PNM in Gov't(2015-2020)

Re: PNM in Gov't -AH WHOLE 4 YEARS LATER!!!!!

Postby matr1x » September 27th, 2019, 9:03 pm

I think is time to openly laugh at Greenville, Diego Martin when it floods.

Also owtu sucking pnm sausage a long time now

Postby De Dragon » September 27th, 2019, 9:19 pm

DJIA > NASDAQ :wink:

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » September 27th, 2019, 11:54 pm

De Dragon wrote:DJIA > NASDAQ :wink:

If the yellow team people went they they will try to steal and make bobble, hence why they were never invited. Keith > Kamla :lol:

Postby De Dragon » September 28th, 2019, 2:01 am

randolphinshan wrote:

If the yellow team people went they they will try to steal and make bobble, hence why they were never invited. Keith > Kamla :lol:

No, Tokesy, when you're somebody, they ask you to ring the opening bell on Wall Street home of the DJIA. When they want to make you feel like a bite up shilling, and tthrow you a bone, you get NASDAQ.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 28th, 2019, 7:58 am

Rovin wrote:so why pee nm eh open this school , whats d fault with it being open or whatever flaws it has cant be fixed ?

is it a case of well we party eh build dat so we eh opening it ?

kamla teef out d treasury so d country eh have $$$ fuh dat ?

.... ent its a marginal constituency , cuda feed some party financiers from them getting d wuk to complete it & by opening it u mamaguy some votes from it too ... a win\win for everybody

https://www.facebook.com/stephan.reis.1 ... AwMjYyMjI/

:| The amount of issues with a fair number of those new schools built under the the previous administration is not funny at all. It's better they just demolish them and start over from scratch. People need to go to jail over the level of corruption in that school building programme.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 28th, 2019, 7:58 am

Rovin wrote:so why pee nm eh open this school , whats d fault with it being open or whatever flaws it has cant be fixed ?

is it a case of well we party eh build dat so we eh opening it ?

kamla teef out d treasury so d country eh have $$$ fuh dat ?

.... ent its a marginal constituency , cuda feed some party financiers from them getting d wuk to complete it & by opening it u mamaguy some votes from it too ... a win\win for everybody

https://www.facebook.com/stephan.reis.1 ... AwMjYyMjI/

:| The amount of issues with a fair number of those new schools built under the the previous administration is not funny at all. It's better they just demolish them and start over from scratch. People need to go to jail over the level of corruption in that school building programme.

Postby sMASH » September 28th, 2019, 8:18 am

investigate>gather evidence>prosecute>penalize>recover costs.
the podium talk is not enough.

Postby sMASH » September 28th, 2019, 8:20 am

randolphinshan wrote:

and be forced to return the assets for $10 US.. better to try to hide that shame.

Postby Rovin » September 28th, 2019, 10:44 am

sMASH wrote:investigate>gather evidence>prosecute>penalize>recover costs.
the podium talk is not enough.

sounds great in theory but then again persons who did all d bad work for yellow is probably with red now ...

Postby sMASH » September 28th, 2019, 10:56 am

lets not focus on who u are and where ur from. lets focus on what u did and getting value for money.

Postby Rovin » September 28th, 2019, 11:15 am

yea buh ent we all know is same setta skullmen contractors getting wuk no matter whoever govt comes into power

yes some got more under some than others but all of them still feeding or were fed so much to last them a lifetime , so why wud any of them get brought to justice when all d hyenas liming together ....

Postby sMASH » September 29th, 2019, 7:53 am

talking bout skullmen

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/ministry ... hwIVs2WtBU

guardian wrote:Ministry buys $4,000 cake to celebrate CARIFESTA

by
Chesterr Sambrano
10 hours ago
Sat Sep 28 2019

Ques­tions are now be­ing raised about the Min­istry of Com­mu­ni­ty De­vel­op­ment, Cul­ture and the Arts' (MCD­CA) de­ci­sion to fork out $4,000 on a cake while min­istry work­ers claim they had been fac­ing prob­lems in the re­cent past to get ba­sic of­fice sup­plies.

The 32 x 40-inch sponge cake was dec­o­rat­ed with the CAR­IFES­TA Trinidad and To­ba­go lo­go and was the main fea­ture at the thank-you re­cep­tion for vol­un­teers host­ed by the min­istry on Thurs­day night at the Na­tion­al Acad­e­my for the Per­form­ing Arts.

The cost of the cake was con­firmed by an em­ploy­ee of the Kiss Bak­ing Com­pa­ny, which got the con­tract to bake the dessert.

