COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

wing

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 116 cases, 8 deaths, 58 discharged in T&T

Postby wing » April 27th, 2020, 10:36 am

sMASH wrote:
hydroep wrote:The UK Government has been accused of being "resource driven" in its COVID policies as it seeks to manage short supplies of test kits and equipment.

As a result they have (allegedly) been under-reporting infections and deaths of both the population (especially care homes) and NHS workers in an attempt to convince the public that everything is under control.

Their lockdown was recently extended as well.

Sounds familiar...:|

we sound similar to all the worst case countries. and that is what the PNMites not seeing, or dont want to admit.
Sounds familiar all right. So because we don't manufacture our own test kits or pharmaceutical equipment and are at the mercy of suppliers who are being hijacked by bigger and richer nations, what can you propose the authorities should do in the meantime? Maybe the suspected under reporting is because there just isn't enough tests to go around? And information control is required to prevent mass hysteria in the population? Face it, we're very suseptible to rumor and panic very easily. Imagine a scenario where there is a run on groceries, fuel and banks etc, what about the poor ppl? The government doesn't have money to support them forever, they will have to tax us into Oblivion, and so the cookie crumbles....not everything is pnm or UNC or whatever.

Postby Gladiator » April 27th, 2020, 10:54 am

wing wrote:
sMASH wrote:
hydroep wrote:The UK Government has been accused of being "resource driven" in its COVID policies as it seeks to manage short supplies of test kits and equipment.

As a result they have (allegedly) been under-reporting infections and deaths of both the population (especially care homes) and NHS workers in an attempt to convince the public that everything is under control.

we sound similar to all the worst case countries. and that is what the PNMites not seeing, or dont want to admit.
Sounds familiar all right. So because we don't manufacture our own test kits or pharmaceutical equipment and are at the mercy of suppliers who are being hijacked by bigger and richer nations, what can you propose the authorities should do in the meantime? Maybe the suspected under reporting is because there just isn't enough tests to go around? And information control is required to prevent mass hysteria in the population? Face it, we're very suseptible to rumor and panic very easily. Imagine a scenario where there is a run on groceries, fuel and banks etc, what about the poor ppl? The government doesn't have money to support them forever, they will have to tax us into Oblivion, and so the cookie crumbles....not everything is pnm or UNC or whatever.

All they need to do is be honest, transparent and call a spade a spade and that will restore public confidence in the system

wing

Postby wing » April 27th, 2020, 11:25 am

Gladiator wrote:
wing wrote:
sMASH wrote:

All they need to do is be honest, transparent and call a spade a spade and that will restore public confidence in the system
I don't believe we're as mature as we think. Just look at the toilet paper and Lysol panic buying when we first started talking pandemic, ppl from all walks of life, mind you. Yes I also believe that government is not to be trusted and it is difficult to not get caught up in the mob mentality. We have proven time and again that we are not prepared for most contingencies and the population can't be relied upon to do something that goes contrary to their status quo without inducement or force. Thus, information control is required to prevent anarchy. Just think, what would any of us do in the same position. I don't envy them at all.

Postby Chimera » April 27th, 2020, 11:54 am

I have a eye problem after collecting some gunbutt ontop my head. Went to see a specialist a central....every visit 500....and in that visit he recommending a next test on one of his machines...a extra 700.....and then recommending a eye drop....250....and then he just seeing slight damage to something or d other....use d eyedrop and check him in 2 weeks....every 2 weeks d same thing...every visit is 15 mins max.

A real efficient cycle too eh

Like I go and see him and he send me to do d 2nd test...while I doing that test he seeing a next person to tell dem go do a test...when I go 2 c him after d first test someone else doing a test....

In a hour he seeing 10 15 people easy

And to get an appointment with him is 2 or 3 weeks wait time.

And cash only..linx machine never working

Say 10000 a hour....4 or 5 hours a day.....

Postby hydroep » April 27th, 2020, 12:03 pm

Flood gates open(ing)?...:?

TT nationals in Suriname to return home
Narissa Fraser

Minister of National Security Stuart Young says TT nationals stranded in Suriname will be allowed to return home.

He made the announcement at the Health Ministry’s virtual press briefing on Monday morning.

On Wednesday, Young told the group of 31 to get tested for covid19 there so that their results can be used in considering whether to bring them home.

He said he has been in “constant contact” with their attorneys.

“We are going to grant the permission now for them to come to TT.

