The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Trini Hookah » February 24th, 2013, 7:57 pm

You guys wouldn't believe, I root and unlock people's Androids for free, yet mine is unrooted and running stock ics. :oops:

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » February 24th, 2013, 8:01 pm

^ same here, didn't see the point to do it in either the s3 or note 2...stock was really acceptable for me IMHO

achillies

Postby achillies » February 24th, 2013, 8:16 pm

honda hoe wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:
Stephon. wrote:My phone fell twice in trini posse and nothing happened to it lol. But then again, I'm not an idiot so I have a case on my phone :/

Have my phone almost 2 years now, never used a case. I simply dont like having a case on, i find the case takes away from the beauty of the phone.

My phone fed up fall, like i said before not a scratch not even a scoff mark. Many times the phone fell flat on its face from a height...gorilla glass...unaffected.

This!

Spend thousands of dollars for a pretty phone to hide it behind some cheap bulky looking case :?

Hoss, I not playing with my N4 nah

I have to have that in some kinda case, I wouldn't feel good if it wasn't

Postby honda hoe » February 25th, 2013, 8:50 am

^ what case u using?

Postby S_2NR » February 25th, 2013, 9:00 am

Jonathan_337 wrote:Some cool apps for everyone :

-Prepay balance widget- Use this to keep track of your data usage, account balance and anything else that's tracked with a USSD code right on your homescreen with the use of a simple widget

https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... .pro&hl=en

Freedom - http://www.in-appstore.com/2012/12/free ... -here.html

Solid Explorer - File Manager - Best filemanager I've come across

https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... orer&hl=en

System Tuner Pro - Can be used to tweak all sorts of stuff

Whatsapp users, tired of the same old whatsapp look? Here's whatsapp that comes with a holo theme and further to that, themes can be downloaded to customize it. Almost every single feature of whatsapp can be altered with this version of whatsapp

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=1624514

Relacement SMS app - Sliding Messaging - Really cool on 4.2.2

Power toggles - Handy widget - https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... s.pc&hl=en

FX Guru - Add sick effects to videos, destroy the earth ! Lol https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... guru&hl=en

Speedview pro - https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... .pro&hl=en

Also S2, S3, Note, Note 2 & Galaxy Nexus users...Flashed a ROM called JellyBam v6.2.0 (4.2.2 STABLE) on my S3. It has all the features from CM10.1, Paranoid Android & AOKP + many other tweaks and optimizations in one ROM. Really, really smooth and the customization options are absolutely amazing. Worth giving a try.

whatsapp holo bess.

the prepay balance widget not working. when i try to add a code it just times out.

achillies

Postby achillies » February 25th, 2013, 9:00 am

honda hoe wrote:^ what case u using?

Right now, a Diztronic Matte Black TPU

casper

Postby casper » February 25th, 2013, 11:14 am

sharkman121 wrote:
My phone fed up fall, like i said before not a scratch not even a scoff mark. Many times the phone fell flat on its face from a height...gorilla glass...unaffected.

an 8520 doesnt have gorilla glass and its not even an android device sharky

Postby sharkman121 » February 25th, 2013, 11:15 am

casper wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:

Postby Trini Hookah » February 25th, 2013, 11:19 am

casper wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:

hahahahhahahahahh :lol:

Postby Stephon. » February 25th, 2013, 7:30 pm

casper wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:

Postby Ted_v2 » February 25th, 2013, 7:48 pm

http://www.google.com/intl/en/chrome/de ... books.html

new devices at excellent prices but you guys think it makes sense vs a laptop?

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » February 25th, 2013, 8:27 pm

Hey guys need some assistance... I got a S3 here with me which says no sim... any advice?

Stock.. not rooted. I9300

Postby Trini Hookah » February 25th, 2013, 8:32 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:http://www.google.com/intl/en/chrome/devices/chromebooks.html

new devices at excellent prices but you guys think it makes sense vs a laptop?

