National Strike updates/ watch/ News

Re: National Strike updates/ watch/ News

Postby DVSTT » September 7th, 2012, 2:19 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:
Yorkshirelass wrote:I had to pick my son from a high school in town-14 teachers came out!!!! And apparently the same thing happening next week?

yup.......Next Thursday and Friday......

Huh dis country really going to hell wei, we need a few more SOE's

pioneer wrote:As expected, the streets are littered with bottles and piss thanks to the unions.

Way to stick it to the man.

I cud never understand how people so stink to throw rubbish on the roads and piss on people walls. Lawless, inconsiderate mentality prevails sadly....

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 8th, 2012, 12:12 pm

Just read a post on fbook bout EMA sickout to protest against CEO.

So some petrotrin workers, teachers, ema now protesting. Something is clearly wrong and it may not be the people necessarily. I can't remember the last time so many different sections of society were upset to the point of action.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 8th, 2012, 2:44 pm

does EMA workers do anything to add value to the country?....There are so much pollution...noise and air all over......right next door by some idiots have opened a warehous and running forklifts outside my window offloading goodsfrom container trucks from 8 am to 12 pm......man wtf....so much reports made to town and contry and EMA....to no availale.....

I have never heard EMA doing anything....fack them.....

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » September 8th, 2012, 3:42 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:

pioneer wrote:As expected, the streets are littered with bottles and piss thanks to the unions.

Way to stick it to the man.

I cud never understand how people so stink to throw rubbish on the roads and piss on people walls. Lawless, inconsiderate mentality prevails sadly....

You talking about carnival??

EMA are a waste of time. Give CEPEP the job and it'll get done. (im actually serious) :shock:

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 8th, 2012, 5:28 pm

If is one thing CEPEP could clean up.....

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 8th, 2012, 7:48 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:does EMA workers do anything to add value to the country?....There are so much pollution...noise and air all over......right next door by some idiots have opened a warehous and running forklifts outside my window offloading goodsfrom container trucks from 8 am to 12 pm......man wtf....so much reports made to town and contry and EMA....to no availale.....

So just because you haven't heard of the EMA doing anything fack them? SMH

They may not have the teeth to do alot so it may look like they aren't doing anything to stop things you deem important. Alot of OTHER stuff they do that noone talks about IS important though.

I can't understand the small mindedness of some people to write off a section of people just because they don't know what they do.

Has it ever occurred to you plebs/workers have a fair idea of what needs to be changed in a company but many times management chooses otherwise to the further detriment of the company? ESPECIALLY in politicised state owned companies?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 8th, 2012, 8:34 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
*$kїđž!™ wrote:does EMA workers do anything to add value to the country?....There are so much pollution...noise and air all over......right next door by some idiots have opened a warehous and running forklifts outside my window offloading goodsfrom container trucks from 8 am to 12 pm......man wtf....so much reports made to town and contry and EMA....to no availale.....

They may not have the teeth to do alot so it may look like they aren't doing anything to stop things you deem important. Alot of OTHER stuff they do that noone talks about IS important though.

I can't understand the small mindedness of some people to write off a section of people just because they don't know what they do.

Has it ever occurred to you plebs/workers have a fair idea of what needs to be changed in a company but many times management chooses otherwise to the further detriment of the company? ESPECIALLY in politicised state owned companies?

so i guess u workin EMA?

Postby rollingstock » September 8th, 2012, 9:36 pm

^ EMA is actually severely understaffed, and do actually work, just too much for the staff they have.

Postby nervewrecker » September 8th, 2012, 9:46 pm

coated for the truth.

Postby Hook » September 8th, 2012, 9:50 pm

Welcome to my world.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » September 8th, 2012, 9:55 pm

DVSTT wrote:
*$kїđž!™ wrote:
Yorkshirelass wrote:I had to pick my son from a high school in town-14 teachers came out!!!! And apparently the same thing happening next week?

yup.......Next Thursday and Friday......

Huh dis country really going to hell wei, we need a few more SOE's

say wha? that ain't do jack sheit.... we need a proactive gov't

Postby sMASH » September 8th, 2012, 9:55 pm

rollingstock wrote:^ EMA is actually severely understaffed, and do actually work, just too much for the staff they have.
lady in the ministry of labour told me that as well,

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 8th, 2012, 10:20 pm

Ok guys got yur point bout EMA but i am sorry i really dont have faith in government agencies

Postby nervewrecker » September 8th, 2012, 11:09 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:Ok guys got yur point bout EMA but i am sorry i really dont have faith in government agencies

I understand where you coming from though.

