Dangerous Dogs Act - Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Dangerous Dogs Act goes into effect August 1, 2012

Postby pioneer » May 30th, 2014, 10:14 am

This law will go nowhere

There's no way to determine the breed of a dog, if it's gonna be up to the perception of a 5 cxc police or primary school certificate ministry worker...expect epic legal battles and the state will have to pay good money to those they try to hurt.

It's a typical anandlaw.

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » May 30th, 2014, 11:20 am

Well , similarly to Bezman, I have run into the same walls. I recently got myself another pup as my vet put it, he's a Trinidad Bully he was born here, however during the visit she stated that at this time the ads in the papers have just caused a panic.
At the moment she had 5 what they classed A class dogs in her office that owners literally dropped off (from interacting with them playful dogs could be no more than 2 years old). She has luckily found homes for them, but it shows the situation, that this push for a flawed bill has caused with no regard for anyone or anything.

The biggest issue is the misinformation and the push government is throwing behind it, when there are no support services in place.

In regards to the items listed under the act I started trying to put the paper work etc in order and have been greeted by "What," "Eh" and most famously "We eh know nothin bout that."

What am I as a law abiding citizen to do. I am surely not giving up my dogs because three weeks when our vehicle was stolen at gunpoint, we are still waiting for TTPS to arrive on the scene,TTPS can't do it all, citizens need avenues to protect themselves and let's not talk about the wait for FULs that's a whole other thread.

Postby pioneer » May 30th, 2014, 7:32 pm

The ministry of food production is clueless
The ministry of the AG is clueless
The ministry of local govt is clueless
Insurance companies have no idea how it's gonna work

There's no need to panic, they have nothing in place.

Tell em your dog is a pothong and lawyer up.

Postby pioneer » May 31st, 2014, 9:56 am

So has anyone been able to:
1. Microchip their dog.
2. Find a suitable shelter/slaughterhouse.
3. Become certified to handle Class A dogs.
4. Get insurance for their dogs, from an insurance company.

And this law gonna be proclaimed monday?...lol

Postby 88sins » May 31st, 2014, 11:24 am

Proclamation i one thing, they can proclaim anything they want, all day every day till they crap pink diamonds.
Enforcement is another thing altogether. This legislature will just be another waste of ink & resources, just like everything else these idiots produce.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 1st, 2014, 12:50 am

who can I call to make a complaint about the neighbours rott which is allowed to roam freely in the street on a daily basis....unsupervised?.....area is central.....

Postby 88sins » June 1st, 2014, 6:28 am

ttspca, animals alive, me, regional corp, ttps

Postby desifemlove » June 1st, 2014, 1:06 pm

Doh see de balling..

So your dog needing muzzles...who cares? if it means people especially chirren and de elderly safe, so what?

Postby pioneer » June 1st, 2014, 1:15 pm

Careful with putting a muzzle on your pit in this hot sun, they overheat pretty quickly.

Postby Spitfir3 » June 1st, 2014, 3:12 pm

i can think of a few other specimans that need muzzles and i ain't talking about the dogs

Postby 88sins » June 1st, 2014, 9:51 pm

desifemlove wrote:Doh see de balling..

So your dog needing muzzles...who cares? if it means people especially chirren and de elderly safe, so what?

keep yuh fingers off the keys if yuh don't know what yuh typing about

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » June 2nd, 2014, 11:04 am

ONLY thing i can do is SIGH at this...

I have a pitbull (trinidad born) pitbull...

But on a serious note... My dog is friendly with 80% of persons.....even with children..she is NOT aggressive, however when "questionable" persons approach my gate, she really does ACT out...

My yard is secured by high walls and fencing.. Problem is, when my Pitbull is gone, I am left with 1 pompek and one cocker spaniel... WHAT bandit going to consider this ANY issue when he / she decides to breach my premises in order to commit a crime...and whenever you call TTPS.. they "Sending" a unit now...which is most likely never or in 5hours...

this is a REAL sad day for owners and a joyful day for offenders

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » June 2nd, 2014, 11:28 am

Once the law is proclaimed you have 6 months to register your dog (many have asked where to do so, no one seems to know...)

