Postby eliteauto » February 5th, 2015, 2:07 pm

ding ding ding

bluesclues

Re: AG’s alleged witness tampering

Postby bluesclues » February 5th, 2015, 3:08 pm

rabiesebola wrote:
UML wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Dude, next to Patrick Manning, he is one of the longest serving members of our legislature (the arm of the government that makes law). He is more than suitable to comment.

he is a member...he doesnt make the law moreso know about law. Just now you go say he is an engineer too cause he does plan and never build highway :|

i still dont see the sense in building a highway just to go for doubles...there is no significant development in that area that warrants a highway.

dey building a port down that side if i believe. havent been to confirm but saw some pics. just compare manzan stretch cost and contractor, with that highway. the devil is in the details of the comparitive costs.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » February 5th, 2015, 3:12 pm

rfari wrote:All da silence west like. I hope when next camona fly out and the new senator president acting in his place , that she buss e choat, I hope e go remain so.

And e bad?

what yuh saying there? they enstate a bias senator president?

but that is none of my business. this will take care of itself. just now game will call for all to bare their cards.

Postby goalpost » February 5th, 2015, 3:28 pm

rfari wrote:All da silence west like. I hope when next camona fly out and the new senator president acting in his place , that she buss e choat, I hope e go remain so.

And e bad?

i see....hmmmmm

orangefox

Postby orangefox » February 5th, 2015, 4:27 pm

rabiesebola wrote:
UML wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Dude, next to Patrick Manning, he is one of the longest serving members of our legislature (the arm of the government that makes law). He is more than suitable to comment.

he is a member...he doesnt make the law moreso know about law. Just now you go say he is an engineer too cause he does plan and never build highway :|

i still dont see the sense in building a highway just to go for doubles...there is no significant development in that area that warrants a highway.

There is much logic in your statement.
In critical times $$$ is better spent in the West and POS Area.

PNM will change that very soon :D

Postby SMc » February 5th, 2015, 4:54 pm

I feeling for some black pudding now

orangefox

Postby orangefox » February 5th, 2015, 5:04 pm

toyota2nr wrote:^^^ doh beat up....you are still an illegal so it doh concern you

Toto we are all entitled to a point of view.

Remember " every creed and race ... "

Enjoy :D :D

Postby eliteauto » February 5th, 2015, 5:49 pm

MEDIA RELEASE
STATEMENT TO THE MEDIA- 05th Feb, 2015
CLARIFICATION OF MATTERS PERTAINING TO MY REMOVAL AS MINISTER OF NATIONAL SECURITY
I wish to clarify specific matters pertaining to my removal as Minister of National Security, as there have been many rumors and perceptions about this matter
Further to recent developments, I wish to state that I remain committed to the stance I maintained throughout this unfortunate turn of events.
I have no regrets .
My removal was not for any of the following reasons;
• It was not based on performance. I leave with a fairly passing grade of my last full year in office having the lowest serious crime rate in this country in 31 years and ironically, in the last 25 days in office, the homicide rate was equated to less than 200 per annum, which was never accomplished in a decade.
• It was not based on breeching Cabinet confidentiality or making statements that Cabinet pressured me to lie, as was related to a totally false, misleading and mischievous release made by the Minister of Communications.
• It was and could never be based on my involvement in the Police investigation as it has been confirmed that I am in no way a suspect, implicated or a person of interest in any way, but merely a volunteer witness who can ensure that the Police investigation is completed in quick time
• One can note that even though, I am not a suspect in any way, the Prime Minister spent a few seconds discussing the Attorney General but went to task to attempt, unsuccessfully, in trying to allude that I should have informed her.
So an Attorney General calls me to get in contact with someone saying” Gary, I can’t get through to David. He was supposed to withdraw a document, so please check and find out the status please”, or words to that effect.
Now we have the Prime Minister making a nationwide media conference to state that I should have ran and contacted her and told her that.
What was there to tell ?
There was absolutely nothing of substance in the message, a message by the way that was made weeks after the appointment of the PCA Director, which is why it was done and which is why I am not under any type of investigation.
But more importantly, if we can all recall, this is the same Prime Minister who has constantly said that anytime, anyone who has any knowledge of any wrong doing must take it straight to the Police. Never to her.
So if I was aware of any wrong doing, my obligation was to forward it to the Police and not her, which I have done.
I am not perfect. But I know when the line must be drawn.
I would expect that in the coming days and months ahead, many attacks would be launched against myself and my family, both on social media and other various channels as has become customary with this Government, as that is the style and operation campaign for the upcoming election, which is ‘ if you are not fully on board with us and you have a different view about anything, then you are a PNM ”, as Minister Bharath has already hinted about me , in a childish attempt to discredit me.
It is also to be noted that for five full days after the Prime Minister returned from abroad, she never once asked to see me, so it may seem that the decision was made not based on the subject matter but on me being adamant that I was obliged to speak the truth.
It must also not be forgotten of the false, misleading, reckless and desperate media release approved, quite coincidentally by Minister Bharath himself, on behalf of the Government that I breeched Cabinet confidentiality and accused Cabinet of pressuring me to lie. This was the red herring excuse that was to be used to fire me. But in their haste to attempt to deceive the country into believing that this was the reason, they did not check, upon which they would have known that at no time have I ever done so, so the Government lied to the nation, in a form of deceit to be used to cloud the real reason for removing me.
They then resorted to their Plan A , which was to state that I am part of the investigation. But if by that logic that if any Minister is part of a Police investigation, then by right all Government Ministers in the email gate probe should also have stepped down, and more importantly, they were being investigated and in this case, I am not.
This is a straight case of “ do as I say, but not as I do”.
If the Prime Minister had simply stated that this is a delicate matter, and seeing that I am a witness, whilst also the line Minister that the Police Service falls under, and seeing that another Minister may be a suspect, so to avoid public perception, it may be prudent that I step down until the matter is fully investigated, the public would have believed and accepted that.
But to have her Communications Minister blatantly lie in a release to discredit me and then jump with an outrageous red herring of why I did not inform her that the AG was trying to contact the PCA Director about a document, as a reason to fire to a Minister, it reveals the desperate attempt to hide from the true reason.
I have no desire to change my position and would not sell my principle for personal gain.
I have no regrets for the stance I took and would do so again.
Politics must stop having a morality of its own

