Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 24th, 2009, 1:56 am

ah lil sumting to keep the thread goin...feel free to comment on wat mite make the tank look better bcuz it is a work in progress...lights an chiller comin down soon...will post vids an pics of freshwater soon...

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/ZDF3jx9zaeA&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed>

ckavsinba

Postby ckavsinba » July 24th, 2009, 9:24 am

Fellas

I have a 50 gal Aquarium and Millennium 3000 Power Filter (Millennium Wet / Dry Multi-Filter, 295 GPH) for sale.

Needs cleaning, haven't been used in a while. The pump works fine however the glue in one corner of the Aquarium came unstuck. I Bought the silicone but never got around to it.

contact - 367-5834

Needs to be gone by this weekend.

Pic below is an e.g of the power filter

djblademan

Postby djblademan » July 24th, 2009, 9:28 am

chris... nice going, ah feel ah hadda check yuh personally if yuh still gettin trouble....hear wa PM me yuh number & ah go call yuh & talk to yuh k?

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » July 24th, 2009, 11:34 am

ryan99tt, tank looking good. you could try some more rocks and caves.

go upload a vid of my updated 4ft tank.

madman.devin

Postby madman.devin » July 24th, 2009, 12:32 pm

ryan99tt
looking good but i think it's a lil crowded especially for the koran angel

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 24th, 2009, 3:12 pm

yea...i in the process of settin up another tank too...i goin wit a 6ft but in a wile...

chris600

Postby chris600 » July 25th, 2009, 8:39 am

djblademan wrote:chris... nice going, ah feel ah hadda check yuh personally if yuh still gettin trouble....hear wa PM me yuh number & ah go call yuh & talk to yuh k?

:shock: wey sah personally.... :mrgreen:

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » July 25th, 2009, 10:02 pm

Where did you import them from? I was looking at some on aquabid.

AGENT RORO, I sourced my stock locally from a private breeder. They are F3 generation from stock imported from Jack Wattley (USA)

chit8238

Damaged Water Tanks WTB

Postby chit8238 » July 25th, 2009, 11:05 pm

Anyone has damaged water tanks that is okay at the base for fishkeeping for sale?

chit8238

Damaged Water Tanks WTB

Postby chit8238 » July 25th, 2009, 11:06 pm

Anyone has damaged water tanks that is okay at the base for fishkeeping for sale?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 26th, 2009, 8:36 am

yea tuners the triiger fish i sellin is the same one in my vid above....

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... 92#3664092

chris600

Re: Damaged Water Tanks WTB

Postby chris600 » July 26th, 2009, 2:22 pm

chit8238 wrote:Anyone has damaged water tanks that is okay at the base for fishkeeping for sale?

try big hardwares...i got mine @southern wholesale,..like 300 o sumthin

vegeboyz

Postby vegeboyz » July 27th, 2009, 1:34 am

Hey there the problem I am having is that fishes keep on dying in my tank. Any type of fishes, angel, goldfish, oscar, cyatfish, thetha, goromie etc....Don't know what causing this at all.. They often die about 3-4 weeks after being put in my tank.

I tried sterilizing the stones, changing the water, changing the filter, adding treatment to the water, changing food nothing works:shock: ....

Any assistance/comments is welcomed....

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » July 27th, 2009, 1:52 am

djblademan

Postby djblademan » July 27th, 2009, 8:23 am

its the way in which you set up i more think... is it a fresh tank you have or you had it long time ago & it now starting to have dieing problems?
from wat you posted in your topic, seems like its a fairly new tank right?

vegeboyz

Postby vegeboyz » July 27th, 2009, 8:37 am

I have had the tank a while now, maybe 3 years. I bought it as an upgrade for my oscar as he outgrew the small aquarium (see pic) he lasted about a year in the new tank then bepp out. Since that, its like he haunted the aquarium, and all subsequent fishes perish within 3-4 weeks, some lasts longer tho, but eventually die.....

djblademan

Postby djblademan » July 27th, 2009, 8:41 am

aite hear wa to do... some work but worth ah shot!
take down the aquarium & empty it & start all over. Claen with some warm water & alil salt in ti to kill any bacteria & stuff, then wash all your decors etc in the wamr water & wat not. Put it back up & you can use normal tap water with a chlorine treatment & or leave the water to stale (your choice) then replace decors & filtration etc & leave it for a few days to flow with the pump filter etc running & then throw in a two cheap fish for a while & see how they progress... then keep us posted how it goes & we'll see from there. cool? wad yuh say?

vegeboyz

Postby vegeboyz » July 27th, 2009, 8:57 am

Thanks for the idea, but sorry to say I did that already.

My bro suggested the same thing. So I empty the water, sterilize the stone, plant, everything, full tap water in the tank, treat it, leave it to stale for about 4 weeks, had the filter running, I waited so long that I forgot about the aquarium. Then I buy 2 cheap fish (for $15) put them in, they last about a month to 5 weeks then one bepp, then the other went soon after.....

djblademan

Postby djblademan » July 27th, 2009, 10:41 am

hmmm i wondering if it has anything to do with the location... it close to any windows to be exposed to any chemicals or sprays or any such? wat about the temp of the area its located in?
man do that same process again & throw some harsh medicine in it yes the yellow one or magic disease or the blue one for ick... cause i still tryin to figure out wat could be the prob... wat size tank it is?

