Re: T&T put in Limited State of Emergency

Postby ronsin1 » August 24th, 2011, 11:29 am

AbstractPoetic wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:
16 cycles wrote:think people now start to understand how serious the SOE is....don't breeze in a hotspot area just before curfew....get inside....

Uhm, it was 3pm in the afternoon. :?

Area deemed a hotspot...they can do it.....outside of a hotspot is a different story

Do what, Aaron??

If curfew starts at 9pm you mean to tell me residents in "hot spot" areas are advised to not "breeze in a hotspot area" 6 hours beforehand???

So "just before curfew" now means 6 hours before?

In a state of emergency the armed forces can do what they it does not need to be a hot spot

Postby pete » August 24th, 2011, 11:29 am

AbstractPoetic wrote:
16 cycles wrote:think people now start to understand how serious the SOE is....don't breeze in a hotspot area just before curfew....get inside....

I believe he was talking about the guy who got allegedly beaten by the police at 8:30PM when he was "breezing out" before going home.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 24th, 2011, 11:46 am

16 cycles wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

Edwards said he was involved in repainting a primary school in the area all day and decided to take a take a seat just before he left from his home around 8.30 p.m. Police officers, he said, pulled up in a vehicle and questioned him about his whereabouts.

comment made in reference to the above passage.....

Thanks for clarifying that, and yet still, it doesn't make it right....30 minutes before lockdown warrants a cut arse?

Sad.

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » August 24th, 2011, 11:47 am

Daly: Govt won't hang the Jack
By Ria Taitt Political Editor

Story Created: Aug 23, 2011 at 11:50 PM ECT

(Story Updated: Aug 23, 2011 at 11:50 PM ECT )

Senior counsel Martin Daly said yesterday that while he was and still is in favour of the calling of a state of emergency, he had serious reservations about whether this Government was capable of making good use of it.

The former president of the Law Association said there were two principal purposes for calling a state of emergency, given the fact that civil rights are suspended.

Firstly, he said there should an immediate and purposeful attempt to go into the areas where it is believed there are large caches of weapons and seize those weapons, with a view to taking out of circulation as many weapons as possible. "You probably cannot accomplish that under normal circumstances, given the garrison conditions in certain communities and the fear of witnesses, the fear of reprisals and all that," he noted.

The second equally important purpose of a state of emergency must be the service of detention orders on the principal known criminal figures, he said. "It is constantly being said when someone is dead that X is a known drug dealer, X is a known drug baron... but you can't prove it because you can't get witnesses... because of the intimidation, death of witness, turf warfare and so on."

"So it would have been expected there to be very little room left on Nelson Island by the end of the first night of the state of emergency. And if that is not the purpose of it (the state of emergency), then it is a complete trivalisation of a very, very serious matter. If it is, that you just going to keep people cooped up in the so-called hot spots. What happens when the state of emergency is finished? They (criminals) just come back out and resume business as usual. All you would have done is stop some crime for a while, and what is likely to happen if you don't do the things I am saying (should be done) is that you will have a huge backlash and outburst of crime because 'man' coffers get empty while you put them out of business temporarily. So if that is not what they (the Government) are doing, then it is a complete trivalisation and complete incompetence."

Daly said he would also insist that in terms of the people on whom detention orders are being served, that they include persons who the financial intelligence agencies have reason to suspect are money launderers.

Daly said the way the announcement and implementation of the state of emergency were being handled was worrying.

"First of all, they are describing it as a limited state of emergency when essentially it is not," he said. "So they have everybody believing that civil rights have not been suspended in Tobago, Mayaro, Icacos... and other areas that are not hot spots... and that is absolutely ridiculous. That is a recipe for confusion," he said, adding: "If you are going to do this, you must have the courage of conviction and describe it for what it is."

Daly said the fact was if one looked at the Government Notice 113 of 1995, which was the proclamation of the state of emergency, it said a "state of emergency exists in the city of Port of Spain in the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago".

He said the Government Notice of 162 of 2011 states a state of public emergency exists in the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago. "In their ignorance they have picked up the expression 'limited state of emergency', used firstly by Desmond Allum to describe the concept of declaring of a state of emergency in a particular area of gangland where people were shooting each other up," he said.

He noted that when this idea was floated, it was subsequently pointed out that it could not work because the "fellas" would move out of the emergency area and into a free area and carry on as usual.

Daly said from what he saw, it appeared that the police were on curfew too "because from every neighbourhood from which I have received reports, the people are telling me they didn't see any police on the streets. When you play this ace, you have to hang Jack. If you play this ace and ain't hang Jack, you have absolutely no credible authority after this".

