T&TEC & WASA rate increase coming?

Re: T&TEC, WASA increase coming in 2016... now 2023?

Postby sMASH » October 20th, 2023, 4:35 pm

death365 wrote:pretty soon the middle class that had 3 sub strata * will be minimized. only lower middle class will remain.

* upper middle - middle - lower middle

(Edited to add more info)

BTW the Government isnt doing this for spite, they listen to the 1% and accept their advice as gold. one of the reason to minimize the middle class is so that the 1%-ers dont have anyone opposing their businesses, using their US$, creating viable alternatives for their products and services, etc.
U weel own nothing and be happy!

The point is to get rid of the middle class, so there would be the upper corporate class, the Lower consumption subsistence class, and police to keep us in check.

Postby redmanjp » October 20th, 2023, 4:48 pm

Government should send out a separate statement in everyone's bill telling them how much ( based on the KWHrs used) it would have been under the new rate.

Also launch a nationwide campaign about energy efficiency and offer rebates for solar installation, cool roofs, radiant barriers and inverter ACs. Most residential consumption is from AC. Also rebates for LED and CFL bulbs and ban incandescents that are 100W or more.

Postby pugboy » October 20th, 2023, 7:00 pm

FrankChag your calc is correct

old bill incl vat, 2 month

$600($300) increases to $361 ---- 20%
$800($400) increases to $507 -----26%
$1000($500) increases to $653 ------ 30%
$1500($750) increases to $1097 ---- 46%
$2000($1000) increases to $1556 ---- 55%
$3000(1500) increases to $2475 --- 65%

death365

Postby death365 » October 21st, 2023, 5:52 am

Additionally businesses not absorbing that cost, going straight back to the consumers.

Electric intensive businesses includes- goods manufacturers supermarkets variety stores bars /pubs/clubs restaurants car dealerships the palour lady down d road gas stations etc etc
pugboy wrote:FrankChag your calc is correct

old bill incl vat, 2 month

$600($300) increases to $361 ---- 20%
$800($400) increases to $507 -----26%
$1000($500) increases to $653 ------ 30%
$1500($750) increases to $1097 ---- 46%
$2000($1000) increases to $1556 ---- 55%
$3000(1500) increases to $2475 --- 65%

death365

Postby death365 » October 21st, 2023, 5:55 am

Seriously.... at least change the Temps to Celsius ... we ah na bz d states
adnj wrote:
redmanjp wrote:Government should send out a separate statement in everyone's bill telling them how much ( based on the KWHrs used) it would have been under the new rate.

Also launch a nationwide campaign about energy efficiency and offer rebates for solar installation, cool roofs, radiant barriers and inverter ACs. Most residential consumption is from AC. Also rebates for LED and CFL bulbs and ban incandescents that are 100W or more.
According to the US Department of Energy, the best technique for staying cool yet minimizing utility costs in summer is to keep your home warmer than usual when no one is home and then setting the temperature as high as comfortably possible when home. Energy Star, a program of the US Environmental Protection Agency and the US Department of Energy, suggested that homes be kept at 78 degrees Fahrenheit when home during the day.

It also suggests that the thermostat be set to 82 degrees Fahrenheit when sleeping and 85 degrees Fahrenheit when out of the house for maximum savings -- recommendations that were met with scorn and disbelief on social media.

If setting your thermostat to somewhere in the 80s sounds too warm, then a good rule of thumb to follow is to turn your thermostat up 7 to 10 degrees from your normal setting for eight hours a day, so you can save up to 10% a year.
Celsius

Postby zoom rader » October 21st, 2023, 6:12 am

PNM Victory 2025

All yuh ant riot yet

Postby pugboy » October 21st, 2023, 6:14 am

Carnival coming soon, nobody studying costume prices

team 394

Postby team 394 » October 21st, 2023, 6:32 am

death365 wrote:Seriously.... at least change the Temps to Celsius ... we ah na bz d states
adnj wrote:
redmanjp wrote:Government should send out a separate statement in everyone's bill telling them how much ( based on the KWHrs used) it would have been under the new rate.

