School chirren these days :/

Re: School chirren these days :/

Postby Country_Bookie » April 24th, 2014, 12:53 am

The PM's actual statement on punishment in homes

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar says there is no doubt that the State must do more to protect children while they are in their homes.

The Prime Minister made the comment in response to a video seen around the country showing an enraged mother beating and cursing her 12 year old daughter for six minutes for sharing inappropriate pictures of herself on Facebook.

In Trinidad and Tobago alone, the video has been shared a total of 16,000 times. On a popular American video hosting site, the video has been viewed nearly one million times.

The Prime Minister said: "Should the State take a more active role in protecting the children in the homes? And my answer to that is yes and we can do so through looking, inquiring into pieces of legislation elsewhere and here to see what can be done."

The Prime Minister said it is premature to cast judgement on the mother until an investigation is complete and declined to comment when told the mother defended her actions in a radio interview.

However, she said as a parent, she would have handled a similar situation differently.

"I would not do that if it were me. I do not know what the circumstances were. I do not know if any circumstances warrant assaulting a child in that manner. I do not want to pronounce on that, if it were me I wouldn't do it."

But was the beating illegal? Did the mom go too far? The Prime Minister, a lawyer by trade and the Minister of Education when a Bill banning corporal punishment in schools was passed in 2001, said there is nothing in that Bill on acts occurring in the home.

"It is something that we will have to look into. That particular Ministry, Youth, Gender, they will look further into the matter and see what can be done. It will be difficult I think to intervene. I know in more developed countries you do have legislation prohibiting parents from assaulting their children so it is something we may well want to look into."

Both the Children's Authority and the Ministry of Gender Youth and Child Development are looking into the incident.

I agree with more protection for children in the home....child abuse is also on the rise, but there has 2 be some balance that allows parents to discipline their kids.

Postby zoom rader » April 24th, 2014, 3:13 am

goalpost wrote:why all the condemnation on the mother and claims that the family is "dysfunctional" by zr?

oh they African? carry on....

Well done you are the first to bring race into this.

Postby zoom rader » April 24th, 2014, 3:22 am

bluefete wrote:These girls are just doing what they see the adult women doing during carnival!!

They are following the example of their exemplars.

This is more cause to ban carnival as 3 year olds are shown to wine and mother's see it as cute.

Postby RASC » April 24th, 2014, 5:33 am

Yes because this doesn't happen in other countries with no carnival culture.

You two are really onto something...
Intelligence knows no boundaries...

Postby eliteauto » April 24th, 2014, 5:42 am

This " Carnival" this is a new phenomena right? It was introduced like what 4-5 years ago?

Postby RASC » April 24th, 2014, 5:43 am

Leave the donkeys to brey nah...

Postby RASC » April 24th, 2014, 6:00 am

This gov't is now becoming the splitting image of the far left of first world society.

Along with all the ills that accompany this way of life... INCREASED dependence syndrome with the expansion of social programs (CEPEP), Less corporal punishment etc etc

Instead of helping by strengthening the Man's role in the family which we Have already discussed in this thread is a MAJOR reason for all this deviance-we're just placing band aids and shoe-horning first world liberalised metrics on a traditional conservative society.

This gov't has to be stopped. More conservative traditional values, less dependence on state and more involvement of strong male leaders in the home is the only way to curtail this slackness- not with knee-jerk reactionary liberalism.

Postby ismithx » April 24th, 2014, 6:16 am

^^^ it's something called moral panic, everybody crying heigh ho and then you wanna knee-jerk a legislation in place to prevent it

Postby zoom rader » April 24th, 2014, 7:07 am

eliteauto wrote:This " Carnival" this is a new phenomena right? It was introduced like what 4-5 years ago?

Nope buts that's part reason why trini in a mess.

Postby zoom rader » April 24th, 2014, 7:08 am

Sabriel wrote:I must say it was easy to side with the mother beating her kid.... TO A POINT.....but true and in fact...spanking kids and using other forms of physical punishment is a risk, not a guarantee that kids will develop better behavior..

