Digicel 4G/HSPA+ Thread

mojosodope

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby mojosodope » May 14th, 2012, 10:09 pm

^ bmobile customer service is absolute sh!t. They really need to commit more resources towards cs development.

jm3

Re: DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby jm3 » May 14th, 2012, 10:36 pm

lol welcome to trinidad,
most of the companys here only survive due to lack of competition,
they don't really need to give a sheit about cs because at the end of the day where else can you really go it's digicel or bmobile or no phone.

jm3

Postby jm3 » May 14th, 2012, 10:49 pm

iphone 4 on digicel 4g instructions
ok i have just been helping out a fellow tuner get his i4 to work on the 4g(3g) plan.
i thought i would make a post just so that maybe somebody else that has a problem with it could get through.

ok lets go from the start did you do the procedure on the flier?
you have to dial a succession of different *400*...# numbers and you receive a msg after each until you get to the point that they take payment from your account (this is for prepaid) and a confirmation message sent saying

"thank you for adding the x-day xxxmb 4g data plan. your plan will expire on 2012/xx/xx xx:xx. please restart your phone to begin enjoying the 4g experience! you can check your data balance at anytime by dialing *120*4#."

once you have gotten to this point all you have to do is go to settings> general> network
check that the "enable 3g" option is "on"

then in the same settings go to "cellular data network"
and you will see a box titled "cellular data" in this box select "apn" and enter web.digiceltt.com
after you have done all this switch your phone off and then turn it on again,

After that you should see a "3g"
symbol at the top of your screen where your "e" for edge used to appear right next to the signal bars.
should should now be on the 4g network.

risley93

Postby risley93 » May 14th, 2012, 11:03 pm

mmsc
mms ua prof and mms mak size..... leave those blank??.. and the port?

achillies

Postby achillies » May 14th, 2012, 11:18 pm

Val wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ good to know man.

Just wanna mention something before I go. I downloaded a app call 3G watch dog that tracks my data usage. according to my current data use per day I would need 2.1GB per month.

So the 2GB plan I took works out quite nicely. I use maybe 60MB a day I would say to browse websites. A page on trinituner takes 120KB to load fully.

Why do you need this app? ICS on the Galaxy S2 already has this feature built in.

I'm not sure it measures uploads also, I fine dialing *120*4# to be the most reliable as this is from the horse's mouth, so to speak.

Plus I dual boot and change ROMs

risley93

Postby risley93 » May 14th, 2012, 11:19 pm

it work dude !!!! thanks

jm3

Postby jm3 » May 14th, 2012, 11:54 pm

risley93 wrote:it work dude !!!! thanks

no problem man pleased to help

firstchoicett

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby firstchoicett » May 15th, 2012, 12:20 am

Test in POS
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1337055630.825010.jpg

jm3

Postby jm3 » May 15th, 2012, 12:25 am

how are you getting such high speeds on yours lol no fair share the bandwidth lol

jm3

Postby jm3 » May 15th, 2012, 12:28 am

how do you get those screenies btw?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 15th, 2012, 6:03 am

jsm1985 wrote:I called bmobile's retention department today to tell them I'm interested in switching to Digicel's 4G network, being a post paid customer for the past 10 years.

All the CSR said was that I needed to settle my balance and call again to have my service terminated. I found this unbelievable that that was the type of service I received from the RETENTION DEPARTMENT of a company that should be using all their resources to keep their current users from switching. I even had to ask HER if they have any plans for a 4G network, although I already know they of course do, to which she replied that they don't have an exact date but it should be "within the next month".

I find it real hard to believe they will have HSPA 4G within the next month. But then lets assume they know what we don't know. Offcourse they could just be telling lies to make us stay with them and not switch just hoping for 4G and every month they will say yeah well is next month really.

What I feel they mean is this Bzone 4G thing because they did state that within the first 2 months they will be rolling out Bzone 4G WIFI and 4G wireless TV. Though I won't go maracas to use internet.

Val

Postby Val » May 15th, 2012, 7:48 am

jm3 wrote:how do you get those screenies btw?

On unrooted ICS, hold down the volume down button and power button simultaneously.

On rooted ICS, there a several apps that will allow you to shake the phone to get the screenshot.

firstchoicett

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby firstchoicett » May 15th, 2012, 8:10 am

jm3 wrote:how are you getting such high speeds on yours lol no fair share the bandwidth lol

I ent know u got a 4S too?

achillies

Postby achillies » May 15th, 2012, 8:46 am

Val wrote:
jm3 wrote:how do you get those screenies btw?

On unrooted ICS, hold down the volume down button and power button simultaneously.

On rooted ICS, there a several apps that will allow you to shake the phone to get the screenshot.

