and dead horse whipping is unbelievable. I suspect that even Habit7, himself a master of beatup and dead horse whipping would frown upon your shenanigans.

no, since you're a nookie who think he can regulate what others' say here...lol...fool.

you're also a weak man, since you don't get it....hahahaha..

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 23rd, 2016, 5:35 am

according to the express article, super go be around $4.47 while diesel would be $2.82

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 23rd, 2016, 6:33 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:according to the express article, super go be around $4.47 while diesel would be $2.82

Express calculation wrong. Diesel is more costly than premium even in the real world i.e. unsubsidized.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 23rd, 2016, 7:52 am

Yeah diesel will be a few cents more than super. Colm sticking ... why have consultation? just end the damn ting.

Postby sMASH » March 23rd, 2016, 9:31 am

When we had money as a country, my stance was a staggered gradual removal of the subsidies to prevent unscrupulous price gouging by sellers, like what the doubles men did for the budget.

But now, it might make sense to just hit it hard while things still in transition, so we would sooner know where we stand with cost of living when our economy settles.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 23rd, 2016, 9:40 am

sMASH wrote:When we had money as a country, my stance was a staggered gradual removal of the subsidies to prevent unscrupulous price gouging by sellers, like what the doubles men did for the budget.

But now, it might make sense to just hit it hard while things still in transition, so we would sooner know where we stand with cost of living when our economy settles.

Nah

Postby De Dragon » March 23rd, 2016, 9:56 am

desifemlove wrote:

no, since you're a nookie who think he can regulate what others' say here...lol...fool.
you're also a weak man, since you don't get it....hahahaha..

No, cacahole, I only attempt to regulate tunts like you who talk sheit repeatedly as it appears you have one singular point to make.

Postby eliteauto » March 23rd, 2016, 10:17 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:according to the express article, super go be around $4.47 while diesel would be $2.82

Express calculation wrong. Diesel is more costly than premium even in the real world i.e. unsubsidized.

More costly to produce or more costly at pumps? If it's the latter do you know why?

Lance

Postby Lance » March 23rd, 2016, 10:42 am

eliteauto wrote:

More costly to produce or more costly at pumps? If it's the latter do you know why?

It's definitely not more costly to produce that petrol. It requires less refining and crude to produce.

There is still a lot of within country manipulation (taxes vs subsidies) especially when it comes to diesel.

For instance, the UK taxes diesel more than petrol and France subsidizes it.

Perhaps Allergic2BunnyEars can tell us what the "world price" for Diesel is.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 23rd, 2016, 10:50 am

eliteauto wrote:

It was more costly out of Petrotrin due to market demand. Diesel prices worldwide are usually higher than gasoline.

Ministry of Energy artificially set diesel prices low at the pump to avoid inflation in the economy. So we get accustomed to diesel being "cheap" at the pumps but in reality it's one of the more expensive fuels.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 23rd, 2016, 10:59 am

Lance wrote:
eliteauto wrote:

It's definitely not more costly to produce that petrol. It requires less refining and crude to produce.

There is still a lot of within country manipulation (taxes vs subsidies) especially when it comes to diesel.

For instance, the UK taxes diesel more than petrol and France subsidizes it.

Perhaps Allergic2BunnyEars can tell us what the "world price" for Diesel is.

I can't give you a world price per se because that is set by demand. Demand for diesel is usually high so it's never cheap. Even if demand falls it doesn't drastically fall below that of gasoline. So unsubsidized the price would at best be the price of super but usually it's on par with or higher than premium. That $2.82 figure from express is wrong.

Postby De Dragon » March 23rd, 2016, 11:03 am

eliteauto wrote:

It was more costly out of Petrotrin due to market demand. Diesel prices worldwide are usually higher than gasoline.

Ministry of Energy artificially set diesel prices low at the pump to avoid inflation in the economy. So we get accustomed to diesel being "cheap" at the pumps but in reality it's one of the more expensive fuels.
Precisely, diesel is that cheap because it is more heavily subsidized.

Pirate

Postby Pirate » March 23rd, 2016, 11:06 am

EmilioA wrote:
Daran wrote:
EmilioA wrote:The PNM's plan seems to be to pass on as much cost to the regular citizen as possible in the short term. And hope that oil prices rise before the next election so they could do a tax cut right before.
If oil prices dont rise the PNM's plan will lead to a stalled economy, with inflation , unemployment and low production.
OTOH the UNC would have led us to Greece with massive debts and a complete inability to repay and finally the loving arms of the IMF.

So you're saying PP's solution would have been to spend like crazy, deny there's a recession and ensure everyone carry on like normal. Then they'd hopefully await a rise in oil prices to repay debts.

The problem is that after all these austerity measures, the savings will go towards the rapid rail!
Wait a couple years and see...

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 23rd, 2016, 11:29 am

Pirate wrote:
EmilioA wrote:
Daran wrote:

The problem is that after all these austerity measures, the savings will go towards the rapid rail!

If paid out of pocket yes but RR would most likely be paid via a World Bank loan so as not to be a drain financially.

Postby zoom rader » March 23rd, 2016, 5:05 pm

Pirate wrote:
EmilioA wrote:
Daran wrote:

If paid out of pocket yes but RR would most likely be paid via a World Bank loan so as not to be a drain financially.

Yeah and citizens gonna have to pay back that loan. Why you think they pushing gas out

Postby Habit7 » March 23rd, 2016, 5:23 pm

Now you concerned about paying back loans?

Postby zoom rader » March 23rd, 2016, 5:32 pm

Habit7 wrote:Now you concerned about paying back loans?

We should be cause PNM dont pay back any.

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » March 23rd, 2016, 5:47 pm

I will always say , just what if and maybe , had the PP won the Sept 7th Elections , make some better decisions than this PNM and less people would had have to suffer and complain. What if ?

These tuners here happy and thing set for them so them wont feel hurts of Job Losses and things increasing.

Postby De Dragon » March 23rd, 2016, 6:12 pm

The concern is taking mega loans that burden us for decades for unwanted, unnecessary vanity projects. This rail has already cost $500 million, and not a foot of track has been laid.

Postby Habit7 » March 23rd, 2016, 7:19 pm

We should be cause PNM dont pay back any.
Nah bai, last PNM govt cut UNC inherited debt in half. Global recession and UNC send it back up, I don't know which one was worst for our economy.
http://news.co.tt/public_html/article.p ... 8063612560

The concern is taking mega loans that burden us for decades for unwanted, unnecessary vanity projects. This rail has already cost $500 million, and not a foot of track has been laid.
5% of the $10b project cost, not bad.