Daly said it was extremely imprudent for anything to have been said until the curfew was in force. "I can't imagine why you would do something like that. (The way it is done is that) It is always said, 'I have today declared a state of emergency.' That has to be done after everything is in place and you have a man (police officer) outside Mr Ali Baba's door. And I imagine (as a result of it not been done that way) certain people would have change their address or gone on a fast boat and left.

"So I believe that they are not going to hang the Jack. And then of course in terms of timing. Firstly, didn't they trust the Commissioner of Police? They allowed the man leave (for Brazil)? They didn't say, 'Commish, yuh can't go Brazil,' again, leave withdrawn?

"Then I do not know that the time to do this was when the police, whether unsuccessfully or not, were threatening to strike. When you going to do this, you have to have the hearts and minds of the people who are going to carry it out on board."

Daly, who has been in favour of the calling of a state of emergency in the past, said as far as he was concerned it should have been called halfway through the last Manning administration

THIS MAN IS SPOT ON!!!!!

Postby S_2NR » August 24th, 2011, 11:50 am

AP, why so serious?
U dont reside in Trinidad, none of this is directly affecting you.

Postby wagonrunner » August 24th, 2011, 11:53 am

tr1ad wrote:i just got a bbm broadcast...

"fill up your tanks, np has closed down, petrotrin has shut down and the bond is closed"

bbm will really be the downfall of trinidadians yes

BOY!!!!!!!!!!!!!

they shoulda never given us smarter phones nah.
NOKIA 1100 for everybody MC.

that would save us from so much chupidness it eh funny.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 24th, 2011, 11:55 am

S_2NR wrote:AP, why so serious?

Since when I have to live in Trinidad and Tobago or be directly affected to care about my country?

Postby S_2NR » August 24th, 2011, 12:01 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:

Since when I have to live in Trinidad and Tobago or be directly affected to care about my country?

if u care so much, come back and help make a difference.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 24th, 2011, 12:03 pm

S_2NR wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

if u care so much, come back and help make a difference.

How presumptuous of you to think that is not my intent.

Postby S_2NR » August 24th, 2011, 12:05 pm

i never said it wasnt.
Was just a neutral statement. :|

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 24th, 2011, 12:10 pm

AP doh beatup :)

come down and run for govt, we voting for ya :lol:

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » August 24th, 2011, 12:12 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
16 cycles wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

Edwards said he was involved in repainting a primary school in the area all day and decided to take a take a seat just before he left from his home around 8.30 p.m. Police officers, he said, pulled up in a vehicle and questioned him about his whereabouts.

comment made in reference to the above passage.....

Thanks for clarifying that, and yet still, it doesn't make it right....30 minutes before lockdown warrants a cut arse?

Sad.

Damn right! You in a hot spot and 30 mins before curfew you want to breeze? Get yuh arse home and breeze.

This SOE is the best .... look how everyone being good and obeying the law. Trinis cut out dey arsehole behaviour quick quick. This is what it takes for Trinis to obey the law and behave like people with sense.

SOE should go till end of year ... in place for dem kants who want to act up around Christmas time and rob people.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 24th, 2011, 12:14 pm

Bezman wrote:AP doh beatup :)

come down and run for govt, we voting for ya :lol:

I sound too Yankee for that but so does the Honourable Kalamity Persad-Bissessar so who knows what the future may hold. :wink:

Postby Country_Bookie » August 24th, 2011, 12:19 pm

Just came over the news: 70 persons arrested in overnight raids.
Expect more beating up from those who against the SoE. As Jack said on C last night, “Do and your damned, don’t do and ur still damned”.

Postby 16 cycles » August 24th, 2011, 12:23 pm

...very different approach to meeting with community leaders....

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 24th, 2011, 12:24 pm

ek4ever wrote:Damn right! You in a hot spot and 30 mins before curfew you want to breeze? Get yuh arse home and breeze.

This SOE is the best .... look how everyone being good and obeying the law. Trinis cut out dey arsehole behaviour quick quick. This is what it takes for Trinis to obey the law and behave like people with sense.

SOE should go till end of year ... in place for dem kants who want to act up around Christmas time and rob people.

Best for whom?

You do understand that many Trinbagonians make their legal income outside the 8am-4pm schedule?

Food vendors aren't happy.

Taxi drivers aren't happy.

Late-shifters aren't happy.

Owners of popular entertainment venues aren't happy.

Meanwhile, Trinbagonians and tourists remain under house arrest without the liberty to enjoy a lime or evening out with friends or loved ones.