Hitting doesn't teach them why what they did was wrong or what they should do next time.. it teaches kids how to avoid being hit instead of helping them develop positive motivations for good behavior.

If the PM is looking at pursuing legislation to outlaw corporal punishment in the home, well for the parent who likes to hit ...will just be forced to find better, more effective ways than beating to enforce discipline...

...there are kids who are well-behaved, kind, good, and well-mannered ..who have never been spanked...

Nothing works every time. Hitting doesn't work every time..otherwise, a parent would only have to hit once and never again.

You think tuners care or know what you are saying

Postby eliteauto » April 24th, 2014, 7:08 am

eliteauto wrote:This " Carnival" this is a new phenomena right? It was introduced like what 4-5 years ago?

I'm open to discussion, explain how this contributes to the mess, particularly since the mess is relatively new by comparison

Postby ismithx » April 24th, 2014, 7:34 am

Sabriel wrote:I must say it was easy to side with the mother beating her kid.... TO A POINT.....but true and in fact...spanking kids and using other forms of physical punishment is a risk, not a guarantee that kids will develop better behavior..

Hitting doesn't teach them why what they did was wrong or what they should do next time.. it teaches kids how to avoid being hit instead of helping them develop positive motivations for good behavior.

If the PM is looking at pursuing legislation to outlaw corporal punishment in the home, well for the parent who likes to hit ...will just be forced to find better, more effective ways than beating to enforce discipline...

...there are kids who are well-behaved, kind, good, and well-mannered ..who have never been spanked...

Nothing works every time. Hitting doesn't work every time..otherwise, a parent would only have to hit once and never again.

do you really think at that age you can clearly understand what and why your actions are wrong? Maturity helps in that. At that age its important to enforce the concept that bad actions have bad consequences.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 24th, 2014, 7:50 am

them two smallies need to meet up with moms and she belt

Postby S_2NR » April 24th, 2014, 7:51 am

People missing the point here though. In all these vids u seeing the mother beating the child. Where is the father? It is the breakdown of the family unit which causes all this chaos. Too much young mothers, fatherless homes and poor people having more children than they can afford.

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » April 24th, 2014, 7:52 am

eliteauto wrote:

I'm open to discussion, explain how this contributes to the mess, particularly since the mess is relatively new by comparison

u can't be serious

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 24th, 2014, 7:54 am

1491648_10152010196332882_6585128132140234428_n.jpg

Postby RASC » April 24th, 2014, 8:02 am

S_2NR wrote:People missing the point here though. In all these vids u seeing the mother beating the child. Where is the father? It is the breakdown of the family unit which causes all this chaos. Too much young mothers, fatherless homes and poor people having more children than they can afford.

Read my posts
I've been saying this.
Girls with strong fatherly bonds are least likely to engage in this kind of destructive behavior.
Let's not go into Boys, worse yet... a woman CANNOT properly discipline and instil manly values in a male child. That is a fact- I don't even need to get into that.

Postby S_2NR » April 24th, 2014, 8:12 am

Sabriel wrote:
S_2NR wrote: It is the breakdown of the family unit which causes all this chaos.

So you need a passenger to be a better driver?

There are alot of single parents doing alot better than two parents could ever do...

Are you comparing driving a car to raising a family? Seriously?

Postby RASC » April 24th, 2014, 8:20 am

Sabriel wrote:
S_2NR wrote: It is the breakdown of the family unit which causes all this chaos.

There are alot of single parents doing alot better than two parents could ever do...

Here we go :roll:

Postby S_2NR » April 24th, 2014, 8:20 am

You do know both parents, male and female bring different things to the table when raising a family right? It isnt as cut out as jumping in a car and going from point a to b. You are dumbing down a dynamic relationship which exists between children and both their parents.
But you sound like you on that feminist agenda where women can do it all so i wont bother.

