3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Re: 3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Postby gastly369 » June 5th, 2012, 10:33 pm

HTC WP7 .. with Fantasia Painting aka phonoshop

i end up compressing by mistake so quality drop :oops:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » June 6th, 2012, 12:16 am

Postby DVSTT » June 6th, 2012, 12:27 am

Been busy with exams, now get chance to post some pics

Rain Drops Upon Petals by DHARIN, on Flickr

Postby meccalli » June 6th, 2012, 5:45 am

These were done on a point and shoot.

Gulps away by meccalli, on Flickr

Sailing Steelway by meccalli, on Flickr

tdavies

Postby tdavies » June 6th, 2012, 10:12 am

Last edited by tdavies on June 6th, 2012, 10:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby TRAE » June 6th, 2012, 10:44 am

unmodified

Postby crazybalhead » June 6th, 2012, 10:51 am

lighthammer wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:Image

This is a great picture! nice composition and POV angle... cool abstract landscape!

nicholas1729 wrote:Image

Seems that your white-balance is off, cuz there's a slightly pinkish/purple hue to the pics you have, using this one as a general reference. See the tint on the white surface of the lighthouse? Well... not everyone may see it, and I might be a bit wrong, cuz everyone's screen is calibrated differently.

Also, because of the time of day you took the pics (seems to be around midday, judging from the shadows) the difference in dynamic range will be quite high - meaning whites will appear very white and darks/shadows will be very black. Most nature and landscape photogs prefer to take pics either in early morning or late afternoon/evening when the light is more pleasing and less harsh than in middday.

Good effort, keep it coming and keep shooting! Practice makes perfect!

Thanks!! :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:

napster16

Postby napster16 » June 6th, 2012, 1:55 pm

Well I see everyone's been picking up their cams of late, so I felt a bit inspired... :oops:

Mangoes Tanning by Genesis Creations, on Flickr

Keeper of the Garden by Genesis Creations, on Flickr

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » June 7th, 2012, 9:24 am

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » June 7th, 2012, 9:13 pm

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » June 7th, 2012, 10:22 pm

Postby DVSTT » June 8th, 2012, 1:00 am

nicholas7129 wrote:Image

Nice composition

Postby UML » June 9th, 2012, 3:40 pm

didnt know where to post it....so please excuse me.....but its a photoshoot idea i wish i can see come to reality some time

"FASTEST MEN ON EARTH"
806934.jpg
sheldon bissessar.png

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » June 9th, 2012, 7:23 pm

napster16

Postby napster16 » June 9th, 2012, 8:14 pm

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » June 11th, 2012, 12:04 am

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » June 12th, 2012, 12:06 am

^^ go easy on the HDR and tonemapping bro...

the best HDR pics are those that don't look like they're actually HDR.

eg...

For general information:
"H.D.R." means "High Dynamic Range", or a picture that has a good range of exposure from highlights to shadows.

In certain types of pictures that have a vast difference in light-exposures, eg. a sunset with a bright sun but dark landscape, this means there is a big difference in "dynamic range" of light intensities. Most digital sensors can only capture a narrow dynamic range of light intensities, hence once you pass a certain range of difference in lights vs. darks, everything at each end of the spectrum becomes either washed out (very bright) or underexposed (very dark looking).

HDR is basically taking an average of 3 or more pictures of the same scene but each at different exposures (eg. low exposure, medium, high exposure). This allows you to capture as much information about the scene possible. Then the pictures are combined in photoshop or photomatix and a tonemap is applied (some sort of voodoo magic that gives back detail and contrast) and after a few seconds of computer sorcery - voila - a perfectly exposed picture appears where you can see almost everything in the photo, ideally as close to the human eye can see it as possible (the human eye has a bazillion times more sensitive dynamic range of light sensitivity than a puny little digital camera's, even mega-expensive cameras like the Nikon D4, Canon 1D mark4 and all that jazz).

HDR pics are best applied to landscapes and scenery where the difference of light vs dark is very high (in this case the human eye could see stuff in the shadows, while all a camera would see is a big bright light source and lots of black sheit all over the place).
One of the worst applications of HDR is to portraits of humans - makes them look unnatural and all funny-like! (it's usually very difficult to accurately represent human skin tones in tonemapping, unless you're some sort of high-level wizard like Saruman or Gandalf the white).

Here's some examples of the process of making a decent HDR image:

Rule of thumb in doing tonemapping & HDR-izing... "a little goes a long way"

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » June 12th, 2012, 7:46 am

Tanx for the tip

Postby sMASH » June 12th, 2012, 9:47 am

although i not feeling the HDR so much, i like how nicholas' cat came out. but, my screen has a touch film over it which reduces brightness and makes the images less vibrant. with out seeing the pics on a normal monitor, probably the effect lighthammer's example photo actually has is what i am seeing in the cat pic. the example shot seems a little dull to me.

probably u could try tweaking the contrast a bit on the cat pic and maybe u could even it out a bit.

i'm telling you, the cat pic on my monitor seems really awesome, and my monitor makes things a smidget more dull than other monitors.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » June 12th, 2012, 10:07 am

Oh yeah I forgot to say the pic of the cat looks really cool, lots of detail in there!

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » June 12th, 2012, 8:50 pm

thanx still learning tho

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » June 14th, 2012, 9:09 am

Been a while. Action from some of the unsettled weather recently.

Postby gastly369 » June 14th, 2012, 1:55 pm

Toy cyamera an ah lil photoshop

wah buy the Olympus - Tough TG-820 for some underwater shots just for fun nothing fancy up :?