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » February 5th, 2015, 6:04 pm

eliteauto wrote:MEDIA RELEASE
CLARIFICATION OF MATTERS PERTAINING TO MY REMOVAL AS MINISTER OF NATIONAL SECURITY
I wish to clarify specific matters pertaining to my removal as Minister of National Security, as there have been many rumors and perceptions about this matter
Further to recent developments, I wish to state that I remain committed to the stance I maintained throughout this unfortunate turn of events.
I have no regrets .
• It was not based on performance. I leave with a fairly passing grade of my last full year in office having the lowest serious crime rate in this country in 31 years and ironically, in the last 25 days in office, the homicide rate was equated to less than 200 per annum, which was never accomplished in a decade.
• It was not based on breeching Cabinet confidentiality or making statements that Cabinet pressured me to lie, as was related to a totally false, misleading and mischievous release made by the Minister of Communications.
• It was and could never be based on my involvement in the Police investigation as it has been confirmed that I am in no way a suspect, implicated or a person of interest in any way, but merely a volunteer witness who can ensure that the Police investigation is completed in quick time
• One can note that even though, I am not a suspect in any way, the Prime Minister spent a few seconds discussing the Attorney General but went to task to attempt, unsuccessfully, in trying to allude that I should have informed her.
So an Attorney General calls me to get in contact with someone saying” Gary, I can’t get through to David. He was supposed to withdraw a document, so please check and find out the status please”, or words to that effect.
Now we have the Prime Minister making a nationwide media conference to state that I should have ran and contacted her and told her that.
What was there to tell ?
There was absolutely nothing of substance in the message, a message by the way that was made weeks after the appointment of the PCA Director, which is why it was done and which is why I am not under any type of investigation.
But more importantly, if we can all recall, this is the same Prime Minister who has constantly said that anytime, anyone who has any knowledge of any wrong doing must take it straight to the Police. Never to her.
So if I was aware of any wrong doing, my obligation was to forward it to the Police and not her, which I have done.
I would expect that in the coming days and months ahead, many attacks would be launched against myself and my family, both on social media and other various channels as has become customary with this Government, as that is the style and operation campaign for the upcoming election, which is ‘ if you are not fully on board with us and you have a different view about anything, then you are a PNM ”, as Minister Bharath has already hinted about me , in a childish attempt to discredit me.
It is also to be noted that for five full days after the Prime Minister returned from abroad, she never once asked to see me, so it may seem that the decision was made not based on the subject matter but on me being adamant that I was obliged to speak the truth.
It must also not be forgotten of the false, misleading, reckless and desperate media release approved, quite coincidentally by Minister Bharath himself, on behalf of the Government that I breeched Cabinet confidentiality and accused Cabinet of pressuring me to lie. This was the red herring excuse that was to be used to fire me. But in their haste to attempt to deceive the country into believing that this was the reason, they did not check, upon which they would have known that at no time have I ever done so, so the Government lied to the nation, in a form of deceit to be used to cloud the real reason for removing me.
They then resorted to their Plan A , which was to state that I am part of the investigation. But if by that logic that if any Minister is part of a Police investigation, then by right all Government Ministers in the email gate probe should also have stepped down, and more importantly, they were being investigated and in this case, I am not.
If the Prime Minister had simply stated that this is a delicate matter, and seeing that I am a witness, whilst also the line Minister that the Police Service falls under, and seeing that another Minister may be a suspect, so to avoid public perception, it may be prudent that I step down until the matter is fully investigated, the public would have believed and accepted that.
But to have her Communications Minister blatantly lie in a release to discredit me and then jump with an outrageous red herring of why I did not inform her that the AG was trying to contact the PCA Director about a document, as a reason to fire to a Minister, it reveals the desperate attempt to hide from the true reason.
I have no desire to change my position and would not sell my principle for personal gain.

Unfortunately this is the modus operandi of the UNC and their sycophants, including all those who rush to this forum to hastily defend this gov't, no matter the nature of the allegations or how strong the facts are. They are incapable of dealing with the issue at hand in an impartial way, they have surrendered the capacity for independent thought in favour of toeing the party line. Following blindly without question led to the rise of the Nazi party, and before they were done they destroyed everything they laid their hands on. I expect some idiot to respond by speaking about what the PNM did in the past, which just reinforces my point.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 5th, 2015, 6:09 pm

I have no regrets .
What was there to tell ?

Postby Habit7 » February 5th, 2015, 6:14 pm

Kamla: Rowley with emailgate you should have gone to the police first!

Kamla: Griffith with Westgate you should come to me first!

orangefox

Re: AG Fired

Postby orangefox » February 5th, 2015, 6:18 pm

maj. tom wrote:ah yes another BBM thread

Official Media: http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/AG- ... 54971.html

Attorney General Anand Ramlogan has responded to the decision taken by acting Police Commissioner Stephen Williams to order a criminal investigation into claims made by the Director of the Police Complaints Authority David West that Ramlogan attempted to pervert the course of justice. In a press release issued at around 6p.m. Ramlogan made the following statement -

I welcome the announcement by the Commissioner of Police of an investigation into the allegations made by Mr David West. I trust that the investigation would be handled professionally, thoroughly and expeditiously.

I will co-operate fully with this investigation and look forward to my vindication.

All parties must now allow due process to take its course. These latest spurious allegations are but part of a wider political conspiracy that is designed to damage the government as we draw closer to elections.

