PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

2NR Smurf

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby 2NR Smurf » December 12th, 2012, 4:59 am

^really? I've always thought it the other way around.

Postby M_2NR » December 12th, 2012, 10:12 am

Since I using filters (thanks HCCA) dust isn't much of a problem for me. My temps weren't really affected that much. My gpu heats up a lil faster probably.

Smurf. Get some noctuas. I threw in one in another pc and now I want to change my CPU cooler fan. It got whisper quiet! Had a Tt 120mm before and that was loud!

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » December 12th, 2012, 12:50 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:^really? I've always thought it the other way around.

Have a read. The noctua fans are real nice but they so damn ugly.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » December 12th, 2012, 1:14 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:
firstchoicett wrote:http://koolance.com/fan-120x38mm-184cfm

have 3 like that on the way to intake air on top of my case those fans work real sweet.

will go great with my fan controller.

59.00dBA :shock:

Positive air pressure = no dust

Dust filters ftw.

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » December 12th, 2012, 1:39 pm

Arrived today
20121212_122804.jpg

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » December 12th, 2012, 5:05 pm

thanks for the link iM@st@1. it makes sense now.
and x2 @ ugly noctuas

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 12th, 2012, 5:40 pm

Yup Those Noctuas are ugly as crap

CM Excaliburs are beast fans
If you don't mind the noise.....Ultra Kazes are great too

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » December 12th, 2012, 7:17 pm

my blasted side panel rattling now...so im running it open. :|

Postby M_2NR » December 12th, 2012, 7:24 pm

see if a screw is slack and the door isn't closed properly. :lol:
happened a time with my clear side.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » December 12th, 2012, 7:26 pm

I find those koolance fans work amazing had them before my last 800D the air flow inside that case was amazing. I had a configure in push/pull on my triple 120 rad system .

So far the rig running real sweet very fast too going update bios tonight,

Will try to do a little video soon .

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » December 12th, 2012, 8:16 pm

M_2NR wrote:see if a screw is slack and the door isn't closed properly. :lol:

looks like vibration from the 2 top mount 140mm. theres a sliiight gap to the top where the panel locks into the chassis. will see how i cud brace it

HCCA

Postby HCCA » December 12th, 2012, 8:35 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:
M_2NR wrote:see if a screw is slack and the door isn't closed properly. :lol:

looks like vibration from the 2 top mount 140mm. theres a sliiight gap to the top where the panel locks into the chassis. will see how i cud brace it

You should hear how the nzxt phantom does creak sometimes.

Damn all that plastic :evil:

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » December 12th, 2012, 8:39 pm

^damn. i not sure if its the panel vibrating against the chassis, or vibration coming from the plexi window :|

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 12th, 2012, 8:55 pm

Living on a mainroad, dust is a rel big issue for me :/

hadda invest in some filters yes

right now I have a noisy arse high cfm fan in a ice cream container with a old vest as the filter
Extreme measures to combat dust :/

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 12th, 2012, 9:30 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:^damn. i not sure if its the panel vibrating against the chassis, or vibration coming from the plexi window :|

Sometimes my side panel makes some noises because of the fan....to top it all off the mesh on the side panel is metal :evil:

On another note my RAM fan spins extremely fast to the point where it sounds like a small delta fan when i'm booting and when it reaches the windows loading screen it drops back down to normal. Its not a PWM fan so idk what's causing the variations in RPM :?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » December 12th, 2012, 11:20 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:^damn. i not sure if its the panel vibrating against the chassis, or vibration coming from the plexi window :|

If is the panel vibrating against the chassis you can try rubber sealing tape to put between the side panel edge and the chassis edge. Or something like it.

If is the plexi you can use the same tape by taking it off the side (providing it its removable) and placing it around the inner edge and reattaching it to the panel. For simplicity u can use mounting tape or even silicone.