According to the US Department of Energy, the best technique for staying cool yet minimizing utility costs in summer is to keep your home warmer than usual when no one is home and then setting the temperature as high as comfortably possible when home. Energy Star, a program of the US Environmental Protection Agency and the US Department of Energy, suggested that homes be kept at 78 degrees Fahrenheit when home during the day.

It also suggests that the thermostat be set to 82 degrees Fahrenheit when sleeping and 85 degrees Fahrenheit when out of the house for maximum savings -- recommendations that were met with scorn and disbelief on social media.

If setting your thermostat to somewhere in the 80s sounds too warm, then a good rule of thumb to follow is to turn your thermostat up 7 to 10 degrees from your normal setting for eight hours a day, so you can save up to 10% a year.
Celsius

Formula
(78°F − 32) × 5/9 = 25.556°C

Postby zoom rader » October 21st, 2023, 7:12 am

pugboy wrote:Carnival coming soon, nobody studying costume prices
They will complain about not getting costumes and paying scalper prices for fetes, but continue as normal, taking abuse from a government that they voted for.

Jack arse cont tree

Postby redmanjp » October 21st, 2023, 9:33 am

team 394 wrote:
death365 wrote:Seriously.... at least change the Temps to Celsius ... we ah na bz d states
adnj wrote:

Celsius

Formula
(78°F − 32) × 5/9 = 25.556°C

So that's the at home temperature? What the away from home temp?

Postby Rovin » October 21st, 2023, 11:43 am

Postby pugboy » October 21st, 2023, 11:52 am

so how allyuh with the fancy smart homes devices gonna use them to save electricity?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 21st, 2023, 12:08 pm

The rebate remaining the same conditions? No adjustments?

Postby 88sins » October 21st, 2023, 4:02 pm

viedcht wrote:The rebate remaining the same conditions? No adjustments?

Looks that way, we may assume, since no adjustments to rebates were mentioned as far as I'm aware.

Giving some very serious consideration to installing solar at the residence for the ac and water hearter and other high draw items

dogg

Postby dogg » October 24th, 2023, 1:25 pm

Yeah, I'm probably older than you.

I dislike the PNM generally and despise some of their elected and selected members in the hierarchy.

But I'm generally a Rowley supporter and appreciate some of the decisions he's taken. Do you think Kamla would have had the cajones to shut down Petrotrin? To seek to personally renegotiate contracts with energy giants who were not obligated to pay anything to the treasury? No, she would play to the masses and go the appeasement route as she's always done.

The UNC in this iteration is a sunk ship. There's no one there with mass appeal. Their attempt at populism is idiotic and will fool only their blind supporters.

I belong to the 10% of the population who are not red or yellow till we dead and will actually vote on issues. Bring me a UNC with serious people and I'll look again.

death365 wrote:Yeah boy yuh keep think like that ... pnm forever!!!!

BTW how exactly did you come to this conclusion?

Because the only time we went to the IMF is after pnm run the country to the ground ... al la 80s.

But then u maybe too young (and ignorant) to know bout that ...

Anyhow carry on my wayward son !!!
dogg wrote:All this PNM and UNC ole talk.
If weakling, appeasing Kamla was in charge we would've been under IMF rule all now.

Postby redmanjp » October 24th, 2023, 1:31 pm

I've heard there are ceiling tiles with built-in radiant barriers. Are they just as effective at blocking heat as normal radiant barriers?

wing

Postby wing » October 24th, 2023, 1:56 pm

dogg wrote:Yeah, I'm probably older than you.

I dislike the PNM generally and despise some of their elected and selected members in the hierarchy.

But I'm generally a Rowley supporter and appreciate some of the decisions he's taken. Do you think Kamla would have had the cajones to shut down Petrotrin? To seek to personally renegotiate contracts with energy giants who were not obligated to pay anything to the treasury? No, she would play to the masses and go the appeasement route as she's always done.

The UNC in this iteration is a sunk ship. There's no one there with mass appeal. Their attempt at populism is idiotic and will fool only their blind supporters.