RAMLOGAN'S statement followed a series of actions taken by Director of the Police Complaints Authority (PCA) David West, who said he was allegedly approached by Ramlogan and asked to withdraw his witness statement given in the defamation lawsuit filed by the AG against Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley, in exchange for him (West) being selected to head the PCA.

Earlier today, West issued a statement, saying that: “Although the Hon. Attorney General initially refused to make any comment on the matter, he is now on the public record denying categorically that he ever requested me to withdraw my witness statement in his claim against Dr Rowley. I am compelled to say publicly, without more, that my recollection of what transpired is diametrically opposed to the Hon. Attorney General’s denial that he ever approached me.
Accordingly, I have this morning made a report to the Ag. Commissioner of Police on the matter of the allegations against the Hon. Attorney General reported upon in (an Express) article. I trust that the Ag Commissioner will take swift action on my report as he considers appropriate or as he may be advised and that due process will be ensured and the integrity of any investigation will be preserved.

A short time later, Acting Commissioner of Police Stephen Williams advised that he has ordered an investigation into allegations that Attorney General Anand Ramlogan attempted to pervert the course of justice in a court matter. A statement from the Police Service said the Acting Commissioner was visited by Mr. David West at the Police Administration Building in Port of Spain and presented with a signed statement, in which Mr. West made an allegation of ‘an attempt to pervert the course of justice’ against AG Ramlogan. As a consequence, the Commissioner of Police has ordered an investigation into the matter. The investigation will be led by Acting Deputy Commissioner of Police – Operations, Mr. Harold Phillip.

Semper fidelis Capt Griffith !!

Postby rfari » February 5th, 2015, 6:54 pm

I have no regrets .
What was there to tell ?

Gotdamn Gary :shock:

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » February 5th, 2015, 7:18 pm

Habit7 wrote:Kamla: Rowley with emailgate you should have gone to the police first!

That's because email gate was false, deception and damn lies

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 5th, 2015, 7:20 pm

toyota2nr wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Kamla: Rowley with emailgate you should have gone to the police first!

That's because email gate was false, deception and damn lies

So if it is true you don't go to the police first? Why not?

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » February 5th, 2015, 7:25 pm

orangefox wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:^^^ doh beat up....you are still an illegal so it doh concern you

Toto we are all entitled to a point of view.

Remember " every creed and race ... "

Enjoy :D :D

Yeah but you're an outsider so you wouldn't understand that...

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » February 5th, 2015, 7:28 pm

Hyperion wrote:
I have no regrets .
What was there to tell ?

Unfortunately this is the modus operandi of the UNC and their sycophants, including all those who rush to this forum to hastily defend this gov't, no matter the nature of the allegations or how strong the facts are. They are incapable of dealing with the issue at hand in an impartial way, they have surrendered the capacity for independent thought in favour of toeing the party line. Following blindly without question led to the rise of the Nazi party, and before they were done they destroyed everything they laid their hands on. I expect some idiot to respond by speaking about what the PNM did in the past, which just reinforces my point.

So wait nah...no one must have a different view? We must all agree with you, Habit7, RASC and the PNM.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » February 5th, 2015, 7:41 pm

hmm, the english is really difficult sometimes yes. I am encouraging independent thought, it's ok to disagree with your political leader sometimes, call a spade a spade, don't make yourself look like a puppet trying to defend the indefensible.

Postby zoom rader » February 5th, 2015, 7:56 pm

All this beat up and PP still wining elections.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » February 5th, 2015, 8:38 pm

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Kin ... 93051.html

King: I was fired over Ish and Steve ‘extradition’

By Anna Ramdass anna.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Feb 5, 2015 at 8:20 PM ECT
Story Updated: Feb 5, 2015 at 8:20 PM ECT

Former Government minister Mary King said on Wednesday she was fired from the Cabinet because she supported the extradition of businessmen Ishwar Galbaransingh and Steve Ferguson.

In May, 2011, King was fired as then Minister of Planning, Restructuring and Gender Affairs after questions were raised as to whether she breached the law when she failed to disclose her pecuniary and family interest in a software engineering company, Ixanos Ltd, which won a $100,000 Government website development contract from her ministry.

King said in a letter to the Express she was fired because of her position that the businessmen be extradited.

Galbaransingh and Ferguson are charged with a series of criminal offences arising out of the construction of the Piarco Airport Development Project dating back to 2002.

“Sometime after I was fired it was reported to me that in conversation with a Cabinet minister my name came up and that minister’s aggressive response was that ‘she wanted to extradite Ish and Steve, our colleagues and financiers’,” King said.

“Indeed, I was very strident in my advice to the AG, Ramlogan that their (Ish and Steve) alleged comrades in crime had been already tried and jailed in the US so we should stop dragging our feet and get on with the case to extradite them,” she continued.

“With the Section 34 fiasco yet to come to the Cabinet and then to the Parliament, it would appear that I was a liability to the success of what appeared to keep them not only out of jail in the US but out of jail, full stop!” she stated.

“I had to go and one COP ex-minister was very vocal in broadcasting this message to the public, while others fed misinformation via the media,” stated King.

She pointed that investigations into the allegations made against her with respect to the contract resulted to nothing.

She stated that an investigator from the Global Organisation of Parliamentarians Against Corruption (GOPAC), Canada, came to this country to investigate the complaint against her since she was and still is the secretary to that organisation

“In his report he stated that he found no fault in my activity. Still, I was humiliated and my family publicly embarrassed,” stated King.

King stated that Anand Ramlogan was fired as Attorney General because the consensus in the public domain was that he had to go.

“However, Messrs Griffith and West who stood up for what is correct and for justice were roundly and verbosely condemned by the PM; one was fired and the other recommended to the President for dismissal. Principle and integrity are of no import to this governing administration,” stated King.

smh, what they did to Gary Griffith was in keeping with their modus for the past 5 years. Misdirection, create distractions, engage the spin doctors and paid bloggers, falsely accuse persons to tarnish their reputations thereby reducing their credibility.