Postby rfari » September 9th, 2012, 12:05 am

Ema-toothless bulldog

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 9th, 2012, 7:51 am

Lol was now saying alot of noise pollution and EMA does nothing.....guess I hadda retract those statements......I always believe people get away with noise pollution...absolutely hate it.....

great work by the cops and EMA personnel......

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/San ... 65236.html

Sando cops crack down on noise-makers
By Nikita Braxton-Benjamin
Story Created: Sep 8, 2012 at 10:55 PM ECT
Story Updated: Sep 8, 2012 at 10:55 PM ECT
FOLLOWING a warning from Mayor Navi Muradali that noise pollution will not be tolerated in San Fernando, officers from the San Fernando City Police were out last Thursday night monitoring the level of noise emanating from liming spots.
Business owners were served notices last week, informing them of noise levels and of the police exercise, which also included having the wrecking service in operation.
As of 10 a.m. on Friday, 11 bar owners had been made aware, the Sunday Express was told.
Personnel from the Environment Management Authority are expected to join the police in future exercises.
It was during the statutory meeting at City Hall last week that Muradali had said the noise level in San Fernando was unbearable and had warned the law would be enforced under the Noise Pollution Act.
Muradali had vowed to work with residents to have the liquor licences of noisy establishments in the city revoked, should business owners continue to engage in noise pollution.
A senior police officer said the business community was also told the wrecking services would be on patrol throughout the city on Friday nights.
This, he said, will continue every Friday between 7 p.m. and 10 p.m.

Postby Greypatch » September 9th, 2012, 12:58 pm

why are the teachers taking action ?

Postby Hook » September 9th, 2012, 1:11 pm

Because it's long past the period for collective bargaining and no negotiations have taken place...TTUTA is sitting on their hands and Gov't remains stuck at 5%.

On top of that, many school repairs promised to be completed during the August vacation have not been done. And I'm talking vital repairs like no lights in classrooms and leaky ceilings. I dunno what Gopeesingh really doing nuh.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 9th, 2012, 1:27 pm

Tim is pretending like if he is doing something....all his focus is on teachers and why are they taking their sick leave and casual days........

Postby Greypatch » September 9th, 2012, 3:55 pm

what is TTUTA's position regarding wage increase ?

Postby X_Factor » September 9th, 2012, 4:11 pm

^ they want the same manner the last increase was done which was ELM
ministry gives 5 %

Postby Redman » September 9th, 2012, 7:59 pm

Some how I'm thinking that tomorrow other things will be on their mind.

http://vibeghana.com/2012/09/09/preside ... -bank-why/

President Mahama Deposited 55 Million Dollars In A Trinidad And Tobago Bank –Why?
September 9, 2012 | Filed under: Opinions | Posted by: VibeGhana

The New Free Press is requesting as a matter of urgency the President of the Republic of Ghana his Excellency, John Dramani Mahama to explain to Ghanaians the deposit of 55 million Dollars in an offshore account in a bank based in Trinidad and Tobago called the Republic Bank. He should also explain to Ghanaians his interest in an oil refinery, at Pointe a Pierre, San Fernando, 20 miles outside the capital Port of Spain .

The New Free Press speaking to officials at the Ghana National Petroleum Corporation, an official of Unibank at their Kokomemele head office and some senior officials of the ministry of finance on condition of anonymity established that President Mahama while as Vice President to the late President Professor JEA Mills transferred through UNIBANK an amount of 55 million dollars to the Republic Bank in Trinidad and Tobago between August 2010 and December,2010 in 5 batches.

It came to light that an oil refinery, run by the Petroleum Company of Trinidad and Tobago limited based at pointe a pierre, San Fernando, Trinidad and Tobago was put up for sale by the Trinidad and Tobago government in May 2010 and that John Mahama bought a 40% share amounting to 55 million dollars. It would also be recalled that the late President Mills visited Trinidad and Tobago to explore their oil and gas industries and how Ghana could benefit.

The question we are asking is was this investment made on behalf of the people of Ghana or it was made on behalf of someone else and if so who?

We also would like to know why Parliament was not aware of this transaction. Can huge sums of money leave the shores of Ghana without Parliament knowing? If so then what is the use of parliament and its finance committee?