I belong to the 10% of the population who are not red or yellow till we dead and will actually vote on issues. Bring me a UNC with serious people and I'll look again.

death365 wrote:Yeah boy yuh keep think like that ... pnm forever!!!!

BTW how exactly did you come to this conclusion?

Because the only time we went to the IMF is after pnm run the country to the ground ... al la 80s.

But then u maybe too young (and ignorant) to know bout that ...

Anyhow carry on my wayward son !!!
dogg wrote:All this PNM and UNC ole talk.
If weakling, appeasing Kamla was in charge we would've been under IMF rule all now.
Red mis government supporter. How dare you go against the yellow mess opposition and their chief.

death365

Postby death365 » October 24th, 2023, 2:50 pm

i guarantee yuh tha u na be tha, unless u=yuh reitred already

dogg wrote:Yeah, I'm probably older than you.

Postby The_Honourable » October 24th, 2023, 3:48 pm

CNC3 - The Regulated Industries Commission (RIC) has activated an electricity bill calculator to help residential customers calculate what their new bills would be if the Trinidad and Tobago Electricity Commission (T&TEC) accepts the maximum rate increase the RIC proposed.

The calculator was published on the RIC's website today and can be accessed through the following link:

https://www.ric.org.tt/calculator/

Postby st7 » October 24th, 2023, 4:16 pm

lol nice

the higher your KWH usage, the higher the percentage increase is

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » October 24th, 2023, 4:17 pm

Hmmm, according to that calculator, my monthly bill would increase from $523 to $691.

Not great, but not horrible either. A 32% increase.
Will definitely have to adjust usage patterns somehow. Maybe less AC usage. Ah done warn smallie already about the AC in her room.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 24th, 2023, 4:34 pm

I does only pay around $150 for the bi-monthly. Don't use as much electricity as other people, I realized since I started using A/C more often the bill goes up considerably looking at the daily bar chart on TTEC customer portal.

Postby maj. tom » October 24th, 2023, 8:42 pm

https://www.ric.org.tt/electricity-bill-calculator/

The Regulated Industries Commission (RIC) has activated an electricity bill calculator to help residential customers calculate what their new bills would be if the Trinidad and Tobago Electricity Commission (T&TEC) accepts the maximum rate increase the RIC proposed.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 24th, 2023, 8:59 pm

^ I wonder if that calculator takes into account 35% rebate and VAT?

matix

Postby matix » October 24th, 2023, 9:10 pm

47% increase for me which is around $1100 per month now.

Postby gastly369 » October 24th, 2023, 10:27 pm

Screenshot_20231024_222644.jpg

Postby redmanjp » October 25th, 2023, 1:17 pm

^ I'm betting you love AC?

One tip is to use a fan in conjunction with AC, put the fan facing you and increase AC temp. The wind chill effect of the fan will keep you just as cool at a higher AC temp.

And don't have AC running in an unoccupied room unless you turn up the temp to perhaps 28C.

Postby teems1 » October 25th, 2023, 1:31 pm

redmanjp wrote:^ I'm betting you love AC?

One tip is to use a fan in conjunction with AC, put the fan facing you and increase AC temp. The wind chill effect of the fan will keep you just as cool at a higher AC temp.

And don't have AC running in an unoccupied room unless you turn up the temp to perhaps 28C.

I'm not a fan of AC, but the past 2-3 months I've been forced to use it.

The heat has been unbearable. Opening a window felt like a blow dryer. It didn't help at all.

Postby Chimera » October 25th, 2023, 1:49 pm

my living room ac giving trouble a lil while now, been difficult to get someone to check it because everyone busy installing new units, called about 4-5 diff places and no one show up even up to now

you know the place so hot these days with the radiant heat coming through the ceiling that inside just completely sweltering and you cant even stay inside the house

anywho, over a month ago i installed a extractor fan between the ceiling and the roof and that sucking out the heat and while before this you simple couldnt be in the living room without the AC, it eh even bothering me again because the living room generally cool all the time now

so look into it

i ended up buying a proper temperature gun and when the fan is on during the extreme heat of the day it drops the indoor temperature 2-3 degrees

https://amzn.to/3s7N3LI

a 65 watt extractor fan- 12 inch