“Of course when they come to TT of their own accord, they will – as you’ve seen happen with the 33 from Barbados – they will be subject to the chief medical officer and his professional staff and they will be quarantined. There’s no doubt about that.”

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/04/27/tt-nationals-in-suriname-to-return-home/

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 116 cases, 8 deaths, 58 discharged in T&T

Postby MaxPower » April 27th, 2020, 12:09 pm

^ nice,

If the Govt want to play jackass, just like the Barbados and Suriname jackasses, then bring in the next 250 jackasses that waiting on cruise ships.

Open the borders, the ppl of T&T want them.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 27th, 2020, 12:16 pm

MaxPower wrote:^ nice,

If the Govt want to play jackass, just like the Barbados and Suriname jackasses, then bring in the next 250 jackasses that waiting on cruise ships.

Covid is here to stay for the next year, so when is it appropriate for us to allow them back in?

FFS did a cruise ship loving Trini tief your woman or something?

Postby Dizzy28 » April 27th, 2020, 12:18 pm

Are you this vex about the private jets coming in from South Florida as well or only because is average joes just wanting to come home?

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 116 cases, 8 deaths, 58 discharged in T&T

Postby MaxPower » April 27th, 2020, 12:49 pm

Are you this vex about the private jets coming in from South Florida as well or only because is average joes just wanting to come home?

Soldier, allyuh Trinis really hard head yes.

What does borders closure mean to you?

Political preferences, cruise ships, private jets etc....doesnt matter.

Its the coonoomoonoos like “Dohplaydat” and company who will be affected as they are the ones still participating in unhygienic, social distancing rebelling practices.

Open the borders to all man, i am supporting you now on this.

Postby Slartibartfast » April 27th, 2020, 1:03 pm

Postby paid_influencer » April 27th, 2020, 1:30 pm

Parliament in session. black masks all around

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ibkn6GJAZgA

Postby paid_influencer » April 27th, 2020, 1:36 pm

temperature screening in Parliament. If any MP have high temperature, they are not allowed in.

Postby paid_influencer » April 27th, 2020, 1:39 pm

the irony. the same Speaker of the House that three times denied debate on COVID19, is now wearing a black mask.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 27th, 2020, 1:44 pm

paid_influencer wrote:temperature screening in Parliament. If any MP have high temperature, they are not allowed in.

But its always hot in hell. Them 41 sinners really not going to running hot??

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 27th, 2020, 2:28 pm

Its the coonoomoonoos like “Dohplaydat” and company who will be affected as they are the ones still participating in unhygienic, social distancing rebelling practices.

Lol MaxDotish, answer the question, if Covid-19 is around for at least a year until we have vaccines, so we ever open our borders?

Postby Chimera » April 27th, 2020, 2:36 pm

What allyuh think about that cloth mask drive the government pushing.

And the test with the lighter/match and trying to blow it out

Postby aaron17 » April 27th, 2020, 2:49 pm

So ah hear air pollutants can be a carrier.Soooo what about Sahara dust?

Postby Gladiator » April 27th, 2020, 3:02 pm

paid_influencer wrote:Parliament in session. black masks all around

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ibkn6GJAZgA

They looking more like the bandits that they really are...

Postby sMASH » April 27th, 2020, 3:16 pm

wing wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
wing wrote:
sMASH wrote:

I don't believe we're as mature as we think. Just look at the toilet paper and Lysol panic buying when we first started talking pandemic, ppl from all walks of life, mind you. Yes I also believe that government is not to be trusted and it is difficult to not get caught up in the mob mentality. We have proven time and again that we are not prepared for most contingencies and the population can't be relied upon to do something that goes contrary to their status quo without inducement or force. Thus, information control is required to prevent anarchy. Just think, what would any of us do in the same position. I don't envy them at all.

nope, the opposite will happen. no looting or riot lie hwat ur saying. people will bubble down as u see the numbers go up and u hear that people dying all over. it happened with the fist case then the fist death, where people were shocked into being careful and as time went along and the numbers remained low, they lost that impression of the severity of it.

and u see that the govt is taking drastic actions, and ur not seeing the numbers to support it, people getting fed up. u lock down, u money runnin low, u cant get on with life, but ur not seeing the reason for it.
is like ur fighting a phantom menace. ur supposed to be careful but its not there, ur not feeling it. but ur feeling the pinch of the govt measures tho.
and if we do get numbers now, it woudl come like the govt is covering it up, they were hiding it. the attention would be on the govt cover up than the deaths due to the virus. and the next step is that if u gone true all this torture, suppression, and ur still getting killed, then it didnt make sense, might as well open back up and let who hadda dead, dead.