Guardian Me­dia was told that some mem­bers of staff who were present at the func­tion were tak­en aback and even up­set by the size and cost of the cake, while oth­er guests mar­velled at its size and took self­ies to cap­ture the mo­ment.

One at­tendee said that in her speech, Min­is­ter of Com­mu­ni­ty De­vel­op­ment, Cul­ture and the Arts Dr Nyan Gads­by-Dol­ly stat­ed that they were "all a part of some­thing big, so let's par­take of some­thing big," in ref­er­ence to CAR­IFES­TA and the cake. CAR­IFES­TA XIV was held be­tween Au­gust 16 to 25 and it cost $43 mil­lion for this coun­try to host the event.

Well placed sources said on Thurs­day as the min­istry cel­e­brat­ed the suc­cess of the event, there was a cut­ting cer­e­mo­ny in­volv­ing the min­is­ter and John Arnold, pres­i­dent of the Copy­right Or­gan­i­sa­tion of Trinidad and To­ba­go, and then guests were in­vit­ed to par­take.

In ad­di­tion to the $4,000 cake, guests were treat­ed to a va­ri­ety of food choic­es. On the menu, there was pastelles, fruit and fresh sal­ads, In­di­an del­i­ca­cies, soups, pas­tries, etc. There were three bar sta­tions with a very wide range of liquor and oth­er drinks. Ef­forts to con­firm the cost of the en­tire event were un­suc­cess­ful.

Guardian Me­dia Con­tact­ed PriceS­mart which al­so bakes cakes. An em­ploy­ee told us that the biggest cake they pro­duce is a full sheet (18X24X2 inch­es) and that costs $320. This size of cake serves 80 to 100 peo­ple, PriceS­mart said.

An em­ploy­ee of the min­istry who was un­der­stand­ably up­set at the wastage and who re­quest­ed anonymi­ty said be­fore CAR­IFES­TA XIV there was a lack of ba­sic sup­plies for staff to car­ry out their jobs. "Even pa­per clips we didn't have," the em­ploy­ee said.

The em­ploy­ee ex­plained that work­ers are now us­ing sup­plies left­over from CAR­IFES­TA.

In March of this year, the staff of the NWRHA (North­West Re­gion­al Health Au­thor­i­ty) re­ceived a memo warn­ing them about their toi­let pa­per us­age, while in May em­ploy­ees of NALIS (Na­tion­al Li­brary and In­for­ma­tion Sys­tem Au­thor­i­ty) were in­formed to bring their own toi­let pa­per and toi­let sup­plies due to a short­age of funds.

Ques­tions to the min­is­ter:

Ques­tions were posed to the min­is­ter via What­sApp about the event and the cake in ques­tion one day af­ter the event—on Fri­day.

What was the na­ture of the event? Who was your core guest list? Where was the event held? What was the cost to host the event? What was the cost of the very large cake that was fea­tured at the event? Who pro­vid­ed the cake? How were the size and spec­i­fi­ca­tions ar­rived at? Where did the mon­ey come from to host this event?

The min­is­ter did not re­spond to the ques­tions sent via What­sApp, al­though she read the mes­sage.

Min­istry re­sponds:

On Sat­ur­day, the com­mu­ni­ca­tions de­part­ment of the min­istry sent an email re­sponse: "MCD­CA hails Self­less Ser­vice of Staff and Vol­un­teers at CAR­IFES­TA XIV," with­out once men­tion­ing the cake or cost.

"CAR­IFES­TA XIV has been hailed by the re­gion as one of, if not the most suc­cess­ful edi­tion of the fes­ti­val held since in­cep­tion. The Min­istry of Com­mu­ni­ty De­vel­op­ment, Cul­ture and the Arts would like to thank the Host Coun­try Man­age­ment Com­mit­tee, the CAR­IFES­TA Sec­re­tari­at, and all mem­bers of staff of the Min­istry who went above and be­yond the call of du­ty to de­liv­er this fes­ti­val with ex­cel­lence.

"We were al­so for­tu­nate enough to have over 300 vol­un­teers who of­fered their ser­vices freely, op­er­at­ing at dif­fer­ent lev­els be­fore and dur­ing the event, con­tribut­ing great­ly to its suc­cess and ef­fi­cient im­ple­men­ta­tion. With­out their crit­i­cal in­put, CAR­IFES­TA XIV would not have been the suc­cess that it was. All told, each of these vol­un­teers would have giv­en, on av­er­age, over 100 hours of un­paid ser­vice to their coun­try in the pe­ri­od lead­ing up to and through­out CAR­IFES­TA XIV; at the air­port, in the Grand Mar­ket, at per­form­ing spaces, at Com­mu­ni­ty fes­ti­vals, cre­ative zones, as­sist­ing with pro­to­col arrange­ments—no area was left un­touched.