vegeboyz

Postby vegeboyz » July 27th, 2009, 11:03 am

DJBlademan, the tank is situated in the liviing room, close to hte kitchen and close to the front door an verandah and right underneath ah WINDOW. The tank dimensions is 16x16x36 inches. This is what I have in it, 2 plastic plants, stones on the bottom about just enough to cover the bottom twice (not too thick) one water filter, and one ah those sponge filter that the air does pass thru. an maybe one or 2 small fish, when i buy them.

chris600

Postby chris600 » July 27th, 2009, 11:35 am

djblademan wrote:hmmm i wondering if it has anything to do with the location... it close to any windows to be exposed to any chemicals or sprays or any such? wat about the temp of the area its located in?
man do that same process again & throw some harsh medicine in it yes the yellow one or magic disease or the blue one for ick... cause i still tryin to figure out wat could be the prob... wat size tank it is?

could be a leaky chemical from the refrigerator or the heat given off there???.....try moving to some other part of the house maby :roll: ....if the fishes die over time..is sumthin dey exposed to gradually...or u need to go take a bush bath :?

Rebelb14

Postby Rebelb14 » July 27th, 2009, 11:57 am

/\/\ i agree..........especially bush bath part

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » July 27th, 2009, 12:02 pm

are you certain that your power filter does not have a GROUNDing problem????

cornfused

Postby cornfused » July 27th, 2009, 12:09 pm

vegeboyz wrote:DJBlademan, the tank is situated in the liviing room, close to hte kitchen and close to the front door an verandah and right underneath ah WINDOW. The tank dimensions is 16x16x36 inches. This is what I have in it, 2 plastic plants, stones on the bottom about just enough to cover the bottom twice (not too thick) one water filter, and one ah those sponge filter that the air does pass thru. an maybe one or 2 small fish, when i buy them.

just a suggestion where this tank is situated it s seems to me that there are a lot of things that would affect the temperature of the water , and this i think is your problem, the clod air when the fridge door is open and then the general warmth when its closed.

There are treatments that almost de-chlorinates water instantly so this should not be a problem , beside a chlorine issue would affect the fish in a matter of hours not weeks.

Yeo

Postby Yeo » July 27th, 2009, 12:11 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:are you certain that your power filter does not have a GROUNDing problem????

I agree, when fish are added to the tank, how do they behave during the 1st hour or so?

How old is your filter system?

Is the temp of the water regulated?

When changing water, only chang approx 20% every 3 weeks (das what I do)

Do you check the pH balance?

How often do u change filters?

Do u use an airstone?

When last u changed the tubing? and air pump?

I add tap water with the chlorine/pH balance treatment, I never let water "stale".

vegeboyz

Postby vegeboyz » July 27th, 2009, 12:21 pm

Yeo wrote:
evo-STI-k wrote:are you certain that your power filter does not have a GROUNDing problem????

I agree, when fish are added to the tank, how do they behave during the 1st hour or so?

How old is your filter system?

Is the temp of the water regulated?

When changing water, only chang approx 20% every 3 weeks (das what I do)

Do you check the pH balance?

How often do u change filters?

Do u use an airstone?

When last u changed the tubing? and air pump?

I add tap water with the chlorine/pH balance treatment, I never let water "stale".

The filter has a 2-prong plug, dont think it needs grounding?

when fish is added, they explore the tank, sometimes they gather at the plant area, but they swim aroung the place...

filter system is almost 3 yrs old

nope no tempurature regulation being done

have never tried testing ph before

filters change every 3-4 mths, depends on how much waste i see accumulating

had an airstone, it break, so i get a air sponge thingey

never changed tubing an pump

ah does change abot 20 -30% ah de water every now an den....

chris600

Postby chris600 » July 29th, 2009, 10:54 am

hey guys ..any one here ever breed zebra danios successfully?? i think they also known as "glow fish" any tips on breeding if possible would be nice thxxx

Fishman

Postby Fishman » July 29th, 2009, 11:45 am

Hey Chris, I have successfully bred zebras. They are actually very easy to breed.
Just put a few males and females in a tank with a mesh divider or marbles on the bottom. The fish will chase each other and spawn early in the morning. The reason for the divider or marbles is so the eggs fall between the spaces and the fish cannot eat them. They will eat the eggs if given the chance. After they have bred, just remove the fish from the aquarium and wait for the eggs to hatch. Keep an eye on the eggs for fungus though.

The fish that you posted are genetically altered zebras. As far as i know they have some sort of patent on the process too and so to stop people from breeding them they make the fish sterile. Or at least so i heard.

Other companies sell dyed fish which are seen by many in the fish trade as inhumane as the fish are actually injected with dye.

chris600

Postby chris600 » July 29th, 2009, 11:56 am

Fishman wrote:Hey Chris, I have successfully bred zebras. They are actually very easy to breed.
Just put a few males and females in a tank with a mesh divider or marbles on the bottom. The fish will chase each other and spawn early in the morning. The reason for the divider or marbles is so the eggs fall between the spaces and the fish cannot eat them. They will eat the eggs if given the chance. After they have bred, just remove the fish from the aquarium and wait for the eggs to hatch. Keep an eye on the eggs for fungus though.

The fish that you posted are genetically altered zebras. As far as i know they have some sort of patent on the process too and so to stop people from breeding them they make the fish sterile. Or at least so i heard.

Other companies sell dyed fish which are seen by many in the fish trade as inhumane as the fish are actually injected with dye.

thanks alot fishman...i wazn to sure if the gm zebras would spawn...or if i can even get pairs :? ..wanted to try mixing colors..buh it not lookin to hopeful..thxx anyways

SHARIFF

Postby SHARIFF » July 29th, 2009, 3:30 pm

are those electric blue jack dempseys