Postby Morpheus » February 5th, 2015, 8:44 pm

Hyperion wrote:^^^ at least you Mike Ross was painted in a morally acceptable light (and he actually knows law). This joker had the gall to be arrogant from his very first interview the other night. Not surprised at all at the allegations levelled against him now.

The first impression he gave was not good at all. First time I saw the man or heard him speak and that is what came out his mouth? Damn! LoL

Postby rfari » February 5th, 2015, 8:53 pm

Hyperion wrote:http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/King-I-was-fired-over-Ish-and-Steve-extradition-290993051.html

King: I was fired over Ish and Steve ‘extradition’

By Anna Ramdass anna.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Feb 5, 2015 at 8:20 PM ECT
Story Updated: Feb 5, 2015 at 8:20 PM ECT

Former Government minister Mary King said on Wednesday she was fired from the Cabinet because she supported the extradition of businessmen Ishwar Galbaransingh and Steve Ferguson.

In May, 2011, King was fired as then Minister of Planning, Restructuring and Gender Affairs after questions were raised as to whether she breached the law when she failed to disclose her pecuniary and family interest in a software engineering company, Ixanos Ltd, which won a $100,000 Government website development contract from her ministry.

King said in a letter to the Express she was fired because of her position that the businessmen be extradited.

Galbaransingh and Ferguson are charged with a series of criminal offences arising out of the construction of the Piarco Airport Development Project dating back to 2002.

“Sometime after I was fired it was reported to me that in conversation with a Cabinet minister my name came up and that minister’s aggressive response was that ‘she wanted to extradite Ish and Steve, our colleagues and financiers’,” King said.

“Indeed, I was very strident in my advice to the AG, Ramlogan that their (Ish and Steve) alleged comrades in crime had been already tried and jailed in the US so we should stop dragging our feet and get on with the case to extradite them,” she continued.

“With the Section 34 fiasco yet to come to the Cabinet and then to the Parliament, it would appear that I was a liability to the success of what appeared to keep them not only out of jail in the US but out of jail, full stop!” she stated.

“I had to go and one COP ex-minister was very vocal in broadcasting this message to the public, while others fed misinformation via the media,” stated King.

She pointed that investigations into the allegations made against her with respect to the contract resulted to nothing.

She stated that an investigator from the Global Organisation of Parliamentarians Against Corruption (GOPAC), Canada, came to this country to investigate the complaint against her since she was and still is the secretary to that organisation

“In his report he stated that he found no fault in my activity. Still, I was humiliated and my family publicly embarrassed,” stated King.

King stated that Anand Ramlogan was fired as Attorney General because the consensus in the public domain was that he had to go.

“However, Messrs Griffith and West who stood up for what is correct and for justice were roundly and verbosely condemned by the PM; one was fired and the other recommended to the President for dismissal. Principle and integrity are of no import to this governing administration,” stated King.

smh, what they did to Gary Griffith was in keeping with their modus for the past 5 years. Misdirection, create distractions, engage the spin doctors and paid bloggers, falsely accuse persons to tarnish their reputations thereby reducing their credibility.

So wha young partap go say? If is anybody that took one on the chin for the team it was he

Postby zoom rader » February 5th, 2015, 9:08 pm

All these ex - ministers thought that they could try PNM nasty methods in PP and win, but they all got booted out.

Good job for PP doing house cleaning, if PNM had done this yrs ago they would have still been in power.

Postby UML » February 5th, 2015, 9:28 pm

She make it she business to write the express. She always seeking she own business. No pun intended. :lol::lol:

Postby shogun » February 5th, 2015, 9:37 pm

Morpheus wrote:
Hyperion wrote:^^^ at least you Mike Ross was painted in a morally acceptable light (and he actually knows law). This joker had the gall to be arrogant from his very first interview the other night. Not surprised at all at the allegations levelled against him now.

The first impression he gave was not good at all. First time I saw the man or heard him speak and that is what came out his mouth? Damn! LoL

Ent.

Man couldn't make a worse first impression.

PP chose wisely. That line will be toed.

Postby pugboy » February 5th, 2015, 10:14 pm

So is griffith going to the unc carnival party in oval?

Will natsec helis be hovering low whole night of any carnival party he in?

Postby UML » February 6th, 2015, 9:20 am

UML wrote:
Law Association on complaint against AG: Mischief afoot

Gail Alexander
Published:

Friday, February 6, 2015

The Law Association of T&T has told attorney Gregory Delzin that a matter which arose 14 years ago while Attorney General Garvin Nicholas was a student was addressed and resolved and it is “unfortunate and mischievous” that the matter became public yesterday.

The association issued a copy of a letter to this effect, signed by its president Seenath Jairam and sent to Delzin yesterday.

This, after Delzin wrote the association on the matter involving Nicholas on Wednesday, shortly after Nicholas was appointed Attorney General. The association’s council met Wednesday night.

But private documents concerning Nicholas’s pupilage period were leaked to the media, appearing in an Express report yesterday. It was reported that the issue of 14 years ago concerning Nicholas was being referred to the association.

The association was being urged to investigate allegations that Nicholas, while in pupilage at Trinity Chambers in 2001, was cautioned by then chamber head Desmond Allum, SC, about breaching the Legal Profession Act (LPA).

This occurred after Nicholas allegedly printed call cards representing himself as an attorney admitted to practise in T&T.

Allum is now deceased. A copy of a letter by the deceased Allum was sent to association on Wednesday. Allum had reportedly spoken to Nicholas on the issue in 2001 in the presence of Delzin.

Lawyers attached to Trinity Chambers now, according to the chamber’s telephone recording listing, include Delzin and former Solicitor General Eleanor Donaldson-Honeywell.

She resigned in 2014 while former attorney general Anand Ramlogan was in office and her complaint to Ramlogan ignited the prisongate controversy, now under probe.