With the Tema Oil Refinery currently struggling, We at the New Free Press are struggling to come to terms with our previous Vice President and now President using financial houses to transfer huge sums of money to invest in foreign refineries aboard.

We call on Parliament to investigate this treacherous act and for the Mr John Mahama to come clean on his activities and involvement with the Republic Bank and the Oil Refinery in Trinidad and Tobago. The Presidency of Ghana cannot be brought into disrepute.

Ghanaian Politicians cannot continue treat Ghana like this!

Suraju Musah Mohammed

Managing Editor,

The New Free Press

Kotobabi Abavana Down

Accra

Postby Country_Bookie » September 9th, 2012, 10:17 pm

^LOL. They think he bought an oil refinery?
This guy is the managing editor of the new free press; couldn't he have liaised with some TnT journalists to investigate this transaction to see what was really bought?

Postby rfari » September 9th, 2012, 10:22 pm

Wdmc. And dey tort nigerian scam was bad. Welcome to trini scam

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 10th, 2012, 7:00 am

Wait...Petrotrin was for sale?

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » September 10th, 2012, 8:33 am

whatever was the outcome of the World GTL incident?

http://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases ... 12439.html

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 11th, 2012, 12:13 am

TTUTA going ahead with two-day 'rest and relax'
By Renuka Singh
Story Created: Sep 10, 2012 at 9:54 PM ECT
Story Updated: Sep 10, 2012 at 9:54 PM ECT
Trinidad and Tobago Unified Teachers Association (TTUTA) vice-president Davanand Sinanan said teachers will "rest and relax" on Thursday and Friday.
Sinanan, in a telephone interview yesterday, said teachers were frustrated by the two and a half-year wait to complete the external labour market survey and would take the two days to reflect on the outstanding issue.
"Just as we made the promise on Friday, that is what we are going to do. Nothing has changed," Sinanan said.
The external market survey, Sinanan said, is 80 per cent complete.
"It is now a question of applying that data," he said, adding that even after two and half years, that process has not begun.
Sinanan said teachers have not had an increase in salary since October 2007 and the union has another meeting with the chief personnel officer to continue working on the external labour market survey on Friday.
"We are hoping that by that time good sense will prevail," he said.
After the Joint Trade Union Movement (JTUM) march last Friday, de facto leader Oilfields Workers' Trade Union president general Ancel Roget promised solidarity with TTUTA.
In a brief telephone interview yesterday, Roget said the JTUM would be meeting today to discuss "the nature" of that solidarity, but said they were all supporting the stand taken by TTUTA.
Minister of Education Dr Tim Gopeesingh yesterday distanced himself from the unsettled negotiations and the subsequent strike action by teachers. An unsigned release from the Ministry of Education said: "This matter does not fall under his portfolio as Minister of Education and in fact falls under the purview of the ministries of Public Administration (Caroline Seepersad-Bachan), Labour (Errol McLeod), Finance (Larry Howai) and the chief personnel officer (Stephanie Lewis).
"However, in the interest of the teachers who are directly affected by these wage negotiations, Dr Gopeesingh has today consulted with Mrs Seepersad-Bachan on the matter and he has been advised by the Minister of Public Administration that in-house discussions of TTUTA with the chief personnel officer have been taking place and negotiations are continuing, with a meeting of TTUTA and the CPO scheduled for Friday September 14."
The release said Gopeesingh was further advised by Seepersad-Bachan that the first three phases of the labour market study have been completed and the discussions between the CPO and TTUTA were now at the negotiating stage for 2011 salaries.
"Dr Gopeesingh also wishes to reiterate that he is confident that while these negotiations are ongoing, the nation's teachers will continue to show dedication and commitment to the pupils who fall under their charge, and he trusts that they will always ensure that the welfare of the children and education sector remains their priority," the release said.
Several attempts to reach the CPO proved futile. Even though messages were left for the communications department, up to press time there was no response

Postby Dizzy28 » September 11th, 2012, 8:53 am

Couldn't this 2 days of R&R be done in August??

Postby Hook » September 11th, 2012, 9:57 am

^^^ only school administrators in school during vacation...it would be ineffective

Postby Dizzy28 » September 11th, 2012, 11:30 am

Wonder what would be teachers reaction if we benchmarked our education system to some of the best in the world (Japan, South Korea, Taiwan, Singapore, China) where the "summer" vacation is three weeks long?