No need. The method you stated is will work whether you are rooted or not, power & volume down for screen shot is an ICS feature.

firstchoicett

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby firstchoicett » May 15th, 2012, 10:12 am

My data use so far just have 3 2GB remaining .
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1337091118.461834.jpg

jm3

Postby jm3 » May 15th, 2012, 10:39 am

no mine is a 4 i didnt realise that made such a difference to the connection speed aswell :S another reason to get a 4s lol

Postby nemisis » May 15th, 2012, 10:53 am

jm3 wrote:no mine is a 4 i didnt realise that made such a difference to the connection speed aswell :S another reason to get a 4s lol

comments like this reminds me it have people who buy a brand and actually don't know anything about what they actually have

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 15th, 2012, 11:18 am

2 tstt technicians came in work today to remove the old phoneboot so i asked them about tstt 4g. They said tstt launching it on the 16th of may with the blu android phone. Hmmm not sure if to believe that but you never know.

jm3

Postby jm3 » May 15th, 2012, 11:58 am

nemisis wrote:
jm3 wrote:no mine is a 4 i didnt realise that made such a difference to the connection speed aswell :S another reason to get a 4s lol

comments like this reminds me it have people who buy a brand and actually don't know anything about what they actually have

lol what is that supposed to mean?
i chose the iphone because i liked it and i like the build quality.
i was supposed to know everything about the phone and phones like it before buying?
i know the difference in specs between the phones however i did not realise that it would also double the bandwidth he was able to get that is all.
mobile phones are hardly complex or difficult to understand,
so it is not as much of an achievement as you think to know everything about the phone.

tallman1986

Postby tallman1986 » May 15th, 2012, 11:58 am

ok so i have read a whole lot of stuff since the digicel 4g launch. I think it it safe to say bmobile will launch b4 the yr ends, with lower prices, blah blah blah, so basically we on d rd 2 niceness.
However the next very important issue as regards 3g/4g and smart fones is local apps. i think the real revolution is the way trinis and beginning interact in the market place. more and more we and using our smart fones, yet there are only a few local apps on the market. Eg, trinituner have any plans for an app for iphone, android, blackberry? if one out already plz forgive me. any traffic update apps, store apps, (lets say u could purchase clothes from franchise fashion, or tickets to go see a movie at movie town right from yuh fone)..... u all understand where we going with this. I want more local apps. for anyone who into programming in trinidad, they could make relllll paper.

Postby cinco » May 15th, 2012, 12:11 pm

bmobile have a big ad smartphone revolutions 160512

Daran

Postby Daran » May 15th, 2012, 12:11 pm

nemisis wrote:

Uhm he could be talking about how the Iphone 4S supports HSPA+ while many others cough * blackberry * cough doesn't.

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:2 tstt technicians came in work today to remove the old phoneboot so i asked them about tstt 4g. They said tstt launching it on the 16th of may with the blu android phone. Hmmm not sure if to believe that but you never know.

LOL TSTT Techs does be the last to know. Trust me.

jm3

Postby jm3 » May 15th, 2012, 12:12 pm

this is all i got this morning

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » May 15th, 2012, 12:17 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:2 tstt technicians came in work today to remove the old phoneboot so i asked them about tstt 4g. They said tstt launching it on the 16th of may with the blu android phone. Hmmm not sure if to believe that but you never know.

Yes boy it TRUE I confirm Digicel and TSTT early this year but the thread was locked. According to my sources they will be launching tomorrow. So look out for the RED total truck on top the green tow truck.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » May 15th, 2012, 12:20 pm

jm3 wrote:this is all i got this morning

You try to do a test when you get full signal ? I am in california To Chag I get about 7-10MB now last night when I went iMAX on my way on the highway i maintain a skype video call without droping or any problems from Couva flyover to POS. PS I was not driving.

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby M_2NR » May 15th, 2012, 12:23 pm

risley93 wrote:mmsc
mms ua prof and mms mak size..... leave those blank??.. and the port?

http://modblog101.wordpress.com/2010/05 ... -networks/

Follow it to a tee and u good to go ;)

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 15th, 2012, 12:30 pm

firstchoicett wrote:

Yes boy it TRUE I confirm Digicel and TSTT early this year but the thread was locked. According to my sources they will be launching tomorrow. So look out for the RED total truck on top the green tow truck.

Lol i assume yuh being sarcastic since the odds tstt launching 4G tomorrow is like winning the lotto.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on May 15th, 2012, 12:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby cinco » May 15th, 2012, 12:34 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
firstchoicett wrote:

Lol i assume yuh being sarcastic since tstt launching 4G tomorrow is like winning the lotto.

check d papers today

Postby Stephon. » May 15th, 2012, 12:53 pm

The only tstt related thing I saw in the papers this morning was the ad to double up on your minutes for post paid customers.

Postby maj. tom » May 15th, 2012, 1:00 pm

ha ha, charade you are