"With the self­less and pa­tri­ot­ic ser­vice of staff and vol­un­teers in mind, num­ber­ing well over 500 peo­ple, the min­istry held an ap­pre­ci­a­tion event at NA­PA on Thurs­day, 26th Sep­tem­ber 2019, where cer­tifi­cates of com­men­da­tion were dis­trib­uted to staff and vol­un­teers, and thanks were prof­fered to those who so self­less­ly gave of their time to make Trinidad and To­ba­go proud.

"We were hap­py to have our CAR­IFES­TA XIV brand am­bas­sadors, Neval and Nishard, as well as Nailah Black­man, vol­un­teer their time to pro­vide live en­ter­tain­ment and toast these pa­tri­ots, many of whom were young per­sons that sim­ply want­ed to be a part of mak­ing CAR­IFES­TA XIV the best it could be. The cer­tifi­cates were well re­ceived, as a badge of ho­n­our for ser­vice ren­dered. We hold up the vol­un­teerism of these pa­tri­ots, in­clud­ing our staff, as one of the best ex­am­ples of self­less ser­vice which, if em­u­lat­ed, will re­dound to the ben­e­fit of this na­tion we all hold dear."

Econ­o­mist: More thought should have gone in­to spend­ing so much for a cake

At least one econ­o­mist said more thought should have gone in­to spend­ing such a large fee for a cake.

Dr In­dera Sage­wan-Al­li said the econ­o­my of Trinidad and To­ba­go was not very healthy at this time.

"A pur­chase such as this, in the con­text of the dif­fi­cul­ties that peo­ple are hav­ing with re­spect to find­ing jobs or keep­ing jobs, the fear fac­tor that ex­ists in the so­ci­ety with re­spect to ek­ing out a very ba­sic liv­ing out of it.

"This is more in line with a lev­el of con­sump­tion that we can no longer af­ford. Gov­ern­ment re­al­ly has a re­spon­si­bil­i­ty to lead the charge and to lead the way in help­ing the wider so­ci­ety to make the nec­es­sary ad­just­ments for times like this such as this re­quires.

"This does not re­flect a gov­ern­ment lead­ing the way wand point­ing the way of how we should be spend­ing in dif­fi­cult times," Sage­wan-Al­li said.

Postby eliteauto » September 29th, 2019, 8:55 am

They could have given me the job, would have made a far better tasting cake for $3800

Postby Gladiator » September 29th, 2019, 9:00 am

This govt has money to spend on only what they want to spend it on.....go beg for paperclip but eat a $4000 cake?

Awaiting Redmman to come and defend...

Postby hydroep » September 29th, 2019, 9:19 am

Paperclip is joke. Ent it had some article(s) about there not being toilet paper in some Government Offices?

Buh say what, at $ 4,000 dem could afford to wipe their bumsee with cake...:|

Postby maj. tom » September 29th, 2019, 9:36 am

Money done allocated for Christmas Party too. Population has to scrunt for entitled services for the rest of the fiscal year until next budget. All governments do this in TT history, and we accept it after a lil 3 days "upset" in the newspapers.

Postby eliteauto » September 29th, 2019, 9:40 am

allyuh doh phoq me up... this..THIS? I would have made that far more attractive and I'm 110% sure better tasting, not buttercream frosting made with lard
cari.jpg

Postby maj. tom » September 29th, 2019, 10:05 am

maj. tom wrote:But ent Piarco is an Amerindian word? They were not here before everybody else?

Why he doesn't rename Port-of-Spain to Eric Williams Caribbean Refugee Camp? Those small islands squatters would still be welcome?

First Peoples: Don’t rename Piarco Airport

by
Peter Christopher
Fri Sep 27 2019

The San­ta Rosa First Peo­ples Com­mu­ni­ty said it is not in favour of re-nam­ing the Pi­ar­co In­ter­na­tion­al Air­port due to its con­nec­tion to the First Peo­ples’ his­to­ry.