Your insurance can be done with any normal home owners insurance for 2 dogs upto 200 000 (this is 50K less than required by the law there are no provisions for that extra 50 k yet by the insurance companies.)
If renting, you can insure your property (tv, computer, gold, dog etc but you will have to go through Colfire or Guardian expect under 1500 per year.)

Micro chipping, the act states class a dogs need to be chipped. The "chip" is not GPS, it is scanner readable with owner information.... good and bad, but what happens to stolen dogs for breeding and fighting??ain't no body going to check on those dogs...

If you cannot keep your dog options are find someone who loves your dog more than you... or go to your own vet for humane euthanasia . Unless you wanna just be a total A and abandon your dog or send into the government sponsored death camp. Your choice.

Postby 88sins » June 2nd, 2014, 11:54 am

I say a better start would be to register,chip,tattoo & where applicable euthanize all animals that pose a serious risk to the public.

& I vote to start with anand ramgoatbuller & all other politicians associated with him first. everyting will automatically run smoother once these pests are dealt with

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » June 2nd, 2014, 1:24 pm

DrunkenMaster16 wrote:Once the law is proclaimed you have 6 months to register your dog (many have asked where to do so, no one seems to know...)

Your insurance can be done with any normal home owners insurance for 2 dogs upto 200 000 (this is 50K less than required by the law there are no provisions for that extra 50 k yet by the insurance companies.)
If renting, you can insure your property (tv, computer, gold, dog etc but you will have to go through Colfire or Guardian expect under 1500 per year.)

Micro chipping, the act states class a dogs need to be chipped. The "chip" is not GPS, it is scanner readable with owner information.... good and bad, but what happens to stolen dogs for breeding and fighting??ain't no body going to check on those dogs...

If you cannot keep your dog options are find someone who loves your dog more than you... or go to your own vet for humane euthanasia . Unless you wanna just be a total A and abandon your dog or send into the government sponsored death camp. Your choice.

Well I'm waiting to see what price the insurance and microchip etc is going to amount to... Since i won't be living home where my dog is..however family is still there, however it is my dog,so if the costs are outrageous, I may have to take her to the vet if all else fails..if i cannot find a decent home for her etc

Postby 88sins » June 2nd, 2014, 3:47 pm

so an FUL easier to get now?

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » June 2nd, 2014, 5:41 pm

Update from Facebook....

Certain sections of the Dog Control Act are NOT yet law. Because they are fewer than the ones that have now been made law, it will be quicker for me to just list the ones that are NOT law as yet:
Section 6: Within 6 months of the law coming into effect, you have to register your dog - not yet law.
Section 7: Licensing requirements and fees - not yet law, so this means you don't have to microchip, get tags, get a certificate from the vet, get a certificate of good character, get a certificate of proper premises - none of that stuff.
Section 9: Owners have to ensure premises are secured - not yet law.
Section 10: Owners who keep an unlicensed Class A dog can be fined 100,000 and jailed for 3 years - not yet law.
Section 11: Owners of Class A dogs have to have insurance for each dog in the sum of not less than $250,000 or be fined $75,000 and jailed for 3 years - not yet law.
Section 12: instructions on what to do if an insurance policy lapses - not yet law.
Section 13: instructions on a claimant bringing a civil action when there is insurance - not yet law.
Section 16: Class A dogs have to be trained - not yet law.
Section 27: Anyone who keeps more than 5 Class A dogs will be subject to regulation pertaining to kennels - not yet law.
Section 29: Repealing sections 15,16,17 of the Dogs Act - not yet law.
All the other sections are now law which means you have to muzzle your dog in public, can't take it into public places that have signs posted prohibiting dogs, can't house them in multi-living complexes like apartments and gated commmunities, will be charged if they escape or hurt/kill anybody, and that they can be seized if they appear to be a menace.
Hope this helps.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » June 2nd, 2014, 8:25 pm

^^ thanks a lot for the update

Postby gt4tified » June 2nd, 2014, 9:55 pm

DrunkenMaster16 wrote:From : Trinidad & Tobago Canine Advocates

One of our supporters sent me this message and I thought it would be a good idea to share her experience with you.