Prisongate refers to an investigation where civil claims were being filed against the State by prisoners who claimed they were beaten in custody and awarded compensation by the Judiciary.

Police are probing allegations that the information in the civil lawsuits were being copied and pasted by attorneys involved in the matters.

Nicholas has said he had left Trinity chambers due to false allegations that he sought a percentage of fees paid to attorneys in the chamber for work done.

He said he had also resigned not because of the call card issue but because he felt some personalities were being “petty” and he didn’t want to be there.

He said he had been a barrister of England and Wales and a member of the Inner Tem­ple.

However, as he had not yet been called to the local Bar, it was felt he should not state that on his card. He said when the situation was pointed out, he complied and later left on very amicable terms with Allum.

Delzin didn’t answer calls on the association’s letter.

Full Confidence

Yesterday Government confirmed due diligence was followed with regard to Nicholas’ appointment. The Communication Ministry, via a statement, added:

“As explained by the Attorney General (in the story) he was called to the Bar in the United Kingdom in 2001 as a barrister of law and member of the Inner Temple.

“Later that year, he returned to T&T to start his six month in-service training at Trinity Chambers under the tutelage of the head of chambers, the late Desmond Allum, SC, as part of the Legal Education Certificate (LEC) requirement to get called to the Bar locally.

“Regarding allegations that Mr Nicholas was requesting a percentage of fees from work he had referred to attorneys while at the chambers, these claims were denied and Mr Nicholas continued his pupilage at Trinity Chambers until his decision to resign and complete his training with Mr Robin Montano.

“It is worth noting that this matter occurred more than 14 years ago and was resolved. Senator Nicholas was called to the Bar in 2002 in T&T, and has a distinguished career in the fields of law, politics and diplomacy.

“Government has every confidence that Senator Nicholas will execute the functions of the Office of the Attorney General responsibly and in keeping with the highest principles of integrity, transparency and accountability,”

No censure for West

The Law Association’s Council meeting on Wednesday did not have any motion calling for Police Complaints Authority director David West to resign and no motion was “out-voted,” legal sources said.

West has been called upon to resign by Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar for failing to notify the President or herself that he was allegedly approached by former attorney general Anand Ramlogan to withdraw his witness statement in a defamation lawsuit in support of Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley.

Members said there was an almost full council turnout but no motion to call on West to resign.

They said discussions on West began at the association’s meeting last Saturday following which the council issued a statement, saying then attorney general Anand Ramlogan should resign to the face of a police probe.

They said the West issue was again examined at Wednesday’s council meeting but no decisions were taken, sources said. Association officials yesterday said it stood by its statement of last Saturday.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-02- ... hief-afoot

The Law Association needs to call for West to resign as they did for Ramlogan.

It wasnt a problem when he was High Commissioner to the UK.

HIGH COMMISSIONER GARVIN NICHOLAS WINS DIPLOMAT OF THE YEAR FROM THE AMERICAS AWARD

A leader among his peers

Garvin Nicholas has won the coveted Diplomat of the Year from the Americas Award in his role as High Commissioner to the United Kingdom.

London is host to one of the largest diplomatic communities comprising some of the most experienced and influential diplomats in the world.

High Commissioner Nicholas was nominated and voted for by his peers in the Diplomatic Community in the UK. The Award Ceremony was put on by DIPLOMAT magazine at the Langham Hotel in London and hosted by former British Ambassador to the United States, Sir Christopher Meyer.

Nicholas has lifted the image and influence of Trinidad and Tobago in the UK and the Commonwealth over the last two and a half years.

Nicholas is:

-Member of the Board of Governors of the Commonwealth Secretariat

-Member of the Board of Governors of the Commonwealth Foundation

-Member of the Executive Committee of the Commonwealth Foundation

-Chairman of the Grants Committee of the Commonwealth Foundation

-Member of the Commonwealth Education Trust

-Member of the Commonwealth Advisory Panel for the Queen

Elizabeth Diamond Jubilee Trust

-Chairman of the Sub-Committee of the CARICOM High Commissioners for Trade and Development

-Member of a Sub-Committee to rationalise the Strategic Plan of the Commonwealth Secretariat

Trinidad and Tobago is also a member of the Commonwealth Ministerial Action Group (CMAG).

As a result of his efforts, Trinidad and Tobago is now recognised as an active and influential participant in the quest to strike a balance between human rights and democracy and development issues as the Commonwealth charts its future.

Trinidad and Tobago's culture has been significantly exposed to the diplomatic community and the general population of the UK with initiatives such as the very impressive four and a half week Cultural Village put on during the summer of 2012, our Golden Jubilee year, and the annual Parang and varied religious receptions hosted by Nicholas in the UK.

Most importantly, Nicholas has been able to present a professional and uplifting image of Trinidad and Tobago and has been able to attract significant direct investment interest towards Trinidad and Tobago in the Energy, Tourism, Manufacturing, Financial and Infrastructure Development sectors.

Nicholas, who came within a few hundred votes of winning the Diego Martin North East constituency in the 2010 General Elections, noted that while he enjoyed his role as High Commissioner, he got into politics to serve the people and enjoys his role most when it impacts directly and positively on the lives of people.

Nicholas thanked his staff for their invaluable support to him in the execution of his role and noted that his successes would not have been possible without that support.

In moving forward he wished to note that, "Trinidad and Tobago is a nation with huge potential, sometimes you get a better appreciation for the potential from a distance. We however need to be far more proactive as well as responsive to opportunities as the best opportunities do not wait for us to deliberate indefinitely."
http://www.tthighcommission.co.uk/index ... icas-award

like the PNMites stop posting!!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Griffith proposed West for PCA

By Anika Gumbs CCN Senior Multimedia Investigative Journalist

Story Created: Feb 5, 2015 at 9:35 PM ECT
Story Updated: Feb 5, 2015 at 9:35 PM ECT

Former minister of national security Gary Griffith was the one who nominated David West for the job at the Police Complaints Authority (PCA).