Ear­li­er this week, Prime Min­is­ter Dr Kei­th Row­ley an­nounced re­cent­ly that he will take a sug­ges­tion to Cab­i­net to re­name the Pi­ar­co In­ter­na­tion­al Air­port af­ter the coun­try’s first Prime Min­is­ter Dr. Er­ic Williams, pend­ing his fam­i­ly’s con­sent. The sug­ges­tion was made while Dr Row­ley was in New York City.

In a re­lease on Fri­day chief Ri­car­do Bharath Her­nan­dez said the First Peo­ples were fol­low­ing the dis­cus­sion con­cern­ing the re­nam­ing of the In­ter­na­tion­al Air­port with great in­ter­est as “A place name in such a promi­nent and vis­i­ble place as the coun­try’s In­ter­na­tion­al Air­port is a sig­nal ho­n­our to the First Peo­ples.”

They said they do be­lieve that “ ap­pro­pri­ate em­blems of ho­n­our should be giv­en to out­stand­ing con­trib­u­tors to the na­tion’s de­vel­op­ment such as Dr. Williams, and note that sev­er­al pres­ti­gious in­sti­tu­tions are al­ready named in his ho­n­our –“The Er­ic Williams Fi­nan­cial Com­plex, al­so known as the Er­ic Williams Plaza”; and “The Er­ic Williams Med­ical Sci­ences Com­plex”.

They said though, “our Com­mu­ni­ty strong­ly ad­vo­cates that should an­oth­er ho­n­our be giv­en to him”, since af­ter col­o­niza­tion, sev­er­al com­mu­ni­ties with in­dige­nous names were re­named by Span­ish and British colonis­ers.

The First Peo­ples con­tin­ued, “The re­main­ing in­dige­nous names of places and in­dige­nous na­tions such as Ari­ma, Ch­agua­nas, Cha­cachacare, Pi­ar­co, Cou­va, Arou­ca, Cara­pachaima, Tamana, for ex­am­ple, are pre­cious to the First Peo­ples as rep­re­sen­ta­tives of the lost lan­guages.”

“This sug­ges­tion of re­nam­ing the air­port through eras­ing a name in an orig­i­nal lan­guage of the First Peo­ples would fur­ther erode the First Peo­ples Her­itage and Lega­cy which our Com­mu­ni­ty con­tin­ues to strug­gle to pre­serve,” they added.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/first-pe ... b971f8191f

Postby pugboy » September 29th, 2019, 11:55 am

last week on beyond the tape
Alexander and Marlon boasting about arresting illegal vendors and showing video footage of it proudly
A man call in and ask how come they don't arrest kiss baking for selling bread products on the roads

Alexander backpedal and duck the issue yes

Postby hydroep » September 30th, 2019, 7:38 am

Open your eyes, ears and mouths
Paolo Kernahan

THE HEADLINE instruction reads a bit like something you’d hear during a visit to the family doctor, but it could be worse. OK, it is worse. Enduring this Government feels like an unending visit to a knobby-fingered proctologist.

TT is a difficult place to tolerate if you’re overly sensitive to injustice, corruption and hypocrisy. It’s intolerable to suppress feelings that the Government is allowed to get away with murder. This is made possible not merely through the support of PNM minions who would follow their leader into the fire only to realise he’s not with them.

Our Government can commit the worst crimes of incompetence, malfeasance and political self-interest because of a complicity of silence among members of the public who know right from wrong.

It is certainly not for lack of information. Columnists, journalists, fair-minded commentators and activists have all worked overtime to expose acts of deliberate sabotage, shady dealings and gross negligence.

Notwithstanding public reticence over the scandalous stillborn HDC sweetheart contract with Chinese firm CGGC, columnists like Mariano Browne, Ralph Maraj and others have kept the issue alive. This is important because the complexity of the moving parts involved is tough gristle for ordinary people to digest.

Even so, there’s a sickening vibe that the public is willing to give the Government a pass on the HDC China contract. Other writers have explored the details extensively so I won’t retrace their steps. My concern is the apparent ease with which the society is consigning the Government’s role in the HDC scandal to file 13.

I’m just going to go ahead and assume the public accepted the PM’s story that even as he held the ministry of housing portfolio at the time, the preferential HDC contract was “just an administrative matter.” Just like stamping a document or ordering bulk paper clips.

At the very least, this demonstrates shocking negligence and failure of fiduciary duty on the part of Dr Rowley.

As Prime Minister, he needn’t be a great orator, or progressive thinker (good thing too). However, the bare minimum expected of him and his cabinet is the aggressive defence of the interests of the people of TT. Not even this, it seems, could be mustered when it mattered.