You mean to tell me these countless arrests and apprehensions could not have been made without inconveniencing the entire population??? So law enforcement could ONLY effectively enforce the law with a curfew in place??

Don't fall for the OKIE DOKIE. This has nothing to do with the "war on crime".

Postby S_2NR » August 24th, 2011, 12:24 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:Just came over the news: 70 persons arrested in overnight raids.
Expect more beating up from those who against the SoE. As Jack said on C last night, “Do and your damned, don’t do and ur still damned”.

okay then.
so why the police couldn do this without SOE?

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » August 24th, 2011, 12:26 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:Just came over the news: 70 persons arrested in overnight raids.

is this the first time we have had raids netting over 70 persons :?

Do you need a SOE to do what seems to be normal policing thus far :?

Postby 16 cycles » August 24th, 2011, 12:33 pm

S_2NR wrote:

okay then.
so why the police couldn do this without SOE?

^ probably because the behaviour displayed in the video would not be tolerated and they know this - helping make it easier for the protective services to do their job...and safer for the residents as they would be indoors and out of harms way...

Postby Country_Bookie » August 24th, 2011, 12:37 pm

5onDfloor wrote:

Gibbs just said that it’s 117 persons arrested overnight. 48 of them gang members. Perhaps 2nrs in the know can share with us some of the difficulties involved in first identifying gang members then getting warrants, then going out and finding these gang members to arrest them. Seems a lot easier if you just raid the known gang gathering places, and arrest all the gang members there, then charge them.

Postby S_2NR » August 24th, 2011, 12:41 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:
5onDfloor wrote:

Gibbs just said that it’s 117 persons arrested overnight. 48 of them gang members. Perhaps 2nrs in the know can share with us some of the difficulties involved in first identifying gang members then getting warrants, then going out and finding these gang members to arrest them. Seems a lot easier if you just raid the known gang gathering places, and arrest all the gang members there, then charge them.

lolwhut?
the police know who ALL the criminals are.
before doing this SOE BS, why they didn clean up the police service first and see how that helps.
and Gibbs is a waste. He has done nothing to improve the crime situation in T&T and should be fired.

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » August 24th, 2011, 12:42 pm

so far all we have seen is ordinary results which can be attained without a SOE....but the the PM is calling it a resounding success...jah!

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 24th, 2011, 12:45 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:Seems a lot easier if you just raid the known gang gathering places, and arrest all the gang members there, then charge them.

I wonder if there will be those planned raids exercised in Fairways, Federation Park, Moka Heights, et al or are these raids only limited to the ghettoes?

Hmmmmmmmmmm....

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 24th, 2011, 12:47 pm

Are gated communities off limits??

Postby 16 cycles » August 24th, 2011, 12:48 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
Country_Bookie wrote:Seems a lot easier if you just raid the known gang gathering places, and arrest all the gang members there, then charge them.

I wonder if there will be those planned raids exercised in Fairways, Federation Park, Moka Heights, et al or are these raids only limited to the ghettoes?

Hmmmmmmmmmm....

Post names of known individuals involved in nefarious activities in the above mentioned places.....i would also like to see this but i don't know exact persons - only hearsay / rumours etc...

Postby dougla_boy » August 24th, 2011, 12:48 pm

sooooo...if they do raid say app. 1500 people who are in illegal activities and watnot, and they do charge them........these 1500 people goin in the already cramped and criminal breeding ground they call a jail?

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » August 24th, 2011, 12:51 pm

dougla_boy wrote:sooooo...if they do raid say app. 1500 people who are in illegal activities and watnot, and they do charge them........these 1500 people goin in the already cramped and criminal breeding ground they call a jail?

so u wah them stay in the street?
or shoot on sight?

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » August 24th, 2011, 12:52 pm

Have they cracked the illegal Gun trade?

Have they cracked Drug trade?

Have they cracked any car stealin rings?

Have they nabbed any High society Criminals or Families?

what about the Haffeez Kharamath's Gun Bust in Valsayn?...oh wait ah minute...Valsayn is not a "hotspot"?

am sure they are more like him living in "cold spots" drinking gin and tonic.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » August 24th, 2011, 12:55 pm

dougla_boy wrote:sooooo...if they do raid say app. 1500 people who are in illegal activities and watnot, and they do charge them........these 1500 people goin in the already cramped and criminal breeding ground they call a jail?

i say put them all in one cell and see who survives.

who gives sh1t, they should just execute them and done with it!

Postby S_2NR » August 24th, 2011, 12:55 pm

16 cycles wrote:Post names of known individuals involved in nefarious activities in the above mentioned places.....i would also like to see this but i don't know exact persons - only hearsay / rumours etc...