Griffith’s nomination was accepted by Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar who in turn jointly recommended West to the President along with Opposition leader Dr Keith Rowley for the post.

The Express learned that in early October 2014 Persad-Bissessar asked members of Cabinet to submit nominations to fill the post at the PCA and the Police Service Commission (PSC).

Griffith nominated West to head the PCA and attorney Martin Daly,SC, as chairman of the PSC.

West was accepted but Daly was not.

The recommendation submitted by Persad-Bissessar and Rowley to the President was accepted and West was appointed director of the PCA on November 7, 2014.

West replaced former PCA director Gillian Lucky who resigned from the post in September to assume a judgeship.

When contacted by the Express yesterday, Griffith confirmed that he nominated West to head the PCA.

Griffith said: “Based on the vacancies at the PCA and the PSC the Prime Minister asked all Cabinet officials to submit nominations for her consideration to fill both top posts. Several nominations were submitted but all were rejected besides West. The issue of West being recommended for the job was raised in Cabinet by the Prime Minister and no one objected to him being selected.”

Griffith said the issue of whether West was a member of the People’s National Movement because of his criticisms of the Government over the handling of certain matters involving money laundering and aspects of the Financial Action Task Force was also discussed during the Cabinet meeting in early October but the Prime Minister still recommended West.

“The Prime Minister did not budge and she agreed to recommend Mr David West based not on perceived political affiliation but on the fact that she saw him as the best man for the job which was the important factor,” Griffith said.

Griffith said at the time he submitted his nomination for the job at the PCA he was unaware that West was a witness in a defamation lawsuit relating to the failed extradition involving Section 34 applicants Steve Ferguson and Ishwar Galbaransingh.

The defamation lawsuit stemmed from statements former attorney general Anand Ramlogan claimed Rowley made during a news conference on November 8, 2011, relating to Justice Ronnie Boodoosingh’s ruling in which he quashed the Attorney General’s decision to order the extradition of Ferguson and Galbaransingh arising out of the Piarco International Airport enquiry.

“Obviously I did not know Mr West was a witness in the defamation matter otherwise I would have never telephoned him enquiring if he had pulled back a document,” Griffith said.

TELEPHONE RECORDS

Telephone records show Griffith contacted West on December 19, 2014.

During that conversation the Express learned Griffith told West he was asked to find out if he (West) had “pulled back a document”.

Griffith was apparently unaware the document was a witness statement until being told so by West, sources said.

West told Griffith the document was filed in the High Court and he was not going to withdraw it.

Griffith’s call to West was made on December 19—the same day West filed his witness statement in the Hall of Justice.

Telephone records show that three days before, on December 16, Ramlogan attempted to contact West twice but the calls went unanswered.

Express investigations have revealed Ramlogan telephoned West after midday on October 31, 2014.

This call to West was the second telephone call registered on his cellphone, from Ramlogan, on the same day (October 31).

Ramlogan had telephoned West earlier on the morning of October 31 informing him that he was tipped to head the PCA following the resignation of Lucky.

However, at the time the second telephone call was made, the Office of the President had already contacted West on the same day (October 31) scheduling a meeting with him on November 3 regarding his appointment as PCA head.

Immediately following the telephone conversation with Ramlogan, West sought legal advice on the alleged request for the witness statement to be withdrawn in the defamation matter.

West reported Ramlogan to the police on January 30.

Griffith is a witness in the criminal police probe against Ramlogan who is being investigated by police over an allegation that six days before West was appointed PCA director, he was telephoned by the former AG and asked to withdraw a witness statement in the Section 34 defamation lawsuit filed against Rowley in exchange for the job.

Ramlogan has denied the allegation.

Both Ramlogan and Griffith were fired from the Cabinet on Monday.

While Griffith is not under investigation, Persad-Bissessar said he was dismissed because he (Griffith) failed to inform her of the telephone call he made to West.

But according to Griffith, he was fired because he did not agree with certain Cabinet colleagues that he should deny the conversation he had with West.

Griffith is on record as saying he was “almost set up” by being made to call West.

He has since handed over two reports to the police detailing the telephone conversation with West and one involving his former Cabinet colleagues.

A third report involving public relations consultant Ernie Ross was expected to be handed over to the police yesterday.

Griffith claimed both he and wife Nicole, Dyer-Griffith, were summoned to a meeting on January 28 at Ross Advertising.

However, Ross, who had initially denied meeting with Griffith or Dyer-Griffith, has now confirmed that an “informal” meeting took place all in the interest of the former minister.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Gri ... 99881.html

more in the mortar than the pestle!!! :roll:

files bussing.........and look who...TWO PNM HEFE'S!!! :shock: :shock: :shock:

and to think Griffith was in charge of National Security and the spying agency SSA :shock: :|

im sure west will not be available for an interview by the media :roll:
Last edited by UML on February 6th, 2015, 9:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » February 6th, 2015, 9:29 am

So Hyperion, Habit7 how come you all didn't object to Garvin Nicholas getting a post since 2010? Why only now you objecting?

Postby rfari » February 6th, 2015, 9:41 am

UML wrote:
UML wrote:
Law Association on complaint against AG: Mischief afoot

Gail Alexander
Published:

Friday, February 6, 2015

The Law Association of T&T has told attorney Gregory Delzin that a matter which arose 14 years ago while Attorney General Garvin Nicholas was a student was addressed and resolved and it is “unfortunate and mischievous” that the matter became public yesterday.

The association issued a copy of a letter to this effect, signed by its president Seenath Jairam and sent to Delzin yesterday.

This, after Delzin wrote the association on the matter involving Nicholas on Wednesday, shortly after Nicholas was appointed Attorney General. The association’s council met Wednesday night.

But private documents concerning Nicholas’s pupilage period were leaked to the media, appearing in an Express report yesterday. It was reported that the issue of 14 years ago concerning Nicholas was being referred to the association.