She says that she wanted to get some more information about the Dog Act so, because "the notice issued by Min of Food states that the Act will be in effect from 2nd June and anyone with enquiries should ring 338 8989, I did so. A man eventually answered and said I had the wrong number.
So I telephoned the Min of Food Production, Chief Vet Office (625 5997). They said they know nothing about the Act but they were asked to provide the poster by Corporate Communications (628 1617/1618).
I called Corporate Communications (628 1617/1618) and my first question was where would I find a registered Dog Trainer. They said that they (quote) are still having meetings and if they find any trainers a list will be published next week in a newspaper..they are advising people not to panic as none of the infrastructure pertaining to the Act has been put in place.
My second question was when did His Excellency sign and proclaim the Act, and they said (quote) ..we have no idea, you will have to contact the AG as he is the one who has instructed us. I said "Yes but doesnt His Excellency have to sign it?" And they said (quote) I dont know, its the AG who has authorised us, you will have to phone the Ministry of Legal Affairs."
So I telephoned the Min of Legal Affairs (624 1660/625 9971) who told me that they know absolutely nothing and suggested speaking to the Law Revision Commission.
I telephoned the Law Rev Comm (625 5095/625 9860) and they know absolutely nothing, but suggested that I try Parliament.
I called Parliament (624 7275) and spoke to a very nice man (name at this stage withheld) who stated that the Act was passed in Parliament, but as far as he knows it has not been signed and proclaimed...he suggested that for further info I should call the office of His Excellency (625 9815)
I called 625 9815 and between myself and the sec we had a slight breakdown in communication. I will try her again tomorrow."

If this wasn't so tragic, it would be funny. As a point of interest - I doubt very much that being a registered dog trainer qualifies you to train people in "dog handling".

This supporter needs a ‘Welcome to T&T’ sign...because afaik, this is the usual run around you get with government departments in any manner of trying to get info or transacting business...not just limited to the issue at hand.

Since it is the President who, afaik proclaims legislation, why was she calling all over the place? It appears that she either doan know what she looking for or lacking common sense. rofl @ telling her that the AG authorized them (corporate communications) but sending her to Legal Affairs....what the AG has to do with legal affairs? And these ppl getting paid to give this kinda advice eh!

This is just fodder for lawyers to start challenging this law and making plenty money...is it too late for me to change professions boy???

Postby X2 » June 2nd, 2014, 10:26 pm

People still waiting for the tax and duty to be removed from items listed in the budget over a year ago... this seems like a similar fate.

Postby gt4tified » June 2nd, 2014, 10:51 pm

X2 wrote:People still waiting for the tax and duty to be removed from items listed in the budget over a year ago... this seems like a similar fate.

A little bird told me that the Finance Act 2014 is supposed to be assented to tomorrow....hold strain. lol

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » June 3rd, 2014, 8:02 am

So a man "found" a pitbull roaming the streets- its started!

all those ghetto youth thugs that wanna pose with bad dogs and cannot adhere to the new laws that govern owning one of these animals - please carry them to the TSPCA or a VET, don't release them to harm others.

Postby Spitfir3 » June 3rd, 2014, 10:09 am

they don't give a damn about who abandons what AG and friends just want bragging rights for when election time come

also the fine for owning a simple dog is $100,000? remind me whats the charge for drunk driving etc again?