For anyone getting fan vibrations esp where they are mounted on thin metal, y'all can try these:

http://www.amazon.com/CityNet-CC-CFG-4P ... fan+mounts

simple but very effective.

Also there are these:

http://www.amazon.com/Coolerguys-120mm- ... fan+gasket

a bit more expensive but still a viable option.

For me i just use pieces of mounting tape on the 4 corners of the fans and screw them down. :D

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 12th, 2012, 11:23 pm

^Noctua fans come with those rubber mounts

I doh mind the noise though...headset does be on almost all the time and the tv too :lol:

HCCA

Postby HCCA » December 12th, 2012, 11:30 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:^Noctua fans come with those rubber mounts

I doh mind the noise though...headset does be on almost all the time and the tv too :lol:

I've encountered them with some high end air coolers as well.

As for you ram fan issue, the only thing i coming up with really is that either the fans defective or they need relubrication.

From what i read in the articles they say the fans spin up fast and when they 'warm up' they relubricate themselves and spin quieter.

Or if it's connected to the board via fan header it could be a BIOS configuration issue.

Had two of the triple fan versions before, didn't have the problems you outlined.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 12th, 2012, 11:34 pm

^Thanks
Will check them out when I take down the PC for cleaning

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » December 13th, 2012, 11:41 am

more pictures coming soon build log Project Ultra X

blaine

Postby blaine » December 13th, 2012, 9:36 pm

Need some help..."Code 37: Windows cannot initialize the device driver for this hardware". I've been getting this error every time I try to connect my iPod Classic to my computer to use iTunes. Tried uninstalling and reinstalling drivers, didn't work. I even uninstalled iTunes and reinstalled it and nothing.... iPod still doesn't connect to computer or iTunes.
It's an iPod classic 160gb and using latest iTunes software and windows xp.
Help Please. Thanks....

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » December 14th, 2012, 7:32 am

U try it in a next machine with windows 7?

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » December 14th, 2012, 11:43 am

Ocz vertex vs agility, pros and cons?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » December 14th, 2012, 12:28 pm

AGENT RORO wrote:Ocz vertex vs agility, pros and cons?

Pros: Both are cheaper than the competing brands most ah d time.
Cons: Performance/long term reliability/firmware issues.

Try sandisk, samsung, intel, crucial or corsair gt.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 14th, 2012, 12:41 pm

Those corsair SSDs overrated eh as is with almost all their products :|

HCCA

Postby HCCA » December 14th, 2012, 12:46 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Those corsair SSDs overrated eh as is with almost all their products :|

Ronaldo95163 wrote:My current rig

You were saying? :roll:

Anyhow i just posted the brands based on what my friends and other local users reviewed them as.

Personally i find the Corsairs a bit more expensive than the others and probably perform the same or lower than them as well.

When i getting any i'd go with the Intel, Crucial M4 or Samsung series.
Last edited by HCCA on December 14th, 2012, 12:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 14th, 2012, 12:47 pm

^Well how you feel i find out steupssss :oops:

wrt to the SSD
If I were to get an SSD i'd probably go Crucial

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » December 14th, 2012, 5:29 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Those corsair SSDs overrated eh as is with almost all their products

You real hate corsair boy :lol:. Have a Force GT, works really well, fast & extremely stable.

New high end soundcard on the market, hada cop this when I build my surround sound system.

Postby M_2NR » December 14th, 2012, 6:40 pm

HCCA wrote:
AGENT RORO wrote:Ocz vertex vs agility, pros and cons?

Pros: Both are cheaper than the competing brands most ah d time.
Cons: Performance/long term reliability/firmware issues.

Try sandisk, samsung, intel, crucial or corsair gt.

wahm hoss... kingston good too :|

Postby nervewrecker » December 14th, 2012, 7:56 pm

Here nuh, got a IVT bluetooth dongle thingy but apparently it only compatible with windows 98, ME, 2000 and XP.....not 7. I have windows seven, tried installing the software but I need a driver.
What to do?