The association was being urged to investigate allegations that Nicholas, while in pupilage at Trinity Chambers in 2001, was cautioned by then chamber head Desmond Allum, SC, about breaching the Legal Profession Act (LPA).

This occurred after Nicholas allegedly printed call cards representing himself as an attorney admitted to practise in T&T.

Allum is now deceased. A copy of a letter by the deceased Allum was sent to association on Wednesday. Allum had reportedly spoken to Nicholas on the issue in 2001 in the presence of Delzin.

Lawyers attached to Trinity Chambers now, according to the chamber’s telephone recording listing, include Delzin and former Solicitor General Eleanor Donaldson-Honeywell.

She resigned in 2014 while former attorney general Anand Ramlogan was in office and her complaint to Ramlogan ignited the prisongate controversy, now under probe.

Prisongate refers to an investigation where civil claims were being filed against the State by prisoners who claimed they were beaten in custody and awarded compensation by the Judiciary.

Police are probing allegations that the information in the civil lawsuits were being copied and pasted by attorneys involved in the matters.

Nicholas has said he had left Trinity chambers due to false allegations that he sought a percentage of fees paid to attorneys in the chamber for work done.

He said he had also resigned not because of the call card issue but because he felt some personalities were being “petty” and he didn’t want to be there.

He said he had been a barrister of England and Wales and a member of the Inner Tem­ple.

However, as he had not yet been called to the local Bar, it was felt he should not state that on his card. He said when the situation was pointed out, he complied and later left on very amicable terms with Allum.

Delzin didn’t answer calls on the association’s letter.

Full Confidence

Yesterday Government confirmed due diligence was followed with regard to Nicholas’ appointment. The Communication Ministry, via a statement, added:

“As explained by the Attorney General (in the story) he was called to the Bar in the United Kingdom in 2001 as a barrister of law and member of the Inner Temple.

“Later that year, he returned to T&T to start his six month in-service training at Trinity Chambers under the tutelage of the head of chambers, the late Desmond Allum, SC, as part of the Legal Education Certificate (LEC) requirement to get called to the Bar locally.

“Regarding allegations that Mr Nicholas was requesting a percentage of fees from work he had referred to attorneys while at the chambers, these claims were denied and Mr Nicholas continued his pupilage at Trinity Chambers until his decision to resign and complete his training with Mr Robin Montano.

“It is worth noting that this matter occurred more than 14 years ago and was resolved. Senator Nicholas was called to the Bar in 2002 in T&T, and has a distinguished career in the fields of law, politics and diplomacy.

“Government has every confidence that Senator Nicholas will execute the functions of the Office of the Attorney General responsibly and in keeping with the highest principles of integrity, transparency and accountability,”

No censure for West

The Law Association’s Council meeting on Wednesday did not have any motion calling for Police Complaints Authority director David West to resign and no motion was “out-voted,” legal sources said.

West has been called upon to resign by Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar for failing to notify the President or herself that he was allegedly approached by former attorney general Anand Ramlogan to withdraw his witness statement in a defamation lawsuit in support of Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley.

Members said there was an almost full council turnout but no motion to call on West to resign.

They said discussions on West began at the association’s meeting last Saturday following which the council issued a statement, saying then attorney general Anand Ramlogan should resign to the face of a police probe.

They said the West issue was again examined at Wednesday’s council meeting but no decisions were taken, sources said. Association officials yesterday said it stood by its statement of last Saturday.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-02- ... hief-afoot

The Law Association needs to call for West to resign as they did for Ramlogan.

It wasnt a problem when he was High Commissioner to the UK.

HIGH COMMISSIONER GARVIN NICHOLAS WINS DIPLOMAT OF THE YEAR FROM THE AMERICAS AWARD

A leader among his peers

Garvin Nicholas has won the coveted Diplomat of the Year from the Americas Award in his role as High Commissioner to the United Kingdom.

London is host to one of the largest diplomatic communities comprising some of the most experienced and influential diplomats in the world.

High Commissioner Nicholas was nominated and voted for by his peers in the Diplomatic Community in the UK. The Award Ceremony was put on by DIPLOMAT magazine at the Langham Hotel in London and hosted by former British Ambassador to the United States, Sir Christopher Meyer.

Nicholas has lifted the image and influence of Trinidad and Tobago in the UK and the Commonwealth over the last two and a half years.

Nicholas is:

-Member of the Board of Governors of the Commonwealth Secretariat

-Member of the Board of Governors of the Commonwealth Foundation

-Member of the Executive Committee of the Commonwealth Foundation

-Chairman of the Grants Committee of the Commonwealth Foundation

-Member of the Commonwealth Education Trust

-Member of the Commonwealth Advisory Panel for the Queen

Elizabeth Diamond Jubilee Trust

-Chairman of the Sub-Committee of the CARICOM High Commissioners for Trade and Development

-Member of a Sub-Committee to rationalise the Strategic Plan of the Commonwealth Secretariat

Trinidad and Tobago is also a member of the Commonwealth Ministerial Action Group (CMAG).

As a result of his efforts, Trinidad and Tobago is now recognised as an active and influential participant in the quest to strike a balance between human rights and democracy and development issues as the Commonwealth charts its future.

Trinidad and Tobago's culture has been significantly exposed to the diplomatic community and the general population of the UK with initiatives such as the very impressive four and a half week Cultural Village put on during the summer of 2012, our Golden Jubilee year, and the annual Parang and varied religious receptions hosted by Nicholas in the UK.

Most importantly, Nicholas has been able to present a professional and uplifting image of Trinidad and Tobago and has been able to attract significant direct investment interest towards Trinidad and Tobago in the Energy, Tourism, Manufacturing, Financial and Infrastructure Development sectors.

Nicholas, who came within a few hundred votes of winning the Diego Martin North East constituency in the 2010 General Elections, noted that while he enjoyed his role as High Commissioner, he got into politics to serve the people and enjoys his role most when it impacts directly and positively on the lives of people.