Postby AllTrac » April 24th, 2014, 8:31 am

RASC wrote:
S_2NR wrote:People missing the point here though. In all these vids u seeing the mother beating the child. Where is the father? It is the breakdown of the family unit which causes all this chaos. Too much young mothers, fatherless homes and poor people having more children than they can afford.

Read my posts
I've been saying this.
Girls with strong fatherly bonds are least likely to engage in this kind of destructive behavior.
Let's not go into Boys, worse yet... a woman CANNOT properly discipline and instil manly values in a male child. That is a fact- I don't even need to get into that.

agreed 100%. My mom could of cut my ass as much as she wanted when I was a kid and i really couldnt care to change but nothing gave me an instant bolt of fear until after cutting my ass she said your father gonna deal with you when he comes home, sheit got real.

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » April 24th, 2014, 8:34 am

for real doh trac. nuttin scared the sheit outta yuh like wen moms say wait till yuh father reach home yuh go get it.:lol::lol::lol::lol:

Postby RASC » April 24th, 2014, 8:34 am

You can't fight nature. Many ancient tribes remove boys from their mothers side at the age of 13-15.

It's why in many all boy prestige schools STILL to.this day the form 3 dean is by far the strictest.

Because it is at this time in a boys life he realises the early stages of what it is to be a man, and starts rebelling against his mother and the matriachly agenda.

His mother would want him to stay home, be safe, don't fight, don't climb, don't be rough, be gentle, don't exert force, don't be so brute etc etc.

Boys need strong men in their life, time help them understand what it means to become a man. Girls need strong men in their life to teach them how to protect their womanhood from predatory men and respect their bodies.

A woman's role in the family is also important, but it is DIFFERENT...and that's the whole point. Single parent women cannot fill this roll...they will try some very well...but they will never achieve the same effect.

Postby RASC » April 24th, 2014, 8:37 am

J
AllTrac wrote:
RASC wrote:

Read my posts
I've been saying this.

agreed 100%. My mom could of cut my ass as much as she wanted when I was a kid and i really couldnt care to change but nothing gave me an instant bolt of fear until after cutting my ass she said your father gonna deal with you when he comes home, sheit got real.

As a boy 14/15/16 your mother trying to beat you was a joke. It was a comical experience at best.

Furthermore you couldn't care less what she had to say about your behavior.

...AS SOON as the threat of your father/uncle/grand father got involved. It got serious-and life took a turn for the dark side :lol:

Postby AllTrac » April 24th, 2014, 8:42 am

a classic example is our country, a woman PM, those other ministers doing wtf they want cause of a female ruler, its very hard for a man to take her seriously, this sheit didnt fly with Panday, he had them boys in check.

Postby ismithx » April 24th, 2014, 8:55 am

Sabriel wrote:

wat?

the healthiest home would have a committed mother and father. just because some single parent homes work and some double parent homes fail doesn't mean what you said is right

/facts

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » April 24th, 2014, 8:56 am

Sabriel wrote:

and the fact is there is more single parents doing worse than two parents!

bootmee

Postby bootmee » April 24th, 2014, 8:58 am

Postby zoom rader » April 24th, 2014, 9:03 am

RASC wrote:

Read my posts
I've been saying this.

Said all this before, but tuners still insists the mom right

Postby RASC » April 24th, 2014, 9:07 am

Sabriel wrote:So why the absence of fathers ?

That's an entirely deep and long conversation.
Partly to blame is feminism and the state making men disposable.

A woman can have 10 children. Different fathers, no care for the sanctity of her womanhood-and still be taken care of with housing, food and marginal income.

Women are allowed to make mistakes. Men aren't. Thus with any single mistake a man makes he gets nailed to the cross. Less men are willing to put up with this...thus they bolt, go into hiding or avoid the loose women they were allowed to fool around with.

I can go on...but it'll take forever. Men used to love taking care of women (alot still do at their own risk), they were delicate flowers to them...then feminism came along and well :/