The *Official* LOCAL Election Thread (2013)

Re: The *Official* LOCAL Election Thread

Postby zoom rader » October 27th, 2013, 9:14 am

eliteauto wrote:zoom when Express was printing story after story abut Manning,Pena and Hart were you singing the same song?

Did you see me quote express reportings
at that time.

Postby eliteauto » October 27th, 2013, 9:20 am

you did not answer my question

Postby zoom rader » October 27th, 2013, 9:30 am

eliteauto wrote:you did not answer my question
All of those things was exposed in parliament , so no need for express.

Postby hydroep » October 27th, 2013, 9:37 am

I really thought Errol Fabien would have garnered more support. Well, there's still a week to go.

Postby eliteauto » October 27th, 2013, 9:45 am

hydroep wrote:I really thought Errol Fabien would have garnered more support. Well, there's still a week to go.

The T&T electorate is trapped in a partisan politic mindset

Postby zoom rader » October 27th, 2013, 9:45 am

hydroep wrote:I really thought Errol Fabien would have garnered more support. Well, there's still a week to go.

Being a true independent as one who have never served before is really hard to win a seat. He should be given credit as many have failed.
Last edited by zoom rader on October 27th, 2013, 9:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rfari » October 27th, 2013, 9:45 am

ahmm.... where uml?

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » October 27th, 2013, 1:52 pm

Unc- money stolen
Pnm- money wasted
Ilp-guilty until proven innocent

Postby bluefete » October 27th, 2013, 4:17 pm

Being a true independent as one who have never served before is really hard to win a seat. He should be given credit as many have failed.

ZR actually make a post that make sense. :D :D

I agree with you on this.

Postby 1UZFE » October 27th, 2013, 4:24 pm

cherrypopper wrote:Unc- money stolen
Pnm- money wasted

Based on this statement i wud believe that its safe 2 say u are 7yrs old...

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » October 27th, 2013, 4:54 pm

1UZFE wrote:
cherrypopper wrote:Unc- money stolen
Pnm- money wasted

Based on this statement i wud believe that its safe 2 say u are 7yrs old...

You got me

Postby Morpheus » October 27th, 2013, 5:39 pm

bluefete wrote:

ZR actually make a post that make sense. :D :D

I agree with you on this.

My immediate thoughts. Well said ZR

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » October 28th, 2013, 7:50 am

in less than 1 year and 7 months the PNM will regain power. The treasury will be empty in a few short years and a bankrupt nation means a state of turmoil. Therefore we can seek asylum in North America and Europe when that time comes. Forget VISA lottery and staying abroad beyond your time. First world seekers, your time will come.

want2liqur

Postby want2liqur » October 28th, 2013, 8:43 am

acesinghit wrote:in less than 1 year and 7 months the PNM will regain power. The treasury will be empty in a few short years and a bankrupt nation means a state of turmoil. Therefore we can seek asylum in North America and Europe when that time comes. Forget VISA lottery and staying abroad beyond your time. First world seekers, your time will come.

But ent when this government came into power they claimed the "the treasury was already empty"?

Postby Habit7 » October 28th, 2013, 8:57 am

Wow it is sad to see ppl having to resort to fear mongering to ensure their party stays in government, but it won’t help.

With all the "squandermania" and billion dollar cost overruns, The PNM were giving on average $43 billion balanced and surplus budgets for all but one year in the last admin. Conversely the PP is giving on average $60 billion deficit budgets for the past 3 years with a promise of 3 more deficit budgets to come. The PP inherited US $9 billion in the Heritage and Stabilisation Fund, and had an additional US $3 billion on an account in the Central Bank, not an “empty treasury.”

The only ppl who are emptying the Treasury is the PP, and whatever money they have put into it thus far is borrowed money, as wise as it is to borrow money to furnish your savings account. There is no major downstream plan for additional revenue that is in operation, and as the IMF says if there is a price reduction in hydrocarbons we will be in serious trouble.

PNM has grown this economy in fast and slow bursts. The PP is doing no better.

want2liqur

Postby want2liqur » October 28th, 2013, 9:02 am

^^^^ and they wanna joyride in helicopter and give how much millions for a album i mustbe only hear 1 sound from and then talking bout "as you know i frequent the highway on a daily basis" so we hadda paint these cars in come bright arse curry colours so the police will be more visible

Postby rfari » October 28th, 2013, 9:11 am

who vex lorse yes. unc ppl have choices. eida dey;
1. get an education with real qualifications
2. fly out and go montreal and drive taxi and bus
3. go back and plant garden and feed the nation

want2liqur

Postby want2liqur » October 28th, 2013, 9:16 am

rfari wrote:who vex lorse yes. unc ppl have choices. eida dey;

Not forgetting apple and cotton picking

Postby zoom rader » October 28th, 2013, 9:17 am

rfari wrote:who vex lorse yes. unc ppl have choices. eida dey;

pnm ppl choices?