Nicholas thanked his staff for their invaluable support to him in the execution of his role and noted that his successes would not have been possible without that support.

In moving forward he wished to note that, "Trinidad and Tobago is a nation with huge potential, sometimes you get a better appreciation for the potential from a distance. We however need to be far more proactive as well as responsive to opportunities as the best opportunities do not wait for us to deliberate indefinitely."
http://www.tthighcommission.co.uk/index ... icas-award

like the PNMites stop posting!!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Griffith proposed West for PCA

By Anika Gumbs CCN Senior Multimedia Investigative Journalist

Story Created: Feb 5, 2015 at 9:35 PM ECT
Story Updated: Feb 5, 2015 at 9:35 PM ECT

Former minister of national security Gary Griffith was the one who nominated David West for the job at the Police Complaints Authority (PCA).

Griffith’s nomination was accepted by Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar who in turn jointly recommended West to the President along with Opposition leader Dr Keith Rowley for the post.

The Express learned that in early October 2014 Persad-Bissessar asked members of Cabinet to submit nominations to fill the post at the PCA and the Police Service Commission (PSC).

Griffith nominated West to head the PCA and attorney Martin Daly,SC, as chairman of the PSC.

West was accepted but Daly was not.

The recommendation submitted by Persad-Bissessar and Rowley to the President was accepted and West was appointed director of the PCA on November 7, 2014.

West replaced former PCA director Gillian Lucky who resigned from the post in September to assume a judgeship.

When contacted by the Express yesterday, Griffith confirmed that he nominated West to head the PCA.

Griffith said: “Based on the vacancies at the PCA and the PSC the Prime Minister asked all Cabinet officials to submit nominations for her consideration to fill both top posts. Several nominations were submitted but all were rejected besides West. The issue of West being recommended for the job was raised in Cabinet by the Prime Minister and no one objected to him being selected.”

Griffith said the issue of whether West was a member of the People’s National Movement because of his criticisms of the Government over the handling of certain matters involving money laundering and aspects of the Financial Action Task Force was also discussed during the Cabinet meeting in early October but the Prime Minister still recommended West.

“The Prime Minister did not budge and she agreed to recommend Mr David West based not on perceived political affiliation but on the fact that she saw him as the best man for the job which was the important factor,” Griffith said.

Griffith said at the time he submitted his nomination for the job at the PCA he was unaware that West was a witness in a defamation lawsuit relating to the failed extradition involving Section 34 applicants Steve Ferguson and Ishwar Galbaransingh.

The defamation lawsuit stemmed from statements former attorney general Anand Ramlogan claimed Rowley made during a news conference on November 8, 2011, relating to Justice Ronnie Boodoosingh’s ruling in which he quashed the Attorney General’s decision to order the extradition of Ferguson and Galbaransingh arising out of the Piarco International Airport enquiry.

“Obviously I did not know Mr West was a witness in the defamation matter otherwise I would have never telephoned him enquiring if he had pulled back a document,” Griffith said.

TELEPHONE RECORDS

Telephone records show Griffith contacted West on December 19, 2014.

During that conversation the Express learned Griffith told West he was asked to find out if he (West) had “pulled back a document”.

Griffith was apparently unaware the document was a witness statement until being told so by West, sources said.

West told Griffith the document was filed in the High Court and he was not going to withdraw it.

Griffith’s call to West was made on December 19—the same day West filed his witness statement in the Hall of Justice.

Telephone records show that three days before, on December 16, Ramlogan attempted to contact West twice but the calls went unanswered.

Express investigations have revealed Ramlogan telephoned West after midday on October 31, 2014.

This call to West was the second telephone call registered on his cellphone, from Ramlogan, on the same day (October 31).

Ramlogan had telephoned West earlier on the morning of October 31 informing him that he was tipped to head the PCA following the resignation of Lucky.

However, at the time the second telephone call was made, the Office of the President had already contacted West on the same day (October 31) scheduling a meeting with him on November 3 regarding his appointment as PCA head.

Immediately following the telephone conversation with Ramlogan, West sought legal advice on the alleged request for the witness statement to be withdrawn in the defamation matter.

West reported Ramlogan to the police on January 30.

Griffith is a witness in the criminal police probe against Ramlogan who is being investigated by police over an allegation that six days before West was appointed PCA director, he was telephoned by the former AG and asked to withdraw a witness statement in the Section 34 defamation lawsuit filed against Rowley in exchange for the job.

Ramlogan has denied the allegation.

Both Ramlogan and Griffith were fired from the Cabinet on Monday.

While Griffith is not under investigation, Persad-Bissessar said he was dismissed because he (Griffith) failed to inform her of the telephone call he made to West.

But according to Griffith, he was fired because he did not agree with certain Cabinet colleagues that he should deny the conversation he had with West.

Griffith is on record as saying he was “almost set up” by being made to call West.

He has since handed over two reports to the police detailing the telephone conversation with West and one involving his former Cabinet colleagues.

A third report involving public relations consultant Ernie Ross was expected to be handed over to the police yesterday.

Griffith claimed both he and wife Nicole, Dyer-Griffith, were summoned to a meeting on January 28 at Ross Advertising.

However, Ross, who had initially denied meeting with Griffith or Dyer-Griffith, has now confirmed that an “informal” meeting took place all in the interest of the former minister.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Gri ... 99881.html

more in the mortar than the pestle!!! :roll:

files bussing.........and look who...TWO PNM HEFE'S!!! :shock: :shock: :shock:

and to think Griffith was in charge of National Security and the spying agency SSA :shock: :|

im sure west will not be available for an interview by the media :roll:

The police should cancel the investigation into anan and start one on West and Griffith. It obvious that they setup the man

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 6th, 2015, 9:42 am

So Griffith was a PNM? That's the level of logic we reach?