Mountain Biking

Re: Mountain Biking

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 29th, 2013, 7:43 pm

lol nah I sold the civic a while back so I ain't reaching there unless I ride and lets be real that eh happening in this lifetime LOL

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » December 29th, 2013, 8:50 pm

I hear yuh buddy

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 29th, 2013, 9:24 pm

What I do think is realistic is riding from Piarco to Caura.

knobby tires however may be impossible. Will have to swap for road tires first.

I know a guy used to ride from Chaguanas to maracas. He had a trek road bike I tell you don't know how he used to do that nah. Mikes Bikes is having a ride from St James to Manzanilla in January lol

Too bad you can't put a bike on a plane and go Tobago now that would be a treat for me. lol

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » December 29th, 2013, 9:26 pm

nope by boat

bgh

Postby bgh » December 30th, 2013, 9:25 am

bgh wrote:
trinibajan34 wrote:is the stopping power better with larger discs or the same as the 160 ?

The link below may answer some of your questions...

http://m.bikeradar.com/gear/article/buy ... brakes-45/

I notice yesterday that my ex7 has 180mm front and 160mm disc at the back . It wasn't mention in the specifications on the trek site.
Interesting!!!

Postby eliteauto » December 30th, 2013, 9:38 am

yup I'm running 180 front 160 rear as well

jm3

Postby jm3 » December 30th, 2013, 11:21 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:lol nah I sold the civic a while back so I ain't reaching there unless I ride and lets be real that eh happening in this lifetime LOL

I think I still remember how to get to yours from when I bought the graphics card off you I could give you a ride I think I can put about 3 bikes in the tray

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » December 30th, 2013, 11:24 am

so are we still on for tomorrow I will be there once you guys still up for it

bgh

Postby bgh » December 30th, 2013, 2:48 pm

I'm still heading down after work.
We can try to make it to the tracking station.

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » December 30th, 2013, 7:37 pm

You all go ahead, I walked 90% the route to reach the dish the only time I've been there :cry:

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » December 30th, 2013, 7:41 pm

yuh coming tomorrow we dont have to the tracking station it wad only a suggestion

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » December 30th, 2013, 7:58 pm

Yea, coming tmrw, just have to put back my brake pads, I was going to try this out http://www.pinkbike.com/news/Tech-Tuesday-Silence-That-Squeaky-Disc-Brake-2011.html, but I'll leave it for another time.
That tracking station hill surely more brutal than the one you all did in Gran Couva, lol

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » December 30th, 2013, 8:00 pm

yes it is lol

Postby pugboy » December 30th, 2013, 8:18 pm

so you guys wear the full cycling costume or regular clothes ?

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » December 30th, 2013, 8:32 pm

Well the MTB shorts has a padder inner liner, which helps if you have a hard saddle, and it looks like a regular shorts. Long sleeve jerseys help with the sun but you'll end up feeling warm. I'm not a fan of the "sponsor/team" jerseys.

bgh

Postby bgh » December 30th, 2013, 8:36 pm

whatever you feel comfortable in, just walk with a helmet.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » December 30th, 2013, 9:22 pm

ok so we still meeting for 1

bgh

Postby bgh » December 30th, 2013, 9:33 pm

Yes, meeting at 1.
Are we meeting at the golf club car park or Arboretum car park?

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » December 30th, 2013, 9:45 pm

any where is alright with me

jm3

Postby jm3 » December 31st, 2013, 9:39 am

I'm hoping to be there but I feel Ill today hoping I'll recover soon

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » December 31st, 2013, 10:12 am

so where is the meeting point

bgh

Postby bgh » December 31st, 2013, 10:31 am

As this ride is early we can meet at the arboretum car park.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » December 31st, 2013, 10:32 am

cool I will be present

bgh

Postby bgh » December 31st, 2013, 1:24 pm

We're on site. Anyone else making the trip?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 3rd, 2014, 9:03 pm

Hey I need some advice here.

should I get rid of the Disk brake setup and put in V brake? currently its rubbing and making a lot of noise. It seems ever so often this brake needs adjustment, I find it an inconvenience for all this drama just to ride a bike.

The Mechanics in bike inn has given up and they seem clueless as what to do to solve this screeching noise on the brakes and to adjust it to work proper for more than a few weeks.

Personally I think this is a good lesson though.

In future never to buy a bike with disk brakes again. lol

would a mechanical disk brake setup be easier to adjust and have much less issues? if this is the case I can consider buying some shimano mech brakes off amazon for just $20

Mini

Postby Mini » January 3rd, 2014, 9:37 pm

I have rim brakes on my bike and they are crap in the wet and mud. Easy to service.. But not very reliable for hard riding. For commuting they would probably work well though.

While your bike is under warranty at BI why not try another shop to see if the problem can be sorted out?

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 3rd, 2014, 10:28 pm

you can check Geronimos I hear they do good work or mikes bike

Mini

Postby Mini » January 4th, 2014, 9:17 am

As for the noise from the disc brake setup... I don't think it would matter if it's mechanical or hydraulic.

There are lots of solutions online for brake squeal and adjusment

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_q ... noise&sm=1

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 4th, 2014, 11:34 pm

ok progress.

What I did to align the brake caliper to make it stop robbing is I shine the flash light from the opposite end of the caliper and everytime I could see the brake pad rubbing on the disk so I would move it till i see light coming though from both sides.

However I cannot over tighten the bolt because it would force itself on one side too much and rub. No matter how hard I hold the caliper and push the opposite direction I dont have enough strength to prevent it from moving.

So I can only ASSUME that the slight loose bolt on the caliper is normal. Its holding like normal and not moving so I guess thats it there right?

I mean works perfect way better aligned than when the BBM rasta mechanic in bike inn did it. only 5% rub if so much. Enough to hear the squeak still but I gonna try some rubbing alcohol.

I assume you can't use machine oil on it being a brake disk?

I cant use the solution online because apparently they don't ship these things by air. Considered dangerous goods.

Can they be bought in Trinidad? same kind used for cars?

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » January 5th, 2014, 1:56 am

^Hold this http://www.promaxcomponents.com/2013decipherownersmanual.pdf

http://www.parktool.com/blog/repair-help/shimano-r-hydraulic-brake-service-and-adjustment
Although the above is done on a Shimano setup, pay attention to the 6 steps for alignment, as well as "Resetting brake pads".

Also FYI, http://bennosblogandmore.blogspot.com/2010/10/how-to-service-hydraulic-calipers-and.html

Why do you want to use machine oil and what solution you want to buy online?