Postby rfari » October 28th, 2013, 9:18 am

^^ doh vex mamoo

Postby zoom rader » October 28th, 2013, 9:20 am

rfari wrote:^^ doh vex mamoo

No vexing bro,
What are pnm ppl choices.

Postby rfari » October 28th, 2013, 9:23 am

honest living

Postby zoom rader » October 28th, 2013, 9:24 am

rfari wrote:honest living

Ok carry on

Postby Morpheus » October 28th, 2013, 9:26 am

*smirk

Postby AllTrac » October 28th, 2013, 9:38 am

Morpheus wrote:

*smirk

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » October 28th, 2013, 9:43 am

:infinity:

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » October 28th, 2013, 9:48 am

Some interesting calculations

http://www.trini.tk/brief-analysis-of-t ... tion-2013/

In Monday’s elections the PNM received 188,393 votes, the UNC received 154,842 votes, the ILP received 102,918 votes, and the COP received 32,496 votes.

In terms of seats, the PNM won 85 of the total number of 136 seats, the UNC 44, the ILP three, and the COP four.

Let’s do some calculations:

PERCENTAGE BY VOTES
PNM: 39.36%
UNC: 32.35%
ILP: 21.50%
COP: 6.79%
PERCENTAGE BY SEATS
PNM: 62.50%
ILP: 2.21%
COP: 2.94%

We can see from the calculations done above that the number of votes is not reflected in the number of seats won (except for the UNC which is almost dead on target).

Proportional representation is supposed to “fix” this disparity by the assignment of aldermen.

Let’s see what happens when aldermen are added to the mix.

The PNM is expected to receive 36 aldermen, the UNC 14, the ILP five and the COP one. This means representatives (seats plus aldermen) in numbers will add up to the PNM 121, the UNC 58, the ILP 8, and the COP 5.

Let us do some more calculations:

PERCENTAGE BY VOTES

PERCENTAGE BY SEATS PLUS ALDERMEN
PNM: 63.02%
UNC: 30.21%
ILP: 4.17%
COP: 2.60%

There is still a huge disparity in the percentage of votes versus the percentage of representatives, even with the new Proportional Representation measures that were put in place.

Postby eliteauto » October 28th, 2013, 9:56 am

PQs were drunk when the PR blew up in the PP's face

Postby Habit7 » October 28th, 2013, 10:07 am

eliteauto wrote:PQs were drunk when the PR blew up in the PP's face
No, no, no. Kamla said it worked wonderfully:
PM: PROPORTIONAL REPRESENTATION DID NOT BACKFIRE ON GOV'T

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar does not believe Proportional Representation worked against the People's Partnership at this week's Local Government Elections.

The Prime Minister said despite teething problems, the amendment to the Municipal Corporations Act has worked exactly as the Government had envisioned.

As such, she disagreed with Independent Liberal Party Interim Leader Jack Warner over the impact of the new legislation.

"It did not backfire. We envisaged this could happen. In fact, in the debate we showed how it could happen and in the areas where the PNM for example would never had got an Alderman would now be getting one, in areas where the UNC would never have got, would now get. So it has not backfired. It has worked wonderfully well. There may be teething problems, in that it is taking the EBC a little longer to compile and collate, but then it's the first time. I have not seen anything in it that is negative or contrary to true democratic process."

http://ctntworld.com/cnews2/index.php?o ... Itemid=707
Except in the areas of Port-of-Spain, Arima, Point Fortin, Diego Martin, San Juan/Laventille and Tunapuna/Piarco, where the PP once had either control or at least one representative, they now have none.

So com'on PP, bring proportional representation for general elections :lol:

Postby rfari » October 28th, 2013, 10:21 am

TriniAutoMart wrote:Some interesting calculations

http://www.trini.tk/brief-analysis-of-t ... tion-2013/

In Monday’s elections the PNM received 188,393 votes, the UNC received 154,842 votes, the ILP received 102,918 votes, and the COP received 32,496 votes.

In terms of seats, the PNM won 85 of the total number of 136 seats, the UNC 44, the ILP three, and the COP four.

Let’s do some calculations:

PERCENTAGE BY VOTES
PERCENTAGE BY SEATS
PNM: 62.50%
ILP: 2.21%
COP: 2.94%

We can see from the calculations done above that the number of votes is not reflected in the number of seats won (except for the UNC which is almost dead on target).

Proportional representation is supposed to “fix” this disparity by the assignment of aldermen.

Let’s see what happens when aldermen are added to the mix.

The PNM is expected to receive 36 aldermen, the UNC 14, the ILP five and the COP one. This means representatives (seats plus aldermen) in numbers will add up to the PNM 121, the UNC 58, the ILP 8, and the COP 5.

Let us do some more calculations:

PERCENTAGE BY VOTES

PERCENTAGE BY SEATS PLUS ALDERMEN
PNM: 63.02%
UNC: 30.21%
ILP: 4.17%
COP: 2.60%

There is still a huge disparity in the percentage of votes versus the percentage of representatives, even with the new Proportional Representation measures that were put in place.

rfari wrote:Life unfair jed

wha we go do bai?