In referring to the cancellation of the HDC/CGGC contract conceived on a bed of nails (you can guess who was on the bottom), Dr Rowley summed it up as the system having worked. He is right about that. The system is media oversight exposing the madness and forcing the cabinet to “discover a problem” with the contract. But it only worked to a point.

Notwithstanding media vigilance, coverage hasn’t triggered accountability. The PM pointed out that “many, many people” were involved in the contract’s preparation. He, however, neatly plucked himself from any responsibility and made room in his absolution raft for HDC chairman Newman George. Thus we find ourselves in a curious state of flux in which “many, many people” were involved but no one is responsible.

Then came news of the “sale” of the Petrotrin refinery to the OWTU. Anyone raising questions about this astonishing development is either unpatriotic or racist. The Government redefined the meaning of upfront payment and has the nerve to tell us we shouldn’t talk about the deal.

Energy Minister Franklin Khan congratulated the OWTU for honouring a non-disclosure agreement. When asked where the funding was coming from for the purchase and start-up of the refinery, Khan told reporters to ask the union. This happened at the same news conference, people.

The OWTU, once champions of government accountability and absolute transparency, has itself become a practitioner of opacity. How the tables have turned when it suits the union to hold its tongue on matters of public importance. Is transparency optional when it doesn’t serve its interests?

From the deliberate sabotage of the sea bridge right up to the deeply worrying Petrotrin catastrophe, people fail to realise that decisions made on our behalf affect all our lives. Avoidable mistakes and self-inflicted wounds will create bleak outcomes from which future generations will struggle to escape. The cost of our silence is incalculable. We will be paying it decades after all the players in this theatre of the bizarre are long gone.

Citizens must once again find the fire in their throats used without hesitation against the PP administration and turn it on the PNM Government. No administration must be allowed a sanctuary of silence as it leads this country to hell.

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/09/30/open-your-eyes-ears-and-mouths/

Postby gastly369 » September 30th, 2019, 9:17 am

$2 cake vs $4000 cake
#buzzfeed

Postby 16 cycles » September 30th, 2019, 10:00 am

price of goodie went up and it got smaller / vex

Postby Dizzy28 » September 30th, 2019, 10:24 am

16 cycles wrote:price of goodie went up and it got smaller / vex

Normal for snack companies to reduce size either with or without price increases.

Toblerone increased the gaps between pieces recently to reduce the amount of chocolate in a bar.

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-37904703

Postby The_Honourable » September 30th, 2019, 10:51 am

FYI: Not only Malcolm Jones get off, Ken Julien also even though the Privy Council ruled that the eTecK board can go after him for corporate negligence.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 30th, 2019, 11:03 am

The_Honourable wrote:FYI: Not only Malcolm Jones get off, Ken Julien also even though the Privy Council ruled that the eTecK board can go after him for corporate negligence.

That eTecK case also included Dr Brian Copeland (G Pan inventor and UWI Principal) and Wendy Fitzwilliams. No way they would continue action against those two.

Postby Rovin » September 30th, 2019, 4:44 pm

pugboy wrote:last week on beyond the tape
Alexander and Marlon boasting about arresting illegal vendors and showing video footage of it proudly
A man call in and ask how come they don't arrest kiss baking for selling bread products on the roads

Alexander backpedal and duck the issue yes

i saw that , zander like he get confuffle 1time & pass d blame onto d regional corp police saying dise dem wuk to see bout dat ...

Postby Rovin » September 30th, 2019, 4:46 pm

if they spree 43mil for d event wais a lil 4k for a cake , dem get d contractor price dey & it not even large or pretty self ....

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » September 30th, 2019, 5:20 pm

several right here believe that cake is money well spent, same as some believe vidwatee travels with kamla was same, until everyone can see is crap we love it soooo

Postby matr1x » October 1st, 2019, 5:35 am

The petrotrin sale have some interesting heritage links. Hmmmm...

Anyone want to talk about this corruption dwarfs anything pp may have done?

Of course pnm fools will try to defend pnm corruption.

Also, that cake.is a Marlene slice when she on a diet

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » October 1st, 2019, 6:37 am

matr1x wrote:The petrotrin sale have some interesting heritage links. Hmmmm...

Anyone want to talk about this corruption dwarfs anything pp may have done?

Of course pnm fools will try to defend pnm corruption.

Also, that cake.is a Marlene slice when she on a diet

Nobody and nothing can dwarf Kams and PP corruption, evil and wickedness. They were this country’s WORST times. Trust me