A Chromebook in no way can replace a Laptop, just btw.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » February 25th, 2013, 8:46 pm

S_2NR wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:Some cool apps for everyone :

-Prepay balance widget- Use this to keep track of your data usage, account balance and anything else that's tracked with a USSD code right on your homescreen with the use of a simple widget

Freedom - http://www.in-appstore.com/2012/12/free ... -here.html

Solid Explorer - File Manager - Best filemanager I've come across

https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... orer&hl=en

System Tuner Pro - Can be used to tweak all sorts of stuff

Whatsapp users, tired of the same old whatsapp look? Here's whatsapp that comes with a holo theme and further to that, themes can be downloaded to customize it. Almost every single feature of whatsapp can be altered with this version of whatsapp

Relacement SMS app - Sliding Messaging - Really cool on 4.2.2

Power toggles - Handy widget - https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... s.pc&hl=en

FX Guru - Add sick effects to videos, destroy the earth ! Lol https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... guru&hl=en

Speedview pro - https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... .pro&hl=en

Also S2, S3, Note, Note 2 & Galaxy Nexus users...Flashed a ROM called JellyBam v6.2.0 (4.2.2 STABLE) on my S3. It has all the features from CM10.1, Paranoid Android & AOKP + many other tweaks and optimizations in one ROM. Really, really smooth and the customization options are absolutely amazing. Worth giving a try.

whatsapp holo bess.

the prepay balance widget not working. when i try to add a code it just times out.

Yep! Much nicer than the normal one. You're rooted right?

Postby S_2NR » February 25th, 2013, 8:51 pm

Yea

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » February 25th, 2013, 8:57 pm

Been using holo whatsapp for a while now... Great how u can change almost any font.. Anything.. Lol..

Postby S_2NR » February 25th, 2013, 9:27 pm

Every time I opened holo whatsapp it used to stop and check for updates. Every single time. :-|

Went back to normal whatsapp

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » February 25th, 2013, 10:59 pm

Lucian-2nr wrote:Hey guys need some assistance... I got a S3 here with me which says no sim... any advice?

also... anyone with a dead S3 or parts so I can test to see if is the sim & sd tray reader flex cable

Postby M_2NR » February 25th, 2013, 11:12 pm

You tried another sim right?

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » February 25th, 2013, 11:19 pm

M_2NR wrote:You tried another sim right?

3 actually :( .... will head bmobile/digi on campus in the morning for them to test with a newer sim.

Postby S_2NR » February 25th, 2013, 11:25 pm

Did u check the bands that are enabled/disabled on it. Had a problem where an at&t s3 was not getting 4g and had to go in the service menu to change the band.

Or the phone could just be locked. Where u bought it?

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » February 25th, 2013, 11:27 pm

S_2NR wrote:Did u check the bands that are enabled/disabled on it. Had a problem where an at&t s3 was not getting 4g and had to go in the service menu to change the band.

Nah not locked, or bands... error is no sim present. Its not locked checked already and not software.

Its actually quite a common problem and will most likely need to order a tray. :evil:

Postby M_2NR » February 25th, 2013, 11:33 pm

Lucian-2nr wrote:
S_2NR wrote:Did u check the bands that are enabled/disabled on it. Had a problem where an at&t s3 was not getting 4g and had to go in the service menu to change the band.

Nah not locked, or bands... error is no sim present. Its not locked checked already and not software.

Its actually quite a common problem and will most likely need to order a tray. :evil:

yuhno, that's a problem with Nexus 4's too eh. Padna of mine has an issue with his sim sometimes. It would randomly say "no sim inserted" someone suggest that he change the simcard. He checked it online and others report a similar "problem" that the sim thickness wasn't right. I don't know how true is that for your case though. Good luck man.

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » February 25th, 2013, 11:52 pm

^ Yup! for some you need to place a piece of paper to work, others you just screwed.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » February 26th, 2013, 8:27 am

anyone know where to get the charging port in a note replaced? have one and its stopped taking charge or have to hold it an awrkward angle for the charger to connect. Suspect the charging port has gone thu.
Anywhere i can get this changed?

Postby Trini Hookah » February 26th, 2013, 9:51 am

Use an external charger in the meanwhile

Postby stev » February 26th, 2013, 2:28 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:anyone know where to get the charging port in a note replaced? have one and its stopped taking charge or have to hold it an awrkward angle for the charger to connect. Suspect the charging port has gone thu.
Anywhere i can get this changed?

u absolutely sure its the port? check the charger first.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » February 26th, 2013, 2:45 pm

very sure used multiple chargers, no luck changed batteries and all just to be sure, cant get a data connection to it either, port look like it malfucntioned

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 27th, 2013, 1:01 pm

Lucian-2nr wrote:Hey guys need some assistance... I got a S3 here with me which says no sim... any advice?

Good luck :cry:

Samsung last words to me were "send the phone in for repair"

Postby javishm » February 27th, 2013, 8:53 pm