Postby DVSTT » June 20th, 2012, 9:46 pm

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » June 22nd, 2012, 1:47 pm

^^snap shots

stikid09

Postby stikid09 » June 23rd, 2012, 10:58 am

i love HDR!

You guys are great. :)
I always rely on Photoshop 'cause I use a P&S.

Postby shogun » June 23rd, 2012, 11:07 am

Nice shots Prozac.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » June 23rd, 2012, 11:34 am

Marnin' guys and gals... guess what?! I'm about to give you a lil secret that'll change the way you see, study and apply light to your photography.

And the good news is - you don't even need an expensive DSLR or one ah dem professional big cyamra and dem ting to take a great picture!!

So, we all know that anyone holding a point & shoot camera, cellphone, smartphone or even a tablet (ipad, samsung galaxy, etc. etc.) can take a picture - all you need to do is press the damned button, right?! Any and everyone takes pictures these days and upload them to facebook, even yuh mammy does it!

How do you make your pics look awesome and stand out from the rest, and make people say "wheyyy dem pittures looking nice bai, you does do photography orr? yuh have a big camera with ah big lens ent??"

Simple.

Three things you need to do:

1. Turn on your camera
2. Turn off the flash (even in dark rooms... trust me, it'll be alright... we don't need the flash!)
3. Move your light around..... (??)

THat's right.. i said move your light around.

You're probably saying - "BWDMC dis fella saying, he chupid orr?? How I go move my friggin light, me eh had no light dey!! and he tell mih turn off mih flash.. what I go use now?? :roll: "

Here's what I tawkin bout - light makes a photo interesting.

I'm not talking about blasting your subject or person with light from your flash... nope-nope. That little stupid piece of sh*t flash on your camera there, is meant to do one thing only - blast people with light so that you can see who dah fook you taking a picture of. It has NOTHING to do with actually making a nice-lookin' pitture... none whatsoever!! :?

Flat, straight-on light is BORING. Directional light is MUCH more interesting to see!

I'm talking about taking a look around at whatever light is available to you (sometimes almost none at all!) and adding a little bit of light here and there, and maybe casting a shadow here and there too!

Basically this stems from two principles of lighting:
1. Take your light/flash off your camera
2. Apply the light accordingly to make an interesting scene - direction, intensity, colour, softness vs hardness... etc. etc.

Today, Imma show you a VERY simple way to make an really interesting photograph.
This is what I used:
- Blackberry Torch 9860 as main camera (hehe, yeah I showing off, me bought an expensive phone :mrgreen:)
- Blackberry Pearl 3G 9120 as main light (borrowed mih wifey blackberry).

Yup, two blackberries... that's it!

Here we go!
Step 1: Turn on the camera on your camera (my torch 9860... hehe yeah I real showing off)
Step 2: Turn on the flashlight on your other source of light (on a typical Blackberry - camera>video camera> press space to turn on the flash)
Step 3: Try to find an interesting perspective with your camera on the subject.... then light it!
Step 4: Take the picture
Step 5: Look at picture on phone, admire, then upload to trinituner for all to see your awesome work!

Look, I go post a couple pics so you go see what de fook all of this does mean....

Sample Pics:

My Nikon D200 as the subject - lit up with light that's coming from the same direction as the camera... boring... weak... pathetic. Throw that sheit away!! (the picture, not the camera!)

Moved my light to the side a lil' bit. Hmmm.. some interesting looking shadows there!!

Moved the light to slightly behind the subject... now you can see all kinds of shadows, nice little bumps and ridges, and kinds of interesting sheit coming up hyear!! WOWZA!! :shock:

And this is how I did it - very simple... just tief your significant other's cellphone, turn it on silent so if someone calls you don't have to bother answering it (hehe)... then turn on the light and then muck about a bit until you see something interesting!!

Easy peasy.

Hope you enjoyed today's little lesson.
Have to go now, gonna give back de phone, it have two missed calls already :lol:

*edit - I'll try to take a couple more example shots soon... when de boss finish with she phone :lol:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » June 23rd, 2012, 12:20 pm

Ok so I did a couple more sample shots here to show you how to use a single light source (can be any continuous light, like a flashlight, a blackberry camera light, etc.) to make a photograph more interesting.

This example is how to make a portrait of someone more interesting using directional light.

Tools:
- Blackberry Torch 9860 as my main camera (see? dont' even need a big DSLR, my Nikon D200 wasn't even used for these shots)
- Small LED flashlight (available at almost any hardware/tools shop.... my wife went to work and took her phone, so me had to improvise a little :( )
- Subject to take a photo of (it was just me home alone, so I had to recruit my little buddy, Pupsy to do the modelling work).

I put the model in front of a window, with the white curtains down to create a nice, diffused light source to light up the model's face. As you can see, the face is nicely lit with soft light.

Image\
Using a "key" light, I basically put a source of light to the opposite side and slightly to the back of the model. This gives a small highlight to the model's face... and gives shape to the model as well.

Used a small flashlight to create the "key" or "highlight". Didn't even use the Nikon D200 DSLR, except as a stand for the light!!!

Had to use the wife's flashlight (since she took her phone with her to work).
And yes, I do have my own big, manly flashlight... which is in the toolbox in my big, manly pickup truck (but right now it raining outside and I nice and cosy inside :mrgreen:).

See how easy it is to make great photographs?
And you don't need a big, expensive camera. You can use a simple point and shoot, and one or two cheap things around the house or even a friend's own cellphone too!

Hopefully this humble little tutorial will help inspire some of you to get your creative gears turning, and I'm excited to see what you guys can come up with using these simple, basic techniques!

Postby sMASH » June 23rd, 2012, 1:09 pm

out wit u hosss man, i usin diffuse lighting in meh beeturteen grille