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » June 3rd, 2014, 10:18 am

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:So a man "found" a pitbull roaming the streets- its started!

all those ghetto youth thugs that wanna pose with bad dogs and cannot adhere to the new laws that govern owning one of these animals - please carry them to the TSPCA or a VET, don't release them to harm others.

WTF you talking about??? In 2 years since the dog act has been brought back up over 250 "pitbull type dogs" have been abandoned! And the worst part.. none of them attached people on the street, on the other hand they were subject to abuse, starvation, and illness yet NONE of these dogs killed a single person on the street. But some arse leaves his dog out in his own yard killing his own mother and The Whole Breed is deemed dangerous yet again. Just like your usual response to anything involving any afro-trinidadian, some bad apples make the whole race bad to you ent?

Fu(k this government and the small minded people supporting this BS legislation.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » June 3rd, 2014, 10:46 am

Saw a Pitbull strolling tru Santa Cruz yesterday all by itself!

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 3rd, 2014, 10:50 am

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » June 3rd, 2014, 10:54 am

Bezman wrote:http://www.ctntworld.com/cnews2/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=10359%3Aministry-of-the-attorney-general-proclamation-of-specified-sections-of-the-dog-control-act-2013&catid=137%3Ac-news&Itemid=707

proclaimed

Still missing vital services(insurance, vets assistance to "class dogs" etc) and personnel to implement the following:

DrunkenMaster16 wrote:Update from Facebook....

Certain sections of the Dog Control Act are NOT yet law. Because they are fewer than the ones that have now been made law, it will be quicker for me to just list the ones that are NOT law as yet:
Section 6: Within 6 months of the law coming into effect, you have to register your dog - not yet law.
Section 7: Licensing requirements and fees - not yet law, so this means you don't have to microchip, get tags, get a certificate from the vet, get a certificate of good character, get a certificate of proper premises - none of that stuff.
Section 9: Owners have to ensure premises are secured - not yet law.
Section 10: Owners who keep an unlicensed Class A dog can be fined 100,000 and jailed for 3 years - not yet law.
Section 11: Owners of Class A dogs have to have insurance for each dog in the sum of not less than $250,000 or be fined $75,000 and jailed for 3 years - not yet law.
Section 12: instructions on what to do if an insurance policy lapses - not yet law.
Section 13: instructions on a claimant bringing a civil action when there is insurance - not yet law.
Section 16: Class A dogs have to be trained - not yet law.
Section 27: Anyone who keeps more than 5 Class A dogs will be subject to regulation pertaining to kennels - not yet law.
Section 29: Repealing sections 15,16,17 of the Dogs Act - not yet law.
All the other sections are now law which means you have to muzzle your dog in public, can't take it into public places that have signs posted prohibiting dogs, can't house them in multi-living complexes like apartments and gated communities, will be charged if they escape or hurt/kill anybody, and that they can be seized if they appear to be a menace.
Hope this helps.

Postby sMASH » June 3rd, 2014, 10:55 am

Proclaimed ... But not supported by the system

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » June 3rd, 2014, 11:43 am

DrunkenMaster16 wrote:
RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:So a man "found" a pitbull roaming the streets- its started!

WTF you talking about??? In 2 years since the dog act has been brought back up over 250 "pitbull type dogs" have been abandoned! And the worst part.. none of them attached people on the street, on the other hand they were subject to abuse, starvation, and illness yet NONE of these dogs killed a single person on the street. But some arse leaves his dog out in his own yard killing his own mother and The Whole Breed is deemed dangerous yet again. Just like your usual response to anything involving any afro-trinidadian, some bad apples make the whole race bad to you ent?

Fu(k this government and the small minded people supporting this BS legislation.

rewind to this morning- you obviously didn't take your MIDOl PM- go take it now so you will not act like such a fussy lil kuunt for the rest of the day....

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » June 3rd, 2014, 11:50 am

You should take your own advice... You entered a serous thread with a worthless contribution more so than your usual kebabfest crap. Doh start, everybody getting cuss today.