Postby sMASH » April 27th, 2020, 3:19 pm

aaron17 wrote:So ah hear air pollutants can be a carrier.Soooo what about Sahara dust?

the earliest research into this thing says that it had a short life span on wood and fabrics cause it was dried out faster. so, for dust and what not, being as dry as they are, and our temps being as high... i want to doubt that. or maybe is more asymtomatic peopel coughing due to the pollutants. more research is needed.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » April 27th, 2020, 3:23 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Image

Their was a rumor Kim Jung executed a covid 19 positive individual... so who knows

Postby sMASH » April 27th, 2020, 3:25 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:What allyuh think about that cloth mask drive the government pushing.

the intent with using cloth masks, is to reduce the demand on the professional maks, to leave them for frontliners. those cloth masks best is 50% effectiveness. if u coudl use a better one, use it.

Postby sMASH » April 27th, 2020, 3:29 pm

in other words, the govt coudl fly in their people and import it again, thats good. but beat the people for not running around. lol.

we have little evidence to prove that its in the population so increased movement can be justified. but there is a lot of data showing its outside, so opening borders will pose a high risk of importing it.

there's ur distinction

assassin

Postby assassin » April 27th, 2020, 3:43 pm

No
The main intent of cloth masks is to reduce transmission from the infected. Since there can be asymptomatic carriers, everyone wearing a mask reduces the quantity and distance of particle transmission from a sick person

For a healthy person, a cloth mask will prevent direct droplets but virus size particles can still be inhaled
sMASH wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:What allyuh think about that cloth mask drive the government pushing.

the intent with using cloth masks, is to reduce the demand on the professional maks, to leave them for frontliners. those cloth masks best is 50% effectiveness. if u coudl use a better one, use it.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 27th, 2020, 3:48 pm

sMASH wrote:

in other words, the govt coudl fly in their people and import it again, thats good. but beat the people for not running around. lol.

we have little evidence to prove that its in the population so increased movement can be justified. but there is a lot of data showing its outside, so opening borders will pose a high risk of importing it.

there's ur distinction

Did either of you fail SEA comprehension? I am asking if Covid-19 is around for a year when would you allow trinis trapped outside to return? In most of the Caribbean Covid-19 has stagnated. So why not bring them in now?

In the US it will be a huge problem for the next few months, are you really insisting people who's home and life are in Trinidad remain outside till then?

I dono, maybe perhaps we can do something amazing and innovative like a mandatory 14 day quarentine. Not like countries like South Korea are doing it.

assassin

Postby assassin » April 27th, 2020, 3:49 pm

I saw a report that a few days ago, a NK man who came into China by train fell ill. He was later confirmed as having covid. It was purported that he was already infected on leaving NK
Slartibartfast wrote:Image

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » April 27th, 2020, 3:59 pm

^Ok... Kim is a dictator... so you never know what to really believe when you get news on those countries... it wouldnt shock me if he manipulating or managing covid cases... a dictator is well known for subjugation

Postby MaxPower » April 27th, 2020, 4:44 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Lol MaxDotish, answer the question, if Covid-19 is around for at least a year until we have vaccines, so we ever open our borders?

Dohplaydummy,

Its actually a good question but you’re mind is already set on your answer because of your Trini mentality.

Presently, we are unable to determine how long Covid19 will be around. How will we know for sure if it can be controlled? How can we ascertain the extent of it?........Time.

To answer your question, we are now in the early stages and it is imperative that we strictly adhere to measures as advised by our medical experts. Over and over and over DPD, we must practice proper/considerate hygiene, social distancing and staying at home. This will also include border closure which was/is/can be the main contributing factor.

UNTIL we are certain that Covid19 will prevail for an extended period of time, only then should we look at options to open our borders to our stranded nationals. We cannot completely close our borders for years, but it is reckless to be opening and closing our borders this soon. 10 May could have been a good time to update those outside on when they will be allowed to come in. We have to keep our healthcare resources for the people IN T&T and not
assume that because we have space for some irresponsible idiots it has to be a neverseecomesee situation.

But remember ur a Trini, and Trinis will support other Trinis regardless of their behavior and possible impact to society.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 27th, 2020, 4:49 pm

^ LMFAO

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 27th, 2020, 4:51 pm

Hoss jus freaking quarentine them when they come, either at home if they can be alone or in a facility. But no, government has closed food delivery ensuring those that may have Covid-19 come out their house to go grocery